BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

G T Auto Sales

Phone: (253) 507-8027Fax: (253) 507-8078

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service10
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Additional Complaint Information

On July 30, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding product, sales practice, refund and customer service issues. Consumers allege after purchase, their vehicles display significant mechanical damage. Consumers also claim representatives of GT Auto Sales use high-pressure sales tactics or do not disclose key conditions of the purchase. Consumers allege promised refunds are not issued. Consumers further allege when contacting the company for assistance, their phone calls go unanswered.

GT Auto Sales is working with BBB to correct the underlying cause of the pattern of complaints.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: I went to GT Automotive on Saturday, March 22nd. I told the salesman that I had $3000-$4000 to spend. He started showing me cars that were out of my price range, so I reminded him what my price limit was. He told me that he could work out payments that I could afford. I told him that I didn't want to borrow any money, so I was limited to what I had in my savings. I wish that I had just left then. They only had two cars in my price range, a Kia for $3700 and a Mazda for $3400. Feeling very much pressured, I ended up agreeing to buy the Kia. I know I should have had it checked out beforehand, but I didn't. When I drove it, I asked him about the radio (there was just a hole in the dash where the radio was supposed to be) and he said that they would put a radio in it. With the taxes and all their other fees, I ended up paying them $4300. After signing the papers, I got in the car and found a radio on the front seat, wires dangling. It didn't even fit the car. I also immediately noticed that the gas tank was dead empty. Two miles down the road, the "check engine" light came on. The next morning, on my way to work, the car died in the middle of the road. I got it running again, just to have it die again five minutes later. When I took the car back to the dealer, they offered to take it back and give me $2600 in trade on a more expensive car. I told them that I had no faith in any car that they would sell me and that I just wanted my money back. I know that $4300 isn't a lot of money to some people, but it is all that I had in my savings and checking combined. I had no money left for costly repairs and I cannot afford to make payments on a more expensive car. They absolutely refused to give me a refund, so I asked them to trade the Kia for the $3400 Mazda that they had and I would just have to take the loss on the $300 difference. The salesman told me that the price on the Mazda was now $6999. I honestly don't know how these guys live with themselves. After making a scene in front of some other customers, they finally agreed to let me have the Madza in an even trade. Realizing that I was getting totally ripped off, I just wanted to be done with them and get out of there. Unfortunately, in my emotional state, I failed to notice (until the next day) that the paperwork that they had me sign was for a car that was $9000 and included a page saying that I owed them the $6000 difference. I was livid. I had to go back to them a third time, which was definitely three times too many. They claimed that it was a clerical error, but those guys are so sleazy that I don't believe anything they say. I got them to fix the paperwork, got out, and I hope I never have to set foot anywhere near that place again.

Initial Business Response
**** had simple buyer's remorse. After making quite the scene inside our office we gave her two options, trade it in for a vehicle that cost an additional $6,000 or another straight across that was comparably priced. She chose the second option. After she realized we contracted her the first option by mistake she proceeded to make another scene demanding that she not owe 6,000 on the more expensive vehicle, and not wanting to resign for the second option. She called the police, she lied to them saying she paid everything in cash and "lost" the receipt, our contract proved otherwise. She then made another scene where the police escorted her off the premises.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am accepting this response only because I am so disgusted with these people that I just want them to go away.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide invoice or estimate for repair upon request

Complaint: one day after purchasing the car the drivers window began to stop working properly. I went to the dealership where i purchased the car and the window worked i was told that i just needed to be more forceful with the switch. Two days later it wasn't working again so i made an appointment to have it looked at but it started working so i didn't keep the appointment. The windows continued to work for three day until now they do not work at all. I went back to the dealer he said he would call me with an estimate but I have heard nothing.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** OOM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@gtautosalestacoma.com
GT Auto Sales had sold the vehicle to ***** ****** "AS-IS" without any promise work to completed as part of the purchase. As a goodwill for our client, we had replaced a switch, at no cost to her, for the window. If there is any further issues with the vehicle, ***** ****** is welcome to schedule an appointment with our service department to diagnose the issue and provide an estimate of repairs at a discounted rate.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: My son purchased and financed a vehicle from GT auto in Dec. 2012. He was required to purchase GAP insurance. I refinanced the car in January 2013 and requested a refund of the prorated or remaining GAP insurance amount. I was promised by the office staff and office manager that they would submit the paperwork to the insurance company and issue me a refund. To date, I have not been contacted nor provided the refund. I have made numerous efforts to speak to the office manager to resolve the issue. No calls returned.

Business' Initial Response
We have directly resolved the situation with the customer.

Sincerely,

***** **
Office Manager GT Auto Sales



Consumer's Final Response
GT Auto has satisfactorily resolved the issue.

Regards,

******* ********

***********@yahoo.comFri 8/2/XXXX X:XX PM

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: I bought a Jeep at this business, and multiple issues arose. First thing is that the GASCAP light came on when I left the business, called and told them, they didn't fix it. I asked for the lugnut lock key for the rims, it was never given. I was pulled over twice in the next two days for no mudflaps (it's a state law to have them on a vehicle with a lift), I called and told them, they didn't put them on. That's the first thing that made the vehicle not DOT approved for road usage. I was told and shown that all maintenance was up to date on the vehicle, but when I brought it in for an oil change, I was told that it had not been regularly maintenance. I bought the vehicle being told it was a ***** Atkiness lift kit, but shortly after, started having steering issues. Brought it into *** Schwab who told me it was unsafe to drive for multiple reasons - brake lines were zip tied to the frame of the Jeep, parts were hammered to fit, wasn't a ***** Atkiness lift kit (the lift kit is welded to the frame of the Jeep and lift kits are suppose to be bolted), and the rims aren't DOT approved for roadway use (they are for off road use only). They told us we absolutely couldn't drive it without repairs being done for fear of injury to both ourselves and others on the road. I have two different letters from mechanics, one from *** Schwab's mechanic and one from another mechanic. I have text messages and email and a fax from GT Auto were I requested things to be resolved, from the GASCAP light to the maintenance to the unsafe condition of the vehicle.

Business' Initial Response
GT Auto Sales has repeatedly tried to remedy ****** ******** issues with his vehicle he had purchase from GT Auto Sales.
On our "We Owe Form", the only promise we had made was to purchase control for winches and buffing out scratches on the vehicle. We did not have promise any other free work.
When the ********'s had brought to our attention three issues, first was a "Gas Cap Light" issue, we worked on it immediately. We had purchased a fuel cap and installed it per the issue code we had received. Our technician per correct diagnostics, then clear the error codes and drove 50 miles until the vehicle computer had ran through its checks. The "Gas Cap Light" did not turn on and our technician had assumed that the issue was remedied. Before Mrs. ******** left our dealership, our technician had let her know to contact us if the light came back on or if there was any other issue.
The second issue was the "Mud Flaps". During the same time, we had provided "Mud Flaps" but had let ****** ******** know that since the wheels were aftermarket, we would have to mount brackets on the bumper to attach the "Mud Flaps" correctly. Mrs. ******** had told our service technician that she had a friend whom owns a car service shop in Spanaway that was able to do that.
The third and last issue was the key lock for the wheel lock. Since this is a pre-owned vehicle, we may have key locks only if the original source that we had purchase the vehicle from had provided the locks to us. We would then provide the key lock to our customers.
Regarding the issue with "BeadLock" rims, we have discuss with Washington State Patrol regarding if "BeadLock" rims are illegal or not. The representative of Washington State Patrol lead us to RCW 46.37.XXX - (X) Tire rims and wheel discs shall have no visible cracks, elongated bolt holes, or indications of repair by welding. In addition, the lateral and radial runout of each rim bead area shall not exceed one-eighth of an inch of total indicated runout. We had contacted the manufacture, TR Beadlocks and spoke to their representative *****. He said none of their rims exceeded the above statement.
We feel that we had attempt to resolve any issues in good faith, that were brought to our attention even if they were issues that were not promised to the ********'s during the purchase of the vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
07/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: When I bought my car September 2012.

When I purchased my car, I was told that my payments would be sent to the credit bureau so that the payments would reflect positive on my credit report as I needed to increase my credit score.

I was assured by 2 separate individuals that this would be done, that this would reflect positively on my credit.

When the said car had to get major repairs done on it, I decided to try and go for another vehicle I was informed that none of the above had been done. Nothing was reported as promised, none of the promises to fix outstanding issues with the car at time of purchase had been done.

I was blatantly lied to, I have tried to get GT Auto to stand by their employees words but it does not seem like they will after repeated phone conversations thus the need to contact the BBB.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Off. Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@gtautosalesnw.com
We at GT Auto Sales have never reported to any of the three major credit reporting bureaus. We still do not have any intention to do so in the near future.
But with our relationship with some of the lenders, we are more than happy to write a letter to accredit how their accounts have been paid. And we would be more than willing to do so for *****.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response as I was lied to.

Like I stated above, I was told by not only the salesman but the finance manager on MULTIPLE occasions.

This is nothing more than C.Y.A and it isn't acceptable in the least.

A company should stick by the words their employees give. I understand that the people that made these promises no longer are employed at GT Auto Sales but this does not change the fact that these promises had been made while they HAD been employed.

I have already got a letter from them for payments which is unacceptable to credit companies.

I bought this car for the soul purpose of bettering my credit. The ONLY reason I purchased a car from GT Auto Sales was on the now known false pretense that the payments would be reported to the credit bureaus which was not the case.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I purchased a car in September 2012, a 2001 Volkswagen Passat Wagon. Two days later the car broke down because the technician who installed the new timing belt at the dealership installed it incorrectly and the damage required the whole engine to be torn apart to be repaired. It took longer than I was told to be fixed and I was without a car for almost 2 weeks and had been told twice that it would be done and went to get it during that two weeks and it was still torn apart when I arrived. Since then the car has been leaking oil in multiple places and when I attempted to call the dealership for assistance my phone calls were ignored and not returned. When I finally did get it in to be repaired they were decent enough but did not repair the problem only did a quick fix and said they fixed it. Took it back again in February to be fixed again because it was leaking from the same areas and was told they had to order parts and then took it in 1 week later to be repaired. It is now July and my car is still not holding oil at all. Not to mention damage caused by a wreck with a previous owner was not repaired which resulted in my front bumper barely hanging on because the dealership just screwed it up, the passenger side door bolt came lose and had to be reattached, and the side-view mirror on the passenger side just flew off while I was driving. I was also told I would be receiving 30 days of free insurance of some sort and come to find out they charged me over $700 for it.

Business' Initial Response
We have reviewed *** ********* complaint, files and also interviewed the technician and salesman. *** ******* purchased her used automobile 10 months ago. At the time of purchase, her car had no issues and passed all safety inspections. *** ******* had a complaint after her purchase and she brought her car into servicing and we accommodated her requests and serviced the car at no charge. When she picked up the automobile to take it home, it was running fine and she was satisfied. Four months later, *** ******* brought her car into the shop again. We once again performed service on her car free of charge even though that is not normally our policy on used vehicles that length of time after purchase. Again, *** ******* was happy with the service. It is now 5 months after her last service and 10 months after she purchased her used car. We feel that we have went above and beyond to accommodate *** ******* and her requests. Unfortunately, she has driven the automobile for 10 months and we cannot continue to be responsible for servicing of her vehicle for free.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason the car had to be serviced the first time was because your technician who replaced the timing belt screwed so you were responsible for repairing the damage it caused and when the engine was put back together seals were not replaced properly and that is what caused the oil leaks. I was happy thinking the car was finally repaired only to come to find out it wasn't done correctly when it started leaking again from the same places and now again after being repaired a third time. The owner's wife, sales person, and finance guy were all extremely rude to me throughout this entire process telling me I should be happy they were fixing the car that they broke and wouldn't even run 2 days after I bought it. However, the original loan has been paid off as of Friday July 12th and I would like a refund of the GAP insurance remaining that I had paid for. I would still like to know why the car was not repaired properly after being wrecked and was basically just jimmy rigged back together.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

04/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
04/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.