BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/2004

Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma

Phone: (253) 473-5556Fax: (253) 473-86124502 S Steele St Ste 701, TacomaWA 98409-7224 Send email to Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a tire dealer and offers mechanical repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/2004

BBB has determined that Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm in the Military and get my tires changed before every PCS move. I had my tires changed at this establishment on MAY 12 2014 (estimation). My vehicle has aftermarket wheel and the lugs are behind a plastic plate. The only purpose to mess with the plate is to remove the tire. Well a week after getting my tires changed I took my truck to a car wash and when I sprayed the cap it began to wiggle off. I never attempted to confront the business because I moved and am now in TX. I mentioned to an employee of the damage and informed them that my insurance company will be contacting them. The first thing of course was denial, the associate stated we tighten those by hand. when the only way the cover would've been cracked was by over torquing the screw on a plastic plate.

Desired Settlement
I'm asking them to replace the cover for the aftermarket wheel.

Business Response
This customer contacted the store on October 13, 2014 and spoke with Service Department Manager. The customer explained to the service manager that the cap was broken. We offered to replace the cap as we have many vendors that have current and discontinued designs available. The customer stated that he replaced all his wheels and caps and that his insurance company will be contacting us for payment. We worked on the vehicle on May 12, 2014 - notes on the work order were that he was moving in 1 month and to please provide thorough inspection, we also provided him with a loaner car at that time. The customer did not return after noticing the issue (1 week) - we would have been happy to replace the center cap. No denial here. Sometimes plastic can crack no matter how careful a person is in reassembling an item like this.

We strive to take exceptional care of vehicles for our customers and want to meet every expectation- should there be an issue - we need to know in order to address it.

If this customer would accept it - I am willing to reimburse him for the cost of (1) used center cap - I will authorize a replacement cost of $25.00. This is basically what would have been done had we been given an opportunity to clear up this issue in a timely manner. Resolving this issue now is no different.

Please clearly note that this was this resolution was offered on October 13, 2014 and were told that his insurance company would call us and seek reimbursement for his expenses.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First the response from the business is inaccurate. I informed them that I was going to try to go through my insurance company to have them cover damages. I don't have new wheels/ rims on my truck. I'm trying to rectify the safety issue of driving around with wheel lugs exposed due to this business damaging/vandalizing my vehicle.I have after market rims and to get a cover that the gentlemen cracked/vandalized cost more than $25. If i was to break something on a person's vehicle just because it's used and convenient to say I will pay a price of $25 should not be the answer. If they can replace the cap personally and ship it to me for only $25 dollars I would agree but they will not be able to accomplish this task. The after market will is a FORTE chrome plated wheel that is no longer in production which makes it difficult to replace. So if the business can replace the cap and for even $1 replace the cap that was broken I would be satisfied but I highly doubt that's possible.the wheel model is Forte F43 Revenge 20".

Final Business Response
Today the customer contacted the store inquiring about warranty coverage for products that he purchased. I obliged him with the information requested.

I asked him if he received a response from the BBB regarding his complaint. Yes indicated that he did. I asked if the resolution was satisfactory. He indicated NO. He said that he never said the things on the phone about his insurance company to us and that he just didn't have time to let us look at the truck after we worked on it. I have offered to compensate him for a center cap at $25.00 - I am not going to source a cap for him and send it to Texas or allow him to send me a picture of the cap and find him one to send him. He has found the product he needs on **** and can buy it. I will send him a check for $25.00 as soon as an agreement is made that this is acceptable for a used cap that may have been broken when the vehicle was serviced at my facility. I am willing to compensate this customer and accept reasonable responsibility. Please request that the customer not contact this store directly regarding this matter as the resolution of this complaint lies fully with this process and the BBB. I am awaiting resolution of this matter and hope to hear from BBB soon. Thank you, ***** *****

08/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went there two weeks ago for an alignment. I was told that it is going to cost me $129 but if something is wrong they would charge me $60 for the inspection without doing the alignment itself. So after couple of hours they gave me the car and I paid $156 ($129 alignment, $11.69 Shop supply that doesn't make any sense to me, $1.50 Hazard materials that I guess comes out of my wheels?, and $13.60 sales tax ) but anyway I paid it in full without asking anything. When I got into my car I saw that the steering wheel was in the same position as it was before the alignment so I went inside to ask why! They told me my control arm on the left side needs to be replaced and they did not perform the alignment on that side! So I brought up their policy of checking the car first which would have cost me $60 and they agreed to do the second alignment (this time for the whole car) for $60 after I replace my control arm. So I went back last Friday to get the alignment done and they asked for the full price because they DON'T REMEMBER agreeing to do it for $60! I have never been so obviously lied to in my life.

Desired Settlement
Full refund and verbal or in writing apology.

Business' Initial Response
On 07.24.13, this customer came into this location and requested an alignment. Our estimate for the 4-wheel alignment was $156.78, which he agreed to and signed for.

Our standard procedure is to inspect the steering and suspension components to determine if there are worn parts issues, etc. to determine if the car is alignable. This also includes checking tires sizes and condition as this can affect the ability to properly align the vehicle. Nothing was found unusual other than the steering wheel being positioned at 2 o'clock - we prepared the car for an alignment by connecting the alignment machine. The car was out of alignment considerably in the front and rear - we made adjustments as needed. We determined when the adjustments were max'd out in the left front that there appeared to be a slightly bent part and we determined that the part needed to be replaced. My service manager attempted to contact the customer, there was no answer. We aligned the car as best as it could be aligned, considering it had a part that needed replacement. This component was not isolated until after we were looking at the angles on the alignment machine and determined that there was no adjustment and the part had to be damaged, requiring replacement.

The car has a salvage title and was tagged as such by the Washington State Patrol. Some parts had been replaced, indicating that the car had been in a severe accident, possibly totaled, was repaired and re-licensed. The car was in need of additional work.

When the customer picked up the car it was explained to him what needed to be done and offered to re-align the vehicle for him FREE if he had us do the repair. We provided him an estimate with states install part and re-align. The alignment would have to be performed again if the part was replaced. We felt this was fair. The customer took the car. On August 1st - The customer came into the store, the owner, ***** ***** assisted him. He was requesting information on exactly which part needed to be replaced - he had an exploded diagram from BMW and was not sure which part was needed. The owner printed him a picture and another exploded diagram explaining which exact part was needed. There was no discussion about re-alignment; the assumption was he was going to replace the part himself.

On August 4 2013, the customer returned unannounced and requested a free alignment because he replaced his own part and it needed to be re-aligned. We explained to him that we offered to realign the car free of charge had he purchased the part from this store - as I said previously, we thought that was fair. At no time did we offer a free alignment or a discounted alignment should he replace the component himself.

We are very careful with customers understanding what takes place with their cars, what repairs are needed and why - and we fully manage expectation on what kind of follow up service they can expect.

The procedures outlined above are the standard procedures in servicing a customer's car. We do not perform work that is not pre-authorized; we communicate issues with our customers on needs, provide exact estimates and provide exceptional car care. We communicate with our customers on a continual basis to measure our success or failure concerning satisfaction with our products, services and customer relations. We have an extremely high rating and I believe it is due to the ethics and communication that we strive for and execute.

I do not believe this customer deserves a refund and will not authorize one.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agreed to the settlement. However from this statement "verbal estimate that he recalls being told" I assume that the owner still doesn't believe that this happened; too bad for him if he wants to have a really prosper business. In every costumer understanding a good business is the one where employees stand behind their words!

I will remove my review from yelp when I will receive the check because it brings the rating down to 3 stars instead of 5. However I will keep the Google one since it doesn't affect the star rating as much and it will share my experience to other costumers.

Business' Final Response
First I would like to say that before this customer called the BBB, wrote incredulous reviews on Google, Yelp and other review sites - he should have contacted me at the store and we wouldn't even be discussing it in this fashion. My entire staff and I take customer satisfaction with products and services very seriously and our standing in the community and with our thousands of customers show this. Had we spoken about any dis-satisfaction, it would have been resolved before it got to this point.

Our intent is not to "rip off" any one. Our job is simple - it is to take care of our customers, fix their cars and make it as pleasant as possible. Our job is not to "lie" to our customers. They put their trust in us and we do not take that lightly. I think overall our customers experiences show that and of that I am proud.

I apologize for miscommunication regarding this matter and I apologize that my store and its personnel did not meet your expectations.

I am offering to refund the difference that this customer paid for the alignment on the invoice and the $60 verbal estimate that he recalls being told.

This is the best resolve to this matter that I believe is fair and justified considering the circumstances.

If this is acceptable, I will mail a refund check.

***** *****
Owner/President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Tire Dealers, Shock Absorbers, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/18/1992Business started: 10/01/1991Business started locally: 12/01/2003New Owner Date: 12/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1
Tumwater, WA98501-6561
(800) 451-7985
http://www.dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2002, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Scott Welsh (President)Mrs. Susan Welsh (VP)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Tire Dealers, Shock Absorbers, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Tires, brakes, alignment, shocks, struts, emission diagnosis and repair, tire repair, lubrication, oil, maintenance, repairs, mechanical, timing belts, Kelly, dunlop, Goodyear, extended warranties,

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We offer a 30-day ride guarantee on many tires, and offer a 24-month or 24,000-mile nationwide warranty on most services.

Service Area

Pierce, Thurston, and King Counties

Alternate Business Names
Scott & Suz Inc

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma

4502 S Steele St Ste 701

Tacoma, WA 98409-7224

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4502 S Steele St Ste 701 

    Tacoma, WA 98409-7224(253) 473-5556

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Good Year Courtesy Auto Service & Tire of Tacoma is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.