This business is not BBB accredited.

Honest -1 Auto Care

Phone: (360) 790-9822 13303 Pacific Ave S # A, Tacoma, WA 98444 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.honest1tacoma.com ! There is an alert on Honest -1 Auto Care !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Honest -1 Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2013 Business started: 08/01/2012 Business started locally: 08/01/2012 Business incorporated 08/16/2012 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Deborah Baker, Secretary Shane Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Deborah Baker, Secretary
Customer Contact: Shane Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Services Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
Monday-Saturday
8:00am-6:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Normandy Place Industries Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13303 Pacific Ave S # A

    Tacoma, WA 98444 (360) 790-9822

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After taking my vehicles to them before for numerous services I trusted these guys could resolve a check engine light for me an a rough idle on my truck. After making an appointment to have it looked at I was told what was needed and what work was to be performed to get my vehicle running right. I went ahead and gave the ok to have a crankshaft sensor replaced and for them to do a tune up since I would be taking it though to do an emissions test to get new tabs. After spending almost my entire Saturday at their shop they released my vehicle to me "with the light still on". I was told to drive it anyways and the light would go off. As it was to late to run it through an emissions test that day I had to take Monday off from work to get this done. That next Monday as soon as the testing facility was open I took it there and failed my test. Soon as it failed I called Honest 1 Auto and they said bring it back and they'd take a look free of charge since I'd already spent almost $700. I got there and was promptly brushed aside and told to wait. After about an hour an a half the stand in manager said he'll just right me up a fake repair order so I could get a waiver and get my tabs. I literally watched the manager change dates amongst numerous other things in their computer system.Not only is this not legal but my vehicle was still not fixed or running properly after spending hard earned money. Now here it is 9 months later an I get a call from Shane "new manager" claiming I owe them for a diagnostic that never happened in the first place. I think not. All else fails I just want to warn people about these guys and the business that they run. Please be aware and don't believe in Google reviews or Yelp

Desired Settlement: I would like my $182.64 balance for work never performed to be extinguished and proof of no balance owed and no further contact from the business

Business Response:

I am sending this response once again in regards to the above complaint. Mr ******* brought his vehicle (a 1995 Chevrolet S10 Blazer) in on March 07, 2015 requesting a diagnostics for run-ability issues and check engine light being on. Per a signed Repair Order we performed this service notifying the customer what issues we found present. Issues present were that the Crankshaft Position Sensor was malfunctioning and that the vehicle was in desperate need of a tune-up as a first step in the repair process. These items were needed to confirm if there was any other issues beyond present issues that caused these issues to arise. The customer then authorized said repairs to be done and to have the check engine light turned off at completion. Our shop then proceeded to perform the above referenced repairs. When all repairs were completed notified customer who then retrieved the vehicle paying the outstanding bill (ref Invoice 008817 in the amount of $576.23 pd by Visa) at this time customer was instructed again that this was only the first step of repairs that if the check engine light came back on that further diagnostics/repairs would be needed at that time. On March 09, 2015 the customer came in with a complaint that his vehicle had failed emissions and that the check engine light was on again once again. Customer was then instructed that as per our previous conversation and repair that further diagnostics were needed of which the customer signed the repair order authorizing said diagnostics. When diagnostics were completed customer was informed that the PCM needed to be replaced due to when it was tapped or bumped that the issue came and went. Tech also found that the with the key on the check/service engine light

 would continue to flash. Customer did not have the means at the time to pay for said repairs. Customer then stated however that the diagnostics was enough for him to get a emissions waiver to get the vehicle licensed which was what he needed. Customer then requested if he could put the cost of the diagnostics on account since he had recently had work done our business did give him the opportunity to charge said repair. The cost of this diagnostics that was applied to an account was $182.64 w/ tax and fees of which the customer signed the repair order to charge this amount. We have afforded this customer every opportunity to handle this debt of which nothing has been paid to the account therefore before sending it to legal and collections action we contacted the customer to inform him of such. In the customers own statement to BBB he admitted to fraud to the Washington State Emissions laws as generating a false document. Our company has never and will never do such a thing as the prosecution of such would be extensive. Therefore the account will not be credited as the work was performed and if the amount owed is not paid within 30 days of this notice then further legal and collection actions will be taken. We will also check into notifying Washington State Department of Emissions and the DOL of this customers blatant statement of his committing fraud or willingness to commit said fraud enabling him to license the vehicle.

 

Cordially;

Shane A H****

General Manager/VP

Honest 1 Auto Care & Repair

***** ******* **** *

Tacoma, WA 98444

253-539-2677     Shop

************     Cell

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Honest 1 Auto Care in the December to find out what it would cost to get my car looked at for an issue that has to do with my transmission.I spoke to Shane and he proceeded to tell that it would cost a $150.00 an hour and he would be able to what the problem was in the first hour and if he needed a second hour he would call first and I agreed to that so he had a truck pick my car up.We spoke soon after and he said that he could fix the problem for $5,000 and I could not pay that so agreed to save the money to pay for service performed and I stated that I needed paperwork showing what they checkout and what was the problem in writing for my records.We spoke a couple times in December while I was saving the money to come get the car I also informed Shane that I would not be able to pick up the car until after the Holidays he agreed that would be fine.I called Shane January 7th and Informed him I will pick the car up Friday the 15th since he is not open on the weekends when most people are off.He said that they are tacking on storage fees.This place is trying to bleed customers and there is no proof he even looked at my car and the bill is $400.00 I have never felt with a company that strong arms there customers like this company I trusted them to give me an expert option of what was going on with my car. At this time I would not refer anyone to this company at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like to pick up my car and not pay storage fees the $400.00 is a big enough dent not even knowing if they even looked at my car at all

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint you notified me about on Thursday 1-21-2016 referencing #********.

Mr ****** contacted my business back in December 1, 2015 regarding his vehicle which is a 1995 Buick Riviera having transmission issues. When speaking with Mr ****** on the phone he was informed that the shop rate was $110 per hour and that for diagnosis it would take a minimum of 2 hours and if anymore was needed we would contact him regarding so which he agreed to. He then was also informed that for us to have it towed in there would be an additional charge but unsure as to what that charge would be with the distance (coming from Federal Way to our shop in Parkland during rush hour traffic) he again confirmed wanting said service performed. During all this time the customer stated repeatably that he only had about 3-4k to do any repairs that were needed. When the vehicle arrived to our shop there was no key with it for us to perform any services. I immediately contacted the customer informing him of such and that the alarm was continually going off so we disconnected the battery. The customer then came in on Thursday morning (Dec 03, 2015) to deliver the keys so we could begin the diagnostics on it. The customer was again informed of what the charges would be and the customer signed a RO directing us to perform said work. During this time there is a sign obviously displayed on the wall in customers view directing that any vehicles left more then 48 hours after services were completed were subject to a $40 per day storage charge. Once we were able to determine that the transmission needed to be completely replaced we prepared a estimate of said needed repairs as well as other repairs that were needed. Customer was then contacted and informed of all findings and all repairs needed to rectify the transmission issue with costs and all. These charges for the transmission repair, diagnostics and tow in were approximately $5500. He then again stated that he only had $3-4k to do any repairs asking if we could finance the balance. The customer was then told of our financing company and how to go about applying of which he did but was denied any options. Customer then contacted the shop back informing us of said denial and stated that he would be in the following week to pay for the services and would be having the vehicle towed home until he could afford the repairs. However the customer never complied or came into the shop to take care of charges. The customer was contacted multiple times and each time was a different story on when he would be in and why he had not been. This vehicle is unable to be moved and has continually taken up one of our shops bays of which the customer was informed. When the customer did not show by December 14, 2015 he was again informed of the vehicle taking up space and that it had been there now for quite some time. On December 28, 2015 I contacted the customer and informed him again that the vehicle needed to be picked up and reminded him of the sign on the wall directing the charge of $40 per day storage for any vehicle being left more then 48 hours after services were completed. Customer stated he would then be in right away to get it handled. The customer then called in on January 7, 2016 requesting charges and that he would be in to take care of the charges and have the vehicle towed out. He was informed of the charges for the diagnostics, tow and for storage fees applied due to his non-compliance and continued lack of actions to have it all taken care of. He was very unhappy and displeased at which time I again reminded him of previous conversations, what he had signed and what was posted on the wall in front of all customers view. He stated he would not pay such and would do what he had too to not pay such. The services were all rendered, I have already had to pay the tow bill to have the vehicle towed in, paid the techs wages for services he performed and the complete loss of a repair bay while this vehicle has been sitting here and the continued actions of the customer. Therefore there is no give any longer and as of the day this response is being written his charges are as follows:

Tow                $210.00

Diagnostics     $220.00

Storage           $1720.00    (43 days @$40 per day starting as of Dec 14, 2015)

All these charges do not include tax or other fees

Total Bill as of January 25, 2016 is $2384.92  until 5:00pm at which time will increase by approx $45 per day with tax.

If you have any comments, questions and/or concerns please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This company has over charged me and mis represented them self as honest and fair and this so far from the trueth. This company is holding  my car with no contract bogas fees that are trumped all to steal my car with storage fees that I never agreed to.I want these business practices exposed.

Sincerely,
***** ******

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to Honest 1 car care for a diagnostic, I paid $ 242.04 for this diagnostic. Then I took car for second opinion . The car was diagnost to have a different problem and the car was fixed. The problem Honest 1 said it had never existed. I went back to Honest 1 and asked for my money back because they miss diagnost the car , and johnathon the manager threw me out of the building.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back

Business Response:

October 21, 2015

Ms/Mrs ********;

I am writing this response in regards to the complaint filed by Mr. **** ****** Cause ID#********.

Mr ****** came into our shop on August 31, 2015 with a complaint of his check engine light on and a run-ability issue. He then stated that the vehicle was running rough and when he attempted to accelerate the vehicle there was no response. We instructed him that a diagnostics was the first step in the process. He then requested that we diagnose the vehicle.

We then began diagnostics confirming his complaint. We then connected our computer scanning equipment to the vehicle however there was a failure in communication with the PCM/Power Control Module, then followed this issue up using a lab scope on the can system finding a rough output on the system and a platform failure from the ABS Module. Instructed Mr ****** that before we could go any further with the run-ability issue that we needed to diagnose this issue first. Mr ****** then requested us to go further in the diagnostics on the communication error with the PCM. Removed the Brake Control Module and confirmed the communication error to the module. Disconnected the ABS Control Module and was able to communicate with the PCM at this time. Then retrieved multiple codes regarding misfire related issues. Engine is running a bit better and smoother at this time then it was on arrival. Informed customer of findings and that we believed the ABS Module needed to be replaced and reflashed to the PCM as a first stage in the repairs. The customer then instructed us to just let it go at this and declined further repairs as it was running fine for now. All these items are noted on the customers invoice for services and are able to be referenced by our computer scanning tools data history. We are sincerely sorry that this customer is unhappy and has concerns that he feels are not being met but we performed all requested work including the stop of any further repairs even-though the vehicle was not properly repaired at the time only diagnosed. Please contact me if any further information is needed or you have questions in this matter.

Cordially;

Shane ** H****

General Manager

Honest 1 Auto Center

***** ******* *** *

Tacoma, WA 98444
************

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

the reason the car was not fixed is because I wanted a second opinion , since I could not afford there total cost. So the car was taken to another shop and diagnost and it was found to have a bad valve , bad injector , and a blown head gasket. There was no problems found with the ABS module . Therefore it was a mis diagnoses by honest 1. The car is running great and I have all repair papers for what was done. If I would have paid honest 1 the $ 1800 dollars they wanted to repair the car it would not have fixed it since there was nothing wrong with the abs module.

Sincerely,

**** ******

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2005 Dodge Magnum was taken into Honest-1 Auto Care for services and received an EGR valve replacement on June 16 2014, the car ran fine after the first EGR valve replacement but then was taken back into the shop for the EGR again on Jan 3 2015. When the car was taken back the second time for the EGR valve the warranty covered the cost of replacing the EGR valve. Once the EGR valve was replaced the second time and it ran fine again after services. On July 28 2015 I returned my vehicle for the same issue reoccurring, a low idle. Honest-1 stated that the EGR valve was to blame initially again, but after bringing the car into the shop the started to say that the Map sensor needed to be replaced and the oxygen sensor as well. Once the car was returned to me it still had the same symptoms, car low idling, and then the car was returned back to Honest-1 for inspection and diagnostic wherein Honest-1 stated that the car also needed the timing chain and gears replaced as well as a coolant flush due to the work performing the timing chain a gear replacement depositing particles into the coolant tank. After performing the timing chain replacement and the coolant flush the car was still in the same condition that it was brought to them in, they also stated when it was time to pick up the vehicle in a voice mail that the car "drives like a dream" although the car still drove in the same condition that it was brought to them with, a low idle. After speaking with the attendant he stated that he was sure that he would see the vehicle in the shop again for future repairs that he suggested needed to be performed on the vehicle. I then took my car to the ****** ***** ******* ****** (*** *** ****) and they found that the EGR was to blame for the idling issue and that the EGR valve was in a "stuck open" state. The ****** ***** ******* ****** stated that the work performed was poorly completed.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the charges for the work performed on the vehicle dealing with the unnecessary repairs on the vehicle which did not resolve the low idle issue, and also for the poorly performed EGR valve replacement which ended up costing me $3338.96.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** has experienced a frustrating repair process.  Unfortunately the diagnostic on issues such as this do entail some use of Technician experience in addition to the results.  Mr ******** has had to bring this vehicle in multiple times.  When the vehicle returned in late July, the vehicle was assigned to our Master Mechanic.  The master mechanic noted on the inspection results bad brake fluid, coolant fluids and power steering fluids.  Additionally the rear differentials were noted the need for 70 K services.  The scan device was hooked up to the vehicle and returned  codes P0406 - EGR Position sensor circuit high, P0403 - EGR Control circuit/Open ,P0443 - EVAP Purge 1 control circuit, P0108 - Manifold Absolute Pressure Sensor Circuit High, P0052 O2 sensor 2/1 Heater circuit high and C121C - Torque Request Signal Denied - stored.  The technicians visual diagnostic states that he found the purge valve disconnected, and the o2 sensor wiring to be touching exhaust and has been burnt.  Therefore recommending the O2 sensor for repair.  In addition, the Map Sensor used to monitor the EGR functionality output showed intermittent drop outs. After completing these approved repairs the technician noted that the vehicle still runs rough.  States that the code concerns are cleared and repaired. The O2 sensors are noted to be working properly, and fuel is rich.  The rich fuel indicates a timing concern.  The mechanic requested to do further diagnostic for the run-ability. Request was not approved, nor was the recommendation for new spark plugs and coil boot with a fuel system service.  Automobile repair is not a black and white routine repairs type of business.  Since the vehicle had returned multiple times for the EGR valve, which is extremely rare to replace every 6 months, management had requested that the master mechanic research what might be causing the issue. Aft er reviewing the technician notes and supporting documents, which are attached, the shop will not refund the customer funds.  Everything supports the need for the repairs as well as the remaining issue of run-ability.  Our technicians did an excellent job determining the underlying issues. 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was notified by ***** ****** ******* ****** that the EGR valve replacement was not properly completed and that the work performed on the EGR valve was not completed correctly. Although you state that it is strange that the egr valve would go out again after six months, that is the code that was initially received when the car was brought for repairs again to your shop and you did not address that. Instead you started a guessing game as to what the issue may be at my expense rather than addressing the EGR valve again. even after changing the timing chain the EGR valve was not addressed. I was told by one of your technicians that he plans to see the vehicle again in the future, mean while the poorly installed EGR valve (this is what the ****** ***** ******* ****** stated about the condition of the EGR valve) which was initially to blame. I was notified by your service center in a voice mail that the car drove like a dream, and when I got to the shop this was not the case. There had been no change in the operability condition of the vehicle after spending a couple thousand dollars. The shop had no idea what the problem was with the vehicle. At one point another maintenance technician stated that "I didn't know that we would be rebuilding a magnum" when only the EGR valve needed to be addressed. This shop took me for a ride and now does not want to be held accountable for poorly provided services and excess services provided that did not resolved the vehicle condition. I have the documentation to back up the information that I am claiming.

Sincerely,

******* ********

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honest one sold me a $99 coupon book for 5 oil changes. Upon trying to use these coupons, I tried contacting Honest 1 Auto Care 6 times over a course of a week. There phone never seemed to work and on two of those occasions I left messages trying to schedule an appointment and even went online to try and schedule a appointment and the website wouldn't allow me to submit a request. No one contacted me back so I decided I would just try and show up. After showing up to Honest 1, a man at the front desk said that they no longer accept walk-ins for coupons. I told the guy that I tried calling several times and even left messages and went online and he promptly informed me that "those are the rules" and I said that was "********" and then he proceeded to kick me out of the store for that one word. The part that made me the most upset is that I tried several different times and two different ways to make a appointment and they still would not even apologize for fact that they are scamming people out of money, because if you can't make an appointment then you can't use the coupons. Outside of driving 20 mins out of my way to walk-in and make a appointment, I am not sure what else I was supposed to do. I wasn't even offered an apology.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and a apology for first kicking me out of the store for saying "********" (which isn't even really a bad word and wasn't directed at a person, just the policy).

Business Response: It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** interacted with our business during a very difficult week at the business.  We have had phone issues that are documented and the technician was not on site until September 17th.  The technician admitted that the primary line had gone bad.  This repair was made by 10 AM on the 17th.  The shop has experienced some unfortunate staff loss and an injured technician.  This severely impacts our ability to schedule  oil changes, therefore we ask the customer to drop the vehicle off for a few hours. As a business we are not able to accept negative treatment of the team/staff.  Using profanity directed to staff or the business are felt equally as hard.  When someone has a bad week, it can't help but trickle into the low tolerance of profanity.  It is imperative that during our difficulty of locating new technicians, that we manage the work load to be sufficient to the manpower available.  It is unfortunate that the customer was not able to leave the vehicle.  

At this time I would ask this customer to return to the shop and offer us a chance to show him our good side.  If after another opportunity to gain his trust, then the ******* will be refunded as a prorated amount, according to the amount of remaining services.

Sincere apology extended.

Best Regards,

Deborah B****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I tried two different methods of making a reservation and
left voice messages on your machine and no response. Your clerk clearly said
that “you must make a reservation if you are using coupons” which makes me
think that you treat people better if they don’t have coupons. If I didn’t use
a coupon then I wouldn’t need a reservation, which begs the question, why would
anyone buy a coupon book to be treated like a second class customer? Why would
they pay money, just to have to jump through hoops to make a simple reservation?
Also, if your company really was short a person and you guy had a heavy
workload, your answer should have been, “Sorry, we know our phone line is down
and we are booked solid at the moment, let me try to make you a reservation for
tomorrow or this weekend”.

In reference to me using the word “********”, read the
dictionary, it is a word used to express disagreement. The word was not directed at
a person, rather your companies lack of empathy for a situation that your
company perpetuated by not fixing your phone line after one week of being down,
not returning voice mails and not having a functioning website that allows you
to make appointments.  

Furthermore, I will never take my car to your place for any type of services and I will make
it my duty to ensure everyone I know doesn’t either.  I want a full refund and an apology for
kicking me out of your store for simply showing frustration with your unfair
policies given the circumstances.



Sincerely,

******** ******

8/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Honest -1 Auto Care
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart