BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota of Lake City

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 366-3100 View Additional Phone Numbers 13355 Lake City Way NE, Seattle, WA 98125 http://www.toyotalakecity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Lake City meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Lake City include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Lake City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2000 Business started: 02/01/2000 Business started locally: 02/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Maria Smith, President Mr. Chris Pappas, General Manager Mr. Chris Stroud, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Pappas, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Maria Smith, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
All Star Auto Group Inc Scion of Lake City

Additional Locations

  • 13355 Lake City Way NE

    Seattle, WA 98125 (800) 308-7764 (888) 693-1123

  • PO Box 25096

    Seattle, WA 98165 (206) 366-3100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** For two years Lake City Toyota and **** ****** *** have been sending email maintenance notices to my relatives in different states for my Toyota. I have talked with Toyota to no avail and my relatives in other states have unsubscribed to no avail. I don't get the email notices on my car but that's OK because I don't want them. I have never given Lake City Toyota my email address.

Desired Settlement: ******** 1. I WANT THESE NOTICES TO STOP, ALL OF THE EMAIL NOTICES TO ME AND/OR MY RELATIVES. 2. I WANT TO KNOW EXACTLY HOW LAKE CITY TOYOTA AND **** ****** GOT MY RELATIVES' EMAIL ADDRESSES.

Business Response: Caren K**********, Customer Care Manager spoke with customer **** *****.  **** explained that he comes into our dealership for service and after that his relatives in Denver Colo. receive an email from **** ****** and Toyota requesting a survey to be filled out.  I explained to **** we do not have an email for him and read to him the physical address we had which per **** is correct.  I contacted Toyota to have them delete his email per ****** request and assured him **** ****** has not been a vendor of ours since last April.
**** is sending me copies of mailings, emails etc that his relatives have received.  I explained there are many dealerships in different Cities with the name or address with Lake City attached.  I will continue to work with **** to resolve this concern.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:
I look forward to working with Caren K**********at Lake City Toyota in resolving this problem but I want to see something positive rather than empty words. Wednesday I spoke with Ms. K**********at on the telephone.
1. Ms. K**********at said Lake City Toyota does not have my email on file.  Of course not, their sending their emails in MY NAME to my RELATIVES EMAIL ADDRESSES.
2. Ms. K**********at said Lake City Toyota is only one of 10 to 12 Lake City Toyotas across the nation, the emails were probably coming from another Lake City Toyota like the one in Florida.  I could not find any other Lake City Toyotas except the one in Florida and none of my relatives own a Prius!
3. I asked Ms. K**********at  if Lake City Toyota employed someone by the name of **** ******.  Her response was that they did not.
4. On Thursday I sent Ms. K**********at by certified mail copies of the last 3 or 4 emails that "her Lake City Toyota"  sent to a relative.  The emails clearly identify her Lake City Toyota by address and telephone,
5. I also sent Ms. K**********at a public statement by **** ****** that they were in the employ of her Lake City Toyota.
6. Who ever is sending these emails in my name should be able to stop them. I believe the only way my relatives address could be connected to my name is if my email was hacked.   First I want the emails stopped.  Second I want to know how Toyota got my relatives email address.
In my opinion, to accept that  Ms. K**********at can fix this situation based on our conversation Wednesday is premature.
Sincerely,
**** *****

**** *****

Business Response: I have spoken to **** this morning.  I again contacted Toyota to verify his personal email has been deleted, as it has.  I spoke with the Service Manager here at our store and explained the concern.  He was able to go into the Marketing Co. and was able to find his Brother's email addresses.  He deleted them both and we will check back as the information takes app. 8 hrs. to update.
I will inform **** with our findings and will continue to work with him until concern is corrected.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: me and wife went to toyota lake citry way wa on June 30 2015. we bought 2010 VW CC. Sales manager Frank said Lake city toyota wont sell car to custmors if cars didnt inspected and serviced have done. we asked any problem they said no execellent condition. we bought this car and drove up to my house which is Bellingham WA 2hrs ETA. car start shake and vibrated and noise. we felt danger and scare. we take in to Bellingham Local repair shop. found issues. 1.Under engine shield cover missing and bolts. 2.Rear struct suspension oil leaks. 3.left front bumper side light Multfunction.4. batter need to recheck and replace. so we called toyota and they dont say they going to fix it they just want to see my car. they didnt guarentee and also they wont give me a rental car. we own restaurant inbellingham so if we drive down there 2Hrs on highway we dont feel safe and no guarenttee to fix and no rental car. so we cant just close our business and go down there. called service center they said not their problem so talk to salesman and we call salesman they told me to call service. just keep bounce me back. complaint 3days ago still no answer. when we bought car finalncal manger never said thank you or good bye after we sign. even wife asked me did he angerya at us? we went there and havent ea tten anything breakfast, lunch and dinner. and toyota people treat us very foolish. plus i hared financal man told salesman about my car trade in. he said just tell him only 10000.00 just go. push him and low ball at custmor. my car kelly book value was 15000.00. very bad serivce. we felt Suffer humiliation. two other customors also fighting with sales people

Desired Settlement: they told customors they dont sell car if their car didnt inspected and serviced have done. but they sold car to custmors dangerous car and they dont want to fix the problem or repair. they just want to see and no rental car. toyota all employees need to get train well. very rude to custmors. never say good buy or thank you. managers are more rude. they dont want take a responsible. when we drive highway wind hitting under the car so car start shake and vibrate due to no under engine shiled cover and rea suspension noise due to oil leak in there so. We can not drive this car2hrs on highway (what if we have accident due to this car condition?) whos responsibility? we dont feel safe unless they promise to fix this issues and we are affriad what if they dont fix my car and waste my time and no rental car? i want them to make sure they will fix all issues and give us rental car. I want their words fix them and rental car for us. BMW dealer they do rental car but no toyota?

Business Response: ID -********




Dear ***** ********,




Toyota of Lake City sold ******** and ** ** **** a 2010 VW CC on 06/30/2015. Customer noticed a
noise and called Frank, their salesperson. Frank spoke with manager, it was agreed that vehicle be
brought back to our service
dept. for inspection. Customer called three times asking for answers that we were unable to respond
to until vehicle was inspected.
Customer would not commit to setting an appt and finally called Frank back to let him know they had
decided not to come back.
Customer owns a business in Bellingham Wa and did not want to lose a day of business. He was to
have a friend who is a mechanic look at the VW.

8/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2014 BMW X3 from here and the sales people were great, but that's when the positive experience STOPS. The foglight was cracked and there were parts in the trunk missing so as part of the sale I asked if they could take care of those items which Diego and Undui (O***) agreed to. To confirm David B***** (finance manager) also made sure that this was something promised to me before all paperwork was finished. Before I left Diego informed me that BMW would be contacted for the parts and once they came in I would be called in to setup an appointment to have it serviced there and all costs would be taken care of. Three (3) weeks go by and no call so I send 3 emails to David as well as voicemails; nothing. Send more emails to Diego and voicemails (since apparently none of these people answer their phone); nothing. Talk to Undui (O***) personally and he says he'll look into and call me the next day; again nothing. Call back the next day and he tells me he forgot, but promised to call me the next day; to no surprise, nothing. Three (3) days later I call in again @ 10am and speak to the receptionist asking for the General Manager (GM) who apparently was not in so she took a message and said he'll call me when he comes in. 3pm passes by and still no call so I call the dealership again and there's a different receptionist who tells me that same note is sitting in front of her apparently because it never got handed to the manager, but she says that she will take care of it. 5:30pm passed by and still no call so I call the dealership AGAIN. CJ (the new car manager) answers this time first opening up with the line "sorry it's been busy [w/ sales] because it's the end of the month" so basically whatever issue I had it was not nearly as important. I explain to him the situation after many interruptions and he tells me Undui (O***) will call me back; 7pm NO CALL BACK. I call CJ back who sounds surprised that Undui (O***) did not call me back, but said he'll call me back tomorrow by 2:30pm once he gets a chance to speak w/ the Used Car Manager. Tomorrow comes and it's 4pm; surprise surprise....no callback. So I call again and CJ tells me that supposedly they've been working on the issue for the last 2 hrs, but if that were the case then: 1) why no follow-up at the promised time & 2) 4pm minus 2 hrs is 2pm so how were they expecting to call me back at the proper time if they JUST started looking into the issue 30 mins before they were suppose to call me?? 5:15pm I get a call from Undui (O***) saying they ordered the parts finally and that he'll give me a call tomorrow, but I'm not gonna hold my breath after all the other failures. Why is it so unreasonable that a dealership and their people be expected to do what they say???

Desired Settlement: Credit my title/license fees and pay for a car detail.

Business Response:

August 5, 2015

 

Better Business Bureau

PO Box 1000

DuPont,   WA 98327

 

ID – ********

 

Dear ***** ********,

 

Toyota of Lake City agreed to replace the damaged fog lamp and clips for the cargo area on the 2014 BWM that was sold to ***** *******.  The parts were ordered from another Dealership three different times before we received correct parts.  Once we received the parts we installed them and completed all work promised to Mr.  *******.  

 

Toyota of Lake City reimbursed Mr.  ******* for a money transfer and filled his tank full of gas.  Mr.  ******* was satisfied with the out-come.

 

If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact Caren K********** at ***** *** *****

 

Best regards,

 

Caren K**********

Customer care manger

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

9/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sign the form refusing the extra coverage and they still charging for it. don't want the charge for the stickers in the windows.. don't want to pay for the green package total of $2390.00 I sign the forms and they don't want to fixed. saying that I need to talk to the bank. I want the total amount that the ****** price offered me that is IT.

Desired Settlement: need them to get me the right amount fixed.. and need the copies of the paper work ASAP. don't want my credit to be ruined. everything else is good, Happy with the car... thanks WANT TO TOTAL OF THE ****** PRICE AND THAT IS IT !!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/09/09) */ ***************** (Customer Relations Manager) left two phone messages to ******** with no response. ***** later received a call from ******** (****** Representative) who stated that ******** didn't wish to communicate with any employee from our dealership. ******** requested via conversation with Huberto to have ***** scan and email a copy of the request form for cancellation of the service agreement. On August 22, ***** complied with ********'s request emailing the proper documentation for ******** to sign and return so we are able to cancel the service contract. With no response from ********. On August 29 ***** resubmitted the request form for him to sign. As of September 2, ******** has not responded. As far as the Green Car package totaling $2390 that ******** is requesting a refund, we are confused since the Green Car Package sells for $895 and the special ****** price is $595 for the Green Car Package. If you have any other questions please contact ***************** at XXX XXX XXXX.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a RAV4 From lake City Toyota June 2013. A month after, we notice that the air direction flow knob was malfunction. This was the very first time we had to use it. The repair was done with the oil schedule maintenance around Oct 2013. Recently, during the hot around and I went to use it and it is again, malfunction. The dealer instead of taking responsibility of manufacturer defect and repaired unsuceed 1st attempt giving a hard time and push the repair date schedule to 2 weeks later.

Desired Settlement: Would like the dealer to repair and extent this warrantee period. It is now seem like whenever she was to use the knob, it is not function. The car only driven for 4500 miles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ July 30, 2014 Better Business Bureau Case * ********* ****** **** **** ****** (Red Team Service Manager) scheduled an appointment on 7/29/2014 to diagnose Mr. ****'s concern that the HVAC position control switch was stuck on his 2013 Toyota Rav-4. Our technician verified his concern and found the HVAC mode selector switch binding and unable to select different modes. Our technician disassembled the instrument panel to access the HVAC unit and found a foreign object that was trapped between two blend doors preventing the free movement of the doors. The second half of the foreign object was located in the vehicles center console which appears to be part of a GPS/Cell phone holder. Our technician removed the foreign object and was able to free all HVAC mode doors. Mr. ****'s vehicle was reassembled and proper operation was verified at this time. When we explained to Mr. **** the cause of his problem was due to a foreign object that was dropped into the HVAC unit and not the fault of a manufacturer's defect, he would not accept responsibility and stated "where is my name on that part", and therefore you can't prove it was mine. Mr. **** refused to pay for the repair which was approximately $1000.00. Mr. ****'s rebuttal was flawed since the other broken part of the GPS/Cell phone holder was in his center console. As a result of Mr. ****'s refusal to pay for the repair, Toyota of Lake City performed and verified the repair at no charge. If you have any other questions please contact **** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** General Manager - Toyota of Lake City