BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbia Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbia Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Columbia Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1993 Business started: 05/01/1988 Business started locally: 05/01/1988 Business incorporated 05/27/1988 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Melanie Dressel, President Mr. Keith Brown, 84th & Pacific Branch Manager Ms. JoAnne Coy, VP Director of Community and Corporate Relations Mr. Nick Davidson, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Analyst Ms. Diane Fritschy, Auburn Branch Manager Mr. Mike Harris, West Olympia Branch Manager Ms. Jeannie Johnson, Sumner Branch Manager Ms. Paula Jones, Branch Manager - Puyallup Ms. Kathy Knapper, Branch Manager - Spanaway Ms. Kathleen Morgan, Enumclaw Branch Manager Mr. Tony Nausid, Stadium Branch Manager Ms. Kim Piotrowski, Customer Service Mgr Mr. Jim Reed, Bonney Lake Branch Manager Mr. Dave Rosholm, Marketing Officer Ms. Melea Sexton, Marketing Specialist, Yakima Branch Mr. Adam Stein, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Analyst Ms. Nancy Stolz, Gig Harbor-Downtown Branch, Manager Ms. Linda Stone, Buckley Branch Manager Mr. Greg Todd, Renton Branch Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Davidson, CRA & Fair Lending Compliance Analyst
Principal: Ms. Melanie Dressel, President
Business Category

Banks Real Estate Loans Commercial Banking (NAICS: 522110)

Alternate Business Names
Columbia Banking System Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Columbia Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10409 Canyon Rd E

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • 1250 Meridian E

    Milton, WA 98354

  • 1501 54th Ave E

    Fife, WA 98424

  • 15104 Main St E

    Sumner, WA 98390 (253) 826-0100

  • 17208 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98375

  • 17502 Pacific Ave S

    Spanaway, WA 98387 (253) 539-3094

  • 1959 S Union Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98405 (253) 305-1940

  • 19925 State Route 410 E

    Bonney Lake, WA 98391

  • 201 S 84th St

    Tacoma, WA 98444 (253) 471-7000

  • 2041 Auburn Way N

    Auburn, WA 98002 (253) 939-9600

  • 2207 30th Ave

    Longview, WA 98632

  • 2401 Mildred St W

    Tacoma, WA 98466

  • 25 16th St NE

    Auburn, WA 98002

  • 2820 Harrison Ave NW

    Olympia, WA 98502 (360) 848-5000

  • 29290 Highway 410 E

    Buckley, WA 98321 (253) 863-8500 (360) 829-0100

  • 3006 Judson St Ste 101

    Gig Harbor, WA 98335 (253) 851-5551

  • 333 SW 7th St

    Renton, WA 98057 (425) 228-1800 (425) 228-1800

  • 33370 Pacific Hwy S

    Federal Way, WA 98003

  • 3500 S Meridian Ste 503

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • 4101 A St SE

    Auburn, WA 98002

  • 4220 S Meridian

    Puyallup, WA 98373

  • 501 Roosevelt Ave

    Enumclaw, WA 98022 (360) 825-0100

  • 504 W Meeker St

    Kent, WA 98032

  • 5303 Point Fosdick Dr NW

    Gig Harbor, WA 98335

  • 5727 N 21st St

    Tacoma, WA 98406

  • 601 N 1st St

    Tacoma, WA 98403 (253) 597-8811

  • 6202 Mount Tacoma Dr SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • 721 2nd Ave

    Seattle, WA 98104

  • 777 108th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • 782 Goerig St

    Woodland, WA 98674

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Columbia Bank has offered free on-line banking for businesses for a number of years.*************** ******* a Quaker church has banked with Columbia and has used that on-line service to view accounts, transfer funds between accounts and pay some repetitive bills. In the October and November statements they withdrew $25.00 fees for "premium business online banking". When I questioned these charges with our branch it turns out we were supposed to have "opted out" of these services if we didn't want them. This is a deceptive practice. Common customer service practices would allow customers to opt in for enhanced products that they found useful and were willing to pay for. It is predatory for a financial institution to force customers to understand the new "enhanced" product and decide whether they want the service or not.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all fees associated with this enhanced service which ********************** never wanted and never used.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/01/06) */ December 23, 2014 Dear***********************, Thank you for giving Columbia Bank the opportunity to be your banking partner for so many years. I have received your comments about the fees for Business Online Banking and I am deeply concerned that we have damaged the trust you have in Columbia. Your fees will be reversed today, per your request, and the online banking fee will not be charged again. A credit of $61.90 has been posted to your account on December 22. The Treasury Management fee changes were disclosed in your August checking statement. Columbia prides itself on respecting and appreciating our customers and would never set out to be deceptive. I realize, however, that you likely receive a lot of mail and understand that sometimes these types of things can be overlooked. The $25 fee has been in existence for many years; it appears that you may have had a special price and when we implemented our fee changes and that special pricing was not carried over. It truly is not a matter of opting in or out, it is a matter of the functionality granted to your company. I apologize for the inconvenience these fees may have caused. On behalf of the bank and the Commercial Care Team, we sincerely appreciate your relationship with the bank. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further concerns or questions. Best regards, ***************, Treasury Management Division Manager ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father had a checking account with these bank. We took all of the money from the account, except $38.88. That was left in the account just in case, there was any checks out in 5-21-2012. We moved him to Huntsville, AL in 5-21-2012. He passed away in January 12, 2013. I am the appointed of his personal representative of his will. I am his only bequest residuary of his estate. I contacted the bank 1 month after his passing. After one year I finely got a Affidavit from them, received it on 2-18-2014. The bank decided to take $10.00 per month from the account for no active starting November 2013. Already knowing that he had passed in January of 2013. Now there is no money to get. They took all $38.88. Also he had already sign a check 1-1-2013 to close the account, made out to me. I deposit it, they the bank froze the account, do to his passing. It is not the amount, it is what they have done is totally wrong. I want the $38.88.Father name ****** * ******** Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund His money, $38.88.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ To Whom It May Concern, We are very sorry to hear of the passing of Ms. ******'s father and would like to offer our sincere condolences for her loss. Columbia State Bank ("Bank") received a copy of the above referenced complaint ("Complaint") on June 11th, 2014. As of the date of this letter, the Bank has not received legal documentation of Ms. ******'s appointment as Personal Representative of her father's estate. Once received, the Bank will gladly discuss specific account details or release any funds of the decedent (if applicable). If Ms. ****** has questions regarding what document(s) should be submitted, or needs additional assistance, she is welcome to contact ****** ******** Vice President Regional Sales & Service Officer at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Additionally, while we have no record of Ms. ****** contacting the Bank in early 2013 to give notice of her father's passing, we acknowledge that the Inactive Fees described in the Complaint may have been avoided had the Bank received such notice and advised Ms. ****** at that time of the documentation requirement. For this reason, the Bank will gladly consider reversing any Inactive Fees that resulted from the alleged miscommunication once Ms. ******'s capacity of Personal Representative is established. Thank you for the opportunity to address Ms. ******'s concerns. We look forward to working with her to resolution. Best regards, **** ******* **** ********** ********** ******* Columbia State Bank (XXX) XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My father signed a check for me to close the account before his passing. His passing was sudden, I deposited the check, but it did not clear, because I had contacted the bank of his passing, so the account was froze. I have talked to ****** **** 5 times. First time in Feb. 2013, did not have death certificate yet, but that he had passed, would send a copy of the Will, se saidd no. second time when the check did not clear, three time about fees, four time she sent me a affidavit surviving spouse in 2-19-2014. On 2-14-2014 first time I was told about the Affidavit. Also I mail her the death certificate, because she asked me for it for the first time. Fifth time I called to ask to fill the affidavit out. She told me there was no money left in the account, & if my father wanted me to have the money, he would have put me on the account. On 5-18-2012, we together pulled out $6,700. Left just any to cover any bills or checks out. He left WA with me to come to AL on 5-21-2012,to live. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/11) */ Re: Customer Complaint Case ID: XXXXXXXX; *******. ****** To Whom It May Concern, Columbia State Bank ("Bank"), received a copy of the above referenced complaint on June 27th, 2014 ("Complaint"). The Complaint represents a re-opening of a previous Complaint ("Original Complaint"), which was received on June 11th, 2014. In our response to the Original Complaint, the Bank welcomed Ms. ****** to supply us with legal documentation of her appointment as Personal Representative of her father's estate which would allow us to discuss specific account details with her, or release any funds of the decedent (if applicable). We also provided Ms. ****** the name and direct contact information of an employee who could assist her in the process. We have not since received any contact from Ms. ******, and have not been supplied with the documentation necessary for us to proceed. To ensure we resolve her concerns, a Bank employee will be contacting Ms. ****** directly at the phone number she provided in her Complaint. If Ms. ****** would like more immediate action, she may contact ****** ******** Vice President Regional Sales & Service Officer at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Best regards, **** ******* Vice President, Compliance Officer Columbia State Bank XXX) XXX-XXXX

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I know it is late but I cannot sleep because I am so upset. I am a former *************** customer. We have been aware that Columbia Bank acquired us and we were told that we would not see any changes. I am upset because we have seen serious changes that affect our banking relationship and trust. The first thing I noticed is that I no longer have access to no more than 3 weeks history* in my bill pay. Which is very devastating to me because we wanted to clean up our credit score and buy our own home. When I called I was soon to be notified that my husband's name is the only name on the account.* He was home and able to answer the security questions and then I was granted the permission to speak to the customer service rep. When I complained about the lack of bill pay history I was told that there was nothing they can do other than for me to go through the two years worth of statements and make my own history. I need it to look official*. I wanted to click on our landlords name and hit the history icon and have the list of dates that he has been paid for the last two years. I also need a payment history for Wells Fargo's lawyer that we have been paying. On Saturday, I realized that a bill did not need to go out on the 18th, as scheduled. I went online to cancel that payment and I was unable to because it was already in process*. I called again, and my husband had to authorize me to talk to someone again. This is a $400.00 bill that as far as I am concerned the bank has no right to touch until the 18th. I mean what if a check was coming in? My husband and I were both upset with the phone call with customer service. We decided that we want to switch to a different bank so I went back online to get my account numbers and due dates from the bill pay service and I have no access to any of my bill pay accounts, due dates and addresses.

Desired Settlement: I believe there is something they can do. Instead of being rude about my name not being on the account they should apologize that my name has been dropped from the account during "the move". Instead of being told that I have to go through my statements to create my own history they should grant me access to the old**************** Bill Pay service. I feel like they should be able to let me in to my old**************** account and retrieve everything I need. I am upset that they won't let me in. I am upset that they touched/ held money that they had no right to until the 18th. They treat us like we need to suck it up. I believe they should let me get what I need and not be so controlling thinking that they own us and that we have to make do with their current service. I truly believe that they should and must have a back up plan for us*********************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/07) */ October 7th, 2013 Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Customer Complaint Case ID: XXXXXXXX, ******* ******* To Whom It May Concern, Columbia State Bank, as successor by merger to **** ***** ***** ("Bank"), received a copy of the above referenced complaint on Tuesday, September 24th, 2013 ("Complaint"). The Bank appreciates the opportunity to address **** *******'s concerns. In the Complaint, **** ******* expresses her frustration regarding the lack of historical Personal Bill Pay transaction information on the Bank's website (after the merger). The Bank proactively notified customers of this change in the "Guide to Accounts and Services" brochure (copy attached) which was sent to all former **** ***** **** customers on July 25th, 2013. While the Bank regrets any inconvenience this may have caused our customer, we would like to assure her that seven years of account history (in the form of periodic statements) are available to her by contacting her local branch, or our Customer Care Center at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. **** ******* also states that her name was removed from an account during the merger. The Bank has reviewed all accounts held by **** ******* and we find no evidence to support this claim. The vesting of **** *******'s accounts (as of the date of this letter) is identical to the vesting of the same accounts prior to the merger. Upon **** *******'s request, the Bank can provide further documentation of the ownership of each of her accounts. Additionally, the Complaint details a specific Personal Bill Pay transaction which **** ******* was unable to cancel through the Bank's website on a Saturday (account history suggests this date to be September 14th, 2013). The Bank's procedures do not allow for stop-payments on this type of item (a paper draft) to be requested online; however a review of the account indicates that a stop-payment was entered manually (by a Bank employee) on Monday, September 16th, 2013. Finally, **** ******* indicates that she does not have access to any of her Personal Bill Pay payees. The Bank's default privacy controls are designed to allow access to Personal Bill Pay payees only to the user whose login credentials were used when the payee was established. This control exists to prevent the inadvertent commingling of information between joint accountholders who may also hold other accounts upon which the other party is not an owner. However, we realize that there are circumstances in which although one user's login credentials were used to establish the payee(s), another user ultimately needs access. In these cases, the Bank has the ability to modify the default accessibility settings in order to accommodate the needs of both users. Should **** ******* still desire access to these payees, we welcome her to contact us at the number below. In summary, the Bank regrets any frustration that **** ******* has experienced, and we hope we have addressed her concerns in this matter. Best regards, **** ******* Vice President, Compliance Officer Columbia State Bank (XXX) XXX-XXXX *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I recieved the phone call *** ******* mentioned and I believe that I was treated well and listened to. I was told that they were going to speak to their bill pay service people for being rude and uncaring. Thank you for the phone call I appreciated being treated professionally and humanely! Sincerely, ******* ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/26) */ October 26th, 2013 Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Customer Complaint Case ID: XXXXXXXX, ******* ******* To Whom It May Concern, Columbia State Bank, as successor by merger to **** ***** ***** ("Bank"), received a copy of the above referenced complaint on October 16th, 2013 ("New Complaint"). The Complaint represents a re-opening of a previous Complaint ("Original Complaint"), which was received on September 24th, 2013. In the New Complaint, **** ******* describes the difficulty she encountered in cancelling a recurring Personal Online Bill Pay payment. The details of the transaction suggest that there was a lack of clarity regarding the difference between a "Stop Payment" (which serves to stop only the specified transaction(s) within a series) and an altogether termination of a series of payments. The Bank apologizes for our part in the misunderstanding, and would like to reassure **** ******* that this payment has been made inactive for future payment dates, and will remain so unless re-activated by customer request. **** ******* has also brought the following to the Bank's attention: Since the merger of **** ***** **** and Columbia Bank, she has not been receiving bills from several payees ******** ******** and ******* To ensure we can understand and resolve this concern, a Bank representative will contact **** ******* directly at the phone number provided via the BBB. If **** ******* would like more immediate action, she is welcome to contact ******* ****, an Online Banking Specialist, at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. ******* can also assist in modifying online accessibility settings in order to accommodate **** *******'s needs. In regard to the two concerns voiced in both the Original and New Complaints (name removed from account; lack of Personal Bill Pay history), the Bank requests that the reader refer to our initial response, dated October 4th, 2013, as there is no additional information to provide. In closing, the Bank would like to echo **** *******'s desire for resolution of these matters, and we look forward to speaking with her. Best regards, **** ******* Vice President, Compliance Officer Columbia State Bank (XXX) XXX-XXXX

10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Columbia Bank checking account that I closed last week accepted an automatic charge from one of the ACH vendors that I forgot to change the checking account information with. I had never setup overdraft protection, that is Opting In, yet the bank accepts the ACH charges then charges me $33. Next they send me a letter that arrives four days after the charge was accepted that says in 5 days we will start charging you $5 a day. Apparently I have to go in person to the bank to pay on a closed account. So the note arrives Friday and all the banks branches in my area are closed on Saturday thus making it impossible for me to pay on a closed account within 5 days. I guess that means they will charge me another $5 when I go in on Monday to pay off the charge.The mailed statement says Overdraft Notice on the letter and I never Opted In for Overdraft Protection.The customer service representative told me that Opting In is only for debit card overdraft transactions and not for ACH. Is this true? Product_Or_Service: Checking Account Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Hi,I would like the $33 and any $5 fees refunded via check payable to me.Thanks. God Bless.***** *********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ October 14th, 2013 Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Suite 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: Customer Complaint Case ID: XXXXXXXX; ***** ********* To Whom It May Concern, Columbia State Bank, as successor by merger to **** ***** ***** ("Bank"), received a copy of the above referenced complaint on October 4th, 2013 ("Complaint"). After reviewing the details of the Complaint, the Bank has determined that proper procedures were not followed when *** ********* tried to close his account, which resulted in two overdraft fees being assessed. The Bank will issue a full refund of both overdraft fees, and will contact *** ********* to determine how he wishes to receive the funds. Should he desire more immediate resolution, he is welcome to contact ***** *************** Vice President & Retail District Manager at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to our customer, and we appreciate the opportunity to address his concerns. Best regards, **** ******* Vice President, Compliance Officer Columbia State Bank (XXX) XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Hi, I just received a call from *****. She said they are sending me a money order for $38. Awesome. Thanks. God Bless. *****

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a formal complaint against the branch manager, *************, of the Gig Harbor branch. She willingly and knowingly gave bank information to my ex-husband. My ex-husband was not, nor was he ever an account owner for the saving accounts for our children and yet he was able to obtain bank statements for these accounts. ******* and my ex husband are in rotary together and have been for years. I closed out my accounts from you facility due to the fact that your branch manager is giving out personal information on a whim. I am also filing complaints with the attorney general and better business bureau.

Desired Settlement: I think ******* should be fired for her misconduct.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 6, 2013/04/24) */ ****please view documents online****