BBB Accredited Business since

Hawks Prairie Automotive

Phone: (360) 456-8000 8045 Martin Way E, Lacey, WA 98516 http://www.hawksprairieautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mechanical auto repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawks Prairie Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawks Prairie Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hawks Prairie Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1987 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Claggett, President Mr. Kyle Claggett, Complaint Contact
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kyle Claggett, Complaint Contact
Principal: Mr. Michael Claggett, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Equipment General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 6:00pm

Saturday
8:30am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Super Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • 8045 Martin Way E

    Lacey, WA 98516 (360) 456-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Breach of contract. On 7/15/2014 Hawks Prairie recommended they purchase a used engine for my van and install it with a 90 day warranty. They job was completed and immediately leaked badly. I was told the warranty did not cover leaks. The invoice clearly spells out the 90 day warranty and describes what is covered below which includes "Gaskets and Seals" I have since paid them $974 to fix the leaks.I was told after the fact, on a used engine, I should have had them seal it before installation. Nobody offered that option at the time of the sale. Only that it was warrantied for 90 days. A letter was sent to the owner, **** *******. He failed to respond. Litigation will likely follow if the complaint is not resolved immediately. Product_Or_Service: Auto Repair Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: inv.# ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A full refund for the repairs to fix the leaks of $974.27 in the form of a check or credit to my credit card I paid them with.

Business Response:

Letter attached and faxed.
Thanks
**** ********
Hawks Prairie Automotive

 

** ****** has complained to the better business bureau, the attorney general, and according to his email, yelp and other similar tracking sites, we have also received a notice of small claim on January 7th.  ** ****** was aware that the used engine did not come with new gaskets installed, he was given the option to re-seal the used engine by *****.  He declined due to the additional cost.  On the invoice it states the labor charge does not include transfer of manifolds, valve covers, oil pan, timing cover or water pump.  As there is a court date scheduled I don't think anything will be resolvevd before then.  I will provide attitional details after court if necessary.

 

??

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no actual response in their letter. This is a form letter that they created and have passed to another agency as well. The letter does state that "*****" had told me the engine should be sealed. ***** did not tell me that! I spoke with ***** regarding the lack of communication while ***** was sitting near him with no other customers in the shop. ***** stated he did not know why I was not told. ***** sat quietly. There is a breach of contract. A written 90 day warranty is not being honored. Regardless of any legal proceedings which may or may not take place, I am asking that the BBB continue working on this. I do have documentation available.

Business Response: We settled this dispute with Mr. ****** in early January.  A representative from the BBB contacted us at the end of January.  At that time we explained the situation and the representative said she was closing the case.  Not sure why we are still receiving emails, letters and faxes.  If there is some thing else we need to do with this case please let us know.


Thanks
**** ********
Hawks Prairie Automtovie
************

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 1985 Ford Econoline to Hawk"s Prairie Automotive for a tune up. In their opinion, a tuneup only means changing spark plugs. I brought spark plugs and plug wires with me for the vehicle as I was planning to change them out myself, but ran into time constraints. I assumed that a "tune up" involved more than plugs and plug wires. In fact another auto repair shop down the road also replaces the distributor cap and rotor as well as fuel filter. For the price of $ 170 plus tax I got a set of spark plugs and plug wires installed. When I called back to the shop the next day because now the vehicle had died on me twice, no attempt was made to fix the issue of what constitutes a "tune up" The manual transmission locked up on the mechanic and no one called me or was willing to listen to how to free up the linkage. These guys are supposed to be a pro-shop and now I question any of their work, The service manager refused to try to make it right on the charges for replacing spark plugs . Therefore I am filing a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: A refund of excessive dollar amount they charged me for the replacement of plugs and plug wires, which I supplied. I do not want to go back to them for anything else. But they should pay for the cost of a diagnostic at a shop of my choosing, as well as a distributor cap, rotor and fuel filter, which is what a tune up should include.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/07/03) */ Hawks prairie automotive Case#******** She asked us for a price to replace spark plugs and spark plugs wires which she would be providing. we gave her the price over the phone for the requested service. when she came in to drop off the vehicle she informed us that the vehicle could not be put into reverse while it was running. Our tech could not get the vehicle into reverse with the engine off either,I asked the tech if he could perform the service she was here for in the parking lot,he said he could so I told him to go ahead and do what she had asked for as she must know a trick to getting the transmission into reverse or forward gears that we weren't aware of. If she had wanted the cap,rotor,and fuel filter replaced she could have provided them too,if she was having a driveability problem she could have told us that and we could have recommended some diagnostic time,as it was she brought in a vehicle to have parts replaced that she provided and requested be changed on a vehicle we could not drive. She has never spoken with the service manager, I am the service manager and have never had a conversation with her,I would have gladly provided her with a price for us to supply and install the additional parts she is referring to but I have no inclination to donate them to her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I asked for a Tune Up , not just to replace plugs and wires. Since this is a pro shop I would assume that they know how to use the telephone and call me about this so called "trick" for putting the vehicle in gear. I called back to the shop after I picked up the vehicle and asked for the manager. Whomever I spoke to then was not the service manager? Sorry, nice try. But Hawk's Prairie Automotive is not going to be recommended by me to anyone. BTW, whomever scanned their response letter, did so upside down.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thursday (10/17/13), I took my 1996 Ford Windstar to Hawks Prairie Automotive located on ****** *** in Lacey, to have them repair an overheating problem. I told them that I suspected it was the thermostat. I also explained that I had no interior heat. ****, the Hawks Prairie technician, suggested that they do a diagnostic on the car because "They don't want to install parts that the car doesn't need". I received a call later in the afternoon from **** stating that the heater core was bad and that it needed to be replaced and that would fix the problem. He also said that the cooling system needed to be flushed. They quoted me $689.00 to repair the heater core and install a thermostat and again said that would fix the problem. I told them to go ahead with the repair. I picked the Windstar up on the same day and was told by **** at Hawks Prairie, that they test drove it and everything was working fine and if there was anything wrong with your heating system to bring it back, it was guaranteed. On Sunday, I drove it to Seattle and the vehicle was doing the same thing as when I brought it in. Monday evening I took the van back in and was told they would diagnose it and let me know what was wrong with it the next day by 10:00 am. We had not heard anything from them, so we called at 1:00 pm, they said they had not had a chance to look at the van yet. They said they would take a look at it and call us back. They called back at 2:00 and informed me that I had a blown head gasket and it would be an additional $1600.00 for the repairs. I was extremely upset! They admitted that they had made a mistake in the diagnosis; however, they continued to say that the heater core was bad and they had discarded the old core. The things they installed had nothing to do with the original problem overheating and no interior heat. At this point, it is their word against mine. I asked "Didn't you check the coolant system when I brought it in the first time?" Their response was, "We have too many cars to work on and don't have time to warm an engine to operating temperature." If I am going to pay $94.00 for them to diagnose my vehicle, I EXPECT that they are going to do it properly. I feel as though they have taken advantage of me. I would like to be refunded for the cost of the mis-diagnosis and the labor for the installation of the heater core for $325.59 plus tax for a total of $ $353.92.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the cost of the mis-diagnosis and the labor for the installation of the heater core for $325.59 plus tax for a total of $ $353.92

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ ** ******** brought his van in to find out why wasn't blowing hot air from the vents.he also stated that the temp gauge had been fluctuating erratically but no signs of overheat.the technician found the cooling system was rusty,and when vehicle got to operating temp,only one heater core hose was warm,indicating a plugged heater core.we replaced the heater core,flushed the cooling system and the vehicle had good heat output on test drive. when the vehicle returned it was low on coolant and found to have suspected headgasket failure.we did not tell him we mis-diagnosed the heater core,because we did not misdiagnose,it was plugged.we only save parts until the job is picked up then parts are discarded if the customer doesn't request then at the time of pick up. I find it very hard to believe that a service writer would tell a customer that we have too many cars to work on to let his vehicle get to operating temp.its not true,and the technicians notes state otherwise. unfortunately his vehicle is in need of additional repairs.we offered to help him by reducing the cost of those repairs but he declined. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/16) */ the service writer was able to come to an agreement with the customer.thank you for your help in this matter,

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New clutch slips and chatters. Clutch does not function properly.

Desired Settlement: Either it gets fixed or I want a refund for parts and labor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/10/01) */ ********* is aware of the warranty policy on the services provided, He is also aware that the warranty period has expiredduring the warranty period he did need to have the radiator and thermostat replaced,we performed those repairs at no cost to him as it was still under warranty.over a year later we repaired an oil leak that was unrelated to previous work.from my experience with ********* if there was an oil leak that had continued to leak because we "missed"it he would have contacted us sooner than 14 months later,I believe its more realistic that in another year of use his vehicle developed another oil leak. I also believe that if his clutch had been chattering and slipping for 2 years he would have made us aware of that too.unfortunately his vehicle is out of the warranty period by time,and I don't think there is anything I can do for him at this time. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is all false. I was there at Hawks Prairie Automotive in Lacey on 8/29/2013. Hawks Prairie Automotive test drove my car. Hawks Prairie Automotives own diagnosis was "The Clutch Chatters and Slips." I was then told by Hawks Prairie Automotive that my car is out of warranty because eighteen months have passed. And that Hawks Prairie Automotive would need $412.00 to investigate the problem. Even though there is only 14000 miles on the new clutch which hasn't held an adjustment since day one. There was never an offer from Hawks Prairie Automotive to remove the transmission for free. It was for $412.00 dollars more. Is Hawks Prairie Automotive now suggesting there is nothing wrong with the Clutch? This contradicts Hawk Prairie Automotives own diagnosis of 8/29/2013, and is contradictory to the invoice #114360, dated 12/07/2012. Which States: INSPECTION HAS FOUND THAT THERE ARE 3 OIL LEAKS, CAMSHAFT SOLENOID GASKET, DISTRIBUTOR O RING AND OIL PAN GASKET DRAIN PLUG GASKET. CLUTCH HAS SIGNS OF OIL LEAKING ONTO CLUTCH. RECOMMEND REPAIRING ABOVE OIL LEAKS AND DRIVE TO SEE HOW CLUTCH REACTS. Then Hawks Prairie charged me $141.53 more and I paid. Feeling and Beliefs are irrelevant! FACT Clutch slips and Chatters. There was never any foul language. The exchange lasted less then 5 minutes. I got my car. I came home and filed complaint with the BBB. Even if that were true it still doesn't allow Hawks Prairie Automotive pick and choose which parts of THERE warranty they get to honor. I apologize if any ones feeling got hurt. Try spending $2568.62 on car that still has a defective Clutch. Then, maybe I'll entertain a conversation about feelings. If any one needs to act like an adult it should be Hawks Prairie Automotive. They could start by honoring their workmanship and by providing quality service. In this case they have demonstrated neither. Facts So far: The Radiator has failed. The Thermostat has failed. The Clutch has failed. I agree with Hawks Prairie Automotive. They will never be allowed to service any of my vehicles ever again. I am requesting a full refund for the clutch repair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/10/22) */ i am sorry ********* isn't satisfied,however as I stated previously his vehicle is out of warranty,i don't believe the clutch was defective,if we had a reason to believe it was we would have replaced it and the manufacturer would have re-imbursed us.i do see he brought his vehicle in dec 6 with oil leaks.we repaired oil leaks unrelated to previous repairs,and did make a note that the oil leaks were in a location that could cause oil to leak onto the clutch disc.i wasn't involved in the final conversation with ********* when he returned in august of this year,the service writer and I discussed it the following day,and informed me of his reaction and the language he was using,and asked me if he should call him back,i told him no,if he cant act like an adult,that I don't think we should continue to service his vehicle,the offer the service writer made to remove the transmission I will still honor,but ********* needs to be aware that if the clutch isn't found to have a maufactures defect he would be responsible for the labor,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hawks Prairie Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)