This business is not BBB accredited.

Opus Bank

Phone: (425) 391-5500 View Additional Phone Numbers 305 Front St N, Issaquah, WA 98027 http://www.opusbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Opus Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Opus Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.dfi.wa.gov
Phone Number: (360) 902-8700

Business Category

Banks


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    305 Front St N

    Issaquah, WA 98027 (305) 980-2742 (425) 391-5500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My debit card has fraudulent charges on it from 5/10/2015. Opus Bank was notified of these charges on 5/11/2015. They are refusing to refund my money and are in violation of 12 CFR 205 Section 205.6 Liability of consumer for unauthorized transfers. Opus Bank first told us that I would have my money back within 2 days. 4 days later, I called them and they said that because the 3 digit code from the back of the card was used for the fraudulent purchases, they wouldn't be reversing the charges. I have had an account with them for multiple years and have never even asked for a charge back before. This is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ********,


This is in response to a letter received from you dated May 26, 2015 regarding complaint ID#
******** from **** ***********. Below is the account of events from the first contact Mr.
*********** had with Opus Bank regarding this matter.

On 05/12/2015 we received a signed "Electronic Transfer/Unauthorized Activity" claim form from
Mr. *********** who submitted the form at our Twentynine Palms Client Experience Center for
two transactions (the "Transactions") processed on account number ending in **** (the "Account")
and are listed below (the Transactions below are stated exactly as they appear on Mr.
***********'s Opus Bank Deposit Statement):

05/11/2015 $240.00 *************** Florida/ Merchant Code ****-Misc Apparel
05/11/2015 $295.40 *************** New Jersey/Merchant Code ****-Janitorial Service


The above mentioned Transactions were manually entered to be processed against Mr. ***********'s
debit card, both the CVV code printed on the back of the card and the client's zip code were used
to validate the Transactions. These were "card in hand" processed Transactions.
Mr. *********** indicated on the "Electronic Transfer/Unauthorized Activity" claim form that
the Transactions were not his and he had his debit card in hand at the time the Transactions were
processed.

After concluding our investigation, on 05/13/ 2015 a letter confirming receipt of his claim was
sent to Mr. *********** to the address on record with the Bank of **** ********
**, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277. The letter stated that as a result of our investigation, Opus
Bank took the position that the Transactions were authorized and thereby the claim was denied.
We also requested that Mr. *********** contact the merchants directly through whom
the Transactions were processed and ask them to explain the charges and provide copies of any
supporting documentation. Mr. *********** was also advised that he had the right to request
copies of the documentation used by Opus Bank to deny his claim.

On 05/15/2015 Mr. *********** returned to our Twentynine Palms Client Experience Center and
filled out another "Electronic Transfer/Unauthorized Activity" form in which he states that he
tried to contact the merchants directly and received a message of that the phone numbers were
not a valid voice mail". Despite our initial denial of his claim, and due to his subsequent
attempt to obtain information from the merchants, Opus Bank went ahead and processed his second
claim and provided Mr. *********** provisional credit which posted to Mr.
***********'s Account in the amounts of $240.00 and $295.40 on 05/19/2015. These credits were
provided to Mr. *********** on a provisional basis and should his second claim, after further
investigation, be denied, Opus Bank would then debit the Account accordingly. As of the
date of this letter, this claim is still open and under investigation at Opus Bank.


On 05/21/2015 Mr. *********** closed the Account by cash withdrawal at our Twentynine
Palms location. The closing amount included our provisional credits of $240.00 and $295.40.


Opus Bank's handling of the above claim complies with error resolution procedures as
described under Regulation E, Electronic Fund Transfer -12 CFR Section 205.6.