This business is not BBB accredited.

Sunset Cars of Renton

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 226-6113 Fax: (425) 226-6096 330 Sunset Blvd N, Renton, WA 98057 http://www.sunsetcarsofrenton.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Complaint Information

On April 17, 2015, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding sales practice issues. Consumers allege they purchase a vehicle from Sunset Cars of Renton under the belief that the car is in good working order; however, they discover major malfunctions or damage after a short time. Consumers allege the company promises to fix the issues or pay the repair bills, but later refuses or pays only a partial bill for repairs. Consumers also allege that when issues are known at the time of the sale, Sunset Cars of Renton promises to fix the issues or pay the repair bills, but later refuses or pays only a partial bill for repairs.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunset Cars of Renton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2012 Business started locally: 07/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Blake Anderson, Member Mrs. Jenette Quintana, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blake Anderson, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday through Sunday
10:00am - 8:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Spirit Auto Center LLC Spirit Auto Center of Everett Sunset Cars Unltd

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    330 Sunset Blvd N

    Renton, WA 98057 (425) 226-6113

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7428 Evergreen Way

    Everett, WA 98203 (425) 374-6960

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dirver door handle is not working, per contract the door was suppose to be repaired. Purchsed car on 4/23/14, wastold by ***** (salesperson) it was ordered on 4/26/14 (have a copy of the text message) Part was not ordered. on 5/6/14, ***** again via text told me the part was ordered. on 5/24/14, called ** (manager) was told part still had not come in; however, then changed his story about having to inspect the part. Part still not order. Any website shows the part for $35 brand new with shipping of less than 10 business days. Also on 5/6/14 spoke with *** asked to have warrenty information mail. Never arrived, I had to call the warrenty company to receive informaiton. Tires were suppose to be replaced, on 4/26/14, ** sent my fiance to a used tire shop with $150 to "negotiate" the price when it was written in the cantract he would replace them.

Desired Settlement: I want my door handle part order and arrive within two weeks. I want a auto body shop contact and a appointment set up to have it installed.

10/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 4th 2013 before buying the car, my son and I asked to have the car inspected first and were about to walk out and come back the next day, but sales person promised a free inspection from a 3rd party auto shop, ******** (I think they are partners in crime); and promised they would fix any problems if I find any. He said I won't find any in the first place. Within 3 hours after purchasing the car, key got stuck in the ignition, my son's hand got cut and bled from trying to take out the key. Before I took the car to their mechanic for inspection, I took it to********* Subaru dealership in Renton for a separate inspection. They said the front wheel bearing was dangerously loose, and told my son the car is not safe to drive and asked him to sign a waiver before he could drive away the car. In Buck's report, they completely left the wheel bearing result unchecked. They did not disclose how bad and unsafe the car's condition was. They told my son he was good to go. Not only that,********* Subaru also discovered that the odometer had been tampered, they think it had been switched. Coincidentally, this car was bought in to them for service back in 2010; their service record shows that the actual mileage at that time was 161595. But the rolled-back mileage presented at sale and on my sale contract says only 116337. 45258 miles less to be exact.********* Subaru provided me the 2010 old invoice with the actual mileage. The car also was involved in a major accident in 2011, both head gaskets are leaking oil, steering rack and brake fluid are also leaking bad. The frame is badly damaged. The estimate cost for the major repair to have this car to be repaired to a safe driving condition will cost as much as the price I paid. Not to mention, the actual higher mileage will depreciate the value of the car substantially. It's been a month since I got the car, but my son and I are afraid to drive it on the road. It is not reasonably fit for ordinary driving for a reasonable period of time, WA State implied warranty RCW62A.2-314 should still apply because the Sunset Cars never explicitly explained and/or waive the warranty. I had made more than 2 attempts with the owner, asking to refund the down payment and cancel the contract. ***** ******** refused. From the 195 pages of complaints filed at the Attorney General office from numerous victims, I have more reasons to believe this used car dealership is very dishonest. Please look into their practice and see if you can offer more protection to me and other consumers. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: I am asking a full refund of $2100 of my down payment (includes $500 trade-in value of my son's car), and cancel the sale contract of the car. Cancel the auto loan finance contract as well. They can have the car back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/10/08) */ We received ******'s complaint and have settled with her. We took the car back, which we bought at the auction, and never knew anything was wrong with it. And we gave back all of her money. We both signed a release. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 19, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used car from Sunset Cars in Renton approx 2 weeks ago. Shadey business and poor ethics. Filed a complaint because of this issue. Now I have an engine malfunction and they refuse to help me. They said that because I filed a complaint the first time, they will not help me. I bought this care used, but I feel that they misrepresented that the car was in good working order. I should not have engine problems within two weeks. The owner stated that because of the complaint, I deserve to be stuck with a basically nonworking car. I have had problems with this company from the beginning. And now they are harrassing me and the family. Product_Or_Service: Used Mercedes

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Would like a refund, a replacement, or for the company to repair the car at their own expense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 12, 2013/08/29) */ In regards to the complaint made by the customers mother who was not present at the time of sale or time of transaction is inaccurate and this said vehicle has since been repossessed by the financial institution. *** ***** ********