This business is not BBB accredited.

Heritage Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 306-5400 Fax: (360) 992-6201 View Additional Phone Numbers 201 5th Ave SW, Olympia, WA 98501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hf-wa.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking, escrow and loan services. This company is a financial institution. This company is a financial institution. This company is a financial institution. This company is a financial institution. This company is a financial institution.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Heritage Bank include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Heritage Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Heritage Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2001 Business started: 04/01/1927 Business started locally: 04/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Deuel, President Ms. Lori Blurton, Administrative Officer Ms. Carol Coulter, Escrow Manager Ms. Cindy Huntley, SVP Retail Banking Ms. Kaylene Lahn, Secretary Ms. Lynda Larrabee, VP/Administrative Officer Mr. Don Rhodes, Chairman Ms. Jodie Stewart, Escrow Manager Mr. Brian Vance, Vice President Mr. Craig Yoshino, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Deuel, President
Business Category

Banks Real Estate Loans Escrow Service

Alternate Business Names
Bay Bank Bay Bank Springridge at Charbonneau Bay Escrow Bay Mortgage Bay Mortgage Inc Cowlitz Bank The Cowlitz Bank Valley Bank Whidbey Island Bank
Additional Information

On July 30, 2010, the Cowlitz Bank of Longview, WA, including those branches operating under the name Bay Bank (a Division of The Cowlitz Bank), was closed by the Washington Department of Financial Institutions. Subsequently, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation was named Receiver. No advance notice is given to the public when a financial institution is closed.

All deposit accounts, excluding certain brokered deposits, have been transferred to Heritage Bank of Olympia, WA. For more information on Heritage Bank, go to www.heritagebankwaonline2.com or call (800) 455-6126.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Heritage Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    (range 100 - 199) S 1st St

    Kalama, WA 98625 (360) 673-2226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 S 13th Ave

    Kelso, WA 98626 (360) 423-7800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1001 SW 5th Ave Ste 250

    Portland, OR 97204 (503) 306-5400 (253) 848-1968 (253) 848-2316 (253) 848-7240 (800) 448-2490

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1005 Wood Ave

    Sumner, WA 98390 (253) 826-0944

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10318 Gravelly Lake Dr SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 588-9866

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10514 156th St E STE 106

    Puyallup, WA 98374

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1119 Pacific Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98402 (253) 572-5772

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    112 E Main

    Puyallup, WA 98372

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12803 Canyon Rd E

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1307 E Main

    Puyallup, WA 98372 (253) 848-2316

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1505 Westlake Ave N Ste 125

    Seattle, WA 98109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15211 Pacific Ave S

    Tacoma, WA 98444 (253) 561-4360

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15815 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98375

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16400 SE 18th St

    Vancouver, WA 98683

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1722 S Union Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98405 (253) 471-1500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 5th Ave SW

    Olympia, WA 98501 (360) 943-1500 (253) 875-3675 (253) 770-7699 (253) 770-7686

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    202 Cowlitz St W

    Castle Rock, WA 98611 (360) 673-2226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    209 S Meridian

    Puyallup, WA 98371 (253) 848-7248

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2825 Eastlake Ave E Ste 300

    Seattle, WA 98102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 E Wallace Kneeland Blvd Ste 115

    Shelton, WA 98584 (360) 426-4431

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    32200 SW French Prairie Rd

    Wilsonville, OR 97070 (503) 694-6950

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    32303 Pacific Hwy S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 941-8541

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    415 W James St

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 813-8500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4220 A St SE STE 109

    Auburn, WA 98002 (253) 333-2332

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4400 Pacific Ave SE

    Lacey, WA 98503 (360) 491-4350

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    450 SW Bayshore Dr

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277 (888) 642-2265

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4627 S Meridian

    South Hill, WA 98373 (253) 770-1343

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5119 Olympic Dr NW

    Gig Harbor, WA 98335 (253) 941-8541 (253) 858-1536

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    520 112th Ave NE STE 160

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 452-1543

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    520 Water St SW

    Olympia, WA 98501 (360) 943-1500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5301 Capitol Blvd SW

    Tumwater, WA 98501 (360) 943-5100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5448 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 472-3333

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5800 Rainier Loop SE

    Lacey, WA 98513 (360) 438-2000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Washington St Ste 105

    Vancouver, WA 98660 (360) 992-6200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8002 Pacific Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98408 (253) 473-4945

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    850 Trosper Rd SW

    Tumwater, WA 98512

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8801 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98499 (253) 584-8600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    900 Cooper Point Rd SW

    Olympia, WA 98502 (360) 705-3500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    927 Commerce Ave

    Longview, WA 98632 (360) 423-9800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9802 Gravelly Lake Dr SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 588-9866

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9921 224th St E

    Graham, WA 98338

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1518

    Longview, WA 98632

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 578

    Puyallup, WA 98371

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ALWAYS BEING CHARGED AN OVERDRAFT FEE FROM USEING JUST A DEBIT CARD. I DO NOT WRITE CHECKS OR DO I HAVE A CREDIT CARD.HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH HERITAGE BANK EVER SINCE IT CHANGED FROM ********* ********** **** TO HERITAGE BANK IN AUBURN,WA,98092.SOMEONE ALSO HACKED INTO MY ACCOUNT.I AM ON A FIXED INCOME,ANMD THIS HAS COST MORE THEN I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY.

Desired Settlement: I FEEL THE $150.00 BE PUT BACK TO MY ACCOUNT.

9/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When my checking account is overdrawn and a check comes through, Whidbey Island Bank returns the check and charges me 32.00. However, they then charge me 32.00 again if the check is resubmitted by the vendor a few days later. In essence, They accept the check and then return it again and charge me a second time. Is this okay?

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to be refunded the excess over draft fees they have charged me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/10) */ When the account was opened with the bank you are provided several disclosure documents concerning our checking accounts. These include Terms and Conditions for the account. This disclosure explains your liability to the terms of the account and the schedule of charges. You were also provided a schedule of charges for the account, which you authorize the bank by opening the account to charge from your account. The Terms and Conditions also includes a section that pertains to overdrafts. The bank does offer services to prevent an overdraft fee if you have another account such a savings to sweep funds to the checking account to cover an overdraft or the option of an overdraft protection line of credit if you qualify. It appears you did not have either of these services in place at the time of the overdraft. Your account had an overdraft on 8-18-14 on which an NSF fee was charged for returning the check. The records shows that on 8-22-14 the merchant put the check back through to attempt to get credit for item you paid to them. At the time the check was resubmitted to us for payment your account didn't have the funds to cover it and it was returned again as NSF and an NSF fee was charged for the handling of this return item. The bank does not have the ability to control the merchant's ability to re-submit the check again for payment, you would have been able to control that by contacting the merchant to take care of it directly when it was returned the first time. The terms of your account allow us to charge for any item that is submitted against the account for payment and does not have a limitation on this charge for an item that's submitted a second time for payment. It might be beneficial for you to contact your branch to discuss options for services that might assist you in preventing further NSF/Overdrafts and charges that might apply to these items. The charges that have applied in the past to your account were appropriate and allowed. We are unable to provide your requested resolution as it pertains to a refund of the charges. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have had banking relationships in the past that allowed for checks to be posted a second time but it didn't result in a second charge. I was just dissapointed to see that your bank doesn't just charge $32, but that they in essence charge $64. I regret that I fell on hard times during my time with your bank; but you really took advantage of my situation and made it much worse. A $64 charge is more than a payday loan charges. I wonder if you can rethink your position on this. I am not trying to get the money back at this point, I just think what you are doing is bad business and I can't help but inform everyone I know. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/16) */ If the check that was submitted the second time by the merchant had come for presentment on a day that there was a positive balance in your account to pay the item, we would not have charged a secondary fee, it would have posted to your account as paid without a charge. Your statement concerning previous banking relationship makes it sound like you are referring to a situation where the check being presented a second time was able to post against a positive balance when it was presented the second time, unlike this situation where your account still didn't have funds available to cover the second presentment and the bank had to handle the return process again. The charge for an NSF item is not for the posting of it but for the additional handling of the item that the bank has to perform when an item does not have the funds to pay it and it has to go back through the returning process. The Bank was not attempting to take advantage of your situation, it was just charging the fees for an NSF item return process that were disclosed in the fee schedule. As stated in the earlier response the bank does offer services that may assist in preventing unexpected NSF/Overdrafts such as sweep account or overdraft line of credit. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to update and retain accurate contact information and records on account as requested. The collections department continued to try and contact me at an address that was not current despite having received my updated information on three different occasions.

Desired Settlement: I would like this complaint reported to the Collection Department Management to make them aware of the problem and have them contact me personally as I have been unsuccessful in getting through to them by phone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 34, 2013/11/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** * ******, VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@wibank.com The review of the records on this customer indicated that during the collection process she did provide over the phone an address to the collections area but it appears that the change never made it to the bank records. The customer should have been sent an address change form to complete the process. Any form sent out by the bank would have been sent to the old address which is our procedure to prevent an unauthorized address change. Upon receipt of the complaint I requested the Collections Manager to call the customer as requested in the resolution section of the complaint. The Collections Manager has called and left 4 messages for ***** ********* asking her to call her back. She has not responded to the calls and messages left as of the date of this complaint response.

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been banking with heritage bank for some time now. I haven't been checking my bank statements for almost a year. Just the last 2 days, I noticed that Heritage have been deducting $30 from my account every month for almost a year on their own naming it "DEBIT-RB SERVICE FEE". I am outraged by this. I do not know what fee is this and I have never asked for their service. I want all my money back and I will NEVER bank with a dishonest bank like Heritage again.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund FULL REFUND

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/26) */ *** ***** opened a Premier account which requires a minimum balance of $50,000 to be maintained or a $25 dollar fee is assessed per month. This was fully disclosed to *** ***** at the time of account opening. Additionally, on April 10, 2012 he enrolled in the travel advantage membership which is a $5 monthly fee again fully disclosed to the customer. The account was closed by the cusotmer on 8/20/13 wher we refunded three months of his monthly service. We are going to send him an additional $50.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Heritage Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart