BBB Accredited Business since

Speedway Chevrolet

Phone: (877) 717-7333 Fax: (360) 794-5558 View Additional Phone Numbers 16957 W Main St, Monroe, WA 98272 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.speedwaychevrolet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vehicle sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Speedway Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Speedway Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Speedway Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2001 Business started: 02/01/2000 Business started locally: 02/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tod Johnson, Managing Member Mr. Bruce Ching, Internet Sales Manager Mr. Ken Wheadon, Dealer Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tod Johnson, Managing Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Speedway Chevrolet LLC

Additional Locations

  • 16957 W Main St

    Monroe, WA 98272 (360) 794-1155 (877) 717-7333 (888) 477-5882

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 1, 2015, I bought a 2001 Chevrolet S10 LS that was said to be checked for safety and mechanical issues. April 3, I returned the vehicle to the dealer to have the fuel gauge repaired because it was giving false readings. Unwilling to pay for the replacement part, they did not fix the problem. April 26, in the process of taking a left turn a "clunk" noise happened and the steering became stuck in a left turn which left me in oncoming traffic heading toward a telephone pole. I was able to wiggle the steering unstuck, but this safety defect put my life in jeopardy. The same day the engine overheated. Upon realizing this, I turned the heater up full blast and drove to the dealership to return the vehicle for a refund. The sales manager offered me a service loaner which I refused because I do not trust the safety of their vehicles. The sales manager said that they could not help me today and they would call me on Monday. I left the keys and paperwork for the truck with him because I was too angry to deal with the situation any further and the sales manager was being obstinate in his insistence that he could not resolve the issue today because he said the banks were closed and his business office was closed (Sunday). I found this hard to believe since their lobby was full of customers buying vehicles. This truck put my life in jeopardy and was in poor working condition after being told it was in full working order and checked for safety issues. The vehicle is in the dealership's custody with all keys.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of my down payment with cancellation of the loan. I want to return the truck for a full refund.

Business Response:

First, I must apologize for such a long delay for a response.  We take all complaints seriously and do our best to remedy all issues as soon as possible.  I am the person who is solely responsible for receiving and responding to all formal complaints.  As the owner of the company, I believe that it is important that I retain that job function.  In this particular case, we did not receive the initial complaint either by mail or e-mail.  We first learned of the complaint last Thursday when we received a follow up letter from the BBB that was dated May 11th.  I immediately attempted  to contact *******, our BBB resolution consultant, however  I was unable to speak with her until today.  Apparently the log-in process on the BBB website has recently changed and I was unable to log in until just now with ********* help.  

With respect to this particular complaint, although my response to the BBB has been delayed, I believe that we have resolved the issue with the customer.  We did refund the money to the customer upon the return of the vehicle.  According to staff members who were involved, the customer was satisfied with that resolution at the time.  I want to apologize to Ms. ***** that we sold her a vehicle with issues.  We put every vehicle we sell through a rigorous safety inspection to try to prevent these types of things from happening.  Obviously, in this instance, a problem still occurred, and for that we are sorry. 

Sincerely,

*** *******    

8/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted speedway Chevrolet in Monroe Wa, *** ****** around July 1 2014, i was interested in buying a car so *** took my information over the phone and said he would try and get me financing, I informed *** at this time that i was just out of a chapter 7 bankruptcy and want to rebuild my credit and so i did not want him to run my credit with any company's that was listed on my bankruptcy, *** would see them after he viewed my credit report. several days went by and *** informed me that he was unable to get me financed for the car i was looking at but might be able to get a cheaper model and i agreed to that. then within a couple more days credit karma notified me about the inquires 4 at this time and i contacted the dealership and asked to speak with the sales manager ( dont know if it was or not ) he told me that 4 inquiries were normal and 4 would not effect my credit score. several days later i received 8 more inquires against my credit totaling 12 inquires against my credit report and they will be there for 2 years .

Desired Settlement: For speedway Chevrolet to remove the 12 inquires from all 3 credit bureaus or be monetary compensated for the damages they have done to my credit report for the next 2 years

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/01) */ I have looked onto this matter. I apologize for any miscommunication that occurred between Mr. ******** and our salesperson, *** ******* While *** does remember discussing the bankruptcy, he does not recall Mr. ******** asking him to avoid submitting to companies who were involved in the bankruptcy. ***, in fact, states that no such conversation occurred, however *** does want to apologize for the misunderstanding. ***'s recollection also differs in that after Mr. ******** first become upset about ***'s submission to the institutions involved in the bankruptcy, *** discussed with him the fact that the initial vehicle would not work but there may be another vehicle that will work. At that point, Mr. ******** had regained confidence in *** and we acquired the second vehicle. It was not until the day before he was scheduled to pick up the vehicle that Mr. ******** called *** and cancelled the deal due to a family emergency. For this response, let's assume the facts as stated by Mr. ******* to be true: He did authorize us to pull his credit and try to get him financed, with the caveat that we not take his deal to lender involved in his bankruptcy. Even under this scenario is not accurate to conclude that we should take responsibility for all 12 inquiries. Our review of the file shows that only 3 of the 12 lenders that we submitted to were involved in Mr. ********'s bankruptcy. The other nine lenders were not involved in the bankruptcy. So at most, this limits the discussion to whether or not the there was a negative impact to Mr. ********'s credit as a result of those additional 3 inquiries. Given that his limitation was merely to certain financial institutions, and not the number of total inquiries, it is quite possible that we would have shopped his deal to another 3 institutions in lieu of those three that he did not want us to use, and more importantly his authorization would have allowed us to proceed in that manner, as he did not limit the number of inquiries. Given that scenario, the question then is not about the number of inquiries, but whether his credit scores was affected negatively as a result of inquiries sent to those three institutions that were involved in the bankruptcy versus using 3 that were not so involved. I am not aware that submitting to an institution involved in a bankruptcy versus submitting to institutions not involved is a factor which affects credit score. Again we apologize for the miscommunication. *** simply did not recall Mr. ********'s caveat. We do not believe that our mistake should require us to seek remove of all 12 inquiries as Mr. ******** agrees that he gave us permission to seek financing on his behalf and we are not aware that our submission to those 3 institutions had any added negative affect to his credit score. Sincerely, *** ******* Managing Member Speedway Chevrolet, LLC Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There statement is false and i told ********** several times not to attempt credit inquires to company's that were listed on my bankruptcy , as of 8/5/2014 i have received 16 inquire/ rejection letters from creditors and 6 are from company's that were listed in my bankruptcy. they need to have these 6 inquires removed or pay for my attorney fees to repair there damages to my credit bureaus. i have financed several cars over the years and have never had more than 2-4 inquires for each purchase even with a bankruptcy on my record from 2005. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/14) */ Upon further review of the file it appears that I inadvertently missed seeing some of the inquiries in his file. Mr. ******** is correct regarding the numbers, 16 total inquiries, 6 of which overlap with his bankruptcy. That said, we stand behind our analysis and we do not believe that these numbers impact the conclusion that we made using 12 inquiries, 3 of which overlap. Further, Mr. ******** does not dispute that after he brought this to our attention and *** apologized for the misunderstanding, he indicated to *** that he wanted to proceed with the purchase of the second vehicle and it was only after we had acquired that vehicle on his behalf that he cancelled his appointment due to a family emergency. Lastly, Mr. ******** did give us permission to make these inquiries on his behalf and that is evidenced by his statements in the initial claim. Sincerely, *** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Speedway Chevrolet seams to be forgetting that my first dispute to them was over the first 4 inquires at the beginning of all this and that's when they( sales manager )told me 4 inquires would not hurt my credit report and there were no more inquires being done, so then i agreed to look at a cheaper corvette and *** stated to me that they there were buying a corvette and i had first option to buy but if i didn't want it *** had another buyer waiting for this car and in fact they sold it after it arrived.

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 my van's left front hub needed to replaced. I didn't have the money that they quoted the work, I had it done somewhere else. This year I had it's oil changed by Speedway, they said that same hub needed to be replaced again. Did have them replace it but now it doesn't drive as smooth as before the oil change. I feel they kept focusing on the hub while not addressing other issues they mentioned before: i.e. leaking intake gasket,glazed serpentine belt.

Desired Settlement: I don't think the hub needed to be replaced. I didn't really have the money to have it done. I would like my money back. I know the shocks and struts do need to be replaced. Maybe they could replace the struts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/24) */ BBB RE: CASE # XXXXXXXX Customer came in for service and our inspection discovered several items of which the hub bearing was one. The customer came into the shop to see for herself that the bearing was worn. She stated she herself had replaced the bearing twice with an aftermarket bearings before and wasn't sure that she got the bolts tight. That was not the case the bearing itself was bad. She gave us the impression the last one was replaced about a year ago. She stated she was unemployed and could not do all the work but Ok'd the hub bearing. She also took the defective part with her. If the new bearing is bad and making the car "not drive smooth", that part is under warranty and we will be happy to replace it. If it is something else, that would be at the customer's expense. This car has over 100,000 miles on it and is 11 years old, there could be many things that could would make it "not drive smooth". Wheel bearings generally are a more crucial part than shocks, minor leaks or a serpentine belt and that is the reason to focus on a wheel bearing rather than the lesser repairs. If the car does "not drive smooth" it may be because of the shocks and struts or an engine misfire or many other things. We would need to diagnose or at least road test with the customer to see what she is experiencing. At this point Speedway Chevrolet is not inclined to refund for necessary work performed but will offer a 10% discount on shocks and strut work this customer needs on her car. Sincerely, ***** ******* Service Manager Speedway Chevrolet XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Speedway Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)