Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Sound Community Bank

Phone: (800) 458-5585 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 5th Ave # 200, Seattle, WA 98121 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.soundcb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgage loans, real estate loans and banking services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sound Community Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sound Community Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated 12/28/2012 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.dfi.wa.gov
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Laurie Stewart, President Ms. Michele Sorrentino, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Laurie Stewart, President
Business Category

Banks Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sound Community Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2001 5th Ave # 200

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 448-0884 (206) 443-4345

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2014 Sound Community Bank had me set up a special rental collection account at their bank in order to collect rents in order to pay our mortgages at their bank. This account was supposed to assist me as a landlady and protect my husband's right to affordable health care under the new legislation. All went well with this account until I had my name changed in Jan. 2015. That is when the discrimination started and it continued until they were fired in March 2015. (one teller started refusing to accept my rental collections in this account, siting bank policy but never telling what the policy was). After the third time they were fired for this fraud and discrimination against me. Many letters were written to the bank regarding this matter. The president of the bank said she looked into the matter and found that they were completely innocent of all charges. This is not acceptable because they are guilty as charged and bank tellers should not be allowed to get away with this sort of behavior. Please request copies from the bank of our correspondence regarding this matter. They should not be allowed to prey upon anyone like this and get away with it. This complaint is filed in truth as an outraged person.

Desired Settlement: What I requested is that the bank forgive the remaining loans because of this. Doing business with known criminals makes me distraught as it should us all. They denied me access to my own rental collection account three times before I caught on to what the teller was doing and why. This sort of thing should not be allowed to happen. They get to "police themselves" and find themselves innocent when they are in fact guilty. Sound Community Bank can do much better than allowing tellers to do this.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding the “request for
assistance” and the Consumer Complaint.  Any consumer complaint is of
great concern to us and we carefully review and respond directly to any
consumer expressing a complaint.  Sound Community Bank has been in
correspondence with ****** **** ***** (aka Mrs. ******) since March 20,
2015.  Mrs. ****** is upset that her check deposits were not accepted to
her sole owned account.  The checks were deposited to her joint account
and made available to her immediately.  Following her initial complaint,
Mrs. ****** claims fraud and religious discrimination and escalated her
complaint to regulatory agencies.  The Bank, as well as the regulatory
agencies, conducted an investigation and found no basis for her claims.  We
remain open to discussing the concerns of Mrs. ****** and have offered to meet
with her on several occasions.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  This bank has repeatedly been lying and is most certainly guilty of both fraud and discrimination. They only started addressing my charges once they were fired for fraud and discrimination. This happened on three different occasions starting in Jan. 2015 when my name was changed. The account they would not let me use was my personal account in the name of ****** **** *****. Under my previous name of ****** ****** there was never an issue with the use of this account. This account was set up under the advise of an attorney for our estate planning and for my husbands insurance requirements under the affordable care act. This denial of contracted services has caused me ongoing mental and emotional suffering. I had a contract with this bank for this particular account and they broke my contract with malice on three different occasions. On the third occasion, when they refused my deposit they were fired for fraud and religious discrimination. I was there and on the receiving end of this and much anger remains. The banker has lied openly in her letters regarding these matters and for me to do ongoing business with these crooks is an outrage. My husband ***** has had many surgeries recently and to keep our insurance we cannot have thousands in escrow in our joint account. This is a most important matter that the banker just ignores. Their actions put his entire insurance benefit at risk and caused me much grief. They broke their own contract with me. I did not break anything but remained a good customer. When I responded to their bad acts they threatened me with many letters and penalty charges. In all my life I have never received just correspondence before. We have been excellent customers of this bank for many years. We have repaid hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of mortgages to them and to be treated this way at the end of my days is completely unacceptable.  I have demanded they forgive the remaining loans because of their bad actions towards me. That would have been a small price compared to what is coming.

Sincerely,

****** **** ***** aka Mrs. ******
  
 



****** *****

Business Response: Due to an employee's recollection of their endorsement training and Bank policy, the employee did not deposit a check written to ****** **** *****'s husband to the sole account of ****** **** *****.  The employee offered to deposit the check to their joint account, which was done immediately.  No services were denied nor was there any discrimination involved.  This case has been reviewed by the Department of Financial Institutions and the Attorney General, both of who have found no fault in our process and closed their cases.  We have reached out to ****** **** ***** repeatedly to resolve directly with her on multiple occassions-she refuses to speak directly with us.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This statement from the bank is falsified information. I was denied deposit access to my individual account on three separate occasions. This individual account was set up specifically to service the remaining mortgage accounts with this bank. They broke their own contract with me and with malice. I personally went into the bank to try and understand what they were doing and all they would tell me was that bank policy required them to behave this way. Bank policy required them to break their own contract with me and they did this three months in a row. They would not stop or alter their behavior until they were fired. If this had only happened once we would not be here! They falsify information and reports to make themselves look good. There were no problems with this account or any of our accounts with this bank until my name was changed.

This bank has openly broken my individual account on three occasions and forced me to use our joint account against my will and good judgment on three occasions. They would not stop this kind of activity until they were actually fired. Their behavior with my individual bank account has caused me a lot of problems and harm. Handling these rentals has become much harder for me now because of this. They broke the contract not me. They would not let me use my individual account as we had agreed upon in writing. They are in violation of my trust completely and should not be considered as good business people. Their offers to help me are hollow and insincere.

Sincerely,

****** *****

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/1/14, I mailed my mortgage payment to Sound Community Bank. As of 8/14/14, the due date, my check had not cleared my account. I called and was told my check was not there and I would be assessed a significant penalty if my payment was late. I made a payment over the phone. I was assured that if my check was found, they would not process the check because they would see the payment was made. On 8/21/14, Sound Community Bank processed my check. My checking account is now frozen, obscenely overdrawn, and I have a $30.00 bank fee. I verified multiple times my check would not be cashed. Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am requesting the check be reversed and Sound Community Bank reimburses me the $30.00 check fee.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/08/25) */ I contacted Sound Community Bank on 8/22/14. They refunded my mortgage payment and refunded me my overdraft fees. They were very accomodating. Please consider this complaint resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sound Community Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart