BBB Accredited Business since

Gary Johnson Floor Covering

Phone: (253) 531-8403 Fax: (253) 535-2789 10513 19th Avenue Ct E, Tacoma, WA 98445 http://www.gjfc.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers carpet sales and installation of hardwood floors, laminate and carpet.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gary Johnson Floor Covering meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gary Johnson Floor Covering include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gary Johnson Floor Covering
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1985 Business started locally: 09/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Johnson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Johnson, Vice President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Linoleum Dealers Carpet Layers Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing


Additional Locations

  • 10513 19th Avenue Ct E

    Tacoma, WA 98445 (253) 531-8403

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to the installation process, there was no expansion spacing and on a non-flat sub-floor this does not allow the floor to expand as intended. With the sub-floor not being flat, the vinyl floor was heavy which is causing the floor to sink in some areas. When this happens, the floating vinyl floor is hindered from moving as planned by the manufacturer.

Desired Settlement: I want to request a full refund of the total job of the flooring and the molding. In addition, I would like to have a Professional Contractor to fix the damage or for Gary Johnson Floor Covering to pay for the cost of 4 inch wood molding to cover the damage and to seal the walls to prevent moisture since the paper of the drywall is now removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/25) */ We are willing to issue the customer a full refund of $6,250 (Six thousand two hundred fifty dollars) if she is willing to sign a statement releasing us of any additional claims in the future. She can keep the flooring or if she prefers we are willing to remove the flooring.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left work twice for the sales man to come and look at my poorly installed carpet and had ripped. The first time he was sitting at his desk the second time he was with someone and didn't call to notify he was not coming, the third time he just never showed and the fourth time he came left no information with his card on the floor. Then said it was due to pet damage which it was not. They just installed cheap carpet at apartments and did not take responsibility for their error.

Desired Settlement: To fix the carpet.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/19) */ We received a call from ** ******* stating that her carpet by the entry was "too tight" and that it had pulled away from the metal bar. We contacted the maintenance department for the apartment building she lives at. The maintenance supervisor said that he had already looked at it and that he thought it was torn by an animal. He told the tenant that it could be repaired for a fee. The tenant did not like his response so she contacted us directly and complained that we had "over stretched the carpet." We contacted maintenance, they mentioned they forwarded us a picture of the damage. Our salesman *** offered to try to fix it himself at no charge. The tenant stated that she goes home for lunch and to call her when he was on his way. It took a few days for him to get out to the job site. The tenant was not home but the maintenance man let us into the unit. Upon physical inspection it was clear that this was pet damage that the salesmen would be unable to repair. Fixing the damage would require sending a technician out to cut out the damaged area and splice a new piece in. The tenant called and asked to speak to the owner, he told her he would look into it. After reviewing the picture, he agreed that it appeared to be pet damage and there would be charge for the repair. We have been in business for over 30 years, we have installed thousands of yards of the very same carpet. Damage like this does not occur from installation or normal wear and tear. It is very clear that the damage is caused from a pet. We are happy to repair the damage but pet damage is not covered under warranty so there will be fee. Please see attached photo as evidence of pet damage. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I came home 3 times to meet the salesman that said he was going to come, the first time I called and he had forgot and said he was sitting at his desk, the second time I confirmed and he was going to be there in an hour and did not call or come, the third time he confirmed again and was helping another customer even though he had an appointment from me. I have had another carpet company come and look at it and stated that it is NOT pet damage and from cutting the carpet from the installation. I have lost over 5 hours of work with the sales pm an not showing up, very unprofessional and poor customer service. I have also never talked with the owner of this buisness. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/04) */ ** ******* spoke to the owner of the business (**** *******) on August 8th at 4:30pm and again when he called her back later that evening. The maintenance man at her complex said it was very clearly pet damage, *** our salesman who has over 20 years of experience agreed it is clearly pet damage and the owner of the company also concurs that it is pet damage. Holes do not just appear in carpet, we have installed the same carpet in thousands of apartments. We have been in the business for over 30 years and we know pet damage when we see it. We will agree to repair the carpet at no charge but we contend that it is pet damage and not installation related. We will coordinate the repair with the tenants management company. All further correspondence will need to come though our customer (the management company). We will not work directly with the tenant.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service