BBB Accredited Business since

Pignataro Volkswagen

Phone: (425) 348-3141 Fax: (425) 347-0879 10633 Evergreen Way, Everett, WA 98204 http://www.pignataro.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pignataro Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pignataro Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pignataro Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 04/30/1985 in WA Business started locally: 04/30/1985 Business incorporated 11/16/1984 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Pennington, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Doug Lumsden, General Manager Ms. Shannon Mark, Office Manager Mr. Anthony J Pignataro, Vice President Mr. Joseph Pignataro, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Doug Lumsden, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Jack Pennington, Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Pignataro Volkswagen Inc

Additional Locations

  • 10633 Evergreen Way

    Everett, WA 98204 (425) 348-3141

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my car in for an oil change and while it was there they had recommended air filters and that they had done a service update on the computer. Prior to this the car ran and drove with no issues, when we picked the car up the same day it was driving differently (like surging and making loud clunk noises). So we took it back they said they would check it out so we left it with them for a few days. They called us back and said the transmission was failing and nothing they did caused the transmission to fail. So we picked the car up to take it to have it looked at somewhere else and the car stopped driving and we had to have the car towed home then back to the dealer and we only live 1 mile away. They checked it again and it's been there ever since. We talked with the service manager, general manager, and tried to talk with the owner and he disregarded our phone call and had the general manager call us. The general manager told us to call ** ** *******, gave us the number and they basically told us they could not help us and that the dealership was declining any help. We feel that they are trying to cover their mistake and that the service update they did on the computer affected the transmission and caused it to fail if not they broke it on a test drive as it was running and driving perfect no issues the day we took it to them and the transmission failed while it was in there possession and we feel they need to fix it. We are upset about the situation and are going to do everything we can to get it resolved and fixed. They put my family in danger by letting that car leave knowing it was damaged.

Desired Settlement: We would like our car to run and drive again as it did when it was dropped off with no transmission issues.

Business Response:

 

 

July 7, 2015

Better Business Bureau

PO Box 1000

DuPont, WA 98327

 

In response to the BBB inquiry ******** in relation to ***** ** *******.

 

The customer brought the vehicle to Pignataro Volkswagen on May 29, 2015 for service, The vehicle odometer reading was 86,262. The following work was performed:

 

1.      Oil change service and multi point inspection.

2.      Engine air filter replaced.

3.      Cabin pollen filter replaced.

 

The vehicle had two Service-Actions outstanding on the vehicle. These updates were performed as well.

 

1.      Install a mis-fueling guard in the neck of the fuel tank to prevent gasoline from being added to the diesel fuel engine.

2.       Perform a software update for the engine control module.

             The stated purpose of the software update for the engine control module is:

 

 “The vehicle’s engine management software has been improved to assure the vehicle’s tailpipe emissions are optimized and operating efficiently. Under certain operating conditions, the earlier strategy may have increased the chance of the vehicle’s MIL light illuminating. If the MIL illuminates for any reason, the vehicle will not pass an IM emissions inspection in some regions.”

 

During the multi-point vehicle inspection the technician performed on the vehicle as part of the service process, the following items were noted:

 

1.      The check engine light and other warning icons are illuminated on the instrument panel.

2.      The engine cover is missing.

3.      The transmission shift boot is damaged.

4.       The under engine shield is missing.

5.      Engine oil leaks noted plus some general maintenance items.

 

The customer declined to have a  technician perform any diagnosis or repairs to these items with the exception of the replacement of the engine and cabin air filters as noted in paragraph one. The customer was also informed during the write up process that a transmission service was due which they also declined to have completed.

The customer brought the vehicle back to Pignataro Volkswagen on June 02, 2015 with 444 additional miles on the odometer (86,706). They stated a concern with the transmission shifting abnormally, feeling like it is not engaging into gear. Also noted a clunk at 40 MPH or less. The technician checked the vehicle on-board diagnostic system and found fault code for transmission malfunction. The technician performed the standard diagnostic procedure including contacting Volkswagen Technical Assistance. The diagnosis was an internal malfunction in the transmission either with the mechatronics / valve body unit or the internal damage is extensive enough to warrant the complete transmission to be replaced.  The customer declined to have any repairs performed and took possession of their vehicle.

Later that week, the General Manager was contacted by Mr. *******e who stated the car would not move and that he had checked for fault codes and had erased them. We agreed to have the vehicle towed back in and to recheck the transmission operation. When the tow truck picked up the vehicle the transmission seemed to be working properly. When we check the fault codes none had returned however after a road test by the service manager of approximately forty minutes the transmission concerns reoccurred. Further diagnosis confirmed the original finding that there was an internal failure with the transmission.

 

The General Manager and Service Manager reviewed these findings with Mr. ******* on the phone. In reviewing the situation it was also noted that there were no records available, either from previous owners or through CARFAX that the transmission had been serviced at 40,000 or 80,000 miles as recommended by the manufacturer. The customer also acknowledged that he had researched the transmission issue independently and found that the information we provided him was consistent with his findings and that the transmission services are very important with this particular powertrain.

 

Mr. and Mrs. ******* have had phone conversations with both the Service Manager and the General Manager of Pignataro Volkswagen. The Service Manager has contacted ********** ** ******* on the customer’s behalf requesting goodwill assistance with the cost of the repair. ********** ** ******* confirmed the engine control module software update does not affect the transmission. ********** ** ******* also declined any goodwill assistance.

 

While it is unfortunate that the customer has experienced the failure of a major component, we feel it is clear that Pignataro Volkswagen has done nothing with the customer’s vehicle that would cause a transmission malfunction. Pignataro Volkswagen has also performed due diligence in determining the software update did not have any effect on the transmission. We have offered the customer a twenty percent discount on parts and labor should they choose to have repairs performed and have offered to have towed to another local dealer if they are more comfortable with that. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

Anthony P********

12/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB, My name is **** ******. I am a disabled veteran who served a combat tour in Iraq on active duty Army from 2003-2004. I moved to the Puget Sound area in October 2012 to begin work at ***** **** ***** ******* for the ********** of the ***** I am new to the area, as my wife and I moved here after spending two years in Haiti serving at the embassy in Port-au-Prince. I bought a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado truck from Pignataro Volkswagen on or about September 28, 2012 for $11,087.50. I remember because I had to register the truck on base on October 1st. I paid cash for the vehicle, which the salesman assured me at length was in good condition, free of defaults and wholly reliable. In fact, the salesman gave me a detailed history of the previous owner, how it was a woman who had taken good care of the truck and wanted something more family friendly. He explained over and over how Pignataro had a sterling reputation and was a highly reputable dealership. As part of the purchase agreement, the dealership paid for a new windshield. I recently learned that the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado, VIN # ***********XXXXXX, had been in a multiple collision automobile accident, a few short weeks prior to my purchase. That means the truck was newly repaired at the time of sale. It also means the truck is worth virtually nothing, since it has not an accident record, but a major accident record. At no time during my interaction with Pignataro did they ever indicate the vehicle had suffered major damage. I distinctly remember requesting a CarFax for the vehicle and finding no indication of a major collision. Another dealer in the area, ******** ********** uses AutoCheck, which returned the accident finding. I feel shocked, betrayed and frankly taken advantage of. I am new to the area and thought I was offering honest money for an honest vehicle. That is most certainly not the case. Again, being new to the area, I am unfamiliar with Washington State law and do not know what recourse, if any, to which I may appeal. I look forward to your response in the very near future. On a personal note, I have used and trusted the BBB ever since my father told me about what you do 20 years ago. You provide an invaluable service to American citizens. Sincerely, **** ** ******

Desired Settlement: Full refund of purchase amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/28) */ Please note, the customer has also filed a complaint with the Attornay Generals office. We respnded to them with the following information: "On behalf of Pignataro Volkswagen, I am responding to the complaint filed by *** **** ******** ****** regarding the purchase of the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado VIN# ***********XXXXXX. On the date of 09/28/2012 per consumer's request, our dealership did provide a copy of the CarFax Report for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado VIN# ***********XXXXXX. The CarFax Report did not show any accidents on the report. After receiving the complaint from the Attorney General's Office on 10/23/2013 regarding this matter, our dealership ran the CarFax Report for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado VIN# ***********XXXXXX, our finding was that the CarFax on the date of 03/27/2013 reported the vehicle was involved in a car accident on 07/03/2012. Our dealership did not have any knowledge of the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado being involved in a car accident on 09/28/2012 when *** **** ******** ****** purchased the vehicle, due to the fact that CarFax did not report the accident until several months later 03/27/2013. We did enclose a copy of the current CarFax for the file. We believe our dealership acted in good faith freely providing all of the information requested and fulfilled all the of the terms of the sale agreement. However, we wish to keep all of our consumers satisfied with their purchases here at Pignataro Volkswagen. If *** **** ******** ****** wishes to trade in the 2001 Chevy Silverado for a different vehicle at our dealership, our dealership is prepared to offer *** **** ******** ****** a trade in value on his 2001 Chevrolet Silverado VIN# ***********XXXXXX **** ***** Sales Manager Pignataro VW T. ************ F. ************** We have not recieved a response from the A.G. at this point. Sincerely, **** ******* ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have obtained additional documentation pertinent to my complaint, a copy of which Pignataro VW received on 13 November via ****** If I do not hear back from Pignataro directly on or before 20 November, I will post an additional substantive response. Sincerely, **** ** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/27) */ An agreement was reached with *** ****** and Pignataro Volkswagen purchased the vehicle from him on 11-22-2013. The customer was satisfied with the resolution and we appreciate his willingness to work with us to find a solution. Sincerely, **** ******* General Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pignataro Volkswagen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)