BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota of Puyallup

Phone: (253) 286-6000 Fax: (253) 286-6001 1400 River Rd, Puyallup, WA 98371 http://www.toyotaofpuyallup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Puyallup meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Puyallup include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Puyallup
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1993 Business started: 04/01/1970 in WA Business started locally: 04/01/1970 Business incorporated 04/01/1970 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Motor Vehicles
2424 Bristol Ct SW, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.bls.dor.wa.gov/vehiclevesseldealer
Phone Number: (360) 664-6475
intdlrnw@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kerry Sawyer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Kerry Sawyer, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 1400 River Rd

    Puyallup, WA 98371 (253) 286-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I needed a $235 60000 mile service on my 2010 Prius. After they did this, I looked in my recommended services book provided by Toyota and the things that Toyota of Puyallup said were needed are not even recommended anywhere up to 120000 miles. They do excess services beyond necessary to make extra money.

Desired Settlement: I feel i was mislead into what service my car needed and should have that refunded to me.

Business Response:

The response if from our service manager, Rich C*****.  He has already taken action to resolve the issue.  I apologize for any misunderstanding.  We certiainly would never try to sell or offer something that we didn't feel was necessary.  And, it is always the customers choice to approve or deny any of our services.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Kerry S*****
President
Toyota of Puyallup


Response written by Rich C*****:

We adopted a policy of replacing the PCV valve at 60,000 miles on
04-09 Prius because it has the possibility of leaking oil into the intake and
causing runability problems and sometimes check engine lights.  Toyota had
a Tech Tip on this but it’s been since canceled.  However, they never had
a replacement interval in their owner’s manual.  Because of the high
number of problems we were seeing with this, we adopted the policy to replace
at 60,000 mile intervals to prevent the issue from occurring… which it
did. 

However, I learned after this customer’s complaint and my
consequent phone call to our FTS, that this particular problem occurs only in
that generation of Prius vehicles.  This customer’s is a 2010 and the
design of the intake is different.  We have since removed the additional
service from our menu services and I refunded the customer the difference in
the service from PCV valve to no PCV valve (approximately $116).  He
should be receiving the check this week.  

9/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FJ Cruiser purchased new form this business in October of 2012. Still under warranty. Had seat infected and repaired already and still had clunking issue. Dealer says no solution and that is just the way it is. They can't repair it. I'm stuck with what feels and sounds like a broken seat on a brand new still warrantied FJ Cruiser.

Desired Settlement: A seat that works and does not shift and clunk while driving.

Business Response: Hi,
My apologies for the late response...I've been out of the office. 
Our Assistant Service Manager/Customer Relations Mananger has had several conversations with Mr. **** about the seat in his FJ Cruiser. 
I've attached the conversation that he and I had regarding Mr. **** complaint of his vehicle, to better explain the situation: 


The customer is complaining about a slight movement in the seat
assembly while driving.  Picture if you grabbed the front of the seat
bottom and kind of pulled up on it how there might be a slight click up and
down.  This condition does not cause any drive-ability issues, it’s more
of an annoyance. He states this condition has existed since the vehicle
was new… it is not something that has recently begun to occur.  We
duplicated the concern and, last fall, replaced the seat frame assembly for him
under warranty thinking it might be something that is abnormal.  It did
not improve it, however.  He brought it again to us last week to recheck
and explore another seat frame or other repairs.  This time, we were able
to compare it to several other FJ vehicles.  One was ******* wife’s and
two were in the shop.  All have the same condition.  So, I advised
Mr. **** that we cannot do any further repairs at this time based on the fact
that:

A.   
The condition has existed since new.

B.   
The condition exists in other like vehicles.

C.   
We attempted a repair on it without any change.
He asked us to install a seat from a different model because he
has researched that 4Runner and Tacoma seats fit in his vehicle.  I told
him that was not a possibility that Toyota would allow, unfortunately.  I
did offer him to take it to a place like Mobility Systems and have them take a
look at it.  Although there would likely be a charge to him, they may be
able to come up with some type of shim or system that eliminates this for
him.  They specialize in handicap alterations and modifications.  I
also suggested he look into used seats from a junk yard (a pretty common thing
people do) but he does not feel he should have to do that. 

I’ve spent a TON of time trying to assist him with this and have
been patient and thorough.  I even advised him that his complaint may be
better directed at Toyota since we don’t design the vehicles. 

 
To summarize....since the condition exists in other vehicles and it doesn't create a "driveability" or "safety" issue, Toyota will not allow us to do anything else under warranty for this customer.  If Mr. **** would like to take this further, he could contact the corporate office at Toyota and file some type of complaint that way.  We cannot do this on behalf of the customer.

If Mr. **** would like to pursue this, we'd be happy to provide the appropriate contact information.  Please have him contact Rich C***** in our service department.


Thank you.
Kerry S*****
President/General Manager
Toyota of Puyallup
***** ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
i disagree, this is not a resolution to this problem which you admit exists. Explaining the deficiency does not make it go away or excuse the lack of solution to this problem.

Sincerely,

**** ****

10/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I complained to salesman ********** that my 2013 Toyota Tacoma 4 cylinder was dangerously under powered. He said just a minute and left. When he returned he said he had a great solution for me. He said he had the same make and model in a 2012 V-6 with about the same mileage but grey instead of blue for only a $2,000 exchange fee. I grumbled that was a bit much for a year older vehicle with 2,000 more miles on it but agreed to his price. He said **** would finish the paper work and I would only be paying $23 more per month than my existing contract. *** informed me I had to re-buy ******* but that I would be getting a special discount (same price as I paid originally and which everyone pays). Also I had to re-buy maintenance agreement even though they got a refund on old contract and new contract was only 75,000 instead of original 125,000miles. ***** and I negotiated only on addition to existing loan contract and unfortunately I paid no attention to ****'s figures as I trusted *****'s figures of about $3,000 to pay and monthly cost was only going to increase $23. In passed dealing, ***** has always been true to his word. **** now says only he has control and ***** has nothing to do with the deal or in other words I can no longer trust *****. No one in their right minds would consciously agree to a $9,000+ exchange fee. I feel I was not dealt with fairly and taken advantage of and scammed.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the deal ***** and I agreed on.

Business Response: Our General Sales Manager, Matt P******, met with Mr. ***** before we received this letter. He explained the entire transaction and reviewed ALL of the numbers with Mr. *****. Everything made much better sense after they had the opportunity to sit down and go over the transaction. We addressed Mr. ***** concern regarding the value of the new Lo-Jack system and not getting a credit for the old one by refunding him $750.00. This refund had to go to the lender as that is where it was financed. Mr. ***** was very happy with our gesture to pay for this. He said he was completely satisfied with the resolution.
Please let me know if you have any further questions regarding this transaction or the action we took to make sure Mr. ***** was happy.
Thank you.
Kerry B*****
President

Consumer Response: The complaint is not closed as far as I'm concerned. The original agreement with their salesman was for $3,500 and not $9,200+ for the exchange of vehicles. All of their explanations do not truthfully account for how a 2012 Tacoma can be jacked up to $30,295 which is $3-4,000 more than was originally paid for the vehicle over 2 years ago. Then they valued my trade in 2013 Tacoma at $22,000 which is probably a bit low. I still feel they screwed me out of over $5,000.

Business Response: Not much has changed since the last complaint Mr. ***** filed with the BBB regarding this transaction. I am unable to prove what Jerry N** (salesperson) may have verbally communicated to Mr. *****. What I DO know is that Jerry has been with us for almost 20 years and we have rarely, if ever, received a complaint regarding his honesty or integrity. While the cost may be higher on the final paperwork than what was discussed, there are several reasons for this - all of which Mr. ***** agreed to and signed for. In addition to the depreciation that took place from trading in a brand new truck after less than a year of ownership, there were taxes, and additional products that Mr. ***** elected to purchase. Plus, there was a great deal of equipment that Mr. ***** wanted transferred from his old truck to his new truck that cost money, including: custom lights, a CB radio, a Ham radio, a canopy (that he wanted custom painted before we put it on the new truck). We gave Mr. ***** a free loaner car to drive for almost two weeks while we completed all of this work. At least two times during those two weeks, Mr. ***** came by to check on things and told us how great it all looked and how pleased he was with the process. At no point were we aware of any issues with the cost or the work that he had elected to have us do. It wasn't until later that he questioned the cost of LoJack and said he shouldn't have to pay for that twice (since we are unable to transfer it from one vehicle to the next). He said a fair resolution would be for us to refund him that money. We cut him a check for $795.00. He left saying he was happy and that everything was fine. Now, we get another letter from the BBB, a letter from the Attorney General's office and his neighbor is calling me saying we took advantage of him. We have been in business for 44+ years and we would not remain in business (and in good standing) by taking advantage of our customers. Mr. ***** agreed to and signed for ALL work that he asked us to perform and products he wished to purchase. The refund of $795.00 was done solely as a goodwill gesture and we do not feel we owe Mr. ***** anything else. Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions.
Best Regards,
Kerry B***** - President & General Manager

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
February 2013 I purchased a 2013 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab 4 cylinder 4x4 SR-5 for $26,615. The whole transaction was processed exactly as salesman Jerry N** said it would.
February 2014 I told Jerry N** the pickup was seriously underpowered to the point of dangerous. He said "just a minute" and left. Upon his return, he stated that he had the "solution". He said he had a 2012 same make, model and mileage with 6 cylinders instead of 4 (N.A.D.A. trade value $23,974) for $2,000 trade plus my 2013 truck (N.A.D.A. trade value $22,825). We argued a bit and I agreed to pay the $2,000. He the said of course that's plus tax, license and service agreements of about $1,500 (apx $200 tax, $800 LoJack and $500 used up on original Maintenance Agreement) bringing the total trade cost to about $3,500 for which we finally agreed and shook hands to close and seal the deal. He said all that was needed was to just sign the papers. Also said payments would only be about $23 more per month. Jerry had gained my full trust and confidence in him over the year and I just "knew" this deal would proceed just as before.
Matt P******, sales manager, had the paperwork and said nothing or at least did not make clear he was reneging on the whole deal just made as he proceeded with the paperwork! I had no reason to believe the deal would proceed any differently than the first time. Matt priced the 2012 pickup at $30,295 (N.A.D.A. list retail $26,100) or about $3-4,000 more than was paid for the vehicle brand new. This is an unreasonably excessive markup. He then priced the 2013 pickup at $22,000 so the difference would be over $9,200 instead of the agreed $3,500. I could have gotten a brand new 2014 pickup for less money and would have been much better off. These figures strongly show or indicate Matt P****** must have seen an elderly person with impaired vision and hearing that could be taken advantage of. He had to specifically point out each place I was to sign making it obvious I needed help seeing where to sign. I feel I was taken undue advantage of and scammed.
A valid deal/agreement was made by the salesman, a legal representative, of the company and myself, with no reservations or exceptions, that was fair and should be honored. If the deal is not to be honored, then I request BBB arrange for binding arbitration.

Business Response: I feel like we are continuing to rehash the same thing every time we communicate about Mr. ***** purchase. Yes, he negotiated the transaction with Jerry N**. But, he also signed NUMEROUS documents that clearly explained what he was trading, what he was buying, how much he was financing, etc. He did not sign these documents with our sales manager, Matt, he signed them with one of our Finance Managers who reviewed every document with him. We would NEVER try to hide the facts from our customers. We've been operating in Puyallup for almost 45 years and we have a stellar reputation. We are one of the most awarded Toyota dealers in the country (yes, country) for customer satisfaction. Jerry has been with us for over 20 years and Matt P****** (sales manager) has been with us for more than 20 years. They understand the value of our customers and doing the right thing. My ***** spoke with Mr. P****** on several occasions regarding this transaction. The last time they met (in person), Mr. ***** shook his hand and said he fully understood how we arrived at the numbers. We showed him everything. Jerry even said he can't believe that Mr. ***** continues to think we deceived him or did something wrong. The truth is, he traded in a vehicle that he didn't like and he had to pay for it since he didn't have any equity yet. Plus, there was also money that needed to be paid to transfer a LOT of equipment from one truck to the next....that cost money, too. We've already refunded Mr. ***** $700 for a product he didn't think he should have to pay for. I'm not sure what else we need to do? We did NOT take advantage of him as he is stating due to his age or otherwise, that is ridiculous to think we could stay in business by doing that. I've refrained from offering anything additional on the principle that we did nothing wrong. Mr. ***** was fully informed and signed MULTIPLE documents that disclosed exactly what he was getting. We do not run our business based on verbal commitments, we are required to have local, state and federal documents signed to protect our customers (and us).I hope that this is not a case of buyers remorse, but I suspect that it is.
Because we value ALL of our customers, if Mr. ***** would accept a $1000.00 goodwill settlement, that is what I would offer. But I will say, again, that we did NOTHING wrong and would be happy to review all of the documents that Mr. ***** signed with him again. Thank you.

Consumer Response: I would appreciate this response be sent to the personal attention of Ms. Kerry B***** to see if she personally concurs with the actions of her employees Matt P****** and Richard C*****. I strongly believe Mr's P****** and C***** have been doing all the responding to my complaint using Ms. B***** name and also stonewalling against any direct contact or complete review by Ms. B*****. I can understand their actions as they are the cause of the bait and switch which I am complaining about. If I can get a direct response from Ms. B***** stating her understanding of the facts and she concurs with the positions taken then I will accept the last offer of $1,000 and close the file. If the business is as outstanding as it is claimed to be then an impartial independent review by a third party should be welcomed by the company i.e. arbitration which by definition closes the file.

Business Response: This is Ms. B***** and I am well-aware of the facts and have been responding, personally, all along. We have not and would never engage in any 'bait and switch' tactics. I will have a check cut today for $1000.00 and send to your home address, certified mail. I will assume that this closes the file as you have agreed to in this correspondence dated 10-21-2014. My signature will be on the check as an extra assurance that I am aware of the facts and that I concur with the positions taken. I will consider this matter closed. Thank you.
Kerry B*****
President & General Manager
Toyota of Puyallup

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I keep my word and accept the resolution offered even though I don't agree the resolution is honest or correct. Case is closed. When a business does not honor or consummate a deal made by one of their representatives then that by definition is "bait and switch. Too bad you are another business that can't be trusted - good bye.

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The toyota service department has done all of the service to my car up to 50,000 miles at which time I found out that the plan we bought expired. We thought it was 75,000 miles. So I did the next service my self and found an oil leak, broken cover, and oil spilt on valve cover. I call and spoke with **** ****** and we took it in and they kept it for a week and repaired leak and cover but did not clean like they said they would. My wife started complaining about a squeal when it was started so I called the service department and they said the belt could be bad and I would have to pay for it. I explained that they just had it. I called **** and got no response. At the next service I changed the oil and found the belt loose and secured it. I also found the suction line for the A/C unit not sucured and I put it in clamps. I have sent pictures to **** (the corporate complaint guy) and I have not heard anything in response.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund of the monies paid for the 45000 mile service plan. Also money for time spent at the service department. I have had to make 3 trips there. I bought the plan so my wife could take care of her car but they did not take care of her so they did not hold up their end.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/12) */ My apologies for the delayed response - I gathered the attached information from my Assistant Service Manager (who is also our Customer Relations Manager) last month. I thought the information had already been sent in response to Mr. *********'s complaint. Please let me know if you require any additional information. Thank you. ***** ****** President & General Manager ***** ********* BBB response Cust email from 10/06/13: Hello ****, ****, and ***** I bought a 2010 corolla from you guys in April of 2010. I have spoke to***** the last time I had an oil change about some problems I am having. I bought the extended warranty under the impression that it covered everything oil changes and all. I learned last time I was in that the service and sales departments are different companies and got an apology. **** did fix my blower and did not charge me but I am still confused how a paper towel can get in the blower thru the cabin filter. And my trunk still does not work properly. I decided to do my oil changes from now on. As you can see in the pictures (Attached) you did not take care of my car the way you should of. First, spilling oil on valve cover is very bad practice, second the cove mount is broken and should of been replaced, third, the oil leak should of been addressed and not ignored, and if not noticed the tech should get fired. I have owned Toyota most of my life and I currently drive a 91 tercel that I rebuilt. I went to tech school to work on cars and have been working on my cars all my life. I am not an expert, but I do know you have some problems with your service department. I paid for the extra warranty and asked the lady specifically if my wife would be able to handle all maintenance thru you guys for 75,000 mile and was told yes. That is now denied and I don't have a recording. But even the 45,000 miles worth of work you have done has not been good. I don't know what you are willing to do to resolve this but I thought you should know. I felt that emailing you directly so you can handle first hand was best. Sorry if I miss used your email. Thanks for your time ***** ********* XXX-XXX-XXXX Toyota of Puyallup response 10/07/13: Hi Mr. *********, Thanks for taking the time to email us. I believe I can help answer these questions/concerns that you have. Your extended warranty covers defective parts and workmanship by the manufacturer. Unfortunately, "outside influences" like debris in the heater blower motor is not considered a defective part. This is the reason why we could not claim it under your extended warranty policy. It is interesting that the paper/debris could get into the heater past the cabin filter... perhaps it was on top of the filter and fell into the housing when the filter was removed for inspection? Hard to say what occurred for certain, but it was definitely in there as our tech physically pulled it out to correct the noise you were hearing. Due to the confusion you had regarding what is and what is not covered, that's why we decided to comp the repairs last visit. Regarding the trunk issue you are complaining about, again the only thing we can do is compare it to other vehicles. Unless something has changed since your last visit here, the trunk is not behaving differently than other Corollas. I believe we demonstrated that for you while you were in. However, that does not close the book on that issue. Please keep a close eye on it and let us know if there is continued problems or changes in how it operates. Also, is it possible that it was the valet mode issue we discussed before that was causing problems for you? I do show that the pre-paid maintenance plan you purchased was good for 45,000 total vehicle miles. Please see the attached document signed at time of purchase. I'm so sorry there was confusion surrounding that. It does appear that you have used all the services that you purchased, however. I am definitely willing to take a look at the potential oil leak situation and/or oil clean up. Based off the pictures, it appears possible that we have some cleanup work that will need to be done. I'd like to have a tech take a look at it as well just to make sure there are no leaks or reasons why the oil is accumulating like that. If there are not, I'm happy to have a steam clean done through our detail shop (at no charge to you). I apologize for that having occurred. Would you like to set up an appointment to get that looked at? We'll provide a complimentary loaner car for you as well if you need it. Please let me know what you'd like to do and I'll take care of getting it all arranged. Thanks again for the email. *********** Asst.Service Mgr./Customer Relations Cust brought vehicle into shop 10/12/13 to address all mentioned items. 1. Replaced trunk lock assembly under extended warranty. 2. Resealed timing cover under factory warranty. 3. Cleaned oil residue under shop warranty. 4. Did Toyota recall (ECM update) under factory warranty. No bill to customer for any items. Toyota of Puyallup email 10/14/13 to advise customer we would provide him with 2 free 5K coupons based on the confusion about prepaid maintenance intervals. 10/17/13, cust picked up vehicle from all mentioned repairs. Cust emailed Toyota of Puyallup 01/13/14: Hello, I have had several problems with your service department. The last time I took my car in you had to repair a leak, clean up the spilt oil and replace the cover you broke. Also replace the trunk latch. The sales department through***** gave us 3 free oil changes for the inconvenience which is nice. After a week or so my wife complained that the car squeeked when she started in the morning. So again I had to look at her car and found it might be the belt. So i called the service department and was told that the belt is only good for 40,000 miles and it is probably bad. I have talked to several parts guys and they all agree that to be wrong. I left a message for **** and never got a call back. I have decided not to bring my car back to you so I changed my oil my self and tightened the loose belt. I also found that my A/C suction line was not secure (see before and after pics). For the price of the car and what I paid to get service I could of went to wal mart and had them do it, the quality would of been the same. I just want you to know. I talked my wife into a Toyota since I have owned them for years but she will never let me buy her one again. ***** ********* XXX-XXX-XXXX Dealer assessed photos and decided there is no possibility of having damaged the components the customer mentioned. Customer appears to have multiple complaints about items unrelated to our work each time he comes in. Dealer has provided goodwill towards concerns. Customer advised he'd be taking his vehicle elsewhere for service and that seemed to be the final word. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As you can see from the emails between us the service department has had some troubles repairing my car. It is correct that I have not had to pay to bring my vehicle in but my time is worth something and I did pay for the $45,000 service so It was not all free. I did get 2 free oil changes but I do not trust them to change my oil. My blower now has a squeak most likely from having a rag on the blower which was left from a tech. The squeaky belt was from a tech not setting the tension on the belt correctly and they did not steam clean as they said. We have had problems every time the car has been in. Asking for my money back and a few bucks for my time is not an unreasonable request. The last time they worked on my car and did the warranty repair not only did they not adjust belt correctly the did not secure the A/C line correctly. Both a very simple task. And I will also have to replace my blower because of a tech forgetting to clean up his rags. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/04/06) */ We don't feel we are responsible for any further good will towards Mr. ********* or his vehicle. We have already taken care of the issues he had with his vehicle - under warranty or at our own expense. In addition, we have given Mr. ********* THREE future oil change vouchers. This was originally offered as good will due to him not realizing what he purchased at the time of sale. He paid for oil changes up to 45k and paid for an extended service agreement up to 75k. We have signed documents for both of these. It is unfortunate that Mr. ********* is having further issues with his vehicle. However, he has chosen to do the last two oil change services on his own and elected to fix other things at the same time. We cannot validate warrantable repairs based on the customers word or their pictures. Please let me know if you have any further questions regarding this. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It seems that Toyota of Puyallup is dishonest and does not car about the small customer. there is nothing I can do to make them do what is right. I am not after free money just what is right. They did very poor service and pictures are truth. Their Tech even said that I had poor service when he saw spilt oil. I will not do business with them. It sucks when you can not trust big business and the push out the little guys but that is what it is. All they want to do is sell me another car. they don't care if the car I have has poor service the just hope I buy another from them before it breaks. Sad Sad Sad

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a down payment of $1,000.00 on a used 2005 Toyota Rav4 on Tuesday, November 26th, 2013, with financing arranged by Toyota of Puyallup. The financing agreement included my mother as a cosigner, which helped to secure me a lower interest rate. (Given that my mother lives in Delaware, the dealership had to mail her a copy of the contract to sign, which was going to take a few days because of Thanksgiving holiday.) Unfortunately, the next day I had buyer's remorse about the deal. I was not happy with both the price of the car and the car itself. So, I decided to back out of the deal, and told my mother not to sign the contract. I returned the car to the dealership on Friday, November 29th, which was as early as I could given that the dealership was closed on Thursday for the holiday. The general sales manager, **** ******** told me he would refund the down payment. He suposedly refunded the $1,000.00 to my debit card. The next day, Saturday, November 30th, the money was not in my bank account. I inspected the refund reciept, and noticed that the "mode" of the credit card machine was "offline" when the refund was allegedly made. I drove back to the dealership, and brought it to the attention of ****, who acted somewhat bewildered. He directed a woman to run the refund again, and I noticed that the reciept still said "offline". I immediately directed ****'s attention to the matter. He acted perplexed, and then he offered an explanation about the refund is part of a "batch" that would go through over the weekend. On Monday, December 2nd, the refund was not in my bank account. I called **** on Monday morning, and he said that he would take care of it. **** called me on Monday evening to inform me that the refund was credited back to my account. I checked this morning, Tuesday, December 3rd, and the money is not in my account. It has been obvious that **** has been lying to me, and I am deeply frustrated.

Desired Settlement: I want my $1,000.00 refund in cash because I do not trust **** ********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/05) */ *** ****** received the refund through his bank ****** this morning. We credited the account as promised on Friday but the way the "batch" reporting works is that it can take several days for the refund to "post" to an account. We in no way tried to hold up his refund. The fact that we allowed him to unwind the car deal after signing all of the documents shows that we wanted to work with him and make sure he was happy. Our position is always to take care of our customers. We are very sorry that he had to wait so long but it was truly out of our control. FYI - *** ****** sent ********** a very nice email this morning thanking him for his assistance and wishing him a happy holiday. I believe this has all been resolved to *** ******'s satisfaction. Thank you. ***** ****** President/General Manager Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/12/10) */ Toyota of Puyallup has refunded the down payment, so the matter is resolved.

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Internet special on a vehicle had an amazing price and I filled in the information for inquiry on the car and expressed that I was going to purchase today. They called me and after denying the car was at that price, I had to walk the internet car salesman through the path of gettting there on their website. Once he saw the advertisement he told me that he would have to talk to his manager and call me back. After 30mins he called back and told me that it was a typo. I asked him if they could do anything about it and acknowledge the price, but he said he can't and that the disclaimer states prices subject to change. I then hung up the phone and looked at the ad again. The disclaimer does not say that, it states: Find a great sale price on this 2013 Toyota Prius Five at Toyota of Puyallup in Puyallup Washington. This 2013 Toyota Prius is located at our Toyota dealership in Puyallup. We also serve the cities of Tacoma and Seattle. So if you're looking for a great price on this 2013 Toyota Prius Prius Five or just looking to get an auto loan for the vehicle you want... you've come to the right place! Toyota of Puyallup.All vehicles are one of each. All Pre-Owned or Certified vehicles are Used. A dealer documentary service fee of up to $150 may be added to the sale price or capitalized cost. All offers expire on close of business day subject content is removed from website, and all financing is subject to credit approval. Prices excluded tax, title, and license. All transactions are negotiable including price, trade allowance, interest rate (of which the dealer may retain a portion), term, and documentary service fee. Any agreement is subject to execution of contract documents. It is the customer's responsibility to verify the existence and condition of any equipment listed." The offer is good for the day. As typos happen, this company should be held responsible for its mistakes and whether its a loss or gain. Its the cost of doing business amd not checking advertisements before posted.

Desired Settlement: To acknowledge the advertised price of $3,145 for the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/21) */ Dear *** ********* - We are sorry for the error that occurred on our website last week. The "discount" that we were offering on the particular Prius that you looked at, mistakenly got entered into the "sale price" field. Common sense would suggest that a brand new 2013 Prius would not be offered for $3000.00. We do have verbiage on our website that protects us and you, as the consumer, when these errors occur. Also, we do not charge our customers a higher price if/when the numbers are mistakenly reversed. Said verbiage is as follows and can be found on our website: Accuracy of Content While Toyota of Puyallup uses its best efforts for the information contained in this site to be as accurate and reliable as possible, errors may sometimes occur. Toyota of Puyallup reserves the right to revise the information contained on this site and to make such changes without notice to past or present users of our site. Links to Other Sites To this extent that this site may now or in the future include links, facts, opinions or recommendations of different individuals or organizations, Toyota of Puyallup does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness or otherwise endorse these links, facts, opinions and recommendations. It is our intent to provide the most accurate and reliable information as possible on our website. We have a stellar reputation as is relates to customer satisfaction and we strive to uphold the highest level of customer service and professionalism. If you would like to discuss the 2013 Prius that you saw on our website, we'd be happy to review all the numbers with you in person so you have a better understanding of the content, equipment, age and mileage of the vehicle. Once again, please accept our apology for the error. Sincerely, ***** ****** President & General Manager

9/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I worked with Toyota of Puyuallup to purchase a truck this week. We agreed on a price, Toyota of Puyallup advised us we were going to get the truck shipped to us in the next week, they processed my credit info, started the process to get the extras added to the truck that we asked for, and stated they were going to send us the rest of the paperwork via ****** (as we live in Alaska) . We received an email 7 hours later stating that the truck had been sold the night before and they were sorry. We had a verbal agreement and emailed confirmation that we were the new owners of the truck. As an online customer, who does not have the advantage of being in the store, these are all of the ways we can secure the vehicle. Given that we did everything required of us to purchase the vehicle, and Toyota of Puyallup knowingly sold the vehicle to another consumer while confirming our purchase/ownership of the vehicle, this could be considered fraudulent behavior.

Desired Settlement: We would like Toyota to offer us a the same vehicle, at the agreed upon price and original deal at the time of purchase and offer to cover any shipping charges that may occur to get the vehicle to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/26) */ I have already spoken to ******* ******* regarding this incident. There was no intent to engage in any type of fraudulent behavior - it was an honest "misunderstanding". We quoted pricing to **** ******* on a Monday and we did not hear back from her whether she wanted to proceed until we got to work on Thursday morning. At that time, we collected the credit information and said we would proceed with the deal. However, at this point we had no signed purchase order or approval from a bank. While our internet salesperson was collecting all of the credit information for the *******'s, another salesperson was delivering the truck that they had initially inquired about. It wasn't until the internet salesperson went to grab the keys for the truck that he realized another salesperson had sold the truck. As I mentioned to **** *******, we have 24 salespeople and do not "hold" vehicles while customers think about whether they wish to purchase a vehicle or not. If that were the case, most all of our inventory would be constantly "on hold". The only time we pull a vehicle off-line and mark it sold, is if we have a customer in front of us signing a purchase order. In the *******'s case, they were working the transaction from Alaska, so until we had a signed order or approval from the bank, it was not pulled off-line. Once we learned that the particular truck they wanted was sold, we searched our 5-state Region to locate another truck for them. Unfortunately, this same exact truck did not exist. At this point, we received a couple emails from the *******'s saying they did not want to work with us but had begun working with another dealer in Seattle that was going to get a similar truck but with a different color interior. It was at this point that I spoke with ******* and explained what happened. We did NOT sell the truck to someone who offered us more money (as they mentioned in their emails), it was truly an honest accident that was probably not helped by the fact that they waited three days to let us know of their wishes to proceed with the purchase and the fact that most all correspondence was done via email. I felt awful that this happened (as did the salesperson that was trying to sell them the truck). I ended up trying to find another truck outside of our Region but to no avail. The 2013's are in short supply now that the 2014's are out. I suggested they open up their preferred color choices and we would be happy to honor the initial price that we quoted them. I even offered to help secure the 1.9% apr financing for 72 months if they were not able to consummate the deal before that special incentive ended on Sept. 3rd. I'm very sorry that this happened and hope that the *******'s are able to find a truck that suits their needs. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further questions or concerns. Thank you. ***** ******* President & General Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When we made contact with Toyota of Puyallup about the truck we were buying, we were in constant daily contact with the dealer. We did NOT just contact the dealer on a Monday, then wait until Thursday to give our response. The truck was available hours before we gave our final quote, which was about 1 hour after the dealership offered us their final offer. on a Wednesday night. We had sent our response via email to the dealership AFTER the had closed on a Wednesday night. The next morning, the internet sales person assured us the truck would be ours, processed the credit report, and was in the process of ********* the documents to us in Alaska, stating that "OUR" truck would be to us in a week. We didn't get an email back until 6 HOURS after the dealer confimed that the credit check was DONE, and the papers were being sent fed EX. I have worked with a few different car dealerships in the last two weeks, and all of them mention a deposit to hold a truck for an internet sale, since we do not have the luxury of standing on the lot, like most people do. If this was a misunderstanding, then the dealership was in the wrong for their practices, and should strongly re-evaluate the way they do business. If the dealership has an internet sales person, there should be some practices in place so this doesn't happen to innocent buyers. Never once did Toyota of Puyallup mention putting a deposit down on a truck to hold for negotiations. In the conversation we had with the Owner of Toyota of Puyallup, after we were told about the awful news, we mentioned that we had found the SAME truck about 200 miles away, and was asking the company to ship it to Seattle, as that is where the first truck was when we "purchased" it. They mentioned it was going to cost 700 dollars to ship, and I told the Puyallup dealership they should be the one to cover the cost of shipping, since this was not our mistake. The owner said she did not feel it was her responsibilty to cover the cost of shipping, and she was not wiling to take that on. When I mentioned that I had been on the BBB website, and that it was unfair treatment, she said she would try to look for other options, but could not come up with anything. On top of going through the long emotional process of many emails and hours of communicating with Puyallup, we had our credit checked. This can affect out credit score, not to mention all of the personal information that my husband had to give over the phone could be floating around on some piece of paper. When we go through the process of buying another car, we have to get a credit check AGAIN, and that is not a good thing when you have perfect credit and want to keep it that way. The process that Toyota of Puyallup drug us through was unnecessary and unprofessional. We are not asking for any special price on a truck, just the same price we were getting on the truck they sold out from under us. If we as consumers were able to find another truck with the same colors, then why weren't they? Aren't they in the business of selling cars? We have asked in the original complaint that Toyota of Puyallup cover the cost of shipping the truck we find to Seattle. We still feel this is a fair ask, and do not think it is unreasonable at this point.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Puyallup
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)