Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

UniBank

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 275-9700 Fax: (253) 275-9777 View Additional Phone Numbers 19315 Highway 99 STE 101, Lynnwood, WA 98036 http://www.unibankusa.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UniBank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on UniBank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2007 Business started: 09/08/2006 Business started locally: 09/08/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.dfi.wa.gov
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Daniel Lee, President John Chang, Chairman Peter Park, Vice President Stephanie Yoon, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Daniel Lee, President
Business Category

Banks


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19315 Highway 99 STE 101

    Lynnwood, WA 98036 (425) 275-9700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    31433 Pacific Hwy S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 946-9700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3640 Factoria Blvd SE STE B

    Bellevue, WA 98006 (425) 454-9700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9104 South Tacoma Way STE A-101

    Tacoma, WA 98499 (253) 581-9700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started Small Business Loan with this company back in Au. 2009. My husband I are not really great in English so we went to Uni Bank because they are Korean Bank. I wanted to pay off my loan on May 2015 but bank said I have to pay Reconyance fee because there is hold on the lien and it costs money to release it. I was welling to pay is so asked how much it was, they said $50 so I told them ok. Next day, Bank called and said actually there is lien on the personal propery so the reconyance fee will be $250. I asked the bank to provide me the document showing the amount becasue at this point, I couldn't trust them but bank rep said there is no document and contact the title company. Because my English is not great I told my daughter to take care of it. My daughter contacted ******* ***** ******* regarding this but they hung up the phone on her and said they don't like to be involved on this. My daughter contacted Uni Bank and talked to Philip Y***. First, he didn't verify if it's really my daughter and when my daughter asked about the document he asked " If there is no document, are you guys not going to pay?" My daughter nicely asked we will pay but like to see something in written because you guys are keep changing the amount. He yelled at my daughter stop bugging them with this issue and said your mom contacted few times and threatended our employees so my daughter apologized regarding that but Philip Y*** told my daughter "Do not call us regarding this loan" and hung up on her. We filed FDIC complaint and noticed Uni Bank provided Deed of the Trust to FDIC that showing there will be a Reconyance fee but doesn't show how much. My daughter called different Uni Bank branch to ask about it and they said because Lynnwood is the main branch, they have to talk to the main branch. While my daughter was working, Philip Y*** called at my daughter's work and said " Why are you keep contacting us, what do you want" My daughter was with customer that time so did tell Philip.

Desired Settlement: I want them to apologize to me not explaining about the fees and changed the fee amount. I want exact Reconyance fee amount in written. I also want Philip Y*** to apologize to my daughter that contacting her work and yelled at her while she was helping her customer. My daughter works at Bank also (not Uni Bank) so when my daughter **** picked up the phone she said "I'm with customer right now can I call you back?" but Philip kept said "I heard you wanted to talk to me, why are you keep calling me and why keep contacting us" My daughter never provided her work number to him or to Uni Bank so don't know how he found her work number. This is so personal Identity issue. My daughter tried to get a hold of the President of Uni Bank to complaint but he is keep out of office so can't get a hold of him. ** Please contact my daughter regarding this issue because she have been handling this for us. My daughter's name is **** *** contact ************ ************@gmail.com**

Business Response: ID. No.: ********

Ms ********* *****
BBB Resolution Consultant
Better Business Bureau
PO Box 1000
DuPont, WA 98327

RE: Response to Customer's Complaint - **** ***

Dear Ms *****:

This is in response to your letter concerning the complaint of Mrs. **** *** submitted to Better
Business Bureau on July 13, 2015 (ID ********). Upon the investigation I was informed by our Chief
Credit Officer (CCO) and our Loan Servicing Manager the following events transpired.

The customer, Mrs. **** ***, continuously called the bank over a period of several weeks in regards
to a reconveyance fee on her business and residential property which she feels she is being
incorrectly charged. During the calls she implied that the bank is purposely deceiving her by
charging a fraudulent fee. The bank's loan staff
explained the reconveyance fees are standard and apply to all commercial customers as the fees are
paid directly to the respective third part providers (i.e. title company, UCC termination, and
courier). The staff informed her that the bank does not profit off of charging the customer these
fees. However, she became more irate and difficult with each call.

She made repeated contacts via telephone with four of the bank's loan staff and each time she was
verbally abusive, continuously used profane language, and made threats (to get them fired and
defamation of the bank's reputation and employee's character within the Korean Community).

SBA promissory note and Deed of Trust documents the customer executed at loan origination state
that the customer is solely responsible for any expenses incurred due to loan payoff, extension,
renewal, and etc. This is standard documentation in commercial loans and it demonstrates that our
bank in no way attempted to defraud or deceive the customer as Mrs. *** claimed.

Upon her complaint to Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), Division of Depositors and
Consumer Protection last April 30, 2015, the Bank provided documentations for the complaint
investigation including the copies of SBA promissory note and Deed of Trust to FDIC per its
request. The Bank sent the instruction letter to Mrs. *** with the detailed reconveyance fees on
May 12,2015 but she called the bank on Monday, August 10,2015 and claimed the letter never arrived.
Per her request, the bank resent the letter on the following


day Tuesday, August 11th with her promise to make the payment required by the bank as soon as she
received the letter.

As of today, the loan is fully paid off but liens on UCC and residential property have not been
reconveyed due to the customer's refusal to pay the reconveyance fees. The bank will continue to
adhere to the documents singed and executed by the customer and not release the liens until the
fees associated with reconveyance is collected from the customer.

Our staffs communication with Mrs. *** and her daughter were professional and courteous. Please let
me know if you need further information or clarification.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on UniBank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)