Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales, parts, and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Titus Will Ford/Toyota/Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Titus Will Ford/Toyota/Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Titus Will Ford/Toyota/Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1938 Business started locally: 01/01/1938
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Graham Tash, President Ms. Jody Fetters, Executive Assistant Mr. Jim Johnson, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jody Fetters, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Graham Tash, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Will Titus Ford Toyota

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Titus Will Ford/Toyota/Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3606 S Sprague Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (800) 637-6876

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When driving last fall, all of the interior accessories would turn off; radio, air, turn indicators, as well as showing "Tire Pressure Monitor Fault" and "Service Advancetrac" messages. Initially, this would only happen intermittently and then for usually less than about 10 minutes. As of the end of November, it was happening more often and for longer periods of time. I took it to the dealer and they kept it for about 2 weeks trying to get the problem to replicate because when they hooked it up to diagnostics, nothing registered as wrong. When it did start back up, according to the service department the codes that the diagnostic computer was showing said it was the APIM. They replaced it to the tune of $961 and the symptoms disappeared. Fast forward to 4 weeks ago (early April), the exact SAME symptoms started happening, intermittently at first, then, nearly non-stop over the last couple of days. I took it back to the dealer, they hooked it up, said that now the diagnostic system is showing codes saying that the body control module is faulty and needs replacement. The estimated cost of the replacement of this computer is approx. $650. When researching the issue as well as contacting independent mechanic the probability that two separate computers were causing the same set of symptoms was very low. Furthermore, the probability of two computers failing within months of each other and also failing within four years of manufacture was very low as well. It was suggested that the most probable cause of the above symptoms is physical wiring. Upon my own inspection of the Smart Junction Box located on the drivers side under the steering column, I noted wires and wiring harnesses unwrapped and wrapped in electrical tape.

Desired Settlement: I would like the problem fixed as it is clearly not. We are still seeing the exact symptoms as before, so the fix that was attempted was not the solution. A complete and through inspection of the wiring, components, as well as the tire pressure monitoring system and its related sensors as well as the Advancetrac System and its related sensors should be done to rule out or rule in those as issues. No relying on just fault codes and a computer to say what is the matter.

Business Response:

 

May 18, 2016

 

Better Business Bureau

RE:  ****** *****, ID# ********

 

We are in receipt of Mr. *****’s concern in regards to his 2012 Ford Flex.

Last fall, we addressed some network communicator errors in the Flex. Our diagnostics showed that an APIM module had an internal fault code and required replacement.  Mr. ***** authorized the replacement and we did the repair.  The service advisor, Eric L****, cautioned Mr. ***** at the time that even though this repair needed to be done, it might not take care of all the issues that he was experiencing with the Flex.

A month later, Mr. ***** was in with an issue on an after-market remote start system.  We found some wiring wrapped in electrical tape from the after-market install, we unwrapped the sensor that was causing the fault and programmed the system for him.  All this was done at no charge to the customer.

Unfortunately, the symptoms that initiated the visit last fall came back into play in March.  We could not duplicate the concern at that time but finally after another visit in May, we got the system to fail while the technician was with the vehicle.  Our technician traced the issue to a BCM (Body Control Module).  The repair was estimated at $650.  Mr. ***** declined the repair.

The replacement of the two modules: APIM and BCM, are both necessary repairs.  As a goodwill gesture, we would like to offer to do another complete inspection of the Flex and if the original diagnosis of the BMC is still warranted, we would like to  offer the BCM repair at a discounted rate of $405 for Mr. *****.

 

Sincerely,

 

Shannon S**                                                                                                                                                        

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We, as customers, are trusting this business with our family's vehicle; a vehicle that takes kids to and from school, to and from practices, and around town. We should be able to trust that there is going to be a high level of due diligence when diagnosing a problem which is safety related. Our family vehicle was left with Titus Will for nearly 2 weeks while they drove it to and from varying locations by different employees to try to recreate the symptoms in Nov/Dec. When the car finally did exhibit the symptoms, all that was done was that it was hooked up to a diagnostic computer to check codes. A computer was replaced, yet no mention of them checking and verifying that there was nothing wrong with the Tire Pressure Monitoring System or the AdvanceTrac system, messages that were being displayed in the vehicle. We fully authorized this with the reasonable understanding that the service provider would be thorough and make sure that what they were stating was wrong was what was actually wrong.

Nearly 3 months later, the vehicle begins to exhibit the EXACT same symptoms as in Nov/Dec. We notified Eric and we were told to bring it in. By the time we arrived, the car was running as normal. Eric said that there was noting that they could or would do until the car is exhibiting symptoms. Now, we are bringing our family's vehicle back in with the EXACT SAME symptoms that were being exhibited in Nov/Dec and Feb/Mar, and Apr/May. Less then 6 months after the 'fix', we are being told that, after hooking it up to a diagnostic computer, a different computer is the problem. It appears that, regardless of anything found during their offer of inspection, that a computer is getting replaced. This all seems too improbable; two different computers dying within months of each other within 4 years of manufacture causing the EXACT SAME SYMPTOMS. I work as a computer technician and know that I cannot solely rely on diagnostic reports, it takes further investigation, especially when I get a call back from a customer with the same issue as before.

Furthermore, the issue with the aftermarket remote starter was something that we took back as we were told that it should work once the computer was replaced. It did not when we got it back. So, we called and were told by Eric that we could bring it back and they would look at it. We did, they looked at it and repaired it. We were told not to worry about any cost.

We want assurance that the issue will be thoroughly investigated, with an exact cause that is provable. We have been dealing with the same issue after we were told that it was fixed.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

RE:  ****** *****,  Complaint #********

 

We are in receipt of Mr. *****’s response to our May 18th reply.   As we stated in our response, we would like the opportunity to re-examine Mr. *****’s Flex to re-verify that the replacement of the body control module will fix the current issues.  We stand by our contention that the APIM that was replaced last fall and the BCM that is currently suggested are both necessary repairs.  Until we can inspect the vehicle again to find another solution, this is the recommendation that stands.  This was not a haphazard diagnosis.  As Mr. ***** stated in his letter, we spent a great deal of time making sure that we could capture the vehicle’s fail so that we could get a proper diagnosis.

No manufacturer or repair facility can guarantee that another concern or similar concern will never happen with the onboard computer systems.  We can only do our very best to ensure that we have diagnosed vehicles with all the means that the manufacturer has provided to us.

We once again extend our offer to do a complimentary re-inspection of Mr. *****’s Flex as a goodwill gesture. We would be happy to provide Mr. ***** with copies of all his repair orders and our diagnosis should he choose to have a different Ford dealer of his choosing access his situation.  All Ford Manufactured parts come with a 2 year unlimited mileage warranty that is good at any Ford or Lincoln repair facility. 

 

Shannon S**    

Service Manager

Titus-Will Ford

2/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Titus-Will Ford has misrepresented and falsely advertised features not present on a model listed for sale on multiple marketing avenues. Titus-Will Ford is demanding an above-market price for a vehicle with the justification that the vehicle in question possesses certain features that are not actually present in the vehicle. For example: multiple advertising channels listing the vehicle suggest features such as leather seats, power seats, and Bose surround sound system that are not on the vehicle. This is an egregious violation of not only false advertising laws, but price gouging as well considering the fact that the vehicle is being marketed and priced as a "premium" model when it is in fact a "base" model.

Desired Settlement: That the business correct or remove the false information provided in both the marketing and pricing of this vehicle in order to align the listing with fair market prices. In addition, the listing price should be updated to reflect an accurate "fair market" price with the removal of the "phantom features".

Business Response:

***Please see attached response***

 

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by ***** ******. Titus-Will has indeed been advertising a 2006
Nissan 350Z. We took this vehicle in on trade sight-unseen from one of our cilistomers. We were told
that it was a "Touring Model"by our customer. We put the vehicle into our computer system as a
Touring Model. A Touring Model implies premium options on the vehicle. A<liding this vehicle to our
I
computer system automatically generates ads with some on-line vendors. (])nee we realized the model
error, we corrected the vehicle model to read "Enthusiast Model" in our syst~m, that would then
change the options listed by the on-line vendors
I have included a copy of our Nissan 350Z that True Car (an on-line vendor) picked up and posted.
Please note at the bottom of the page where they disclaim "Actual vehicle options should be confirmed
with the dealer".
I
We are sorry that Mr. ****** feels that the vehicle was misrepresented. We have corrected the
computer error and apologize for the oversight. It was unintentional. We consider this matter closed.
Wes P******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a finance fee of 6338.93. I was not informed there was a cost to use ford motor company finacing. I was told I got a rebate using it not a charge to use it.

Desired Settlement: They tricked me and was not informed of this charge. I have perfect credit and have never had a charge to get a loan.

Business Response:

RE: **** *******
ID# ********


Mr. ******* purchased a new 2015 Ford F250 from us on 7/18/15. Mr. ******* financed the vehicle
through Ford Motor Credit. As stated on the Ford Motor Credit contract that he signed, the finance
charge for the length of the 60 month contract at 4.99% interest would be $6338.93
If Mr. ******* paid off the vehicle before the end of the 60 month term he would not pay that full
amount, but he would pay a prorated amount at the same 4.99% rate. Checking today with Ford Motor
Credit, Mr. ******* has indeed paid off his loan with that lending institution so he will not be paying Ford
Credit $6338.93
Attached is a copy of the finance agreement that Mr. ******* signed with Ford Motor Credit agreeing to
pay 4.99% interest through the length of his loan. We consider this matter closed.


Wes P******
General Manager
Titus-Will Ford

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  First of all I was not informed of this charge. Second they made me pay this fee up front when I paid for the vehicle at time of purchase. Where is my refund it was not discounted when I paid off the loan.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response:

February 5, 2016

 

 

Attn:  Better Business Bureau

 

Re:  **** *******                                                                                                                                                                       ID# ********

 

We are in receipt of Mr. *******’s latest response.  Mr. ******* did not pay any finance charges at the time of his vehicle purchase.  In fact, Mr. ******* paid nothing out of pocket at the time of purchase.

Mr. *******’s claims have absolutely no basis and we consider this matter closed.   

 

 

 

Wes P******                                                                                                                                                                                General Manager                                                                                                                                                   Titus-Will Ford

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is not true. On the receipt of my purchase form shows the amount of 6338.93 (LINE 8) I was charged this at the time of purchase. I also included this sheet in my original packet to the BBB. I also traded in a truck valued at 20000.00.

Sincerely,

**** *******

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While driving my 2013 Ford Escnape o the freeway, it broke down. I had it towed to Titus Will and they stated the turbo had blown and destroyed the engine. Ford replaced the engine and exhaust system 36 days later. When I went to pick up the vehicle the interior was destroyed and stained. They kept the car for just under a week and fixed a majority (not all) of the issues. They stated they would order the other parts that needed repair. I got my car back on the evening of the 24th. Tonight when I went to dinner my car stopped working. It started up briefly and broke down while driving up a hill. My husband parked it and after dinner we went to drive off and it wouldn't start. We tried to contact the towing company through Ford and didn't hear back for 4-6 hours. We received a parking ticket during that time. There was no one to contact. So after, Ford at Titus Will replaced our entire engine our car broke town not even 2 days after getting it back. They had our 2013 vehicle for over 40 days, destroyed the inside and didn't fix the initial issue.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking all damages paid plus the fee for our parking ticket since we couldn't move the car and the payment for the cost to get me to my mandatory meeting. This long standing issue has caused me to lose money from clients due to getting off early to go to the dealership to deal with the number of issues and rentals I received from Titus Will with expired tabs, broken parts, etc. I am a FT student (Masters), employee and I lose money every time I go to the dealership, taking time off to get issues resolved. I want an apology and my time paid for their negligence. They stated 2 master workers had taken a look at my engine and it broke down less than 2 days later.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ Titus-Will Ford did indeed replace the engine on Mrs. ******'s Escape under her Ford Factory Warranty. During the time we had Mrs. ******'s vehicle in our service department, we absorbed the $1500 cost of a loaner vehicle that we allowed Mrs. ****** to drive. Once the repairs were completed, Mrs. ****** picked up the vehicle and found some marks on the interior of her vehicle . Acknowledging that some of the marks may have been left by our technician, we agreed to fully detail the vehicle, replaced panels and the headliner in question, all at our expense. (The headliner is still on order and has not yet been installed). We received a phone message from Mrs. ****** late on Friday, 9/26/14. She left word that her vehicle was in downtown Tacoma and would not start. Our Service Manager, ******* ***, came into the dealership the next day on his day off and met with Mrs. ******. Titus-Will loaned her a 2014 Explorer to drive while our Service Manager and I drove downtown to retrieve her vehicle. The car started on the first attempt but did falter a bit on the way back to the dealership. We planned to have a technician start work on Monday morning to diagnose the issue but Mrs. ****** notified me that she did not want Titus-Will to work on her vehicle anymore. She wanted Ford Motor Company contacted and wanted to discuss transferring her car to another Ford dealership. Subsequently, after Mrs. ******'s conversation with the Ford Customer Relations Center on Monday afternoon, 9/29/14, she changed her mind and decided that she wanted to continue to work with the Titus-Will Ford Service Department. As of this morning, 9/30/14, we are working on diagnosing the issue with Mrs. ******'s Escape. Our service advisor, **** ***** will stay in contact with her as we go forward on repairing her vehicle. Her new headliner will be installed as promised, free of charge, as soon as it arrives. *********** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We want to close the case so that we may proceed with our lawyers

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we signed off on papers on December 16, 2013, when we returned the leased car. we were promised that copies of the papers would be mailed to us. we have called numerous times and told that the papers would be mailed. to this day, January 10, 2014, they have not been sent.

Desired Settlement: we just want the paperwork we signed, which we should have been provided copies of on December 16, 2013. we should not have to call numerous times to request them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/15) */ We have been in contact with *** *****'s POA and stepdaughter, ***** ******** Copies of the paperwork had been sent to the address in Hawaii that she provided but have not arrived. We are sending them out again today - this time as a ***** shipment so that we can track it. I have been in touch with *** ******* to verify the address. This case should be considered closed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) we received the paperwork via ***** today. thank you very much for your assistance.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Titus Will Ford/Toyota/Scion
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart