This business is not BBB accredited.

Seattle Volvo

Phone: (206) 264-4800 View Additional Phone Numbers 1120 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.seattlevolvo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seattle Volvo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Seattle Volvo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1941 Business started locally: 01/01/1941 Business incorporated 12/31/1962 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Macfadden, Manager Mr. Douglas Byers, Vice President Ms. Sue Byers, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Macfadden, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Maintenance

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:30pm
Saturday 9am - 6pm
Alternate Business Names
Bob Byers Seattle Volvo Ravenna Motors Inc Seattle Volvo Downtown
Additional Information

According to information provided by Seattle Volvo, the location at 2700 NE 55th St is closed. Questions or concerns regarding this business may be directed to the main location at (206) 264-4800 or 1120 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1120 Pike St

    Seattle, WA 98101 (206) 264-4800 (206) 264-8160 (800) 869-7019

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a very long story, So i originally brought my volvo in for timing belt replacement. They did the job, with some delay due to them moving buildings which is understandable. So the job was done in a semi reasonable fashion and i had my car back. Since i had some acquaintance with these people the next time i needed something repaired (oil pressure problem) i felt like they might be a reliable resource. After having my car for nearly a month, which i dealt with because i felt they might be taking special care (which i asked for to find the problem and best solution) so they tear apart the bottom end of my engine and do their diagnostic and find its just the oil sump neck. I originally wanted to change the oil pump and any other replaceable parts while the job was being done so as to not have any future problems, volvo assured me that the oil pump was mechanical and that it would need no replacement. Job was finished and i picked up my car, when i picked up my car a few of the gauges in my car were no longer functional and the new battery i had just had installed was dead... When i called volvo back they sent someone out to give me a jump and assured me the gauges were as provided and since i had my car towed in i didnt feel like i had the correct knowledge to make any accusations so i just let it be. Now after less than 1500 miles of driving the vehicle the engine stalled and refused to run properly which all coincided with immediate loss of all oil pressure while on the freeway. I shut down the car within a second of the oil pressure zeroing and pulled over to the side of the road unpowered. I called volvo and informed them of the situation and the failure of the motor resulting from an area they had just been messing with. They seemed like they wanted to help and sounded like they might have been worried it was something they had done. After the car sitting in volvo for an additional 2 weeks which has caused me to stay in Washington longer (I moved away for work and was only supposed to be here for the holidays but am forced to stay longer now to deal with the car) Volvo calls me and says they brought the car in and found out the motor was bad and going to need to be replaced..... they found all of this out just by letting it sit in line for 2 weeks then starting it without taking it apart to even inspect the damage and what might have caused it to even verify if it was a problem caused by them or just mechanical failure. In my experience with a recent repair gone wrong with that few of miles and something to break in the exact same area as what was last repaired either means neglect in repair, lack of proper repair or improper installation.

Desired Settlement: I personally feel that regardless of normal mechanical failure possibilities the chances are too great that the damage was done by other means, and for the company to not even look in to the actual problem to atleast gain plausible deniability only makes me think even more suspicious thoughts. I feel at minimum just for reasonable doubt the car should have been taken back apart and full inspection performed. And now that i think about it i dont know if i would even trust them to do the diagnosis on a vehicle i believe might have been damaged at their shop. If the engine damages is found to be in the area of repair and parts removed and replaced, like i said before i think the chances are too great that the damage was done in their care and i would like my vehicle back in the running driving condition that it arrived in.

Business Response: RE: ******** **** Complaint

January 21st 2014: Mr. **** had his vehicle towed to Ravenna Volvo for oil pressure and oil leak repairs. He also requested a larger turbo be installed along with exhaust manifold and gaskets. After contact from the service writer Mr. **** asked for just the oil leak/pressure repairs. The repair order stated to replace the oil pump seal (front crank seal) the oil pick up tube and pan o-rings. We proceeded with the requested repairs except for the oil pump seal. Mr. **** has wheel locks on his wheels and he never provided a key to remove the wheels. This prevented the technician from replacing the oil pump seal which was leaking a heavy amount of engine oil. Mr. **** was contacted with this information and we waited for several days without contact back from him. Furthermore after the oil pan was removed metal particles and debris was found on the oil pick up tube screen suggesting possible internal damage from the pistons or crank. Mr. **** was contacted with this information as well with no return phone call or e-mail. The technician cleaned the debris from inside the oil pan, pick up tube and screen, oil passages were cleaned inside the engine and the pan was re-installed using a new seal kit. The tech refilled the engine with oil and the vehicle was parked on our lot. No further work was authorized from the customer after initial inspection and repairs. As stated above and on the customer's actual invoice there is oil leaking from the front crank seal, since the wheel could not be removed without damage, this operation was not complete.
Although unfortunate the situation, Mr. **** had ample opportunity to remove his wheel lock, and return for needed repairs. This was not the situation and the vehicle was still driven for 1500 miles with full knowledge of the needed repairs. Mr. **** is also an automotive technician and fully aware of the possible scenarios with regard to loss of oil pressure and oil leaks. Our dealership takes no responsibility for Mr. ****** willing neglect of his vehicle.
After his vehicle was towed back to our dealership, 1 year since the prior invoice and repairs, he still believes we are somehow at fault. We inspected his vehicle at no charge after arriving to our dealership. He never fixed the oil leak from the front crank seal and still had no wheel lock key to remove the wheel to facilitate such repair. At this point the engine has suffered from internal damaged caused by the significant oil leak at the crank and low oil pressure. He was informed of this information and as stated above we cannot be held liable for his neglect. Mr. **** had the vehicle towed away at his request, and we've not heard from him until now.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Never was informed of any other problems. Car was driven for 1500 miles still under warranty and no service recourse was offered. Horrible business practices.

Business Response: Mr. **** has failed to address the issue at hand. He WAS informed of the needs for his vehicle and never took the proper steps to address them. The invoice he was provided had a clear statement that the wheel could never be removed and the oil pump seal he requested to be replaced could not be replaced due to this fact. We offered to remove it for him at his own risk of damage to his property. He declined such repair and continued driving the vehicle. Our dealership will take no responsibility for his actions.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sad business has to lie to save themselves. Can't lie to a certified mechanic about the car he built, sorry, doesn't work. Would have been easier to just do the right job.

Warning to future clients: go to the volvo repair shop that's up in lake city. They care about their business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Seattle Volvo
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)