Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peninsula Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Peninsula Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 11/29/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Taylor, General Sales Manager Mr. John Dionas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Taylor, General Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Peninsula Subaru Inc Powers Enterprises Inc Shoreline Subaru

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Peninsula Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3888 State Highway 16 W

    Bremerton, WA 98312 (360) 479-4320 (888) 903-7784

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***I am very disappointed and angered by the information I received 1/29/15 via ****, dated 1/23/2015, associated with my used vehicle loan. I was assured at Peninsula Subaru by both the sales person and finance manager I would be afforded the lowest interest rate available. I stated that my membership in ****** ****** ***** (***) is my preferred lender and I have had membership there for 25+ yrs. Not only did Peninsula Subaru not used my requested CU, the interest rate is 1% higher by the credit union they used. *** 2.99% on the very day application for purchase was made vs. 3.99%. Peninsula Credit Union, PO Box *** ** ******** **** Shelton, WA 98584.. *************

Desired Settlement: I am writing for a request the dealership, Peninsula Subaru, to make good and the guarantee of the lowest interest rate and the use of my CU of choice - ****** ****** ***** (****

Business Response: I think I have already responded to this complaint, but in case you don't have it.  This customer was brought in right after she signed and re-signed at the lower rate 2.99 and was happy after that.  If you have anymore questions on this case please contact me direct.  ************ thanks

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently visited Peninsula Subaru to downgrade my vehicle due to taking a temporary pay reduction. The only thing i asked from them was a safe reliable vehicle and was told only 1 vehicle on their lot would work with payments that i needed. i was assured that they perform safety checks on all their vehicles and i will have nothing to worry about. I was sold a 2009 Volvo S60. Before the purchase was made i was told their system was down and they were unable to get me a Carfax on the vehicle but they would get it to me as soon as possible. It took 2 months of me asking to get a Carfax. The day we picked up the vehicle, me and my family stopped to get gas and the vehicle would not start for 10 minutes. I eventually got it started and drove directly to the dealer, arrived just before closing and informed the sales associate of the issue. I declined the loaner vehicle and told him i would return the next day. They decided the battery was dead and replaced it. shortly after leaving the dealer a dash light came on "Park Assist service Required". after asking about the light i was told it would go away, it likely came on due to having the battery disconnected. That same light still comes on at random times. a few weeks later we found that the passenger tire rubs on the wheel well causing excessive wear on the tire. About 2 weeks later we were driving up a hill and a very high pitched scream came from engine compartment to the point where my kids in the back seat plugged their ears and asked what that was. After experiencing all these issues shortly after purchasing the vehicle, i setup an appointment to have a interior/exterior package that was part of the sale completed on the vehicle as well as a full inspection on the vehicle. Once my wife arrived for the appointment she was told that the appointment was never setup and our vehicle is not on their system. After several trips to the dealership asking to speak to the manager we have been ignored and still yet to speak to the manager to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: I want the vehicle traded out for a vehicle that i feel safe driving, without fear of getting stranded. And i would like to speak to the manager or owner and ask him if he is aware of the type of service people are receiving. I have purchased my last four vehicles from Peninsula Subaru and i feel like i have been taken advantage of.

Business Response:

We have tried to help this customer.  Everything we tried to do was not good enough for them, offered to fix anything that was wrong with the car, offered to trade them out of the car.  Plus they have now since traded the car to another dealer and came in and canceled the warranty on the Volvo.  If you have any more questions please give me a call or email. 

Thanks Steve.

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I made an appointment with Amir D*****i to look over the vehicle and ensure the vehicle was safe to drive. When my wife showed up to the appointment that was supposedly setup with Amir D*****i over the phone, she was told no appointment was made and our vehicle didnt even show up on their system.  We have had nothing but issues with the vehicle since day 1 of picking the vehicle up and getting stranded at a gas station because the vehicle wouldn't start. It took me 2 months of asking for a vehicle history report. Finally it took my family and myself going down to the dealership and yelling at the used car manager (Amir D*****i) to get me the vehicle history report or i would seek legal advice on the situation. After receiving the vehicle history report (the day after yelling in the office) i received the history report to find out that the car had been in an accident and had structural damage and yet i was sold the vehicle anyway. I would not have bought that vehicle knowing there was damage to the Volvo. And there only option to trading me out of the vehicle was to sell me a brand new 2015 Mitsubishi Lancer, which brought my payments back up around $400 a month. The whole reason i went back to Peninsula Subaru was to lower our payments. I asked to speak with the Manager of Peninsula Subaru on SEVERAL occasions and was either told to leave my info and he would get back to me, or he was busy and come back later. This whole situation has caused my family SEVERE stress and a Huge Financial hit due to the fact that i had to try and trade a vehicle that had been in a accident and had structural damage. I went to Peninsula Subaru with around $4000 back equity and now i have close to $8000 back equity since trading in the Volvo and purchasing another used vehicle. This overall experience has been HORRIFIC, and to this day i haven't spoken to the manager of Peninsula Subaru.

Sincerely,

***** **********


4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/25/2014, my 2004 Subaru Forester overheated. I got the car towed to Peninsula Subaru, where it has been regularly serviced and maintained. When I talked to the service department, I was informed that the engine would have to be taken apart to ascertain the problem, at a cost of more than $1,000. I okayed this because I had recently spent a considerable sum on scheduled service and repairs. (My scheduled maintenance service on 11-21-2013, at 173, 645 miles, cost $2, 559, which included a radiator flush.) A few days later, the service department said that a head gasket was blown, and now repairs would include 2 head gaskets, a new radiator and a new water pump. I okayed the repair because of my choice to fix the car rather than throw it away, and because of money already invested in it. Afterwards I talked to someone more knowledgeable about cars than me, and we reviewed the service records on this car. We found that the head gaskets had already been replaced, at 110,000 miles (70,000 miles ago), and at a cost of $1,878. This was done because of an exterior oil leak. The car also overheated on 12-3-2013, at 173,961 miles, requiring towing. Peninsula Subaru found that there was a burst radiator hose. They replaced both hoses. When questioned about the radiator, Peninsula Subaru said that it was fine. Throughout my ownership of this car, I have had it maintained meticulously, to Peninsula Subaru's advice and Subaru's standards. This included radiator flushing every 30,000 miles, to keep the radiator clean and working properly. I believe that this last head gasket replacement was premature because of unsatisfactory radiator service. I agree that I should pay for a new radiator and water pump. I don't believe that I should pay for the head gaskets' replacement due to Peninsula Subaru's unsatisfactory radiator service. Product_Or_Service: Repair Service for 2004 Subaru Forester Order_Number: Repair Invoice #SUCS

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like Peninsula Subaru to refund the portion of my service bill that is for the head gaskets' replacement. The head gaskets failure is tied to the improperly serviced radiator from 12-3-2013. As stated above, I already replaced one set of head gaskets for this car. I do not think that I should have to pay for the replacement of a second set of head gaskets since their failure is a result of improper radiator service by Peninsula Subaru.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ In regards to consumer complaint by ********* ****. The vehicle was here on 07/24/12 and the vehicle had 110,411 miles on it. We replaced the head gaskets as they were leaking oil. Vehicle came in 11/19/13 and we performed 180,000 mile service. The vehicle mileage was 173,645. During the service we performed a cooling system flush. During the service we check the radiator hoses, but we do not remove or loosen them in any way. Vehicle left here on 11/21/13. Vehicle was brought back in on 12/02/13 with 173,961 miles on it with an overheat concern. We traced to the lower radiator hose leaking. We replaced both radiator hoses and rechecked for any other leaks. Vehicle returned back on 02/26/14 with 179,585 miles on it. Came in with an overheat concern. We found no leaks, but found combustion gases in the cooling system. This is consistent with blown head gaskets. Internal combustion leak. Customer authorized tear down of engine where we found both head gaskets were blown internally. Contacted customer and she approved repairs. We also found cold spots in radiator. We recommended new radiator and water pump while work being performed as a preventative measure. Customer agreed to repairs. It is our experience that head gaskets could go bad within 70,000 miles of replacement. Also possible that first overheat concern could have weakened head gasket also. Due to Mrs. **** being a good customer we would be willing to offer an in store credit of $873.86, which is half of the cost of the head gasket repair. She could use this towards parts and service at our dealership. We excluded radiator, and water pump related parts and labor from offer as they were preventative repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Subaru
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart