BBB Accredited Business since

Wilson Motors

Phone: (800) 634-1395 Fax: (360) 733-5744 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 Iowa St, Bellingham, WA 98229 http://www.wilsontoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new sales of Toyota, Scion, and Mercedes-Benz. They also offer pre owned automobiles as well as auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wilson Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wilson Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Wilson Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2001 Business started: 10/01/1970 in WA Business started locally: 10/01/1970 Business incorporated 04/17/1986 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Julian Greening, General Manager Mr. Rick Wilson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Julian Greening, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Wilson Motors sells the following brand(s): Toyota, Mercedes-Benz, Sprinter, Scion, Nissan

Alternate Business Names
Wilson Imports Inc Wilson Mercedes Benz Wilson Motors Pre Owned Vehicles Wilson Nissan Wilson Scion Wilson Toyota

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Wilson Motors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1100 Iowa St

    Bellingham, WA 98229 (360) 733-5590 (360) 733-5591 (360) 676-0600 (800) 634-1395 (800) 258-1260 (360) 733-7300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter traded in her vehicle and purchased another from Wilson motors over 90 days ago. The car has been nothing but problems since purchasing the vehicle. Over $1400 of repairs, of which Wilson provided $1000 to go get the repairs. But the major issues is that they have not provided us with the title and license for the vehicle. It is state law that the title will be produced and presented within 45 days. They sold a vehicle that they don't own. After demanding our money back, they refused and said they want to talk to their attorneys. They say that ***** ***** has the title and won't release it. That's not our problem, that's between them. All we want is our money back and they can have the car. They refused. They have broken so many state statutes in this transaction.

Desired Settlement: money back from the sale. $10,100. and pay for the repairs that have been completed minus the $1000 they gave us to get them done.

Consumer Response: After filing this complaint, I recieved a call from Wilson Motors saying "after consulting with their attorneys, they will be refunding the purchase price of the car in addition to fees.

Business Response: BOUGHT VEHICLE BACK FROM THE CONSUMER, BELIEVE THAY ARE SATISFIED.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I bought the 2009 Nissan Altima I had Wilson motors put on the contract to fix the broken drivers seat and that Wilson motors was supposed to contact me last week to have the seat fixed and nothing has been done yet. When I tried to contact Wilson motors I get transferred to the message service. I leave a message but no one contacts me back

Desired Settlement: I would like the drivers seat to be replaced

Business Response: Customer has been contacted and scheduled!

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: no one has set a time for me to get the seat fixed. I was told I was going to get a call back on Saturday 06/20/15 but no one called. Called and left a message on 06/23/15 but no response.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: Shawn G****** spoke to the customer and advised that he is happy!

Consumer Response:  not exactly happy but the seat has been fixed


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

6/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extended warranty refund. When we purchased our vehicle and were purchased the extended warranty as we were told that if we didn't use the service we would get a full refund. 7 yrs later we go to collect the refund and were told the company went out of business. When I asked how could that be the pamphlet says Toyota and I'm pretty sure they have not gone out of service she proceeded to tell me it wasn't through Toyota and that company had gone out of business. The agreement we signed states Reimbursement guarantee: the dealer named on the reverse side agrees to reimburse the named customer only,the service contract selling price, not to exceed $4000.00, in the event the customer complies with the conditions. We compile with all conditions of being able to provide our current vehicle registration, proof of insurance, the sales contract and service contract. So to me we should be reimbursed. When I asked to speak to manger she said she would have him call. Never received a call back. I then sent a email with again, no response. I then phoned twice and left messages with general manager no call back.

Desired Settlement: The dealer should Refund us our $2500 as we were told would happen at the time of purchase and stop making people believe that the product they are selling is Toyota backed and fully safe...

Business Response: I would like to extend my apology for this situation, as you know NADS has declared bankrupcy and Western Insurance Company is in receivership. Wilson Motors is not holding any of the insurance premium or the refund funds, we dont have the cash to disperse to you or the hundreds of customers that have been involved. We have been advised to direct all customers to the Atorneys that are handling the claims against Western, I have included the information in the attachment.  We are watching the following sites for the best updates, westerinsurancecompany.net & utinsreceivers.org please be sure to contact the recievers to apply for the refund once this mess is settled.

Sincerely

****** ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I do not feel that the dealership did not answer
my question of REIMBURSEMENT GUARANTEE which states the following.  The
dealer named on reverse side agrees to reimburse the named customer only, the
service contract selling price, not to exceed $4,000, in the event the customer
complies with the following conditions.



My conditions are the current vehicle registration, a copy of proof of
insurance, a copy of the sales contract, and service contract which I can
provide to the dealership.



The dealership named on the reverse side is Wilson Motors not NADS.  I
meet my requirements of this contract  is it not for the dealership to pay
me back and then the dealership go through the process of dealing with the
lawyers?  This is the whole reason why I agreed to this extended warranty
because the sale person told me about the guarantee.  Also, your
dealership did not explain to me that this was a third party warranty and sold
it to us as the Toyota Extra Care Platinum which to me is fraud.



In addition when I first contacted your dealership one of your sales people
told me to call back in on Monday and talk to ***** as the dealership was
honoring the refunds so you might want to have a conversation with your staff
to not relay that information to the customer if you are NOT going to fulfill
your end of the contract.





Sincerely,

***** ******

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gave 1000.00 deposit on car which was not purchased and Wilson has refused to refund deposit.

Desired Settlement: want my deposit of 1000.00 back

Business Response: Mr ******** entered into an agreement to purchase a 2014 Toyota Prius. Mr ******** requested the transaction be registerd in his companies name and that we have heated seats installed at a pre-agreed price of $700. At the time of delivery Mr ******** could not provide the required business documentaion to satisfy the banks. Mr ******** was offered to finanlize the transaction in his personal name but chose not to. We at that point offered to refund Mr ******** the balance of his deposit ($300) after the heated seat install as per his request. We are still willing to either finalize the transaction or refund the balance of the deposit.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was trying to lease a car for my company. The lease decision for my company was purely for tax purposes. I made it quite clear that the lease needed to be in my company's name because of that fact. The issue with my company getting the lease from ****** ****** was that my company didn't have a WA state business license. I had a Delaware business license which I renewed solely in an effort to get the lease but that was not accepted. At that point they wanted me to purchase or lease the car but reminded them as to the reason I was doing this and said no. I already owned a fairly new car. I asked for my 1,000.00 refund back and they refused saying I needed to pay for the heated seats.
As to the heated seats, when I made the decision as to the type of car I wanted I asked about heated seats. I told the salesman that I wanted to purchase them and have them installed. He said he would take care of it. Just before I was to get the car I asked about the seats. The sales said he didn't think that he could have the seats done before the purchase but would try. I told him that because of my schedule I didn't have the time to them done and that we should forego them. To be honest, when I went in to get the car I was surprised that the heated seats were installed. I went in pretty sure they wouldn't be installed because Wilson wouldn't want to install something on a car that wasn't yet purchased.

Business Response: We have been more than fair, the customer entered into a verbal agreement to lease a vehicle! Under his instruction we facilitated and incurred the expense of  installing heated seats, the customer was not capable of providing the required documents he said he could provide to fund the deal. We have offered to refund the balance of his deposit after the seat cost, we would be happy to finanlise the transaction if he could supply the required documents as stated.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the salesman was aware at all times that the company needed to be the leasee of the car. I was unaware that Toyota Co needed a business license from my company (which it doesn't have) to complete the transaction. Wilson Toyota never mentioned that at any point in our interactions. Had I know this before or during the negotiations we wouldn't have any of these problems. I am not in the car business. Wilson is and should have informed me of this fact. As an aside, I was also told by the salesman on the day the sales fell through that they couldn't have given me the lease price anyway because if it was a company lease and company leases cost more. It seems to me that Wilson needs to be better informed as to these kind of leases.

Sincerely,

***** ********

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle from the ****** Toyota in Bellingham Wa about a year ago, a 2013 Toyota Tundra pick up. I had a really poor experience with the lot during the purchase, although I won't go into that now. I live on a hill and so I need my emergency brake to function correctly or risk hitting another car, house or person if the break were to give way. The emergency brake was loose when purchased. Toyota has a 25,000 free service policy so on my next visit I asked them to adjust the brake. They did so but it loosened up again. I was reaching the 25,000 mile limit so I recently scheduled my last visit under their policy. I also mentioned that the parking brake was still loose and asked if they could adjust it again? When I arrived at the Wilson lot I was instructed to meet with one of their service reps named ******* She proceeded to inform me that they could adjust my brake but insisted the dealership would have to charge me $48. I asked why and she said because it wasn't still covered under warranty. I said, "Are you kidding me with this? If you had adjusted it correctly the first time I wouldn't have to bring it back in." And I slid the service paperwork back toward her across her desk. She said, "WOW, WOW, If you are going to physically threaten me I am going to have to call the police." I didn't physically or verbally threaten her so I was a little confused as to what she was talking about. She then stormed out of the service office and told me to leave. So anyway. Not real surprised by her actions. But, I still need the 25,000 mile service and the emergency brake tightened, as it was not adjusted correctly from the purchase. Per ***** at Wilson Motors if I return she will call the police. So I guess returning to the lot that I spent $68K purchasing two vehicles is out of the question. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can lend. Best Regards, **** ******

Desired Settlement: I need the 25,000 mile service performed and the parking brake adjusted correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/03) */ We would like to take care of the customer and have the brake fixed/adjusted at the customers convenience. *** ***** our Service Manager has left a message for Mr ****** to facilitate! We would also like to repair the damage that we have done to this relationship! Sincerely ****** ******** General Manager

12/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2012 scion xb with 9 mileson it in March of 2013. We serviced it appropriately thru ****** and at 5k milles were told the tires were wearing down more then they should but we were told to keep an eye on it. At 10k mile svc was told we needed new tires. I asked when they would be put on becuase obviously they would have them replaced either thru ****** themselves or thru the tire company from which they get the tires. ******* doesn't have a warranty thru ****** for the tires but that they would call ********************* to get it resolved. The 5K mile svc was done at ******** ************* where I purchased the vehicle and the 10K mile svc was completed at Bellingham WAshington ****** dealership where i was told I needed new tires. After a week of waiting for my tires to be replaced i recieved a phone call stating that I needed to pursue ********************* and ****** would not be helping with this transaction and tires were not ******'s problem. I guess i alraedy bought the car so now they didn't care about how the vehicle runs or is maintained properly. I am very upset with how this was all handled. Now i am writing a complaint because as of today which is two months after the suggestion from ****** themselves and going to the tire company who tell me there is no warranty on these specific tires and showed me new ones. ARe you crazy they have 10K miles on them....why i heck would i buy more tires from you. I'd rather go to discount tire or ***** who might actually support there product. I'm sickened by the fact no one wants to take responisibly for either the bad decision of tires (******) or the fact that************ doesn't stand behind them either. 10k miles on tires....come on. Some one please take responsibility for your actions and give me new tires that last more then 6 months.

Desired Settlement: Take responsibility for your mistake and work with the tire company to resolve this issue and change my obviously faulty tires for ones that last longer than 6months and 10K miles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/30) */ ***** ****** purchased a new 2012 Scion XB from ******** ****** ****** in Colorado on 03/03/2013, had the first scheduled maintenance performed there on 06/28/2013 at 5,013 miles. At this service interval the customer ws advised that the tires were wearing and should keep an eye on them. Wilson Motors first saw this vehicle on 09/09/2013 with miles of 10,166, we noted at that time that all four tires were at a reading of 3/32. This reading is the minimum Federal safety standard, we did at that advise that the tires should be replaced. The customer requested that the tires be replaced under warranty by Wilson Motors, on behalf of ******. Unfortunately ****** does not warranty the tires on new vehicles, the warranty is administered by the tire company which in this case *************************** On behalf of the customer we did contact *********** to request coverage, unfortunatly the request was turned down due there being no manufacturing defect! We offered the contact details of Bridgestone to the customer so that she could follow up with a request of coverage. As we were not the selling Dealer nor are we the warranty administrator for the tire company I dont believe that Wilson Motors should pay for a set of tires. My recommendation is for the customer to contact the Tire manufacturer directly and persue the issue that way or to contact ****** Customer Service at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely ****** ******** General Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm sure Wilson is happy because even though YOU where the ones that serviced the vehicle and said they needed to be replaced some one else took responsibility for your suggestions and no follow thru by Wilson. So no thanks to Wilson ****** for any of my resolution. In fact the only way I even got any response was thru BBB. What's that tell ya? T.****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/11) */ *****, We are happy that the tires were replaced by the Dealer that you bought the car from and look forward to providing you the balance of your free services. Best ****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Wilson Motors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart