BBB Accredited Business since

HomeStreet Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 623-3050 Fax: (206) 454-8111 View Additional Phone Numbers 601 Union St STE 2000, Seattle, WA 98101 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services including personal and company banking, commercial and consumer loans, and insurance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HomeStreet Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HomeStreet Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on HomeStreet Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1921 Business started locally: 01/01/1921 Business incorporated 08/01/1986 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Mason, President/CEO Ms. Kathryn Williams, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Vicki Foege, Community Relations
Principal: Mr. Mark Mason, President/CEO
Business Category

Banks Financing Loans Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Commercial Banking (NAICS: 522110)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Alternate Business Names
HomeStreet Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

HomeStreet Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 22 NW 23rd Ave

    Portland, OR 97210 (503) 227-1679 (503) 227-0898

  • 601 Union St STE 2000

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 389-4000 (800) 719-8080 (800) 883-9899 (206) 389-7789 (206) 389-7750 (206) 628-0207 (206) 389-4400 (206) 623-3050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a complaint against Homestreet Bank due to fraudulent activity to my mortgage account. Homestreet Bank has not been applying my mortgage payments to my account correctly since March 2014. After reviewing my bank account records, I have made $7,950 from March 2014 to September 2014. I have my monthly mortgage payments directly debited to Homestreet Bank on the first of each month. I was unaware of this issue and Homestreet bank did not inform me that the payments were not being applied to my account. I received a letter regarding foreclosure on my home in May 2014. It was at this time, that I was informed that I had a large refund. I informed Homestreet Bank that I had never received any refunds. After reviewing my Homestreet online mortgage account, I could see several payments applied to escrow, but never to my monthly mortgage payments. I was referred to ******** **** at Homestreet bank regarding my account and was told that I owed $7,060.05 to make my account current. I explained to **** **** that I have been making my payments and she laughed and snickered at me over the phone. She was very unprofessional and condescending. She rudely stated to me that I have not made any payments since March 2014. I explained to **** **** that I have proof of my payments from my ***** banking account and she again refused to believe me. I told her that it appeared to me that the payments were placed in escrow and she said she was done working with me and I needed to speck to the escrow department. I'm very confused because I can see all the payments I made each month and it looks like they put all of them in escrow and no one will listen to me or help me solve this problem. I asked them if this is a glitch in the system and they will not answer me. I am now receiving refund checks from Homestreet Bank, which I don't understand why these payments are not being applied to my mortgage.

Desired Settlement: I would like Homestreet bank to review my account and correctly apply my payments to my mortgage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ ******* ********** #XXXXXX HomeStreet has extensively reviewed *** **********' loan payment history. The payment record reflects *** ********** was regularly more than 30 days late in making payments since prior to November 2013. HomeStreet can confirm we have received $7,950 since March 2014, in irregular payment amounts. We also show that the borrower failed to make a payment altogether in December 2013 and May 2014 in addition to the pre-existing 30 day delinquency. Since the first of the year, HomeStreet attempted to call the borrower no less than 37 times and sent at least 17 different letters and statements to the address listed in the complaint to inform the borrower of the delinquent situation and/or requesting that the borrower contact us to work on a resolution. Our records indicate the first time the borrower contacted us was on June 12, 2014. Due to standard procedure, if a borrower is behind three or more months of payments, and the borrower has not communicated with the bank regarding the situation, the bank will no longer accept individual monthly payments for the loan. As a result, a total of three checks were sent to return funds to Ms. **********. Two checks totaling $2,328.37, dated in March and April 2014, were mailed to the address listed in the complaint, but have not been cashed as of this response. A third check in the amount of $2,693.05, dated in August 2014, was cashed by the borrower. As of this response the borrower remains at least 3 months delinquent and foreclosure proceedings have been initiated. To resolve the borrower's situation, HomeStreet offers to: Cancel the uncashed refund checks in the amount of $2,328.37 Reverse and waive previously applied late charges of $457.73 Add the above referenced sums to the $2,300.00 presently being in a holding account for a total sum of $5,086.10, and apply it to present total outstanding due amount of $7,769.07 Cancel the present foreclosure proceeding initiated on August 29, 2014 IF the borrower agrees to: Submit the remaining outstanding due amount of $2,682.97 prior to October 1st, 2014, to bring the loan fully current Communicate their acceptance of this agreement to HomeStreet prior to September 24th, 2014 Ms. ********** can communicate directly with **** ******* Default Manager at HomeStreet Bank. **** ****** Default Manager HomeStreet Bank Direct # (XXX) XXX-XXXX **************@homestreet.com

8/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2014, I sought a home loan with HomeSavings Bank with an original closing date of June 25, 2014. At the time, I was seeking a loan through ******** and already got an approval with 3.25% interest and without a closing cost, yet I was discouraged by some of their restrictions/requirements. Upon engaging with *** ******* of HomeStreet bank, he assured me in writing on various occasions that HomeStreet Bank would be able to offer me a loan without the difficulties I was experiencing with ******** (credit information, residency requirement, home improvements). Based on written assurances from *** ******* that HomeStreet could fund the loan with my credit and it would be approved without the 2-year residency requirement (1.5 years plus my credit would suffice). In reliance on this assurance, I canceled the ******** application and proceeded to close the loan with HomeStreet. A copy of the email from *** ******* to me dated July 10, 2014 appears below: From: ***** ******* mailto:*************@homestreet.com Sent: Tuesday, June 10, 2014 3:39 PM To: ****** ****** Subject: 7 Year ARM loan summary. ******, Attached is a current quote with today's interest rates. We can still offer you 3.375% on a 7/1 ARM with a drastically reduced origination fee! Standard origination fees would be 1% of the loan amount. I have been given the authority to drop it to only .125% The other 3rd party fees are set by the third parties such as title, escrow and appraisal. I also spoke with the underwriting help desk and they seem to think that we would be ok with the length of time you have had credit in the United States. I also spoke with the processor and I am confident that we would be able to close by next Friday if I can have a full file by tomorrow. That being said I will need a commitment that you will close the loan with HomeStreet. We will be pulling people off of other application so that we be able to close your loan under a RUSH. I will give you a call to go over the quote. Thanks ******! I committed to the loan with Homestreet and dropped the loan with ********* Unfortunately, as the closing drew near, and despite me providing all required documentation and verifications, HomeStreet Bank provided me with a new Good Faith Estimate on July 10 citing new loan program, with an increased interest rate (3.5%) with shorter time of 5 years instead of 7 years ARM, and with significantly increased closing costs (about $5000 increase is the origination fee). The reasons for this change were due to HomeStreet's "inability" to verify my 2-year residency **** ******* and I already provided verification from Australia and my previous rental in Australia); and proof of funds from Thailand (however, per *** ********** advice, I completed a Gift Letter to achieve this). As a result, I has not only been compelled to incur a higher interest rate and closing costs but I have also had to extend the closing of my purchase and enter into a rental agreement with the seller at the rate of $90.00 per day from June 26, 2014 to the closing date on July 11, 2014. *** ******* acted as an agent of HomeStreet Bank in dealing with me and provided me continued assurances that HomeStreet would be able to fund my loan, despite my residency and income verification issues (which were resolved in previous dealings with *** ********* Moreover, *** ******* was aware from the very beginning of my unique situation and due to the bank delays in closing, I was compelled to enter into a rental agreement rather than lose the purchase. The end result is that I, in order to salvage my purchase and avoid breach of the sale agreement, must enter into a less than desirable loan with much higher costs and rental charges.

Desired Settlement: Loan No. XXXXXXXXXX 1) return of the closing cost difference from the original June 10, 2014 estimate (rough difference of $5000). 2) compensate the rental paid from June 26 to closing date July 11 @$90 per day = $$1,440. 3) refinance the loan at the first opportunity within one year to the original loan without any cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/07/24) */ Better Business Bureau Complaint # XXXXXXXX ******, ****** Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us. Ms. ****** originally entered into discussions about a mortgage with HomeStreet Bank and submitted an application on January 27, 2014. At that time, Ms. ****** was provided with a list of required documentation. On February 13, the loan officer re-requested the required documentation from Ms. ****** via e-mail. On February 20, Ms. ****** informed HomeStreet that the property was under contract with another buyer and withdrew her application. On June 4, the loan officer began a new application with Ms. ****** and requested the same supporting documentation he had requested in January. He also let Ms. ****** know that HomeStreet needed all the information as soon as possible in order to try and make her requested close date of June 25th. She had selected a loan program for large loans that had stricter documentation requirements than other loan programs that HomeStreet Bank offers. A detailed history of this issue is documented below, including the documentation related to this complaint that was provided by Ms. ****** to HomeStreet Bank on the following dates: June 6: Received W2's June 8: Received some bank statement documents June 10: Received an account activity print-out to show the client had the funds required to close. HomeStreet was not able to use this documentation as a full bank statement is required. Client informed this was not accepted and requested full bank statement. Loan Officer e-mailed client stating he believed the loan could close by Friday, June 20th if he had a complete file no later than the next day, June 11th. June 17: Received 2013 Tax Extension. Client was informed HomeStreet was not able to use this documentation because the client had not previously filed US Tax Returns. June 18: Received current pay stub June 19: Loan officer advised Ms. ****** he had reservations about the loan being approved for the HomeStreet Select program via telephone. June 23: Received 401K statement June 24: Loan officer advised again Ms. ****** that he had reservations about the loan being approved for the specific loan program she wanted, this time via e-mail. June 25: Loan officer informed Ms. ****** via e-mail that due to lack of documentation to 2 year work history (had received only one year history documentation), 2 years taxes (could not use 2013 tax extension and had received only one year Australian tax information) and 2 years residency history (received one year from the US land lord, but were not able to independently verify Australian residency from land lord), the loan did not qualify for the specific loan program, but would qualify for a different loan program with less strict documentation requirements. June 26: Ms. ****** verbally told the loan officer to do what was necessary to close the loan, and gave her verbal approval to move forward on the loan program that was eventually used for her mortgage. A new Good Faith Estimate was sent to the client. July 8: Received additional 401K and bank account statements. July 8: Received US Tax Return July 10: Ms. ****** signed the loan documents July 11: The loan was funded Week of July 14: Ms. ****** called the loan officer to ask a question about payment details regarding the loan. During that conversation, Ms. ****** thanked the loan officer for all of his work on this loan. Because Ms. ****** did not supply the required documentation in a timely manner, HomeStreet did not have a complete application until after the requested loan closing date. HomeStreet Bank provided several financial discounts to close this loan, including: $600 for the Appraisal - Ms. ****** told HomeStreet she had already paid for an appraisal with her **** mortgage application and did not want to pay for it again. HomeStreet agreed to use the **** appraisal. However, Ms. ****** had not paid for the appraisal with ***** HomeStreet then had to order and pay for an appraisal. The appraisal cost was not passed along to Ms. ****** because it was not listed on the original Good Faith Estimate. $150 for the 442 Inspection - HomeStreet needed an after-appraisal inspection to verify there was not an issue with the electrical box at the home. HomeStreet covered this cost as it was directly related to the appraisal. $762 for a Lock Extension - Due to Ms. ****** not providing documentation in a timely manner, her rate lock expired. HomeStreet Bank waived the Lock Extension fee of 0.125 of the $610,000 loan amount. $1,525 discount on Loan Origination Fee - Our loan officer discounted Ms. ****** origination fee for 0.25 point due to needing to change loan programs. HomeStreet Bank bent over backwards to close this loan for Ms. ******. We have already made multiple accommodations for this client, including putting a rush on the file to try to meet an aggressive closing time-frame. We have also provided financial waivers and discounts in the amount of $3,037. We do not believe additional financial compensation is warranted in this situation. We regret that Ms. ****** does not feel that she received the excellent customer service for which we always strive. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2014/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Note: this is not complete. I sent the full version to ******* via email. This letter serves as my response to HomeStreet Bank's answer of July 25, 2014 to my complaint via Better Business Bureau ********* (the Reply Letter). Please note that the reply enclosed above had both incomplete information and factual inaccuracies that I would now like to clarify for the record. I. Factual Allegations I initially engaged with ******** for a house loan and had already received a conditional approval from ******** that was based on my fixing up 3 items they had identified on the property. I notified *** ******* at HomeStreet Bank of this. The following exchanges then occurred: June 4-June 10 *** ******* offered me a loan with the following conditions based on the following mutual representations: a) That I had lived in the USA for 18 months b) Initial down payment funded from Thailand and Australia from my bank accounts maintained abroad would be sufficient with the proof of fund via gift letter c) No requirement for home improvement *** ******* in the course of our consultations that week informed me that if I committed to take the loan from HomeStreet bank with the offer dated June 10, 2014, he would process it in a rush. He stated that he was confident that the loan would be approved by June 20, 2014. In an email to me, he confirmed the terms of the loan were: (1) 7ARM, 30 years, (2) 3.375% interest rate, (3) closing costs of $5,135 with waived appraisal fee. The origination fee was 0.125% or $763. (RE: Document 1) It should be noted that *** ******* selected the loan program for me based on an assessment of my current situation. HomeStreeet Bank's letter incorrectly states that I had selected the loan program when in fact it was *** ******** Given I had no prior knowledge of the different loan programs of HomeStreet Bank, it is difficult to comprehend how I could "select" a program. Furthermore, *** Emerson's representations to me via email contradict HomeStreet Bank's assertions. *** ******* stated in his email that with regards to my credit history of 18 months in the US that he did not foresee any issues. *** ********** email states: "I also spoke with the underwriting help desk and they seem to think that we would be ok with the length of time you have had credit in the United States." Regarding the closing date he said, "I also spoke with the processor and I am confident that we would be able to close by next Friday if I can have a full file by tomorrow."Next Friday in the context of the email refers to 17 June 2014 and everything was provided to him by that date. *** ******* also committed to rushing the loan. ("That being said I will need a commitment that you will close the loan with HomeStreet. We will be pulling people off of other application so that we be able to close your loan under a RUSH." (RE: Ducument2) Before I dropped the approved loan with ******** and confirmed the move with the moving company I stressed to *** ******* that I need a commitment that he would really be able to close the loan for me by June 25, 2014. He committed in writing on June 17 and, based on this commitment, I dropped the engagement with Citibank. I also supplied all the requested documents and *** ******* did not require any other document at that point (RE: Document 3). *** ******* email states: "We have a closing date set for 6/25. Your loan is going to be submitted to underwriting this afternoon. If we need any additional Items I will contact you right away." Therefore, these communications show that there was no delay on my end but rather new documentation requests as we went through the process. In fact from the time of each request, I had provided the required documentation no later than 2 days from the time of request (mostly on the same day). The reason for my providing documents after June 17th was because the information was requested after June 17th, not because I delayed my submissions. (Please also note through the entire process, I sent regular emails asking if any other documents were required.) Attached are the documents that provided in a timely manner. Here is a timeline regarding the document requests and when they were provided: June 19: New request on work history and fund transfer (RE: Document 4). I supplied it the same day of request. June 23: *** ******* requested an additional reserve of $16,000 which I provided on the same day. Such a big request should have been requested much earlier (RE: Document 5). He also asked for one more year of Australia tax year 2011-2012 which I provided on the same day of the request. (RE: Document 6) June 24: *** ******* informed that the loan was with the underwriting June 25: *** ******* emailed me to suggest that I change the loan program as the current loan program required 3 documentations that he felt would be difficult for me to obtain at short notice. 2-year work history including the work in Australia 2013 US tax payment 2-year residency history including rent in Australia Your letter does not state that I had in my email confirmed that I had supplied the documentation the very same day and therefore there was no need to switch my loan program. *** ******* accepted my representation. It is quite obvious that this information could have been requested from me right at the outset. The fact that it was not is a reflection of *** ********** incompetence that he did not request this information until the 25th, the day he had originally promised the loan would close. On the same day, *** ******* sent a request to my agent to extend the loan closing date to June 30, 2014. The extension with the seller was accepted but I had to enter into a rental agreement and paid $90 rent per day (RE: Document 9). Mr. Emerson was first promised the closing on June 20, then asked for an extension with heavy promise to June 25, then asked for an extension again to June 30, with more extension requests until the final day of July 11. Note that the nature of the loan/my situation is exactly the same throughout the state of the loan. It was his incompetence that caused the delay. June 26: *** ******* emailed me to request additional info as follows: the age of my children confirmation that tax 2013 was paid I provided those documents on the same day. June 27: *** ******* requested for a fax number of my HR person in Australia. He mentioned that he needed the verification that my earning included bonus. He also represented to me that this would be the last information request from his end and that if it was verified then the loan would be approved. He stated that his bank had to independently verify the document from Australia. The verification document with the format required by the bank was sent back from my previous company in Australia directly to *** ******* on June 27. The document stated the bonus of 20% and I forwarded that info to *** ******* again. (RE: Document 10) June 30: *** ******* requested that the electrical board be upgraded. I sent a copy of approval from the City of Mercer Island to him on that day. I would like to point that he had informed me on June 10 when he asked for my commitment to close the loan with HomeStreet Bank instead of ********* that this home improvement was not required. Luckily I already upgraded it anyway. (RE: Document 11) July 3 and July 8: I sent an email to follow up and to get the final GFE based on June 10 without the appraisal fee. *** ******* informed me that ****** (his manager) has changed the type of the loan without his knowledge. He offered me a new loan with higher interest rate and that he would try to reduce the origination fee as much as possible. Given how far into the purchase process that I was at, I had no option but to accept the terms. I told him that I would accept the loan as long as the closing fee was in line with his offer on June 10. (RE: Document 12) On July 7, *** ******* sent across a new GFE with the following details. (RE: Document 13) a very high closing cost of $9,802.07 (note that the origination fee increases to $5,520, instead of $763) 5 ARM (instead of 7 ARM) Interest rate of 3.5% (instead of 3.375%) July 8: I had a telephone conference with *** ******* and his manager, ****** ******* *** ****** mentioned that my loan was pulled out from the process due to two reasons. 1) The bank could not verify 2 years of history. Note that all the verifications have been sent directly to *** ******** 2) Proof of fund from Thailand. Note that *** ******* advised me to use gift letter to achieve this. In the end, I was forced to enter into a less than desirable loan with much higher costs and rental charges to salvage my purchase and avoid breach of the sale agreement. II. Legal Claims NOte : Thre are more detail. I could not attach everything here. I sent full details with attachments via email to *** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/08/07) */ Better Business Bureau complaint - ****** ****** BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX We well understand the borrower's frustration with the loan process. In today's lending climate the documentation requirements on a loan can be extremely onerous. Documentation requirements are imposed by bank and federal regulators, as well as secondary market and private investors and can vary depending upon the loan program and loan terms. It is often not possible at the time of application for the loan officer to know exactly what documentation will be needed to obtain loan approval. Unfortunately it is not uncommon these days for lenders to have to request additional documentation from borrowers right up until the time the loan is prepared for closing. In the case of Ms. ******'s loan, the primary problem was not that she had lived in the US for less than two years. It was that we were unaware that she had not filed her federal US tax returns for 2013. The loan program for which she applied requires that we independently verify a borrower's tax returns by obtaining transcripts of the tax returns from the IRS. This is a standard requirement of most loan programs, but can be waived on certain loan programs if the borrower has filed an extension. When we requested the transcripts from the IRS we received a response that she had not yet filed. At that point the loan officer verbally requested an exception to this guideline from the underwriter, but was told that on this program the requirement could not be waived. Although the borrower did go forward with filing her tax returns on June 25, it can take as long as 6 weeks to obtain transcripts on returns that are newly filed so we would have been unable to obtain them in time to close the loan. During this time we were also struggling to obtain the required verification of rent from her Australian landlord and verbal verification of her previous employment in Australia - both of which were also requirements of the loan. We did finally receive the verification of rent on June 26, and in the end we waived the VOE on the previous employment when we changed loan programs. Because of our inability to obtain the required documentation, we recommended that she switch her loan to a HomeStreet portfolio program where HomeStreet had the flexibility to waive the requirement of the tax transcript and previous VOE. We very much regret the frustration that Ms. ****** experienced during the process of her loan. We take our commitment to excellent customer service very seriously and are disappointed that we weren't able to provide Ms. ****** with a smooth and stress-free transaction. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) HomeStreet Bank promised to me on the cost and the outcome of my home loan and forced me to drop the engagement with ******** which was already approved. I relied on Homestreet bank promises but at the end they just said they could not do it as promised but switched the loan program that simply charged more money that went directly to the bank. They knew at that stage I would force to accept the loan or lose the purchase. It is basically unlawful and unethical business practice. *** ******* of HOmeStreet Bank just simply gave promises to me to steal the business from the ******** then not fulfil his promises. HomeStreet bank said it was the way we ran the business and there was nothing we could help you. That is wrong. The reason given inthe final letter had nevern been given to me before. They just ran out of exceses. HomeStreet bank did not accept any responsibility nor offer any resolution. They should be punished.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was renting a house from an owner that went into foreclosure. To get into this house originally, we had to pay first month, last month and a deposit. I received an offer from Homestreet Bank (cash for keys)on Sept 11th offering me and my husband $5,400 to move out by Oct 15th. We agreed, signed all documents and prepared to move. After we moved out(on Oct 7th but turned over the keys on Oct 15th) and paid first, last and deposit on another house...we get an email from Homestreet. Not only were they not refunding our last month's payment but took out rent (from Oct 1st to Oct 15th) from the payment we were supposed to get AND took out $158.74 in Sewer fees that were the responsibility of the previous home owner. I feel totally mislead but if this is what the Cash for Keys program is about, then I will make sure to let others know. Had I known all of this, I would have stayed in the house and just continued to pay rent. Homestreet also said that our signed rental contract with the owner was not valid since it was not notorized, which others have said was not true. So I feel mislead AND lied to.

Desired Settlement: $1,608.74. The amount withheld from the total $5400 that we agreed too.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/18) */ The following information was submitted to BBB on November 1, 2013 -- I have a printed copy of this response. Better Business Bureau Complaint #XXXXXXXX *****, ******* Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us. *** ***** had been a tenant in property on which HomeStreet Bank had to foreclose. *** ***** was offered a "cash for keys" offer of $2,500 with a move out date of October 15, 2013 and a full refund of her $2,900 security deposit if the property was left in "move in" condition. There was discussion with *** ***** on October 5 and October 7 that she was still responsible for the pro-rated October rent up until the day she turned over the keys in the cash-for-keys agreement on. Also, the lease agreement indicates the tenant is responsible for all utilities as well, which would include the water/sewer billing to 9/30/13. *** ***** turned the keys over on October 15, 2013. In our payment to *** *****, the pro-rata rent as well as the utility bill was deducted from the $2,500 for a total remaining of $891.26. This was in addition to the $2,900 which was paid. We have reviewed the matter. We understand that it was through no fault of *** ***** that she had to move from the house, and we appreciated that she left the house in good condition. We also understand the emotional stress that was caused by her having to move and find a new home. We have therefore decided that we will send to her a check in the amount of $1,608.74, the amount that deducted from the promised $2,500. In regards to her concerns regarding the validity of the lease agreement, under Washington State Law, a lease for a term exceeding one year that is not notarized is generally not valid and deemed to be a month-by-month lease. Under Washington RCW 59.18.210, any lease for a term exceeding one year (12 months) must be notarized.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not had access to my online banking for over a year.The company locked me out of my account so they culd do security updates a year ago.i made many complaints,but nothing was restored. prior to this i terminated my paper statements and setup a direct deposit of my pay from work into this account to fulfill a promotional offer.This company stinks of a scam.

Desired Settlement: i would like a full year of statements of all transaction,cashiers check for the amount in the account and account closed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/27) */ In October 2012, HomeStreet Bank upgraded our consumer online banking system. In the upgrade, login identification stayed the same before - however, any capital letters converted to all in lower case. Customers were notified of this change several times prior to the upgrade. This may have contributed to his inability to get in to online banking. In reviewing our online access records, we show *** ******* attempted to access his account online several times in October 2012 and again in November 2012, and then did not attempt again until September 2013. Our customer service center records do not show that *** ******* called for help to resolve his inability to access his account online. Additionally, our NW Portland Branch (where *** ******* has his account) knows this client, but reported that they do not recall that he asked for help with online banking. Our Customer Service Manager reached out to talk with *** ******* this week to explain that she can easily help him get into his account online. *** ******* was not responsive to our attempt at resolving his access issue. HomeStreet will be happy to help *** ******* access his account online and provide copies of account statements. He may call our customer service department at XXX-XXX-XXXX or he may visit his branch. While we prefer to help resolve these issues for *** ******* and keep him as a client, if he chooses to close his account, he will need to follow standard bank procedures to do so. He will need to go into the branch in person to do so.

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service