BBB Accredited Business since

Scarff Ford Auburn

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 833-1500 Fax: (253) 929-3076 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 Auburn Way N, Auburn, WA 98002 http://www.scarfffordauburn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and parts and service


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scarff Ford Auburn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scarff Ford Auburn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scarff Ford Auburn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1922 Business started locally: 01/01/1922
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayland Scarff, President Mr. Gordy Nishimoto, Service Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayland Scarff, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Scarff Motors Inc

Additional Locations

  • 501 Auburn Way N

    Auburn, WA 98002 (800) 289-5394

  • PO Box 1106

    Auburn, WA 98071 (253) 833-1500 (253) 929-3003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scarff Ford listed the price of a vehicle on ****.com as $34,999 with 17,633 miles on the vehicle. We thought that seemed like a good price for the mileage/age and went to take a look. When we arrived at the lot the sticker on the vehicle had the same mileage at 17,63 with a price tag of $39,999. The Carfax report also listed the last sale mileage at 17,633. When we test drove the car, it actually had over 21,000 miles on it. When we asked for an explanation, the salesperson said it had been lent out to a ** coach, who had driven it (4k miles since March, apparently!?). They wouldn't budge on the price, even though the advertised miles they listed was false. It was a real bait and switch. ************************************************************

Desired Settlement: Modification/discontinuance of an advertised claim – the advertising was false and misleading.

Business Response:  ******* *********** was here yesterday. When we bought the Explorer it did in fact have 17,633 miles on it. We are part of a Coach's car program at the * ** *. It is true that a Coach drove the vehicle for about 4000 miles.and we mistakenly didn't adjust the mileage on our website. We changed it last night to reflect the proper mileage. Our mistake. The customer wanted a dramatic discount in addition to our sale price of $34,960. The customer didn't want to buy it at our sale price and we chose not to sell it $4000 less than our sale price. There was no meeting of the minds, there was no sale. The fact that we honestly overlooked restating the mileage and told the customer of the situation, I don't believe, obligates us to sell it for whatever the customer states they'll pay. We are sorry there was no meeting of the minds and no sale. We work hard to honestly earn peoples business every day and I apologize we couldn't earn ********* business.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the business's claims about our interaction are absolutely perplexing, and more importantly because the business did not correct the issue.

I did not name any price for the car, and certainly did not demand a price cut of $4k. The advertised car was $34,960 with 17,633 miles; the car actually had over 21k miles on it. I asked what price adjustment could be made based on the fact that car had 4k miles more than advertised. When no price adjustment was made, I left frustrated that I was lied to. I generally have congenial, pleasant negotiations, and am happy to say I'm driving a new car I purchased on Saturday after very a positive interaction a different dealership.This is not an issue of failure of a "meeting of the minds" rather it is an issue of fraudulent advertising.  I've never before complained to the BBB, and I made this complaint to the BBB so others would not be lied to as well.  I made this complaint so Scarff would correct their advertising and exercise greater care in their future messaging to customers.

The requested resolution was for Scarff to correct their advertised product so other people are not baited into the lot with a car that's listed with much lower mileage than actual. Attached you'll find a screenshot from the Scarff website from today,9/21/15,  that shows they're still advertising the car at 17k miles for $34,960. I'm confident the car still has over 21k miles on it. There lays the crux of the problem, and the reason I'm rejecting the business response. The advertising is fraudulent and corrections have not been made.

Sincerely,

******* ***********

1/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2013 Ford Focus that I purchased in November started having transmission issues. This is a known problem to Ford with this model of Focus. The transmission is slipping, failing to move smoothly out of 1st gear, gears are grinding, car will not reverse upward nose down on hills. In drive, if you take your foot off of the gas, car shakes and jerks forward like a manual transmission when you do not engage the clutch properly. I have had four friends test drive this car prior to bringing this to Ford's attention to see if they noticed the issue which they confirmed. Ford confirmed this is a known issue and there are "tolerable limits of slippage with the transmission". My rental car is a Ford Fiesta with double the mileage of my car and a smaller engine and drives very smooth and has no transmission issue. Ford Service is stating they are not experiencing an issue with my car. It drives like a very old tired car and I have only had it a few months and have only made one payment on it.

Desired Settlement: I would like my transmission repaired/replaced so that it will drive like a car with only 25K miles on it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/22) */ The customer's car, a 2012 Ford Focus was brought in to ****** Ford on 1/7/2015, RO#XXXXX with XXXXX miles on it. Several concerns with the transmission and power and noises. Our customer ******* has been working with our Service Advisor ******* ******** about the concerns, we had driven the Focus about 100 miles and could not duplicate any of the customers concerns. Then on 1/15/2015 we were able to duplicate and record on the Ford IDS diagnosic computer some faults and slippage that were above Ford Specification and we got the approval to replace the parts kit to repair . The parts are on order from Ford and usually it take 2 to 3 weeks to get the parts from Ford. Currently customer ******* has her car back and we will call her when the parts arrive to us. We will provide a loaner for ******* to drive at that time. The repairs are covered by Ford warranty, no charge for *******. Yes this is a known problem on some of the Focus and Fiesta, Ford has technical bulletins and guidelines for us to follow to repair the ones with the issues and conerns. This following description is from Ford about this advanced automatic transmission technology: The transmission in this Focus is a PowerShift 6-speed Transmission. The PowerShift is really like having two 3 speed manual transmissions put together, with the dual clutch and shifting components controlled electronically. At times the PowerShift tranmission will drive , sound, and feel like a manual transmission but without the driver's interaction with the clutch pedal. Again the PowerShift is advanced automatic transmission technology. With the new parts from Ford and following Ford's repair guidelines we will have *******'s Focus repaired. Thank you Way ****** Ford, ***** *********, ******* ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, thank you for affording me the opportunity to express my concerns in regards to the first of 3 complaints I have against Way Scarff Ford in Auburn. My wife and I purchased my dream car a 2014 GT500 Shelby Cobra Mustang our 5th Brand New Ford vehicle since 2005 on 23 March 14 from Way Scarff Ford in Auburn. This decision has proven to be the worst decision we have ever made. Over the last 8 months the service department, the sales department, and the owner of the dealership *** ****** himself has disrespected us, and lied to us on numerous occasions. We were told on more than 1 occasion that my service to my country (20 years in the Army and 2 deployments in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom) meant absolutely nothing to them and had nothing to do with the multiple warranty and customer service issues I experienced. *** ****** himself told me to my face that my service to my country meant nothing to him and had nothing to do with any of my complaints. I told him the only reason I purchased this car from his dealership was because I was told that he took care of veterans. Well that turned out to be a lie, he obviously cares nothing at all for any of the sacrifices that our men and woman in uniform make everyday. After 78 days of my supposedly brand new car being at the dealership for multiple Warranty and Service issues I requested a good faith payment be made by the dealership or by **** on my behalf. That request was denied twice by both the dealership and ******************. **** ******* from Ford Customer Service actually had the gull to tell me that they didn't even have to provide me a rental car while my car was in service let alone a payment on the car. I couldn't believe that someone from **** ***** ******* would say something like that to me after spending almost two hundred thousand dollars with Ford over the past 9 years. Still to this day neither the dealership nor **** ***** ******* has ever offered me so much as an apology, money off, a replacement, an extended warranty, or a buy back/trade-in for any of our troubles. **** and *** ******'s customer service to me and my wife as well as to our veterans is absolutely horrible. We went from being a life long Ford supporter to being a Ford hater in less than 6 months because of these issues. They have proven to us that we should never have supported such an irresponsible company and will never again recommend to anyone to buy a Ford vehicle especially from Way Scarff Ford in Auburn. ***** &****** ***********

Desired Settlement: My wife and I have expressed our displeasure on multiple occasions and have requested either a buy-back, a replacement, or a trade-out of the vehicle at the full purchase price of the vehicle $62,000. That is the very least we will accept on this bad deal because they purchased a lemon from Ford and then turned around and sold it to us falsely claiming that it was brand new.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/04) */ Case # XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern, Attached are copies of emails and texts that have been sent lately. I would appreciate you reading them so you have a better idea of the situation. Last week **** ***** ******** because of their dealings with *****, decided not to buyback his vehicle on a "goodwill basis". ***** eventually needs to file for lemon Law with the State Attorney General's office. We went so far as to make three copies of the needed paperwork to file. One for him with highlights, one copy for Ford, and one copy for the Attorney General. ***** confirmed with our service manager, ***** *********, that he received the package. He needs to file for Lemon Law. We have sought help and advice from our insurance company as to our liabilities. (Federated Insurance) We have tried to be as professional as possible. The water leak, valve lifters and rocker arms were legitimate warranty concerns and had been fixed. The dent that we put in his left rear fender was our fault and was repaired at our expense at the body shop his insurance company recommended. We were instructed by him not to let his car sit outside overnight so we put it in and out each day. We had a Ford engineer observe the work we did on his engine. All of his contacts here have apologized many times for the problems he's had with his vehicle. He has abused us all with his foul language and threats. There are too many untruths in his complaint to go through but personally I know I did not tell him that his service to this country meant nothing to me. Just not true. Again, he needs to simply pursue the lemon law. It's a consumer law that we think will serve him well. In the meantime it's best he on his car are not at our dealership.. Sincerely, *** ****** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No I do not accept *** ******'s reply.The reason why I filed this complaint which is the first of 3 is because of a serious lack of Customer Service from *** and his employees. You should never disrespect your customers and call them liars first of all. I have not lied about anything in my claim and never will. I received the 3 sets of paperwork from ***** the service manager AFTER I asked him for them so I could file the lemon law case with the State. By law the dealership should automatically give the consumer ALL of the maintenance paperwork automatically and without question. I still to this day know that I do not have a complete record of everything that was done on my car. I only received what they wanted me to receive which does not show the full extent of multiple damages caused by the dealership on MULTIPLE DIFFERENT occasions. To make matters even worse, my wife and I still have not been provided any insurance information or claim # from *** ****** showing that he has requested anything on our behalf in regards to a DIMINISHED VALUE claim. So I requested through **** that they try and contact ** ******'s Insurance Company on my behalf. You know what *** ****** provided them - nothing at all but a bunch of lies claiming that he has his insurance company looking into it. Like I stated in my initial complaint, this is by far the worst customer service my wife and I had ever received from any Dealership ever. I personally believe that *** ****** Ford claims to care about his customers but in reality all he cares about is himself and his pocket book. He has told us to our faces that now that we signed the contract it is our problem and he has no liability at all and we have to eat everything including the loss of value that HE and HIS EMPLOYEES caused. No Sir, it's not going to happen, not on my watch. And yes I have gone in there very upset with *** ****** and several other employees of his for lying straight to our faces and for threatening to make us pay $50 a day for storage fees to store the vehicle. I have that email if you would like to see the proof. I went in there and looked at the vehicle after *** ****** threatened us lying to us telling us that the car was ready when it WAS NOT. I showed *** ****** and took pictures of the vehicle showing proof that the car never was ready for pickup. He still insisted that Ford was going to buy the car back and that I should take it off of his lot so they wouldn't damage it any further. I explained to him that I didn't agree and that I would be turning the car back into **** and going through my Insurance Company to get it properly taken care of which is exactly what I did. The car had been at the Body Shop for more repairs since Tuesday the 4th of November. *** ****** claims that he never disrespected me and my service to this Country, but I don't know any Soldier, Sailor, Marine, or Airman that would lie about something like that. That's his word against mine though because I didn't record it, next time I will. The point is his customer service skills are horrible and it shows in his reply when he says that even though he got $62,000 from my wife and I he doesn't want us or our car at his dealership. THAT IS THE REASON FOR THIS COMPLAINT. ONCE AGAIN, WE WILL NOT BE SATISFIED PAYING FULL RETAIL PRICE FOR A MANUFACTURER AND DEALERSHIP DAMAGED CAR AND REQUEST A FULL BUY BACK OF THE VEHICLE SO WE CAN MOVE ON TO A MUCH BETTER MANUFACTURER AND DEALERSHIP. Ford legal is looking at the situation right now and has all the proof they need to make a proper decision. If they don't make the proper decision than we will be forced to go through the Lemon Law process and or the Better Business Bureau for a Full Buy Back of the vehicle. Replacement isn't even an option at this point because we will never drive a Ford Vehicle ever again. We have all the legal documents and proof that shows that everything in this complaint is 100% valid. There is absolutley no way that *** ****** or Ford can call us liars on this, it's just plain and simply not going to happen. Please let us know how we can go about submitting the second complaint regarding Way Scarff Fords service department. It's absolutely attroscious and it's false advertising when Way Scarff claims that it's an award winning Service Department on his emails and commercials because I can tell you first hand that there is nothing further from the truth. Thank You, ***** & ***** *********** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/24) */ To Whom it may concern: We were told by **** last week that they are buying *****'s car back. We hope that this will satisfy him. We are very sorry for all of his problems as mentioned before. I'm not going to go through his whole letter and respond because with the buy back the matter should be over. It is a coicindence that our Federated Insurance underwriter just contacted me regarding ***** this morning. I told her of Ford's decision. Never heard back from BBB after first response. Any advice? *** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello, **** has made the correct decision to buy back the Mustang and yes my wife and I are extremely happy with that. The vehicle itself should be at the dealership by now from the body shop ******* I requested that they give the vehicle back to the dealership after they were finished with it. **** just contacted me earlier today to finalize the #'s for the buy back. There was a discrepancy so they are fixing that right now. Once that is finished than I will go to the dealership one last time to sign the documents and pick up the check. Hopefully that will happen within the next week or so. In regards to the poor customer service, the disrespect, and the fact that the service department put my wife and I through the ringer the last 9 months that this has been taking place. Those complaints are valid, the documentation proves it and it should be an official complaint that goes on this dealerships record for other consumers to see from this point forward. Once that happens then yes I will be satisfied that the matter has been taken care of and this case can be closed. Thank you very much for your assistance with this. ***** & ***** ***********

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB Complaint Scarff Ford Auburn Scarf Ford Isuzu dealership in Auburn ordered the wrong brake part for my. 2000 Honda passport. I gave the parts specialist my vehicle identification number and vehicle description information. They looked up the part using the vin number of my vehicle and said they could get it and would order it for me. They wrote down the part number for me and said they would call me when it came in. I waited several weeks and never heard from anyone. Finally, I called the dealership and I was told yes, the part was there and I could pick it up. A few days later I went down to pick up the part. When I got there, no one could find it or confirm it was there. I was told I would have to wait 4 more days until ******* the on-line parts guy" was back from vacation. Four days later I received a call that the part was available for me to pick up. A few days later, I went down to the dealership and picked up the part. This took about 6 weeks. By the time I got the part, I was unable to coordinate an appointment time with the mechanic due to schedule conflicts. I parked the vehicle for the winter. Come spring of this year, I scheduled an with my mechanic to have the part installed. The shop took my truck apart, and then called to advise me that the dealer had ordered the wrong part and it didn't fit my vehicle. They also called Scarf Ford in my behalf, attempting to get the correct part. Scarf wouldn't help them. I had to pay the shop $250 for labor, to disassemble and reassemble my truck with no repair being done because the part Scarf Ford Auburn ordered and sold to me was the wrong part. On June 9, 2014, I went to the dealerships' parts department and spoke to the parts manager, *** ******** I brought in the mis-ordered part, in the original box and all of the paperwork. I explained to him what happened, and that the part they ordered for my vehicle was incorrect. I showed him the paperwork, vin number, receipt and part numbers I was given by their parts department at the time of the order. *** looked up the part for my vehicle and said it had been discontinued a long time ago. He admittedly confirmed, yes, they ordered the wrong part, but they did it, hoping it would work. This was not told to me at the time of the order. I wasn't given a choice to risk ordering the wrong part. I would never have agreed to this! I knew it was a difficult part to find. I had tried to find one before turning to the dealer for help to order it. *** Redmond said that if I had notified them it was the wrong part sooner, they could have done something about it. What exactly could be done if the right part no longer exists? They should never have ordered the wrong part. *** also said, they really have a 90 day parts return policy not 15 days like the invoice says, and I should have brought it back then. The part sat for many days at the dealership without anyone notifying me it was there. I am not a parts expert. There is no way I would of known by looking at a part in a box that it was the right part or wrong part. They had the vin# of the vehicle. They told me they found the part and could get it for me. They chose to order this expensive brake part knowing vehicle, hoping it would work. The part is useless to me and I have been charged $231.22 for a part that they admittedly knew was not made for my vehicle and chose to order it anyway. They have the ability to resell this part but won't let me return it and reimburse me because *** said he doesn't want to lose money on the part. I have lost $531.22 because of their mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would like my visa to be credited for the amount they charged me for the part. I trusted they were ordering the correct part. Knowing full well their own return policy, they chose to order a part that wasn't made for my vehicle. That's not right!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ Because Isuzu built the Honda Passport for Honda we hoped the brake part would be interchangeable with the Isuzu Rodeeo. The Honda part was not still available. Most parts of the two vehicles are the same. We tried to help the customer. About a year later we found that our attempt to help had failed. We're sorry for everyone's wasted time and money. We will send a check to **** ******** at the address listed above for the $231.22 she paid for the part. The part has no value to us. Again, we're sorry. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received reimbursement from the dealer as indicated in the complaint response. It's unfortunate my attempts to solving the problem with the dealer prior to contacting BBB was not successful. Thank you BBB for your assistance in mediation of this problem.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car from them, paid their asking price. After signing all the papers, then coming back with a check to pick up the car the sales person let me know there was only one key for the car (a $250 item to get another). Because it was a volvo and they are Ford dealership, he indicated they couldn't get a key. He said he'd check with previous owner about a second key, did not call after one week. I called him back about this. He called a short time later indicated he checked, they didn't have another key, he check an see if he could get a discount somewhere and would call the next day. Has never called back.

Desired Settlement: They should provide a second key. This information should have been provided before they had me sign papers and I would have either paid less than their asking price or some other alternative. It is a reasonable expectation a car will have more than one key, if they know it doesn't, they should make that clear ahead of purchase. I doubt a reasonable person will ask ahead of time "does this car have 2 keys?" given all the other things to consider in buying a used car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/04) */ We apologize to *** *******. This situation shouldn't of had to go this far. The key was sent to *** ******* via mail yesterday 10/3. We had a training issue regarding solving a customer request that will be covered at tomorrow's sales meeting. Again we apologize for not quickly handling the situation. Sincerely, *** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/10/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They responded quickly and located a 2nd key for me. I have received it in the mail and verified that it is a working key. I appreciate their swift action and their response. They resolved this faster and easier than I was expecting.