BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2005

J L K Industries Inc

Phone: (425) 252-8710Fax: (425) 339-33593132 Rucker Ave, EverettWA 98201-4223

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2005

BBB has determined that J L K Industries Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised J L K Industries Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J L K Industries Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I took my vehicle to the aforementioned repair facility back in March of this year (2013) to have a code that had shown up looked at. They ran diagnostics and test drove and they determined a sensor was bad as well as a couple studs holding the exhaust manifold to the engine block had broken causing an exhaust leak. They completed the workand I drove off happy, until two weeks ago, early October that I started having transmission problems such as, shifting improperly. I took my vehicle to a transmission shop where the mechanic informed me that the dipstick tube for the transmission was missing causing transmission fluid to leak out and that it was burnt up pretty bad to where I need a new transmission he also told me that it had to be unbolted for it to come out. He looked up the schematics of the placement of it and it showed it bolts to the exhaust manifold. I told him about the repair I had done earlier this year and that it was most likely caused by an Everett auto clinic employee simply forgetting to reinstall the part, thus causing premature destruction of the transmission

Initial Business Response
E.A.C. HAS NOT SEEN THIS VEHICLE FOR ANY WARRANTY RE CHECK AFTER THE ORIG. REPAIR? I WOULD SUGGEST TO THE CUSTOMER TO SET UP A APPOINTMENT FOR A PROPER VEHICLE INSPECTION, AND DOCUMENTATION OF TIME, MILEAGE ETC....

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I was sold a package deal from a 3rd party doing business in partner with Everett Auto Clinic. The deal included free oil changes and other such services for the period of 2 years. When I purchased the package, I was told that I could get any type of oil that I wanted as part of the deal. I took my car in for an oil change and a/c unit inspection/repair. The free oil change ended up costing me over $30.00. My total bill with the A/C recharge was over $168.00. My husband took his car to the shop for an oil change at his appointed time, asked for the oil he wanted (which again, was part of the deal)and was told they did not stock that oil and they could only do one type. He did not end up getting any service done on his vehicle. I called the Everett Auto Clinic to talk to them about this and the owner **** ****** answered the phone. He was very rude, told me it wasn't his problem because they did not sell the package and that I would have to deal with the 3rd party company. He said I was not a customer of his and he did not have to talk to me. I informed him that I was in fact a customer of his, that they had just worked on my car and he hung up on me. I called him back, he yelled into the phone that if I called him one more time he was going to call the police on me.
Product_Or_Service: Oil Change

Initial Business Response
THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER IS ON THE CARD THAT WAS PURCHASED. E.A.C. RECEIVES NO PROCEEDS FOR THE SALES OF THAT PROMOTION, THE CUSTOMER CAN SIMPLY CALL THE NUMBER FOR ANY CONCERN THY HAVE. AFTER THE CUSTOMER USED PROFANITY ON THE LAST PHONE CALL, THE CONVERSATION WAS OVER, THERE IS NO REFUND FOR THE GOOD SERVICE THAT WAS AND IS USED BY THE CUSTOMER NOW. THEY CAN CALL THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER FOR ALL AND ANY CONCERNS OF THE PURCHASE OF THE PROMOTION.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did call the number on the consumer card and have talked with them seperately. The issue I have/had with EAC still stands that their customer service is horrible at best. And as far as the "good service" provided...ha! Part of the service on my vehichle was an inspection/repair of the AC service. EAC recharged the AC unit but I highly doubt they did any type of inspection farther than that as my AC does not work any better now that they worked on my car than it did when I took it to them. I paid $160 for them to recharge the AC and it leaks...so it didn't really do me any good to take it to them and pay for this service.

Final Business Response
ONCE AGAIN, E.A.C. IS DONE WITH THIS CASE, AND THIS CUSTOMER, ONCE ANYONE THREATENS AND USES PROFANITY, ALL SERVICE IS REFUSED. THIS PERSON DID BOTH. LEGAL ACTION MAY BE TAKEN. THIS HAS BEEN CC TO THE PROPER AUTHORITY.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Legal action will definately be taken.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: On December 6th 2013 at approximately 11:00am my 1996 Toyota corolla was dead. I got a jump and it still wouldn't start. I then called the Everett Auto Clinic via phone book. I talked to **** and he informed me that they had a contract with ****'s towing. I told **** I thought it was the starter. He informed me of an approximate of $382.00 for a new starter. **** said he'd have the car ready by 5'oclock. Approximately at 4:45pm **** called and said it wasn't the starter. **** tod me they checked everything including my battery. **** said the recharged the battery and cleaned the terminal. **** told me that my battery was only at 60%. He informed me that I had an after market alarm on my car and this is disabling things, so that would cause the car not to start. He said it would be cheaper being that I didn't need a new starter. He said by dismantling the after market alarm this would clear up my problem. The new price was now $324.00. **** then said he would have his electrical guy come in on Saturday 12/7/13 to fix this problem.

On Saturday 12/7/13 **** called at approximately 10:30am and said the car was ready. **** was informed that I wanted to pick up the old part. When I arrived **** did not have the part. He said there was nothing to give me. **** said it was all wiring. I paid and left.
On 12/9/13 at 8:00am I went to start the car and it did not start. I called **** he told me to have the car towed back to him and they would look at it for free. I was confused by him saying they would only look at it for free. I told **** that I'd given him all my money two days prior. **** was very unprofessional and rude stating the car started when I left. Around 1:00pm I tried to start the car again and it started. I called **** and told him the car started again he said bring it in in about 30min and they would look at it and make sure they did everything properly.

Initial Business Response
THIS VEHICLE WAS TOWED INTO E.A.C. NOT ABLE TO START, OR JUMP START,CUSTOMER COULD NOT JUMP START VEHICLE. INSPECTION FOUND NO POWER TO STARTER, IN THE START POSITION, THE CUSTOMER RECENTLY PURCHASED VEHICLE AND HAD NO PREVIOUS REPAIR HISTORY, POWER TO STARTER WAS INTERRUPTED BY AFTERMARKET SECURITY SYSTEM, UPON APPROVAL, THIS WAS TAKEN OUT OF SYSTEM AND VEHICLE STARTED, CUSTOMER WAS INFORMED THE BATTERY WAS MARGINAL, CUSTOMER DID BRING IN VEHICLE FOR A SECONDARY INSPECTION AT WHICH TIME THE STARTING SYSTEM WAS FUNCTIONING WITH NO PROBLEM, CUST. THEN DID RECEIVE HER OLD PARTS ORIGINALLY TAKEN OUT. VEHICLE OPERATED PROPERLY. E.A.C DID PERFORM A GOOD REPAIR IN WHICH THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED IN AND DROVE OUT FINE. IF THE BATTERY WAS THE ORIGINAL ISSUE, IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO JUMP START...OUR WARRANTY REPAIR HOLDS....

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again the part was asked for and not provided at the original
pick up day. With further investigation there was never an after market alarm on my car. Again the battery was no good and these guys ripped me off for something that was never on my car. **** told me they had to charge the battery. The charge only lasted a day. I only needed a battery

Final Business Response
AGAIN, THE CAR WAS TOWED TO SHOP ORIGINALLY, CUST TRIED TO JUMP, WE TRIED TO JUMP, IF THE ORIG. PROBLEM WAS THE BATTERY IT WOULD HAVE STARTED WITH A JUMP, THE CUSTOMER DID GET HER ORIG. PART TAKEN OUT OF CAR, THE CAR WAS TOWED IN, REPAIRED CORRECTLY AND DROVE OUT WITH THE STARTING SYSTEM IN WORKING CONDITION.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I had my car repaired, tune up, fuel filter replaced, and other repairs, Invoice #XXXXX. In replacing all that, they ruined a part on the radiator hose. We were stranded in Marysville with antifreeze spraying everywhere, shortly after taking the car from his lot. ******* would not take any responsibity for the damage. He gave us phone numbers of shops we could have the car towed to, at our expense. After getting it repaired & showing him the damaged part, still, all denials from him that the shop damaged the part. The only way it could have been damaged is if his mechanics carelessly broke it. They were working over, under & around it. This is cutomer service and shop credibility at it's worst! All the warranties at the bottom of the invoice are completely false.

Business' Initial Response
THE COOLING SYSTEM LEAK WAS A LEAK UNDER PRESSURE, THE COOLING SYSTEM HAD NO LEAKS WHEN IT LEFT E.A.C. WE CAN NOT BE RESPONSABLE FOR A COOLING SYSTEM HOSE FAILURE AFTER THE TUNE UP. THE FAILURE WAS A HARD PLASTIC PART THAT WHEN BROKE LEAKS IMMEDIATLY.N IT LEFT, THE CUSTOMER ADMITED NO COOLANT LEAKS ON HER OWN GARAGE FLOOR AFTER LEAVING OUR SHOP...THE FAILURE IS NOT RELATED TO THE TUNE UP...TRAUMA AND ADITIONAL REPAIRS???? THIS IS CLOSED...

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Everett Auto Clinic, ***********, Everett, WA.
He will never take responsibility for his so- called repairs and mis-haps! I'll pass it on to my family & friends. There is no resolution except he chooses to just ignore it & keep my money. Thank-you BBB for letting me post my complaints publicly.

Business' Final Response
THATS NOT THE STORY THAT WAS FIRST TOLD....NO OTHER RESPONSE....

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: incorrect diagnosis resulting in replacement of turbo. Problem was hole in turbo hose found by mechanic I took car to after losing patience with Everett Auto Clinic. Claimed to have replaced both fuel pumps and sending unit, and cleaned throttle body, which was not done. Had vehicle over 2 weeks.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** H. (MGR)
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: EVERETTAUTOCLINIC.COM

Concerning ****** *****'s Volvo vehicle came in on Aug 7th, 2012. It was found that the turbo was leaking oil in to the induction system. Turbo spoil is failing and recommended for replacement.


On February 27th, 2013 Volvo came in along with a parts car, customer requested that Everett Auto Clinic remove the turbo from the parts car(sedan) and install on the non parts car (wagon). Vehicle could not be test driven due to very little fuel in tank. Customer was informed that car needed fuel when he picked it up.

Customer returned car for lack of power, when asked he stated he had put fuel in to the car. Gauge still read empty.

Diagnosis of lack of power found failing fuel pressure regulator, customer requested EAC install used one from parts car.

While on test drive fuel pump failed and car had to be towed back to EAC. This tow was done at no charge to the customer. Customer requested that pump be used from parts car to replace failed pump.

As noted on repair order XXXXX, Engine has intermittent misfire on cylinder 2, Lack of power when turbo is boosting, internal engine mechanical failure that is making noise that causes the knock sensor to retard the timing. Diagnostics were never completed as per customers request.

Customer has filed a small claims court case and Everett Auto Clinic is done working with this customer due to court case.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The hole in the boost hose that was missed by EAC's technician was the exclusive cause of the lack of power diagnosed. EAC would have removed this hose to clean the throttle body. Testimony from the technician at another shop who discovered the error and fixed the problem will show EAC's remedy of replacing the turbo was an expensive error. A countersuit will result in Mr. ***** seeking full damages instead of half.

Business' Final Response
THE INVOICE CLEARLY STATES THAT THE TURBO WAS RECOMMENDED BECAUSE OF BAD OIL LEAKAGE AS WELL AS PERFORMANCE...E.A.C. INVOICES CLEARLY STATE...AS PER THE OWNER'S INSTRUCTIONS, THIS VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED WITH CUSTOMER-SUPPLIED PARTS. EVERETT AUTO CLINIC CANNOT WARRANTY THE PARTS OR LABOR FOR THIS REPAIR. WHEN THE FUEL PUMP FAILED ON A TEST DRIVE THE CAR WAS TOWED BACK BY DOUGS TOWING...WE HAVE THE RECEIPT...THE FUEL PUMP WAS INSTALLED AND THE VEHICLE STARTED...THERE WILL BE A REBUTE SMALL CLAIMS COURT AGAINST MR. ***** FOR LOST TIME/SALES AND WAGES...

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/07/2011Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Service - Steam Cleaning, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Upholstery Cleaning, Auto Sunroofs, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Restoration, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Accessories, Auto Customizing, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1998Business started: 04/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1998, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Jeff Stokes (Principal)Mr. Austin Bigler (Service Manager)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Service - Steam Cleaning, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Upholstery Cleaning, Auto Sunroofs, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto - Fleet Maintenance, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Restoration, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Accessories, Auto Customizing, Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
The Everett Auto-Clinic
Industry Tips
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J L K Industries Inc

3132 Rucker Ave

Everett, WA 98201-4223

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3132 Rucker Ave 

    Everett, WA 98201-4223(425) 252-8710

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J L K Industries Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.