BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lakewood Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lakewood Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Lakewood Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1962 Business started: 01/01/1916 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1916 Business incorporated 07/18/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Graham Tash Jr., President Mr. Jim Garner, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Henry Krebs, VP/GM Ms. Suzette Smith, Compt
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Henry Krebs, VP/GM
Principal: Mr. Graham Tash Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Titus-Will Investments LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lakewood Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11111 Pacific Ave S

    Tacoma, WA 98444

  • 11503 Pacific Hwy SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 474-0511 (800) 782-4760

  • 6202 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We brought our 2004 Ford truck to Lakewood ford for issues with the batteries/alternator, and basic oil/coolant changes and hubs checked/replaced. This dealership had this vehicle for 15 days. There was a lack of customer service and communication throughout the 15 days. I called every few days for updates but got the run around every time. I finally called on day 14 and reached the mechanic that was working on the truck. He told me that the hubs and coolant change had still not been done, and the truck was running so rough that he did not take it for a test drive. **( YET it had 2 miles put on it while there) I kept calling to reach the service manager Jim G******, when I reached him, he said he would get the hubs changed, the coolant flushed that day. When I asked about the truck running rough, he said he would look into it. He called at 6 PM to say it was done and ready to be picked up and was now running good! Not running rough at all. I paid the invoice on 1/30, and drove to pick it up, on 1/31. We immediately saw oil leaking from the drain plug, and when I started the truck we were shocked at how badly it was running, very rough and did not want to stay running. We left it at the dealership. I made an appointment with the owner Henry K**** for 2/1, but he never showed up. Service manager Jim G****** and service advisor Mickie B. met us to check out the truck, even after hearing it run, he tried to convince me to drive it home. After arguing with him, he agreed there were problems and offered to refund my payment,at that point I got the original shop notes from him and would not give them back. Mickie and the mechanic that worked on my truck came up and told us it would damage the engine to drive it. The dealership offered to fix the injectors but when I called on 2/2, I was told they would not do any repairs. On the shop notes were thousands of dollars worth of parts and labor they claimed it needed. It was towed 2/3, and repaired by a reputable dealership.

Desired Settlement: I have contacted the owner Henry K**** to resolve this matter, he has not contacted me back . The dealership it was towed to ran all new diagnostic tests to show that it did not need the thousands of dollars in parts/labor. They diagnosed and repaired the damaged fuel injectors. I am asking that Lakewood ford pay for the towing bill $165.22 and the repair bills for the damaged fuel injectors. $1751.07 for a total of $ 1916.29.

Business Response:
On the 16th of January 2016, Saturday, Ms. ******** had her 2004 Ford F250 Crew Cab 4 wheel drive 6.0L Diesel engine truck towed into Lakewood Ford.  AT 2:15PM, She presented us a hand written list of 4 concerns she wanted addressed.   Those concerns listed: #1-When key is in start possition, it will not turn over, dash light flash.  #2- Check hub locks- one very tight, one comes off.  #3- Also need to get my CD's out of stereo- do not on radio unless it is just something easy- radio works, CD player just stopped and won't eject!  #4 May change out all fluids...?  Her name, address and phone number is on this same list.  A repair/work order, #379932 was opened with these 4 concerns listed on it, the vin number and miles at 102,091 recorded on the work order. Due to other vehicles and the work load in the shop, diagnosis of the concerns on Ms ********* vehicle was not worked on until the following Monday, 18 January. The truck was pushed into the shop, the first concern on her list,  the "No Turn Over" condition was addressed first.  Inspecting and testing for the No Turn Over condition we found the vehicle had what appeared a newer none Ford Alternator on it,  and 2 none Ford batteries would not take a recharge and they also didn't appear to be that old. Testing the Alternator charging rate showed output low, it was defective. The left side  battery cable also tested  bad showing very high resistance at cable  terminal ends.   Most likely the bad batteries and cable caused high demands on the alternator causing voltage spikes that damaged the alternator and possibly other electronic components on the truck..   The estimate for repair was $1085.79, declined by Ms. ******** for this #1 concern,  She disputed the finding of the test and the estimated cost to repair, insisted on buying her own parts else where.   She requested that we removed both batteries and the Alternator, came in and picked them up and took them some place and exchanged them for repacements.   She supplied us with the replacement Alternator, Batteries and approved the other battery cable be a Ford OE cost  $110.99. plus the labor charges of $485.00 for a total of $595.99 plus sales taxes.  The replacement parts were all reinstalled and the engine "turn over" or cranking concern was resolved.  The engine did crank and start up, but ran poorly until it warmed up.  Service records on this truck indicate it has been driven only 5429 miles in the last 2 years 8 1/2 months.  The engine appeared to have not been running for some time prior to being towed in, we thought it may have old fuel causing the rough idle when the engine was still cool as it seamed to improve alot as the engine warmed up.  Diesel fuel tends to collect water when it sits in a vehicle over a long period of time. 
  The #2 concern about the front locking 4 wheel drive hubs was addressed next. Both the front Hubs where removed to inspect the condition and found one beyond repair and the          other in poor condition.  Recommend that both the Auto Locking Hubs be replaced as a pair, estimated replacement cost with Ford OE parts and labor totals $865.00 plus sale tax.
 Ms. ******** disputed the price of the OE parts, declined this repair and requested we find after market none Ford OE parts to replace the Hubs with.  Our parts dept. did find a set of less expensive Hubs from an On-line source that brought the cost to replace them down to $595.00 plus sale tax. It took a few days for these Hubs to come in and they were inspected and checked to see that they in fact would fit the axles, they did.  And on 29 January   Ms. ******** approved this repair by phone call. This repair was completed the same
day.  During this same phone conversation with Ms ********, she stated to Jim G*****  "this truck has always run like a bull, it runs perfect and always has" she went on to question our repairs and make accusations that we at Lakewood Ford had caused the engine's problems, that it better be perfect when she comes to get it.   Jim G***** tried to let her know the engine ran better as it warms up and that driving it with fresh diesel fuel may clear up in a few days, but it need to be driven.   Lakewood Ford did do a courtesy Diesel Engine Performance diagnosis, at no charge to the customer, based only on speculation and engine symptoms of possible causes with out any real teardown.    

 The #3 concern about the removal of CD's form the stereo.  This was accomplished the same day after the Engine was started and the Alternator/Charging system was tested.   The stereo was removed form the dash and partially disassembled to manually eject the CD's.  The cost was only $35.00 and Ms. ******** complained of the cost.

  The #4 concern about "may change out all fluids", The Engine oil and filter change was added to repair/work order by Ms. ********, during a phone conversation about the hub locks.

 Repairs had been completed and the repair/work order billed up at 6:29PM on Friday night 29 January 2016.  Ms. ******** was notified and she called in with her credit card the next day Saturday 30 January and paid $1488.86 including dales taxes.  Ms. ******** said she planned to come down and pick the truck up we are closed on Sunday.
 
On Monday Ms ******** and a Male companion came in to meet with Jim G*****.   The meeting started in the service managers office and was one of accusations followed by more demands from Ms. ********.  Ms. ******** said they had came down Sunday and picked the truck up and brought it back because it ran so bad.  That Lakewood Ford was responsible for the engine problems and demanded we fix it.   Jim G***** asked both, inviting the couple to go out with them to see and start the truck. They indicated the truck was parked out front of the cashier area.  As they walked out to the truck Jim let them know that the Charging system and batteries replacement would not cause the engine concerns they now have.  And reminded them, that the truck was towed in and we had never had any knowledge of the engine performance condition before this repair.   Jim was carrying the work order with all the shop working papers, and reviewing the dates of calls and repair notes about Ms. ********'s truck. Ms ******** asked to see the documents, Jim was showing the repair notes to her when she jerked the papers for Jim and refused to return them.   At this time, Jim  could tell he could not salvage the situation and did not want to get involved in a 6.0L Diesel engine repair under the same conditions that Ms ******** had required just repairing the trucks starting and charging system.  Jim asked Ms ******** and her companion to come into the service cashiers area and asked her to  give the documents to the cashier for a full refund of the $1488.86.   Ms. ******** at first refused to surrender the documents, but relented  when the cashier told her she had to have them for the refund on her credit card.  Ms. ******** turned to Jim and told him "YOU CAN LEAVE NOW".  Jim said thank you, you can take the money and the truck someplace you trust.
 
Prior to the repairs, Ms. ******** has now made to the Engine in her truck,  Lakewood Ford was not notified of any responsibility or seen any proof of responsibility.
Lakewood Ford adamantly denies responsibility and for this request of reimbursement.



3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: FORD I am (Retired Master Sergeant) Mr. **** *. ******. Upon retiring from active duty, I purchased a Ford Extended Service Plan through (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC. (August 29, 2013) I am requesting if you would be as kind as to please provide me some clear reasoning and understanding to the situation listed below in my Complaint Letter as I am requesting a “Good Will Repair” from (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES,LLC. My 2011 Ford F-150 truck is currently in service with my local Ford Dealer Service Shop because of a bad MAF Sensor failure. (Mass Airflow Sensor) The Ford Service Advisor and myself are going over my Contract/Extended Service Plan that I purchase from you and we are trying to understand how and why the Contract/Extended Service Plan was issued, offered, and sold in that particular manner. We are somewhat confused about the Purchase Warranty (5 year or 36,000 miles) because it seems as if something was left out or incorrectly offered on this particular Plan. The problem that the local Ford Service Advisor and I are trying to figuring out and understand, after the fact of course, is the mathematic and business mindset that was put forth in this particular FORD Extended Service Plan. On August 29, 2013, I purchased the FORD Extended Service Plan from (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC. During that time, my 2011, Ford F-150, had 12,000 miles on the odometer. During that time the vehicle was currently still under the factory warranty for 3 years or 36,000 miles. I was offered and I did purchase the Ford Extended Service Plan (which was an oversight and mistake on my part) from (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC in the amount of $854.25 for 5 years (going out to 2018) or 36,000 miles, which included 15 installments payments, which totaled out to $1010.00. The local Ford Service Advisor and I are trying to figure out why would (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC offer and sell any customer a low mileage Warranty Plan, such as the one they sold me, while their vehicle were still currently under factory warranty for 3 years or 36,000 miles and with only 12,000 miles currently on that vehicle without adding additional miles onto the 36,000 to make the plan a more feasible and justifiable coverage plan knowing full well that the customer’s vehicle is already covered up to 36,000 miles from the initial warranty when purchase from the dealership in 2011? Needless to say, this can easily be construed or come off as “Deceptive Practices Methods” on the part of Ford. However, I am only hoping this was an oversight and mistaken error on Ford’s part as well as an oversight on my part for not noticing this error and addressing this error at the time I purchased the FORD Extended Service Plan from (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC. In addition, adding additional mileage onto the 36,000 miles, during the time of purchase only seems sensible and would have served the plan better for the customer long term, and displaying great customer service on the behalf of (FORD) BUDCO FIANACIAL SERVICES, LLC. Surly and obviously, and with a foregone conclusion, which should have been taken into consideration during the time of sell, that I would reach 36,000 before 2018, especially with 12,000 miles already being on the vehicle during the time I purchased the (FORD) Extended Services Plan. Dear Sir or Ma’am, here is the confusing situation I currently find myself in. As stated earlier, my Ford F-150 is currently in service and being repaired because of a bad MAF Sensor failure (Mass Airflow). It would not start, so I had to have it towed into the nearest Ford/Services Dealer thinking that I would be covered by my Extended Service Plan that I purchased through (FORD) BUDCO FANANCIAL SERVICES, LLC, only to find out that I am 539 miles over my FORD Extended Services Plan. At the current moment, my vehicle is sitting at the local Ford Service Shop awaiting your respond to this Letter of Complaint. Lastly I would like to bring to your attention that I purchased this vehicle brand new on July 11, 2011 (4 Years and 7 Month ago). The vehicle at this moment currently reads 36,539 miles on the odometer. If you do the math, that comes up to just over 7,307 miles per year of driving. As you can clearly see, I drove this vehicle very sparingly and I must say that I took special care and kept up with the regular scheduled oil changes as well. This is why I am trying to get you to understand and see why I am a little confused and frustrated in my understanding of why I was not offered a better plan that would have covered the mileage that match the 5 years ratio (2018) being that I was already at 12,000 miles when I purchased this Plan. Again, this was a terrible and mistaken oversight on my part. With that being said, I am politely and kindly asking if (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC if they would please considered granting me a “Good Will Repair”, which would cover the cost of the out of warranties repairs and also consider adjusting or correcting my (FORD) Extended Service Plan to fit in line with the mileage to the years ratio. The total bill for this service comes out to be as follows: Parts came out to $158.78, with labor and diagnostic, $220, including taxes. I would like to end my complaint letter by thanking Ford for their time as you consider my request for a “Good Will Repair”. I am only asking that Ford please consider the fact that I went to great length in taking care of my vehicle even after purchasing a (FORD) Extended Service Plan and completing all of the 15 installment payment only to have the vehicle break down in 4 years and 7 months and with only 36,539 currently on the vehicle. Thank you again. Best Regards

Desired Settlement: I am politely and kindly asking if (FORD) BUDCO FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC if they would please considered granting me a “Good Will Repair”, which would cover the cost of the out of warranties repairs and also consider adjusting or correcting my (FORD) Extended Service Plan to fit in line with the mileage to the years ratio. The total bill for this service comes out to be as follows: Parts came out to $158.78, with labor and diagnostic, $220, including taxes. I would like to end my complaint letter by thanking Ford for their time as you consider my request for a “Good Will Repair”. I am only asking that Ford please consider the fact that I went to great length in taking care of my vehicle even after purchasing a (FORD) Extended Service Plan and completing all of the 15 installment payment only to have the vehicle break down in 4 years and 7 months and with only 36,539 currently on the vehicle. Thank you again. Best Regards Master Sergeant (Retired) Mr. **** *. ****** United States Army Cell: ************ Email: *******************

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

Thank you for taking the time to bring us feedback regarding our customer service. Frequently, when extended service agreements are purchased it is rarely with just 1 option of time or miles. Many options are available and discussed at the time of purchase and ultimately a decision is made. This purchase seems to have been made with the intention of driving a limited number of miles over the time of the agreement. Unfortunately, you exceeded the miles prior to the duration. That being said, as a Good Faith gesture, we would like to have a copy of the invoice and agree to pay 1/2 of the invoice. Please mail the invoice to the following address:

Lakewood Ford

***** ******* *** **

Lakewood, WA. 98499

Attn: Henry K****

Regards,

Henry K****

General Manager

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally worked with puyallup ford. Because I work in Lakewood I brought my car to Lakewood ford after my check engine light came on again. The first time I came in, I explained what was done at puyallup. The guy said he could not look at the code that day and to make an appointment. I did for the following day. When I came in no one ever spoke to me. After staring at a lady long enough, she spoke and had me sign a form. She asked if they would have my car all day and I explained I was not sure of what would be done. She said ok and that she would have Gary my service person call me. An hour went by and he called and said that I needed to replace a valve management part. He stated the charge came to about 450 dollars. He asked if I wanted the work done and I replied no. He stated that I could come pick up the car and never mentioned that I would have a charge when I came to pick up the car. Upon speaking to the cashier I found that I was being charged for a diagnostic. I stated that I wasn't aware of this charge, nor that this had been done. She requested Gary to come back in and he said that it had to be done and that he actually gave me a discount. I said that I never requested this service. He didn't say anything else at that point. Because I was on my lunch and had to go back to work, I paid so that I could get my car. This was on the 29th. The next day I called and asked to speak to the manager. He was not available but they said they would have him give me a call. I've called back several times and still have not spoken to anyone. I also left a voice mail and have not heard anything back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund because I never requested this service to be done and feel I was taken advantage of.

Business Response: Lakewood Ford has investigated the complaint made by  Ms. *********.  She did bring her 2014 Ford Explorer showing 38,340 miles into the Service Department Wednesday, 30 December 2015 at 11:00 AM.  She stated the concern with the "Check Engine Light" was on.  A repair order was opened and Ms. ********* was advised that a preliminary estimate diagnostic charge for this would be $110.00.  This is documented on the work order #******, she approved the order with her signature.  Lakewood Ford provided Ms. *********  a ride to her destination in our Shuttle Van.   The vehicle and work order was dispatched to one of our Ford Motor Senior Master technician's, Rick H******* for the diagnosis to determine the cause of the malfunction and illumination of the "Check Engine" light.    Failure code P0456 was stored in the EEC system, this failure code required further electronic pin point testing that was performed.  The test confirmed a failure related to the Emissions Vapor Management Valve and the EZ fuel fill valve.   Both failed parts where checked for any warranty coverage and no coverage was found under the basic warranty coverage and none was found under Ms. *********'s extended Ford Motor CPO Power Train Care warranty policy.    The EZ fuel fill valve could be cleaned to correct it's malfunction, but the cost to replace the inoperative Vapor Management Valve would be an additional  $324.86 for parts and labors added to the $110.00 preliminary estimate.   As stated in the complaint, Ms. ********* declined to have the repairs completed.   Continued operation of this vehicle with the un repaired condition can cause other failures or damages to this vehicle Lakewood Ford will not accept responsibility for.    Now she wants the cost of the services provided refunded.   Ms. ********* can stop by Lakewood Ford's Parts and Service Cashier with the same credit card she paid the $118.81 including the sales tax, and we will credit a refund and back out the sale for the invoice.       

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I will not accept the fact that I spoke to someone about the check engine light when I dropped my car off on 12/30/15. The lady that called me to her desk asked what I was there for and I explained that my light was on and said what Puyallup Ford had done. She said I was put with Gary as my service advisor. She told me to sign a form and not once told me what it was. I figured it was stating that I was okay with leaving my car at the dealership. Once again, I was never informed that a diagnostic would be done and what the charge would be. The person that responded to this claim stated that I was aware of this and that my mileage at drop off was 38 thousand something. When in fact, the form that I have says the mileage was 54947. Also, I have a voicemail from Jim the Service Manager himself, stating that he agrees that I was not made aware of this charge before it was done.

 

I will be in today to collect the refund owed to me. But, wanted to have in writing on here that the charge was not made clear to me when I dropped off my car, nor was it told to me when someone called to tell me what needed to be done on my car. The only charges told to me at that time were the charges of what it cost to replace parts etc. When I declined those services, the person on the phone did not say that I would then just be charged for a diagnostic. Only when I went to pick up my car is when I was made aware that I was being charged for something.

Sincerely,

MRS. ******* *********

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The mechanic at Lakewood Ford broke the tab when changing the fuel filter cap. The LOW FUEL PRESSURE warning light came on during that repair and should have been a clue that there was a problem. Instead, they switched the warning light off and gave the truck back to us with a cracked cap. The Service Manger gave us the thumbs up, meaning everything was OK. It would appear that the mechanic at Lakewood Ford also broke the stop tab on the fuel pump. If that had been broken beforehand, there would have been warning lights on the dashboard as well as reduced performance by the truck. There was none of that. We took the truck to ******** **** for repair. ******** *****, SM at ********, called the Lakewood Ford SM. The Service Manager at Lakewood Ford tried to lie to the Service Manager at ******** about the repair by claiming they had replaced the fuel filter cap when they had not. Henry K*****, General Manager, should have taken the time to speak with me. He summarily dismissed our concerns by ignoring our request to talk. Jim G*****, Service Manager, made light of the issue and treated both Ms. ***** and me though they did not know what they were talking about. In summary, our truck was fine when we brought it into Lakewood Ford for routine maintenance and was not fine when we got it back. Critical pieces of engine components were broken due to accident or negligence of the mechanic. The staff at Lakewood Ford tried to lie about what happened and refused to take responsibility for fixing the problem. We incurred an expense of $574.72 to repair the damage Lakewood did to the truck. It is only fair that Lakewood reimburse us for this unwarranted expense. Lakewood Ford, Titus Will Ford (owner of Lakewood), and Ford HQ were all notified of the incident.

Desired Settlement: To be given my $574.72 back that I had to spend to repair Lakewood Ford's mistake.

Business Response:

    On September 10, 2015, Mr. ****** brought his 2012 F250 6.7L diesel truck into Lakewood Ford Service. At 9:29 am
a service order was written  #******, for his request that we install the customer supplied diesel fuel filter). Mr. ****** supplied an aftermarket diesel fuel filter kit in a box. His 6.7L diesel engine has two fuel filters. One is mounted on top of the engine at the front left center under the hood. He had already installed that filter. He gave us
the opened box with the remaining filter for the under cab (diesel fuel conditioner module) “DFCM”. This module contains the primary fuel filter and
fuel pump as one assembly.

    The service order was given to a Ford Motor Company Certified Technician that has been replacing this model year fuel filters for years. On this vehicle as he removed the DFCM housing (filter bowl) he notified the service advisor “Gary” that the fuel filter housing (cap) was cracked and showed it to him. Mr. ****** was advised of the existing condition of this “fuel filter cap,” Mr. ****** acknowledged he knew the housing/cap was cracked. We advised him our part’s department was temporarily out of stock on this part. Mr. ****** advised Gary to reinstall the same filter cap. The request services were completed and the discrepancies related to the fuel filter system were documented on the work order.  Mr. ****** left with the vehicle and returned a short time later with the low fuel pressure light illuminated and an intermittent buzzing noise coming from under the hood that would go away. Due to shop load, the low fuel pressure concern would have to be addressed at a later time with our diesel engine techs, was advised we could not look at this concern until the following day. Mr. ****** advised us that they were traveling and heading south. Gary than googled a couple of Ford Dealers on the way south in case they needed one and provided that information to Mr. ******. The ******’s left at 11:36AM. Lakewood Ford had just used the only remaining new fuel filter cap we had in stock on a vehicle earlier the same morning.  

    The Ford Motor Company “ owners guide” that comes with this vehicle has specific instructions, warnings and images regarding the maintenance of this diesel fuel conditioner module (DFCM) and the low fuel pressure warning on pages 38-43, a copy is attached with this letter.   Removing this “fuel filter cap” is not going
to cause this damage to the “tabs”.  This damage is caused by improper reinstalling the “cap” and turning/rotating it past the mechanical stop “tabs” on the fuel pump housing.  The vehicle came into Lakewood Ford service with this damaged “fuel filter cap” on it. It appears, sometime in the history of 64,929 miles on this vehicle,
someone that is not familiar with service procedures of the DFCM and filter replacements has broken this filter housing and tabs on both the cap and pump.    The low fuel pressure warning light was a concern that would require further diagnostic procedures that would take time we did not have available until the following day. The fuel filters had already been replaced as is suggested in the owners guide for this concern.   

     On September 11th at 11:45am I received a phone call from Mrs. ******. She told me about the road trip towing the 5th wheel trailer going south on I-5 and the loss of
power. They had pulled into “******** ****” in Olympia. The service people there were telling her the no power concern was because we at Lakewood Ford had broken the filter cap. I reminded Mrs.  ****** about the condition of the fuel filter cap when we had removed it the day before.   Mr ****** had been advised during their visit here the day before. The crack was old in appearance and I questioned her about the last time the filter had been changed before they had it done here at Lakewood Ford . She
responded telling me about the trip through Montana on their way to Alaska. The filter had been changed in Great Falls Montana, at ***** **** on 6/09/15 at 56208 miles.  I let her know that we have seen many of these caps with broken tabs. Some customers elect to have them replaced with a new one. Some customer’s say it’s been like that for over a year and elect not to buy a new one, cost $29.45. I let her know we were sorry to hear they were having troubles and that we didn’t mean for that to happen to them, but Lakewood Ford was not responsible for the damages. Mrs. ****** didn’t have any further questions or remarks and we ended the phone conversation on a pleasant note.                

    I never spoke to or had any communication with the service advisor ******** ***** or any other representative with ******** **** before or following this conversation with Mrs. ******.  Attached is a copy of the owners guide 2012 diesel supplement, please see the images, instructions  and warnings related to maintenance and servicing of the Diesel Fuel Conditioner Module “DFCM”  in this guide 38-43. I have enclosed our service advisor Gary's statement regarding this service provided by Lakewood Ford on Mr. ******'s vehicle. Please review the 3 attachments and you will come to the same conclusions I have.   



Jim G***** Service Manager Lakewood Ford

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, 10/22/14, I took my 2001 Ford F-250 (7.3 liter diesel) into Lakewood Ford for an oil change and a transmission service / flush. On Thursday, 10/23/14, (the very next day) I left my house for a week long hunting trip to the Naches area off of Hwy 410. I was towing a small horse trailer with my hunting gear. I was on Hwy 410 near mile post 82 (about an hour west of Yakima) when my transmission completely blew up and I was barely able to get off the road. There is no cellular service in this area, but luckily I was caravanning with a hunting partner or I would have been stranded. We left my truck and trailer alongside the road and we drove his truck and travel trailer about an hour away to our hunting camp. Once we reached an area with cell service I was able to arrange for a tow to ****** **** in Yakima. We drove another hour back down the mountain to my truck where I met the tow operator. On Friday, 10/24/14, ****** **** called me and told me the transmission pump seal had failed and the fluid was at least ¾ low. He said there was a lot of metal shavings in the remaining fluid and that the transmission would have to be replaced. He then gave me the repair estimate at $3565.00. I told ****** **** about having the transmission serviced the previous day at Lakewood Ford and how I had left there with a clean bill of health. I was then told that ****** **** experienced the same scenario on a previous occasion. He explained that it was a judgment call, but ****** **** replaced the transmission at no cost to the costumer. He then explained that flushing the transmission introduces pressure which can cause the pump seal to fail. He said the seal may have been old and week...but it is also possible that a good seal can be damaged during this process. I called Lakewood Ford and was referred to my service representative, Micky. Micky was very nice and sympathetic to my predicament. I explained the entire situation including the fact that I was away from home on a hunting trip and that my vehicle was in Yakima about 4 hours from home. I told Micky I was throwing myself at their mercy for any help the dealership could provide. She told me she completely understood, however she was unable to make this decision and she would have to speak with her service manager. By the end of Friday I had not heard back from Lakewood Ford. On Monday, 10/27/14, I called Micky and she told me she was trying to chase down the service manager. On Tuesday 10/28/14, I called and Micky told me she had provided all the information to the service manager and that it was out of her hands at this point. On Wednesday 10/29/14, I called and left a message for Micky asking if she had any updates. Finally at 3:30pm on Wednesday, I received a voicemail from the service manager, Jim G*****. Jim said Lakewood Ford was not assuming any responsibility or offering any assistance and it was his belief that the seal failed on its own. He went on to say the transmission is the weak link in that year truck. On Monday 11/17/14, I drove to Yakima to pick up my truck from ****** ****. ****** **** was surprised to hear that Lakewood Ford was not offering any assistance with the repair. They were even more surprised to hear that Lakewood Ford's service manager took over three and a half business days to even call me back when my transmission failed.

Desired Settlement: For the business to admit that the pressurized flush could have damaged the pump seal that failed the very next day. For them to offer assistance with the $3500.00 cost to repair / replace the transmission.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Jim G***** Service Mgr
Contact Phone: *** *** **** *****
Contact Email: ********lakewoodford.net
Lakewood Ford regrets hearing about the transmission concerns Mr. **** experienced on his hunting trip going over White Pass heading for the Yakima area. We had a phone call with "****" at ****** **** in Yakima on 29 October and he advised us that Mr. ***** 2001 Ford F350 Diesel has been towed in. The truck had 101,234 miles on it and the transmission had failed during towing of a trailer Mr **** was taking on his Elk hunting trip. He told us the transmission was about 6 quarts low on fluid, and was leaking out the front of the transmission bell housing area. He said they had replaced the lost 6 quarts of transmission fluid, and started the engine to diag the concern. It looked like the "front pump" failed in the transmission, it was making a lot of grinding noise and the front pump seal was leaking bad. The transmission was ruined, it had bits of metals throughout the systems inside, due to the loss of fluid and continued operation towing the trailer in an area Mr. **** could not stop. **** let us know the transmission was damaged beyond reasonable cost to repair and it was more cost effective to replace it with a "Ford Motor Company Exchange Transmission" that comes with a 3 year/unlimited miles warranty. The replacement cost was estimated at $3565.00 total including parts and labors, he was waiting on authorization from Mr ****.
Mr.**** brought his truck into Lakewood Ford service dept. a week before this failure on 22 October 2014 at 101,065 miles. On service order #****** he requested the engine oil and filter service be done and the automatic transmission fluid flush. Both services were done and the transmission was filled to specification with Ford Motor Craft Mercon 5 ATF. The automatic transmission fluid flush is a service procedure that requires no external pressure pumps. The new fluid is supplied by connecting the "BG Flush" machine to the transmission cooling return line, new fluid is supplied to the transmission at the same time the old dirty fluid is discharged out the pressure line going to the trans cooler. The flushing procedure is just a very thorough method of changing automatic transmission fluids when you have a transmission that is not equipped with drain plugs on the torque converter and the oil pan of the transmission. It is also a method that ensures flushing out the small particulates in the dirty fluids, replaced with clean new fluid and has been in use by automotive service facilities for years. This method will not cause any damage to the transmission any more than an engine oil change would cause damage to the engine.
Lakewood Ford does invite Mr **** to visit us here at Lakewood Ford Service to review any other questions he my have on this concern.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The transmission failure occurred on Oct. 23rd, the day after the service was performed at Lakewood Ford. This is very clearly stated in my original complaint. The sad thing is that it was probably Oct. 29 before Mr. G***** got around to calling **** at ****** ****. His stating that this occurred a week later is misleading if not an outright lie. He would also mislead you to believe that the I drove 169 miles after I left his dealership. He does not account for the miles on the vehicle that accumulated while being towed over an hour into Yakima.
**** at ****** **** was very clear to me that the pressurized flush performed by Lakewood Ford may have contributed to the failure of my pump seal. He did not say it did...but that it may have.
I reached out to Lakewood Ford and was given the run around for a week before Mr. G***** would even call me back. In return, I called and left a message on Mr. G*****'s voicemail expressing my dissatisfaction with his customer service. To date he has made no further attempts to contact me. I have attempted to contact the dealership on several occasions utilizing their email link on their website. I have asked that my emails be forwarded to the general manager or owner. I know they received my emails because I received a response from a salesman (Dan Peters) trying to sell me a car. I responded to the salesman and he apologized for not knowing the nature of my contact with the business. He assured me that my email response to him would be forwarded to the general manager. Several weeks later I sent Dan another email asking whether or not my email was in fact forwarded to the general manager. He never responded back.
Mr. G***** would also mislead you by stating that I was not able to immediately pull over and I caused further damage by continued driving. This is completely untrue. My transmission failed very suddenly and violently. I pulled over immediately.
The fact is that Lakewood Ford completely turned their back on me when I had a service issue. They completely failed at any type of customer service as they have made no attempts at even trying to discuss the issue with me. Mr. G***** is very misleading in his response.
I filed a complaint with Ford Corporate several weeks ago. I was told the complaint would be forwarded to Lakewood Ford so they could have a chance at resolution. To date, still no contact from Lakewood Ford.
All I am asking is that Lakewood Ford do the right thing. Some assistance should be offered. They performed a service that possibly contributed to the failure of my pump seal. The fact that it failed the very next day is suspect at the very least. Instead of offering any assistance at all...they turned their back and refuse to respond.
**** at ****** **** told me several times that he was surprised that Lakewood Ford was not being more responsive and at least offering to help with some type of assistance.
The fact that it took a BBB complaint to finally get a response out of Lakewood Ford is absolutely sad.

Business Response: We accept arbitration.
Henry * K****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary.

Sincerely,

**** ****

12/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in regarding a vehicle listed for sale on their website. I was told that a sale was pending, but ******* would check to see if it went through or not, and would get back to me. She emailed me back stating the vehicle hadn't been sold. I replied to the email that I would be by tonight to check the vehicle out, and do a test drive. A few minutes after that I received a phone call from **** asking me what time I would be by so they could have the vehicle ready. I arrive at the dealership lot, and **** approached me. We got in a quick hello, and he started to walk to the other side of the lot. He then stated "We sold the vehicle you came here to see, but I have 3 others..." Now it had been less than 2 hours time between being told that the vehicle was still there, and actually getting to the lot. I told **** that if I had been lied to about the vehicle still being for sale, I was going to get in my car and leave. To which he replied - verbatim - "OK, Bye." and walked inside. Not only was this highly unprofessional, it is bordering on bait and switch tactics.

Desired Settlement: 4000 off list OR sale price of a used vehicle of my choice plus 150% of KBB trade in value.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/28) */ We are in Receipt of ****** *********'s complaint to Lakewood Ford. We apologize to Mr. ********* for our unprofessional handling of this situation. Our salesman (****) did not handle the situation well. The Focus that Mr. ********* was interested in was indeed sold just prior to his visit to Lakewood Ford. **** should have reached out to Mr. ********* when the Focus sold but believed that since we did have several others in stock at or near the same price, that it would not be a wasted trip. That was not his decision to make. **** has been reprimanded due to his cavalier handling of the situation. We value our customers and our reputation and apologize to Mr. ********* for this unfortunate lack of professionalism. In regards to the Focus showing on our website after the date of sale, a vehicle's status does not change until the vehicle has been completely booked in our system and will stay online until that process is fully complete. That vehicle is no longer on our website.

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a part online for 2000 F250SD. Using the instructions which indicated if VIN was used correct part would be guaranteed. When part was picked up at the Parts Counter, it was incorrect. The counter person was not helpful. Asked for options. Counter person went to the back. Counter person came back and said the part could be returned with a "20%" restocking fee. The online refund policy said parts could be returned within 30 days with receipt and that there could be, at the Dealer's discretion "up to a 10% restocking fee".

Desired Settlement: Because the online instructions were followed, would like a total refund. In other words would like to be refunded the 20% restocking fee of $13.41

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/03) */ We have issued a check in the amount of $13.41 and it was mailed to *** ******* on the 3rd of December. We apologize for the confusion and look forward to working with *** ******* in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Received a complete refund in a timely manner. Thank you Lakewood Ford. Back on our "shop at" list!

10/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dealer is dragging their feet getting my new plates in revenge for a complaint about a minor defect they didn't want to address.

Desired Settlement: My plates deleivered soon, not 3-4 weeks

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ Mr. ****'s plates were delivered to him at lakewood Ford on 09/19/2014.

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid on December 22, 2013 with 16,346 miles on it at the Lakewood Ford Dealership in Lakewood, WA. The day we bought the car we could not take it home because *** ******** said it was making a grinding sound in the rear and would be repaired . When he told us this we were a bit concerned to why a car with such low mileage would have any issues. We stated our concern about the problem and he explained to us it was no big deal, nothing mechanically wrong with the car and this was just a minor issue. We then asked is this the first problem with this car, and has there been any mechanical issues since they have had the car or that they were aware of? *** ******** said no, and that it has always ran and driven perfectly with no mechanical issues. He informed us even one of the managers would drive it to and from work. He was able to make us feel confident that this was a perfectly reliable car and the minor issue would be fixed as soon as possible and we would be very happy with the car. We agreed to purchase this car and trade our 2012 Toyota 4-Runner Limited with all the extra options you could think of. Blue book value for our vehicle was about $39,000. We took a $32,500 trade in for the Fusion that we paid $24,439 for. We got to come pick up our new car once it was fixed on December 24, 2013. We drove the car for about a week, went out of the country for 2 weeks then started driving the car again January 15, 2014 and drove it until January 30, 2014 when the car broke down on us. We had just picked up our 3 and 6 year old sons when we were headed home on the freeway driving approx. 60 mph when the car flashed a pull over safety light and immediately the car shut itself off on the freeway. We were almost in a car accident because this car just shut off without any warning and were almost struck by a semi truck. This was very scary for us, and even worse having our two small children and a pregnant wife in the car in such a dangerous situation. We had the car brought to the ****** Ford Dealership in Chehalis WA to be fixed under factory warranty. At this point the car had 18,385 miles on it, 2,000 more miles than what we purchased the car having. The dealership had the car from January 29th, 2014 until February 14th, 2014, 16 days. After this whole incident happened we really did not want the car anymore. The way it broke down was very dangerous and the car only had 18,385 miles on it! We contacted the Lakewood Dealership to let them know what had happened and to ask them for a copy of all the maintenance and any work that has been done on the car since they had it. They just emailed us a copy of the rotor repair they had made December 23, 2013 and that was all the work done. They said that was everything they on the car and it was between us and the Ford manufacturer. They barely would return phone calls and were very rude to us. We also found out the car had been a rental before they owned it, the dealership never disclosed this the day of purchase and we later found out it is the law the dealership must disclose to a buyer if a car has ever been a rental. We began driving the car again on February 14, 2014 until the car broke down for the second time on the freeway. We just left the Tacoma WA hospital an hour from home on February 27th, 2014 when once again the light flashed on to pull over safely. The car then just shut itself off while driving, not giving us time to safely pull over. We dodged cars and luckily made it to the side of the busy Tacoma freeway. We then called a tow through roadside assistance. Roadside assistance wanted the last 8 digits of our cars VIN, that's when we noticed a pencil mark at the 8th digit back by the previous owner on the vehicle registration. That was a red flag that maybe somebody else has been broken down in the car before also and is probably the reason the car was sold at such low mileage in the first place. We had the car brought to the Lakewood Ford Dealership where we bought it. That was on February 27th, 2014, the car had approximately 19,100 miles on it. We talked to one of the managers at Lakewood Ford and they said it's a service issue and gave us a rental car. The next day we called the dealership and asked for the status of the car and stated our concern to the service manager, *** ******, that this car keeps breaking down and it is very dangerous. To our surprise he told us how he remembered our car and how much trouble the car had caused them in the past. Apparently on December 2, 2013 they had been working on our car and there was some major mechanical issues with it that they couldn't really figure out so they reset the computer system and the warning lights shut off. We then asked *** if he could please email the work done on the car December 2, 2014 and he did. The Lakewood Ford Dealership, specifically *** ********* lied to us when we were buying the car and continued to lie to us about any mechanical issues with the car until we talked to ***. He let us know there actually had been major issues with the car and was the first helpful employee at this dealership. We were lied to about this vehicles prior issues to us buying it and did not disclose to us it was a rental car before which is against the law. This car was recently repurchased under the Washington State lemon law. We were not reimbursed for the loss of the vehicle we traded to Lakewood Ford for the lemon they gave us. We believe Lakewood Ford owes us for the money they made on the sale of our 2012 Toyota 4runner limited we traded for the fusion they lied to us about in the first place. We also had to pay to give the car back under the lemon law; so overall, we lost many thousands of dollars over the salesman lying us into buying this car. We never would have purchased it if he would have been truthful about the car in the first place and would have had our nice and reliable Toyota 4runner limited. This dealership owes us!

Desired Settlement: We would like Lakewood Ford to reimburse us the difference in the 2012 Toyota 4runner Limited's value and what we took in the trade in loss for the 2013 ford fusion hybrid they lied to us into buying to make a sale and take our nice and reliable vehicle. The difference in blue book value at the time and what we received in trade in was approximately $6,500, so we believe they should owe us at least that for what they put our family through for being so dishonest! What a nightmare!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ Mr. **** purchased a used 2013 Ford Fusion on 12/22/2013. He received a trade-in Value of $32500. The balance owing at the time was $37684.41. The Trade-in was sold for $33000. The Fusion was purchased back by Ford under the Lemon Law. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) $33,000 for the vehicle is very unreasonable for what this dealership could have sold my trade in vehicle for considering the Kelly blue book values on it at that time. I would like to see paperwork on the purchase price they are claiming. The point of the matter is, we were lied into buying the 2013 ford fusion. It cost us missing work, losing a lot of time and money due to their lying, and losing our reliable vehicle that blue booked higher.i have the paperwork of the value of my Toyota 4runner on the day we purchased the ford fusion so if they only sold it for $33,000 like they are claiming,we want the difference in blue book value.they lied to us to purchase a bad vehicle and they owe us financially. In their response they offered no amends and apparently feel like they do not owe us for lying us into purchasing a bad vehicle. At the end of january 2014 we even asked this dealership to trade us vehicles back but they refused. They do not take any ownership of their wrong doings. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Lakewood ford has not addressed the LYING about the vehicle service history of the 2013 ford fusion we traded for at their dealership. Because Lakewood ford chose to wholesale my vehicle is not a concern to me, the amount they chose to wholesell it for was not a consumer value. The other dealership, will make profit on my perfect running vehicle instead of lakewood ford at this point. Also, lakewood is correct in saying they use another system other than Kelley blue book in valuing vehicles, my 4runner actually showed an even HIGHER value than Kelly blue book did at that time! As of today's date my 2012 toyota 4runner limited blue books at $37,177. My payoff amount has nothing to do with the value of the 4runner. The fact of the matter is, we traded in our 4runner and took $32,500 knowing the value of it was higher. We could have sold it privately on our own and not had the higher payoff amount but chose the convenience of a trade in knowing we would take a loss. We were ok with that to get the ford fusion and expecting a reliable car in return and that the dealership was being honest in the ford fusions history. Lakewood ford LIED to us about the ford fusions history OVER and OVER until one employee told us the truth and emailed it to us! We have a paper trail of lies by this dealership and they are failing to address this issue whatsoever and keep trying to deny what the value of our 2012 toyota 4runner actually was! At one point I asked for my vehicle back but they declined to do so saying it was sold in january. The vehicle was not sold until 02-17-2014 on the document we just recieved! Any vehicle under the 24,000 miles and under two years old is eligible under the WA lemon law! Lakewood ford did NOT assist with the lemon law buy back in any way! we asked numerous times for help and they would not return phone calls or emails. The vehicle was returned to Ford manufacturer at Uhlmann Ford in CHEHALIS WA because lakewood ford refused to help us in any way! We would like lakewood ford to reimburse us the difference in the 2012 toyota 4runner limiteds value and the trade in amount they gave us. If there is anyway I can send the BBB Proof of the lies lakewood ford was telling us stating the 2013 ford fusion they sold us had no mechanical problems or history of issues since they had it and then another email from another employee showing all the issues the car had, please let me know how to do so. I want consumers to see how this dealership operates and gets sales off lying. Final Business Response /* (1000, 25, 2014/08/13) */ In Regards to the 2013 Fusion Hybrid, we purchased this vehicle on 11/11/13. I, ***** *****, General Manager of Lakewood Ford drove this vehicle daily until it was sold to the **** family. I never had any issues with this vehicle, it was extremely reliable and I was impressed with the gas mileage. I was not aware of the rubbing noise which turned out to be a protective plate rubbing the rear rotor. We would have never sold this vehicle had we been able to foresee the issues the **** family had. They drove it 2000 miles before they had an issue, We at Lakewood Ford are truly sorry that this vehicle ended up having an issue that would result in having Ford buy it back. As to the negative equity, we could debate this However, "actual cash value" is what the vehicle would bring at an auction, and we maximized this by selling it directly to a dealer who would pay us the most for it. Negative equity is not a part of the "Buy Back" from Ford. I cannot help you with that. I will as a gesture of good will, and knowing that buying a vehicle that would result in a buyback program was not what you were anticipating, offer to sell you any new vehicle at Invoice minus $2500 and then subtract any applicable rebates from that. I also will offer any used vehicle at a discount of $2500 off any Advertised price on any used car. Sincerely, ** ** ***** General Manager

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I leased a vehicle in 2013 with the promise of gaining positive equity. Upon contacting ford credit towards the end of our lease they told us a different story. We were told by **** ****** to go to the dealership to get help because we were not going to get positive equity. We arrived at Lakewood Ford and asked to speak to a manager. The manager said there wasn't much he could do, assessed the car and told us that he would get a sales associate to help us but he would run the numbers. After introducing us to the sales associate we never saw the manager again. The associate was nice enough and helped us get into a new car. The associate was supposed to look into getting us our second key but never did. We were sold a premium extended warranty that we thought we had to buy, this increased our car payments by 30 dollars, we told the guy that we couldn't afford it and he said that we really did need it. After leaving ford with a new used car and a higher payment than we anticipated we did some research and found out that we didn't need the warranty so I had my wife call to cancel and this is where a lot of trouble started. A manager on the phone was pretty rude to my wife when she called... she was a little emotional because we had lost so much money on the previous car and now we were having issues with the new car. She started crying and the man told her to calm down and that it was just a car.... not when you lost 13 thousand dollars on the first car because an associate lied to you and then you have to pay another 20 thousand for another car. It does get personal. My wife was told that she couldn't cancel and that she needed to call the warranty provider. She called them and they said the dealership had to cancel it because the dealership had not turned the paperwork in yet. My wife called the dealership back and spoke to a lady who said we could come in and sign a document and cancel the warranty. I went on my lunch break in uniform and went to sign the document and got to speak to the manager who spoke to my wife. He lied to me twice... Once stating that he called our lean holder about monthly charges that we didn't know about and the second about the not being able to cancel the warranty. I left the dealership not being able to do anything. I got home and my wife had called the warranty holder again and they told her the same thing. We decided to drive back to the dealership together to speak to the owner and have the matter taken care of. When we got to the dealership we asked to speak to the owner and were told no. We asked to speak to a manager and had to wait. Meanwhile the woman my wife had spoken to about canceling the warranty showed up and we signed the paperwork to cancel. About a half hour later the used car manager came out to talk to us. We went to his office to talk and the first thing out of his mouth was, "Oh you two." Referring to us as if people had been talking about us. He was rude to my wife asking, "What do you want?" And, "This is a situation where I can't win isn't it." He was non-apologetic and when my wife said wouldn't you be upset if this happened to your family he looked at her and said no. When my wife looked at him and asked for some compassion he shrugged at her like I don't care. At that point my wife asked for the owner and he refused. She asked for the owners number and he refused that as well. Then she asked for the owners address and he also refused. At that I looked at my wife said they don't care and won't do anything for us so lets go. My wife cried all the way home feeling belittled and disrespected. I was mad that we were misinformed about our first car that we wound up loosing a lot of money for, no one really tried to help us and then people were rude to myself and family and also lied to us. It took us a week and a drive to their other dealership to get our second key. The poor customer service we got added to an already difficult situation. We were also told that the head manager would call us and he never did. This dealership claims to be military friendly but they treated me and my family poorly.

Desired Settlement: I just want to talk to the owner. I want to know why it's ok to treat customers poorly and if this is part of his business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ Per the request of Mr. *****. I spoke with Mrs. ***** on Aug. 14th. She explained her concerns the the way she was treated and we agreed that mistakes were made and that Lakewood Ford would use this example as an opportunity to train and learn. She was satisfied with the conversation we had. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom this may concern: Hello my name is ****** **** I purchased a 2011 Ford Explorer from Lakewood Ford in September 2013. On Monday November 4th 2013 I called Lakewood Ford to schedule an appointment to bring my vehicle in for its 40,000 mile check and also because I have having some issues with the "Sync" system. When I made my appointment over the phone I explained to the guy that answered, everything that was going on- I told him that I was having problems with the radio and it would turn off just out of the blue and in order for me to turn it back on I would have to pull over, turn off the car, open the door and the restart the car for the radio to come back on. I also told him that I was having issues with the Bluetooth. When I end a call over the Bluetooth system, the call would be completely ended on my phone however on the Bluetooth it would act like the call was still in process. Lastly I told him that there was a "tinking" sound coming from the engine. I explained that the faster I went the faster the sound went. He made me an appointment for Wednesday November 6th 2013 at 7:00. I explained to him that I had to be at work at 7:30 and that I would need a loaner car for the day. He said that it wasn't a problem and that I would be checking in with *****. (How I remembered her name was because I have an Aunt ***** in my family) On Wednesday November 6th 2013 I pulled in to Lakewood Ford at 6:45. I went up to *****'s counter like I was told, and told her that I have a 7:00 appointment. She then stated that they put me on the wrong roster, and asked me why I was there and what was wrong with my car. I told her that I already explained everything to the guy that made my appointment. She said that the only thing that was put on my appointment was that I was coming in for radio issues. I then explained everything to her again and stated that I had to be at work 7:30 and that I would need a loner car. She then made detailed notes as to why I was there, and said that the shuttle guy was not there yet however he is on his way and that I could have a seat in the waiting room. At 7:12 I walked back over to *****'s counter and asked what was going on because my appointment was at 7:00 and I explained to her that I have to be at work in 15 minutes. She then picked up the phone and called someone who told her that he would be there in 5 minutes. I went back to waiting room and sat down. At 7:20 a gentlemen walks in and says that he is there to take people to work. I explained to him that I was waiting on a loaner car. He said that he doesn't handle that and that he is the shuttle driver and he drives people to and from work. I told him that I would need to go speak with ***** about this. I walked back over to *****'s counter and I told her that I was waiting for a loaner car. She said that there was no note on my appointment that I would need a loaner car and that there isn't one available. I told her that when I called in on Monday and made my appointment, I told the guy that I needed a loaner car. She apologized and said that there wasn't anything that she could do because there aren't any loaner cars available. I asked to speak to the manager; she then said that there wasn't one in and that they don't come in until 9:00. I asked her who made my appointment and she said that his name was ***** I told her that I could no longer wait and that I've already waited 35 minutes for nothing and now I'm late to work! I told her to cancel my appointment and that I would like the keys to my car. I also told her that what had happened is horrible customer service and that I work in customer service and that I would never treat or have this happen to anyone. At 9:30 on Wednesday November 6th 2013 I called Lakewood Ford and spoke with *** the Manager of the Service Center. He stated to me that ***** had already filled him in on what happened this morning and that he was sorry for the mix up and then asked me to explain why I was bringing my car into the shop. I then explained everything again, and I also told him what happened with the loaner car. He then told me that Tuesday afternoon (November 5th) **** found out some news about his wife and that she would be needing to have a MRI done and that is why he was not there this morning to check me in. He also stated that Dave would be coming into work around 1:00 and that he would talk with him, and then give me a call to see where I was, and to see if possible maybe someone could drive out a loaner car to me and then drive mine back to the shop. I told him that was fine and gave him my phone number to call me back at. At 4:15 I still hadn't heard anything back from *** the Manager. So I called him to see what was going on. He asked me if **** had called me. I told him no and that was why I was calling him. He then stated that **** had found a loaner car for me and that I could bring my car back to the shop. I dropped my car off at Lakewood Ford around 5:00, and spoke with **** and he once again asked me why I was bringing my car in and what the problem was. I explained everything again. He said that what was going on with the car would not be covered under warrantee. I asked him what about the extended warrantee that I bought? He said that with the extended warrantee there is a $250.00 deductible. I told him that it was fine, and that I needed to have these issues fixed. He said that what they will do is run a scan on the vehicle to see what is going on and before any actual work is done on the car he will call me and let me know and also let me know of pricing. I then gave him my phone number and explained that I will be at work all day Thursday and if I don't answer I will normally call back within 10 minutes because I work in a call center he said ok and not a problem. On Thursday November 7th 2013 at 4:45 I placed a call to **** because I hadn't heard anything from him. I asked him what the status was on my car. He said that the Sync program needed an upgrade and that it costs $150.00 to do and that the work had already been done. He also said that one of the techs wanted me or my husband to come in and do a test drive with him because they couldn't hear the "tink" noise that we were talking about. I pulled into Lakewood Ford at 5:30 I walked up to ******* counter and he was not there. ***** helped me. I then finished my test drive with **** the technician, and walked back into the service center. ***** was helping another customer so **** asked **** if he could bill me out. **** then asked what I was paying for I explained to him my conversation with Dave about how this was going to cost $150.00 if this wasn't covered under the warrantee. ***** then said that she spoke with **** and told him that he needs to check with the warrantee center to see if this is something that they would cover, because they didn't swap any parts out and that they only did a program upgrade. She asked **** if that was noted on my appointment, he told her no, that there were no notes and that there wasn't anything billed onto my appointment either. He said that because **** had already left that he would leave the paper work on his desk and that he would follow up with me tomorrow. The reason why I am writing this letter to let bring awareness about the lack of customer service that I have experienced at Lakewood Ford. I feel like as a customer when you call and make an appointment the person who originally makes the appointment should note that appointment properly, so that way when the customer comes in they aren't made to tell the situation twice. I also feel like what happened with *** the manager was wrong. He said that he would speak with **** and then follow up with me. I was the one who had to follow up with him! Another thing is that **** never called me like he promised he would to let me know pricing before the work on my car was done. I had to call him when I got off work to check the status on what was going on with my car. Finally Dave did not leave any type of note for the person who would be billing me out, nor did he put anything in the system as to what work was actually done on my car, so the person that took over for him could not bill me out if I was to owe anything. I will not be returning to Lakewood Ford Service Department. The lack of customer service that I received was awful! I will also not recommend anyone to Lakewood Ford because of what has happened. I would appreciate if someone would look into this for me and please let me know the outcome or if any changes will be made. Thank you, ****** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX **** N ********* ** Tacoma WA 98407

Desired Settlement: I feel like I shouldn't be responsible for any charges for my visit to Lakewood Ford on November 7th because of the lack of preparation from ***** I feel like he should take accountability for not noting my appointment and also for not entering the charges. Because when it was time to bill me out **** (the person who took over for ***** could not bill me out because **** did not enter in the charges or any notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/29) */ To BBB, In response to ** ****'s complaint letter to the BBB. Lakewood Ford service regrets how we failed to properly address ** ****'s concerns with the 2011 Ford Explorer she had just purchased from us on the 1 of September 2013. This vehicle was sold with approximately 36020 miles on it at the time of her purchase. When our service advisor ***** took the phone call on Monday November 4th from ** **** he failed to see *** **** was not the same owner we had originally sold the vehicle to when it was sold new by Lakewood Ford back on 22 February 2011. ***** set the appointment up with advisor **** becuase the service history on this vehicle's prior owner had always worked whith her. When making appointment's it is our normal proceedure to always set the customer up with the same advisor they have worked with in the past as they know the vehicles history and the customer better than anyone. As we are open from 6:30AM to 6:30PM; 12 hours,Monday through Friday and 7:30AM to 5:30PM on Saturdays. Due to our long days we often take calls from customers that are seeking appointments with an advisor they have worked with in the past and we set up an appointment for them to meet with that advisor to review the service needs or concerns with thier vehicle. We like to take the details of the customers concerns and information about how and when the vehicle exhibits these concerns at time of write up, with the vehicle present to make sure we get the customer's complaints or serice needs correct. Seems redundent but is really no different than many other customer service buisness ie: doctors office, ******** *** ********* Electrician etc. My service advisor of question works Mondays 8:30-6:30 p.m. My advisor **** advised ** and ** **** when he had talked with them that there vehicle was out of factory warranty. Basic warranty of 3yr/36,000 miles was no longer in efffect seeing their vehicle had 39323 miles. They stated they had an "extended warranty" which **** researched and Vogt's do have a ****** *** Care service contract ,aftermarket service contracts are not the same as a "factory warranty",and this one has a $250 deductable which was disclosed to customer. Vogt's were also advised, usually adjustments were not covered under "extended warranties" but we would submitt any repairs to their warranty co. for coverage. The concern with the Sync system/radio concern was a cpu (computer update) from FMC. Not covered by customers extended warranty, and a oil change which dealership took care of for customer at no charge. Last concern was a "ticking noise from the engine" we were able to confirm any abnormal engine noises. Inconclusion a rental car was provided to ** **** at no cost, updates were installed in the Sync/radio module to repair concerns with the radio and bluetooth fuctions, not covered by extended warranty (as previously discussed) and oil change was provided at no cost. ***** did try to get any and all cost covered by extended warranty co as he promised the ****'s and the total cost of repair was $148.50 not even close to the $250 deductable she would have paid if covered. ***** did have a medical appointment with his wife and was in the hospital with her all that afternoon but he did contact extended warranty Co. On Saturday 11/16/13 @ 12 pm approximately ** **** called the service dept and was very friendly. ***** happened to be on that Saturday and greeted ** **** and sent another tech for a ride with customer for ticking noise at no charge. It was determined the cause of her ticking was normal injector noise (pulsation) which presents itself more noticeable on heavy acceleration. *** **** seemed very relieved that the noise was not a mechanical breakdown and thanked us and took vehicle. Lakewood Ford is very sorry there was a breakdown of comunication at the beginning of this repair, we make misstakes and try to learn from them, we value all our customer's and their responses. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To the BBB in regards to Lakewood Fords response to my complaint: I bought my vehicle from Lakewood Ford on September 1st 2013. I called to make an appointment on November 4th 2013 when I made this appointment Dave pulled up my name- ****** ****- and saw that the car I was calling about was the 2011 Ford Explorer- it is very hard for me to believe that the car was still listed under the previous owners name, because on September 17th 2013 I brought my vehicle into Lakewood Fords Service Center for another reason. **** also told me that the reason why I would be checking in with Suzi is because he would not be in on Wednesday November 6th 2013, and that I would need to check in with her. I understand why **** asked me what was going on with my car when I arrived. My complaint is about how many times I had to repeat myself ie: when I checked in with ***** to when I called and spoke with the manager, to when I had to come back to Lakewood Ford and repeat everything to ***** and also that **** did not set my appointment up stating that I would need a loaner car, and that I waited for 35 minutes for nothing, and then had to make a second trip back to Lakewood Ford when they found me a loaner car. When my husband and I came back to Lakewood Ford the night of November 6th 2013 **** did explain that this could not be covered under the extended warrantee that we had purchased. He did state that there was a $250.00 deductible. However he said that he "would have a tech take a look at the car, and that they would run a diagnostic test on it to see what's going on" he then stated that "before any work is done on the car, he would call me to let me know what's wrong and let me know exactly how much it would cost" On Thursday November 7th 2013 at 4:30 pm I had to call Dave to check the status on my car. He then told me that the Sync needed an upgrade and that it would cost about $150.00 and that work had already been done. He then said that he had a tech take a look at the car and they couldn't hear the "tink" noise that I was talking about. He asked if me or my husband could come down tomorrow (Friday November 8th 2013) and take a drive with a tech. I then asked him how long they stay till because I don't get off work till 4:30 pm and my husband not until 6:00 pm- he then placed me on hold and asked if I could come now, and explained that a tech would wait. When I arrived at Lakewood Ford I checked in with Dave and then did a test drive with **** and we could not hear the sound because it was wet outside that night. When we arrived back at the dealership **** was no longer there. He did not put any notes or enter any charges on my appointment. **** then took over and asked "if this appointment was free?" I told him no just the oil change was because I had a coupon. He then asked **** if she knew what was going on and she told him that she told **** to check with the warrantee center to see if this could be covered. **** then told me that he could not bill me out and that **** would call me tomorrow (November 9th 2013) to let me know what the final price is. On Friday November 9th 2013 at approximately 8:45 am I received a call from **** who left me a voicemail (because I was at work) letting me know that the total charges are $162.46 I then called him back at 12:00 pm to make that payment over the phone. My main complaint is not about the price, it is about the fact that **** stated to me that he would call before any work was done to my vehicle, and he never did. In fact I had to call him when I got off work to see what was going on with my car. Lakewood Ford did supply a Loaner car however it was not Free of Charge like they state I had to fill the tank back up to full when I was done using it- that cost me $10.60 when I previously brought my vehicle in on September 17th 2013 I did not have to pay for the little gas that I used. Yes I did bring my vehicle back to Lakewood Ford on November 16th 2013 because the ticking noise came back. I contacted **** because he stated that if I heard the noise to call him and he would have a tech take a listen. I took a drive with a gentleman named **** who then stated what I was hearing. When we arrived back at Lakewood Ford Dave was once again not there. So I left- I understand that people make mistakes, what I don't understand or accept is the lack of communication. For such a big company like Ford I would think that they would strive to make their customers happy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Lakewood Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart