BBB Accredited Business since

Auto Outlet of Tacoma

Phone: (253) 473-1900 Fax: (253) 473-2100 View Additional Phone Numbers 3430 South Tacoma Way, Tacoma, WA 98409 http://www.autooutletoftacoma.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car sales


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Outlet of Tacoma meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Outlet of Tacoma include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Outlet of Tacoma
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2004 Business started: 12/01/2002 Business started locally: 12/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/01/2002 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Scannell, Owner Mr. Bryan Rathbun, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Gabby Scannell, Title Clerk
Principal: Mr. Michael Scannell, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
38th Street Auto Outlet

Additional Locations

  • 3430 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 473-1900 (866) 455-9888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 12, 2014- I purchased a red 1997 Dodge Caravan Sport from Auto Outlet of Tacoma for $3000 cash and $500 trade in value for my white 1987 Honda Accord LX. -The deal included a front end alignment that was scheduled on June 16 at ****************. -As I pull out of the lot at Auto Outlet, I realize the service engine light is on. -I take the van to******************** in Tacoma to have a free check engine light diagnostic run. -The diagnostic test throws out a code for Evaporation System, Small Leak Detected. -The employee who ran the test said it could be one of many different things, but suggested I tighten the gas cap and turn off the service light in order to see if the light comes back on. -I tightened the cap and had the service light turned off. June 14, 2014- Service engine light comes back on. -I take the van to******************** in Fife and have another diagnostic ran. -Same code for Evap. System Leak. -I take the van to Auto Outlet and talked to *** about what options I had at that point. -*** says he would like his trusted mechanic to run a diagnostic on it and refers me to************ ************** to have it diagnosed on June 16, stating that 'Auto Outlet takes care of their neighbors and once it's diagnosed we will take it from there.' June 16, 2014- I take the van to **************************, where they run the same test as********* and get the same code for Evap. System Leak. -They also suggest we tighten the gas cap, which I inform them I have already done so. Then he suggests I purchase a new gas cap and proceeds to turn off the service light. -I purchase and install a new gas cap. -Took the van to **************** for the scheduled alignment. -Found there was a broken tie rod that needed to be replaced before the alignment could be done. -*** contacted ****, the owner of Auto Outlet, **** agreed to pay for the broken tie rod as well as the alignment which we had originally agreed upon. -At that time I asked **** if he would be able to take care of the service engine problem as well, to which he responded 'we take care of our neighbors, take it back to 38th Street and we will go from there.' June 18, 2014- While driving through an intersection in Bellevue the entire main dash control panel looses power, no speedometer, no rpm gauge, no fuel gauge. -Simultaneous to the main panel loosing power, the service engine light and the ABS light come on but there was still no power to the main panel. -Approximately 4-5 mins later the main control panel gains power back and the ABS light shuts off, however the service engine light is still on. June 19, 2014- Took the van back to Auto Outlet and explained what had happened the day before (X-XX-XX) to both **** and *****. -At that time I asked if I could just return the van and back out of the deal, or if Auto Outlet would be able to put me in a safer more reliable vehicle. -***** and **** informed me 'if I wanted to trade it at that time they would give me a good trade value, but it would not be what I paid. Or I could take it back to ************************** on the upcoming Monday (X-XX-XX), have ***** diagnose it again and we could go from there, but they had washed their hands of the vehicle and were not going to put anymore money into it.' June 21, 2014- I noticed it was leaking fluid from underneath. June 23, 2014- Noticed a puddle of coolant under the van. -Took the van back to **************************, however ***** was not there. -Took the van back to Auto Outlet. -Spoke with **** about ***** not being available at 38th St. Service Center, as well as the new found leak. -**** gave me a card for a different mechanic, ***************, and informed me once again that he had wiped his hands of the vehicle and would arrange for his pricing for the repairs which I would be responsible the cost of. -Took the van to *************** where they ran another diagnostic test. -The diagnostic test came back 1 of 3 possible problems, Transmission module, Throttle module, or Evaporation Canister module. Also found the coolant leak was coming from the upper radiator hose. -purchased new hose from********* and replaced. -Service engine light still on. Each time a diagnostic test was run on the van it was in regard to the Evaporation System Leak, the electrical issue with the main control panel was never diagnosed or tended too. I explained the complaint in a way to make it as clear as possible by just using myself as the person who took the van to each place of business at any given time, however a couple times it was my fiance ******* who took the van as I was at work. Each account is accurate in the sense that either myself or my fiance or both of us were present at each encounter with each place of business.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either take back the vehicle and return my $3000 plus $500 for my Honda, or do a straight across trade for the van for a safe and sound vehicle that does not have problems like this van does

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/11) */ we have come to a resolution with ****** ****. Everyone is satisfied. 38th Street auto outlet>

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Vehicle On 06/25/2013. In less then 2 weeks, before I made my first payment the rear end failed as did the Head gasket. My complaint is based upon the fact that the Dealer arranged my loan as well as my Insurance. The Dealer set up lending with *************** based on damaged collateral and my insurance premium doubled after they submitted the final paperwork. I contacted them to see if they could work with me on repairs and I was told they could take it as a trade in at its new value. I am 20 years old, I have my first real job and this is my first attempt at credit. I have a $260 car payment and $400 insurance payment for a vehicle that I can not drive or afford to repair.

Desired Settlement: I want them to work with me on repairs, or to take the Truck back and cancel the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/02) */ The customer had the vehicle looked at by an independent mechanic before he purchased it. The problems occurred 2 weeks after he purchased it. When the problem occurred, we immediately had our mechanic drive across town to diagnose it, and the rear end had already been dismantled and was in parts on the floor. We still offered to fix the problems at our cost, which would be a significant savings to the customer, but he refused. Also, our mechanic, who was familiar with the vehicle, noted that it had obviously been ridden very hard since it had been sold. The customer read his paperwork for his loan and signed the multiple forms necessary to finance his car at an interest rate agreeable to him. There is no benefit to us when a customer's insurance rate goes up after a car is delivered, and we have no idea why his insurance is $400 per month. As we offered before, we would be happy to arrange repairs to the vehicle at our cost.