BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/15/2011

First National Fleet & Lease Inc

Phone: (206) 525-1800Fax: (206) 525-0919

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Ford Escape under the impression that it was safe and there was nothing wrong with it. Little did I know that the horn didn't work. Upon further inspection of the vehicle, there was no fuse for the horn. I purchased a 20 amp fuse for fuse slot number 24 and the fuse didn't fix the problem. I took the vehicle to a Ford dealership to get it looked at because it was supposed to be free to get it fixed as it is still under warranty, whereas First National Fleet and Lease was going to charge me to fix it. The Ford dealership ended up having to take the bumper off to fix the problem because this vehicle had been in a front end accident by the previous owner and it had damaged the wiring. That's why it kept blowing fuses for the horn. No one had notified us or told us that it had been in a previous accident. In turn, the Ford dealership had to charge us to repair the vehicle. If I would have known about the prior accident I would have never purchased this car.

Initial Business Response
We are sorry to inconvenience Mr. ******. We would love to Assist our customers eventhough we sell used. We ask Mr. ***** to call our dealership and ask for MR.**** **** for assistance.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: On April 07, 2014 I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry from First Fleet National Auto. I walked onto the lot to look at different car but the sales manager assured me that spending a little more for a more reliable car would be a better option and I would have a reliable car for longer period of time. Knowing this was my first time buying a car and that a Camry was what I really wanted he assured me the car had passed all inspections and just had a fluid flush, but it was not policy to fill up the used cars with gas when purchased. A little taken back by this I still drove my new car to a gas station and filled her up myself. The next morning I realized the car had no windshield wipers, I called the dealership and they told me I could come pick them up, and it was raining that day. Within a week later the check engine light came on, I called to inform the dealer and they told me it was my fault something I must have done. I have my mechanic take a look now and he says the car has NO fluids in it. The dealership has continued to drag their feet on even looking at the car; they say I can not return, to make the repairs needed. My mechanic feels the issues he found should have been caught by a dealer before the car was sold.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for ********'s inconvenience! We hope our addressing her car issues took care of her concerns. If there is anything else she would like us to do, please call and ask for Mr. **** ****.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Subaru Outback with a bad right head-light. They wrote me an IOU at the time or purchase to repair it. I have called them twice 3-20-2014, 3-21-2014. They have not contacted me since.

Initial Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the delay. We will be calling today to set up an appointment for the repair. Please feel free to call the business owner at XXX XXX XXXX if you have any more concerns.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have received my replacement headlamp assembly. This issue has been resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: In February 2013 I purchased a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. As of this weekend, the rear-end of the truck completely went out. After having Dodge look at the vehicle, they believe that this was a problem that should have been caught by the used dealership, as the rear end was loose. I am assuming the car dealership would do thorough inspection of the vehicle for safety reasons; obviously this was not the case with this company.
Aside from this, when we bought the truck we were never offered a warranty and understand that it was sold "as is." However, after talking with a consumer protection rep through the Attorney General, we discovered that "The use of an "As Is" sticker does not circumvent the Implied Warranty of Merchantability rules" and that "A signed, pre-printed form may not be evidence of explicit negotiation" and lastly that "A clause waiving the warranty in a preprinted sales agreement is not evidence of explicit negotiation."
From this, I can gather that there is or should be an implied warranty on the vehicle that obligates the dealership to fix or reimburse for the safety malfunction. I say this is a safety issue because had the rear end went completely out on the highway, it could have caused a major accident; which would not had been good if my pregnant wife was with me. Furthermore, when I talked with ******, the sales manager, he said that if there was an implied warranty that they would have told us. However, to my understanding, this is not how an implied warranty works and that because they chose to not address a warranty, directly stated or otherwise, then they are at fault.

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry about *** ***** having to do some work on the rear end of his 97,000 mile truck. Even though we and all other used car dealers sell our cars as-is, we will be more than happy to pass on our discount to *** *****. In good faith we will assist *** ***** and hopefully get the repair for a fraction of the price he was quoted. If he would like our assistance, he can call and make arrangements with ******.

Consumer's Final Response
I and First National Fleet have resolved this issue. We came to a settlement of $600. Please close this case.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: In October 2012, I made a terrible, regrettable decision and bought a car from First National Fleet & Lease. I had recently been hit by someone and it totaled my car. After a week or so, I just wanted to get a car. I took a day off from work to go shopping. I was very excited to finally have a car again.

My salesman was named *****. ***** and I made an agreement to have the shaking steering wheel fixed, the horn fixed, and a working stereo put in. It was over a month and a half before these three things were fixed. A month before I got to drive my car. ***** would call every few days with excuses, each getting more ridiculous than the last.

After a few weeks, he offered me spare car to drive in the meantime. He insisted I take a Cadillac, even though I did not want a giant car. He tried to convince me he was "hooking me up". I was so fed up with the situation and this person that I just took it so I could leave. He gave it to me with no gas. I ran out of gas on the way home, had to walk to a station and purchase a gas carrier.

I had the Cadillac for about a week, when I finally received the call that my car was all fixed. ***** insisted he drive it to me, and trade me for the Cadillac. We met at a nearby ******** ***** brought my car to me with no gas. I returned the Cadillac to him with very little gas... as there was none to begin with. I started to fill up my car at the Safeway gas station, while ***** literally begged me to give him gas money for the Cadillac. He insisted he forgot his wallet. He made some empty promises about paying me back and getting my car a free wax and detailing for the troubles (obviously this never happened).

From there even more unfortunate events occurred.

***** never reported to the company that I was using the car during the previous week, or that I returned the car. During the time I was using it, the company had reported it stolen. I could have been pulled over for "stealing" the car. I received calls from management a week after I returned it asking if I had it. ***** apparently took the Cadillac for his own enjoyment. They finally found it abandoned at a hotel. ***** was fired, but that didn't exactly give me anything in return for this increasing nightmare.

I have to admit that I was extremely laid back and patient with this disaster. I just wanted it to be over. I kept hoping that after THIS event it would all be over. I told myself that way too many times. All First National did for me was refund me for the gas money I gave *****, and paid for the license fees. I will be kicking myself for years for not demanding more. I will be kicking myself for years for every purchasing a car from these this awful company.

After over a month of waiting to get my car, my car's steering wheel was still shaking. As you might imagine, I went through **** trying to get this fixed. It ended up being four new tires to resolve the issue - First National would only pay for two.

9 months later, I finally took the car in because of months of extremely screechy brakes. Auto shop tells me unfortunate news:
Brakes looked like they were put in by armatures. No grease was used - missing parts. I have absolutely no doubt that First National put in the brakes "extremely sloppily". In order to fix the noise, I would have to order all new parts and have them completely reinstalled. They also found that the water pump was leaking. When fixing that, they discovered that the thermostat was rotting. $1,200 later (no thanks to the useless warranty) I am very worried of what else was put in by First National.

I traded in the car two weeks ago and I cancelled the warranty through the warranty company itself, as it directs you to do via their website. I received a letter from them that did not contain the highly anticipated prorated refund check, but a letter saying they sent the refund to the dealer and instructed me to contact First National for the refund. I immediately felt nauseated.

I cancelled the warranty two weeks ago and am still trying to get a refund for the warranty from First National. They are extremely good at transferring your calls to numerous people, all of which don't pick up and all of which NEVER call you back. But it wouldn't really matter if they did, as nobody knows any answers. They are the rudest, most unhelpful people I have ever dealt with, and I hate to imagine what sort of ******* experience I will have to endure to get my refund.

I would only recommend First National to my worst enemies... and maybe not even then. Be smarter than me and stay very far away from this place. Regardless of the little secrets I heard from various salesmen ********************************************************************************* *************************** I would still be extremely cautious... because everything that can go wrong with a car purchase WILL GO WRONG at First National.

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry about the bad experience at our dealership. The salesman was terminated because of the poor customer service. The refund was processed as soon as the request was received. Please advise our office if there are any further issues.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Went in to buy a vehicle, put down payment money; got my insurance and left the lot, 24 hours later car breaks down and I receive a letter from the bank indicating they will not finance the vehicle. I am requesting my down payment back from the car lot. They are refusing to refund my money.

Initial Business Response
We would love to earn *******'s business and we have an approval based on the application she filled out for her whenever she is ready to purchase. The car she purchased did not break down on its own, she wrecked the front facia. The car should have a new facia by end of next week and will be ready to sell. We will be more than happy to apply the remaining of the down payment after paying her deductible to her future purchase. She is more than welcome to stop in and inquire with a manager about the details of her accident and the subsequent repairs to the car.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THIS COMPANY ENCOURAGES CUSTOMERS TO FALSIFY INFORMATION, THEY THREATENED ME BY SAYING I WAS LOCKED INTO A LOAN THRU THEM AT 29% ALTHOUGH I DID NOT SIGN PAPERWORK FOR SUCH A DEAL. IN ADDITION I LEFT APPROX. 10 CDS IN THE VEHICLE AND ASKED NUMEROUS TIMES IF I COULD HAVE THEM BACK, THEY REFUSED. FACTS ARE I PUT A DOWN PAYMENT ON A CAR I DONT HAVE. I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD GET MY DOWN PAYMENT BACK. I WILL NOT SUGGEST THAT ANYONE DOES BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY. WAS KEEPING MY PERSONAL ITEMS (CDS) PART OF THE DEAL? THEY ARE NOT PROFESSIONAL AND IS UPSET THAT I WAS HONEST WITH THE BANK ABOUT ALL THE FALSE INFORMATION THEY WANTED ME TO TELL THE BANK "EVERYTHING IS FINE WITH THE CAR" EVEN AFTER THE CAR WAS DAMAGED. THIS BUSINESS DOESNT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS, THEY CARE ABOUT MONEY. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN AND WOULD LIKE MY CDS BACK. I HAVE A FEELING HERE 2 MONTHS LATER THAT IS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.

Final Business Response
The damage to the vehicle was determined by the *** ******* own insurance company, not First National to be in fact her fault. Her insurance company did pay us for damages to our vehicle minus her deductible.

If *** ****** is still in the market for a vehicle we indeed can assist her on her purchase. We have several lenders that we work with and though some or one may have denied her credit others still may say yes. As required by law a standard denial letter was sent by those lenders that did not approve *** ******* request for credit.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: On 08/07/2012 I bought a Ford F-250 4x4 from First national Fleet and Lease for 21,980.00. Since that time I have been told that this truck is a Frankenstein, complete rebuild,2x2 to 4x4, long box to short box, bench seats to captains leather, transmission shortened. You name it they did it to this truck. They completely miss represented this truck. We have tried to work with them but will not return our calls.

Initial Business Response
*** ******** bought a diesel lifted truck. The vin number of the truck we sold matches the vin number on the paperwork. We did not miss represent the truck in any way. As a matter of fact *** ******** had no issues with the truck for close to a year. Then he let his inexperienced friend replace some parts and damage the truck. After towing the truck to the dealer and finding out that his friend is not a qualified diesel mechanic he started looking for an un ethical way out. We did not do anything wrong. Mr. Daughtry had the opportunity to have the truck inspected. He never brought to us any concerns about the truck until he messed it up.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The car fax and Ford has provided the documentation that the truck is not what was sold to me and I will except $5000 from you or take you to court.

Final Business Response
We are not in the business of deceiving our customers. *** ******** had the truck for close to a year. We have always expressed our interest in taking the truck we sold on trade. Furthermore, we will be more than happy to offer him the opportunity to take the truck overnight and inspect it.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.