BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota of Seattle

Phone: (206) 382-4300 2121 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121 http://www.toyotaofseattle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned vehicle sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Seattle meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Toyota of Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 1991 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 10/01/1991 Business incorporated 07/18/1991 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Miller, President Ms. Traci Stuart, Customer Relations Mrs. Patti Willie-Turpen, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Miller, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Patti Willie-Turpen, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Miller-Nicholson II, Inc MN II Inc Scion of Seattle Toyota/Scion of Seattle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Toyota of Seattle has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2121 8th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 382-4300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Feb 2014, my 2001 Toyota Prius was serviced at Toyota of Seattle, after losing power on the highway. On picking up the vehicle following repairs totaling over $1,300, I was informed by the Service Manager handling my service that a diagnostic code connected with the hybrid battery had been detected after the repairs were made, but that the full significance of this was unclear to him. As it turned out, the car barely made it up the hill on my short 1.2mi drive home, lurching and bucking on the final 2 blocks. I had to have the vehicle towed back to Toyota of Seattle (my auto insurance covered this cost). The need to replace the hybrid battery was then confirmed, and the cost quoted for this repair was itself far in excess of the actual value of the vehicle, even without considering the $1,300+ cost sunk in the partial service. I am contacting BBB now after having been passed from one to another of a sequence of people at Toyota of Seattle, most recently **** ****** Mr. ***** had essentially confirmed my view that there was a serious failure of service in this matter and expressed a commitment to resolving the matter to my satisfaction, giving me his cell phone number. He subsequently failed to follow up with me, however, and to return a message I left. I called him again last week to enquire about the status of his work to resolve the matter, and he told me he was surprised I had not yet heard from ****** ********** I recall the name ****** among the many people I have spoken with already in connection with this matter, and rather than come full circle in what now seems to be an endless holding pattern, I am asking the Better Business Bureau to relay my complaint to Toyota of Seattle. I hope the BBB will be able to encourage a resolution in the spirit of the previously excellent service I had enjoyed in prior encounters with Toyota Service at this and other dealerships.

Desired Settlement: Toyota of Seattle should refund the entire cost of the original service, which I would not have undertaken if I had been informed of the full cost of the complete service necessary to restore the vehicle to safe working order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@******-*********.com ***** ********* Accredited Resolutions Manager I sincerely apologize that we have not responded in regards to case #XXXXXXXX. The letter was addressed to the wrong contact so unfortunately we just received the letter in regards to this. We have already missed the September 4th date, but we are now working on this case. We will be in contact with a response/solution by the end of this week, Friday September 12th. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Will Toyota of Seattle confirm that the Service Manager to whom I entrusted the service of my vehicle made no note whatsoever in the dealership's service record of the alarming sudden power loss I had experience on the highway, which was the event precipitating my seeking service? If so, can Toyota of Seattle state unequivocally its full confidence in the work and record-keeping of this Service Manager? It is my understanding that this person was no longer working for Toyota of Seattle within weeks of my service. Would Toyota of Seattle gladly rehire this person as a Service Manager? If indeed this critically important information was not recorded prominently in the service record, this would represent an error of omission by an agent of Toyota of Seattle. This error would help to explain but not excuse the Toyota of Seattle Service Department's failure to immediately consider the possibility of a failing hybrid battery in a hybrid vehicle with an electrical problem for which expensive repairs were planned, and to *actively* seek evidence regarding the health of the hybrid battery. The reply by Toyota of Seattle seems to suggest that they regard diagnosis of a hybrid vehicle with an electrical problem primarily as an exercise in passively reacting to dashboard warning lights. If Toyota of Seattle wishes to maintain that the service of my vehicle was even competentlet alone met the high standard that I have come to expect from Toyota service at this dealership and othersI can only suppose that the Toyota Corporation would disagree. After all, Toyota by now has more experience than any other car maker in the service of hybrid vehicles. To correct a misstatement in Toyota of Seattle's initial reply, I made it clear from the outset that I was interested strictly in recouping my losses by *selling* my vehicle to Toyota, and that I had no interest in a trade-in. To stress this, I gently but unambiguously pointed to a competitor's product as representing the same kind of world-leading excellence that my Prius represented when I purchased it in October 2000, but which Toyota's current offerings do not rise to. A salesperson does seem to have entertained for himself the idea that I should trade my vehicle in for a 2012 Toyota Prius (which he described erroneously as "fully electric"), but I did nothing to actively encourage this odd idea. I continue to maintain that the management of the service of my vehicle was incompetent, and that the cost of this service should be refunded to me. If Toyota of Seattle are able to recoup some or all of the costs of this refund by recycling my vehicle, they are most welcome to do so. To provide for comparison a scenario that would have met my expectations of Toyota of Seattle, here his how a competent service WOULD have proceeded: 1. Service Manager listens to the customer's history including details of the sudden onset of a fluctuating and then rapidly progressive loss of power that occurred on the highway. Service Manager appreciates the several-week history of increasing requirements for jump-starts as background information offered to help with diagnosis, not as the main symptom. 2. Service Manager records this information in the service record. 3. While perhaps hoping for the best (merely a dead 12V battery) on behalf of your customer, Service Department also appreciates that the symptoms described may well implicate the hybrid battery, bringing the necessary repairs to an entirely new cost level. 4. Instead of accepting passive reassurance from dashboard warning lights, Service Department actively seeks to confirm the health of the hybrid battery before performing other repairs, so that the customer can be advised in case the full diagnosis and the full cost of a full repair turn out worse than hoped. I hope this description of the service that I did NOT receive presents a helpful contrast with the service I DID receive, so that Toyota of Seattle will recognize that the latter was inadequate. In a sense, the service of my vehicle amounted to what in the building trades would be called "spiking the job", except that here it appears to have occurred only through incompetence, and not malice. Final Business Response /* (1000, 30, 2014/12/15) */ To whom it may concern: Thank you for forwarding the most recent communication to the Better Business Bureau. Our customer his previous case to you which we have subsequently rebutted. As previously stated, in February 2014 the customer's 2001 Prius with 150.000 plus miles was brought to Toyota of Seattle service department for battery inspection. At the time of inspection, the battery (non-hybrid battery) was tested and determined to be failing. The inspection also indicated the vehicle water pump was leaking coolant and the front brakes were worn to the wear limits. These are common wear items consistent with a vehicle of this age and miles. Our customer approved the repairs. The check engine warning came on when the repairs were completed which is also not uncommon. High mileage vehicles can have numerous repairs independent of each other which can occur in a random sequence. This information was related to our customer prior to his retrieving his vehicle. Since our last communications with your office, our customer has yet to retrieve his vehicle. Due to our relocation in March of 2015, and our inability to continue storing the vehicle, we have sent a certified attach letter, fulfilling our legal requirement prior talking additional actions. We hope our customer will contact our service manager and remove his vehicle which has been abandoned on our property for almost a year.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second time this dealership has provided terrible service. This is the second time this dealership has not covered a part/service despite being under warranty. I dropped my car off for service on a Wednesday, couldn't get a hold of my service rep until Saturday despite calling multiple times every day and being assured that 1) he was in the office 2) he will return my call immediately. I also texted the service rep and didn't hear back at all. Finally on Saturday after almost 4 days of almost no communication (they did get back to me later on the first day, but said there were additional problems which is why I tried to follow up after that) I was told to come in within 2 hours to get a rental car while them not providing any transportation because it was a saturady so i ahd to walk. this rental car was offered on the 4th day of service after not hearing back from them the entire time. It is now Tuesday again and after more failed attempts to reach my service rep I've decided to stop wasting my time and just get my car back without the additional repair/maintenance work that was requested.

Desired Settlement: I wanted my brake pads replaced and have the parts and service covered by the dealership and/or warranty. There was supposedly damage done to the rotors due to the pads being gone but I'd have to 1) verify they need to be replaced 2) I dont know if that would still be my responsibility or theirs due to them being damaged by lack of brake pads.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/05) */ **** ***** XXXX Xth Ave Seattle, WA XXXXX September 30, 2014 RE: Case # XXXXXXXX To Whom it may concern: ****** brought his 2014 Scion FR-S to Toyota of Seattle September 3, 2014. At that time the vehicle odometer read 6816 miles. The customer's complaint was logged as: " Inspect Front Brakes - Customer is certain brake service is needed. Can hear grinding when brake.". Our initial inspection confirmed the grinding and upon a more detailed mechanical inspection it was determined the front brake pads had been worn below serviceable limits and the excessively worn front brake pads had damaged the front brake rotors to a degree also requiring their replacement. The damage was such that our technician and service advisor advised the vehicle not be driven for safety reasons. Our service advisor spoke with ******* about brake pads being a wear item and susceptible to the driving habits of the vehicle operator. Brake wear is typically not a warrantable repair unless systematic failure has led to the premature wear of the components. Our inspection bore out the fact the vehicle's braking system had no systematic failures other than the front brake pads being worn beyond service limits. Additional inspection also noted the vehicle's tires showed indications the vehicle was being driven in an aggressive manner, one that would indicate heavy braking was needed to control the vehicle. Our service advisor did, however, offer to petition Toyota Motor Corporation on *******'s behalf and seek possible assistance with the needed repair. We also researched available information systems seeking other cases reported regarding premature wear in Scion FR-S vehicles. No published information from Toyota Motor Corporation related to this issue was found. Toyota Motor Corporation denied assistance replacing the front brake pads and front brake rotors. This information was relayed to ******* and it was agreed Toyota of Seattle would order the replacement parts and proceed with the needed repair. The front brake rotors were relegated to a back order status which delayed our ability to provide the replacement parts in a most timely manner. Our service advisor, at this time, takes responsibility for not communicating this delay effectively and acknowledges this communication lag led to *******'s annoyance with Toyota of Seattle and our service department. Our service advisor offered to provide a rental car as goodwill to help assist ******* with his transportation needs. This rental offer was accepted by *******. ******* contacted our service advisor and expressed concern about the length of time required to obtain the replacement parts and asked if he could provide aftermarket replacement parts and would our repairs facility install them. Our service advisor agreed to repair the vehicle with the owner provided parts. Upon receipt of the owner provided parts, it was found the replacement front brake pads were of the wrong application and would not work correctly. ******* and our service advisor decided to use Toyota factory replacement front brake pads and continue with the repair. Repairs were completed using owner provided aftermarket front brake rotors and Toyota factory replacement front brake pads. The vehicle was tested and it was determined the braking system was operating currently as normal. Our service advisor in the interest of customer goodwill elected to not charge ******* labor charges for the replacement of the front brakes and rotors and provided the rental vehicle at no cost as well. ******* only paid Toyota of Seattle for the replacement front brake pads at a discounted rate. Our service advisor communicated directly with ******* and was available to actively deliver the repaired vehicle to *******. To our service advisors recollection, ******* was satisfied with the repair results and left amicably. At this time, no further complaints have been received from ******* regarding his vehicle's braking system. Sincerely, **** ***** Service Department Manager Toyota of Seattle

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new Prius at Toyota of Seattle on 27 May with an agreed 5 year loan. I stated clearly at beginning that I'm on a work VISA. The Conditions of Financing contract states that within 4 days the dealer is going to inform me that the intended financing is or is not approved. However, two weeks later, on June 6, I was informed that my loan was not approved, unless my company proves that I will be employed for the next five years, I told them only thing I can provide is my work VISA. On the 13th of June, while working, I was harassed by receiving a call from Toyota of Seattle ordering me to return the car immediately or they will call the police. Rushing to Toyota, I was told I can only get a 4 year financing plan. They also told me the person who gave me the deal has made a mistake at beginning and he is no longer working with Toyota of Seattle. I left the car with them and told them that I wish to speak with the manager the next day. Following morning, I was told the manager is in store to receive me, so I walked for half hour there hoping that the issue can be better resolved, but the manager didn't even show up. Now both the car and down-payment are still with them, and they haven't contacted me at all. Terrible experience with Toyota of Seattle.

Desired Settlement: I can still consider the 4 year financing plan but with a compensation either on the total price of the vehicle or on the APR. Otherwise Toyota of Seattle can take the vehicle back and pay a compensation fee of $5000 for all the opportunity cost and mental damage that incurred.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/07/17) */ July 16, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive Ste 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Re: **** *** Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ***'s complaint filed with your office. As explained below we were unable to satisfy the finance approval condition of our contract with Mr. *** and Ms. **** (co-buyers) and complied with the law in informing them of that. Mr. *** and Ms. **** came to our dealership to purchase and finance a vehicle. The same day that we delivered the vehicle, we were advised that financing was not approved. We notified the purchasers that financing was rejected via our normal "bushing call". We offered that we would continue with their permission to extend our efforts for financing a new deal. To assist us in locating financing, they provided us with copies of their Social Security Cards on 6/5/14, and later provided us with copies of their ******** We worked for approximately two weeks attempting to locate a lender who would lend on the same terms as the rejected deal. One of the conditions of finance approval, a condition imposed by the bank we hoped to assign a new contract to, was the length of Mr. ***'s ***** When we were informed that the **** was not for a sufficient number of years we informed Mr. *** that financing would not be approved for a 60 month loan due to the short duration of his ***** We asked him to return the car he intended to purchase from us when he returned to the dealership to explore other options for a new contract and he did so, as he wanted us to explore additional options. The options available to secure financing were not on terms acceptable to Mr. *** and Ms. ***** When he returned the vehicle to us he then rejected the return to him of his $10,000 down payment saying he wanted to wait for the BBB to resolve the issue. When we did not hear from him we reached out and asked him to come for his down payment and he did return, but due to lack of communication the person he was to meet with was not available and he left. We contacted him again and verified his mailing address and we mailed him his down payment. Our goal is to sell vehicles to our customers and do all we can to secure finance approval. Unfortunately we were not able to do so which dismayed our customer Mr. ***, and equally dismayed us. We extend our regrets and apologize to Mr. ***. Mr. *** stated in his complaint that he would be willing to consider purchasing with a 4 year financing plan. If he would like us to, Toyota of Seattle will honor the vehicle sales price of the original deal for thirty days from today, and I would personally work with him in good faith to seek financing approval for a 4 year loan. This would require new loan paperwork, etc. Again, I apologize that Toyota of Seattle was not able to obtain financing approval for a 5 year loan. Sincerely, ***** ********* COO

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harassed everyday for two weeks about our permanent residence when we informed Toyota of Seattle before we bought the car that we did not have one. They even called my family members. Bought the car July 13, 2013 and August 6, 2013 we were told the 0% finance rate we were approved for was actually put in for at 2.9%. Conditions of Financing contract says within 4 days that the intended financing is or is not approved. We just had a child and the dealership is an hour away. They said our license plates were there. Drove an hour to find out they were not. Horrible experience with Toyota of Seattle

Desired Settlement: The 0% financing rate as originally approved for, and some sort of compensation for the hardship put on me, my wife, and newborn child. With being Active Duty service members (both spouse and I) these issues have put a serious unnecessary stress on my entire family.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/27) */ I HAVE CONTACTED THE CUSTOMER AND REVIEWED THE EXPERIENCE HE HAD AT TOYOTA OF SEATTLE. ALL THE CUSTOMERS ISSUES HAVE BEEN RESOLVED. THE CUSTOMER IS RECEIVING 0% FINANCING ON HIS VEHICLE. I HAVE ALSO OFFERED A COMPLIMENTRY DETAIL OF HIS VEHICLE AS WELL AS FILLING THE TANK UP FOR HIM. ******* SAID THE NEXT TIME HE IS IN SEATTLE HE WILL TAKE ME UP ON THE OFFER. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME WITH ANY ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS OR INFORMATION I CAN PROVIDE. THANK YOU, *** ******

9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service