Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Honda

Phone: (360) 676-2277 Fax: (360) 676-4720 View Additional Phone Numbers 2010 Iowa St, Bellingham, WA 98229

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new and used vehicle sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Northwest Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1997 Business started locally: 10/01/1997 Business incorporated 10/21/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tony Carter, General Manager Mr. Dan Sims, Vice President Mr. Paul Sims, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Carter, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
N W H Inc N W Honda

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northwest Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2010 Iowa St

    Bellingham, WA 98229 (360) 676-2277 (888) 462-8870


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am afraid to drive my 2006 Civic Honda Hybrid Navigator since I took it in for an oil change. The service department has test-driven my car more than 400 miles in 2 days and still has not corrected the problem. I took my Honda Civic Hybrid Navigator into Northwest Honda of Bellingham, Washington because a "wrench" lit up on the dash. My car is always garaged, well maintained and in good physical condition and I have never had a problem with Honda Northwest before. Now, they have basically deprived me of my car, whereas, it not only has front end damage, it has acceleration problems and is dangerous to drive. Please help me get my car fixed. I need it but I'm afraid to drive it. The front wheels do not turn when I try to drive up steep hills. The service department at Northwest kept my car for 2 days putting more than 400 miles on it while they were trying to "duplicate" the acceleration problem. When I picked the car up, it had been involved in an accident which I believe happened while it was being test driven. Of course, it could have been struck while parked in their lot. I don't know but I do know that it wasn't damaged when I left it with them. Below is chronological accounting of this event: 1. August 12, 2014, a "wrench" light appeared on the dashboard and I made an appointment to bring it in on August 14, 2014. 2. On Friday, August 14, 2014, my grandson delivered the car to Northwest that morning and was given a ride home. 3. Later on the same day, I received a call from the service department saying I should get a 60,000 mile major service done on this vehicle. I was surprised at this recommendation in that the actual odometer miles on this vehicle were 54,584 but I figured they knew best. 4. At approximately 3pm, that same day, I received a call from ***** ******, a service advisor who told me my car had a "hiccup". She said the front brakes needed replacement along with machine rotors. She also told me that she found several "weird codes" on my car and they would remove them. She said it would be dangerous to drive my car without having the brakes done. 5. I picked up my car that same evening after 5pm because the technician had been out test-driving it. The test driver had driven my car approximately 5 miles. There was no exterior damage on my car when I picked it up. 6. On Saturday, August 15, 2014, starting at 7:30am I drove my car for about 8 hours stopping at garage sales, estates sales, etc. in my quest for plants and decor for my daughters new salon. I was in and out of the car all day as I made purchases and delivered them to her salon in Sudden Valley. At approximately 3pm I was going up a one-way street on a steep hill toward the stop sign in Sudden Valley when my front wheels wouldn't move and the car would not accelerate. After several attempts, I backed down the one-way, turned around and managed to return to the main road. In a panic, I called Northwest Honda and was told to bring it in. When I arrived, I was told that the service bay was closed and my car would not be serviced until Monday. I was given a loaner car. AT THAT TIME, THERE WAS CLEARLY NO DAMAGE TO MY CAR! I was in and out of the car all day long. 7. Northwest Honda kept my car for 2 days, putting more than 400 miles on it test-driving it and said they could not duplicate the wheel problem. When I went in to pick it up, I was shocked to find the left passenger side fender was damaged. I refused to accept the car and was given a loaner to drive home. 8. The following morning, Wednesday, August 20, 2014, I received a call from ***** ****** Service Manager. He said ***** ****** told him that the car was damaged when it was brought in. She alleges that she mentioned the damage to my grandson. When I told *** ***** that wasn't true, he said his technicians always tell him when they damage cars. I personally went down to Northwest Honda and confronted ***** ***** and ***** ******. ***** still insisted that the car was damaged when it came in. I am equally so or more so adamant that I drove that car all day Saturday and there was definitely no visible damage on it and I certainly did not have an accident. ***** also told me that they could not find a problem with the car's acceleration problem. 9. That same day, my daughter (********* *******) and her friend (**** ******) picked up the car and the two of them drove to Sudden Valley to test the car They didn't even make it to the steep hill where I had my problem when the car again froze up and refused to accelerate. **** ****** took videos of the instrument panel and the outside of the car while they were experiencing this problem. It is a huge concern that Northwest service technicians can drive more than 400 miles and still be unable or incapable of duplicating this problem. 10. I am also very concerned about the "Codes" that ***** ****** removed and wonder if that could be part of the problem. I am concerned that the odometer on my car now reads 54,997 when the only driving I have done is the Sudden Valley incursion my daughter and her friend took in order to attempt duplicate the acceleration wheel problem. That is 408 miles on a car that I am afraid to drive and has been parked in my garage since I brought it home from Northwest Honda. 11. I sent an email to Honda Manager **** ******, describing in detail what was going on, requesting a call back or at least look into this problem. To date, I have heard NOTHING from Mr. ******. 12. My car is undriveable due to the acceleration problem and ugly due to the front end damage. Honda Northwest should be held accountable for my damaged and undriveable car. If they are unable to ascertain a problem, I don't know what purpose it would serve to take it back to the same mechanics but they owe me the duty of putting me back into the position I was in when I left my car with them. Just a minor oil change, that was all. I would appreciate your assistance in this matter. What they did is not right.

Desired Settlement: Fix my car both mechanically and the damaged front bumper.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 13, 2014/10/20) */ October 1, 2014 RE: ******** ******* FILE: XXXXXX Dear ***** ********* In regards to the vehicle in question, it is activley being worked on in the shop since September 15th. We have been in contact with the customer's friend, whom has become our contact person for **** *******, and ******** ***** to try and accomplish a resolution. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. ***** ****** Service Advisor Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Northwest Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart