BBB Accredited Business since

Klein Honda

Phone: (425) 355-7500 10611 Evergreen Way, Everett, WA 98204 http://www.kleinhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales, parts and service as well as automotive detailing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Klein Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Klein Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Klein Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 12/23/1970 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Klein, President Ryan Holmes Mr. Tom Hunt, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ryan Holmes
Principal: Mr. Steve Klein, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Klein Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10611 Evergreen Way

    Everett, WA 98204

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a BRAND NEW 2015 Honda CR-V EX-L from Klein Honda on 12/19/2015. Due to the reason that they weren’t able to schedule the Clear Mask placement on my car till 1/6/2016 my wife and I barely put any miles on the car, because we were afraid of the scratches. At one of our short trips my wife realized that the transmission shaft is NOT completely aligned with the gear letters that the car is placed in. So, during the time that I brought the car to get the clear-mask put on, I have asked the Klein Honda team to also look at the issue with the way that the Transmission shaft is placed in accordance with the letters gears that the car is placed in. After I received the car back I was told that the mechanic said that he: -never seen the issue before with any other CR-Vs -doesn't know how to address this issue -they will be look at the problem during the regular OIL changes. During my conversation during pick I said that this isn't right, since this cause safety issues if my wife shifts into wrong gear. After talking to Jim M***** (Service Director at Klein Honda) on 1/7/2016, he said that he will investigate it. At the same time I have told Jim M***** of another anomaly with the same issue that I have seen that when you switch gears all the way down and got up the shaft looks aligned, where I provided the YouTube video of this anomaly on 1/8/2015. Here is the link to the YouTube* ****************************************** Since I haven’t heard anything back from him on this issue, I have send out an e-mail to him on 1/12/2016 in regards to the video and he confirmed that he have received the link to the video, but he haven't had a CHANCE to investigate the problem yet. I have send an e-mail on 1/12/2016 to the Keo (Finance Manager at Klein Honda) that describes the problem that I am facing and what resolution I want to resolve this issue and I also forwarded it to John G****** (General Manager at Klein Honda) on 1/13/2016.

Desired Settlement: One of the following 2 solutions: A. Klein Honda take the car back and return me all the money that I put down on it. B. Klein Honda exchange the car that I currently have with another brand new CR-V EX-L that doesn't have any of the defects.

Business Response: Klein Honda is aware of Mr. ************* concerns and have forwarded those concerns on to American Honda.  We have reached out to American Honda to have the District Parts and Service Manager of American Honda to investigate Mr. ************* concerns.  Klein Honda is working with Mr. *********** and American Honda for a resolution, however it is American Honda and not Klein Honda's decision to determine if an issue exists.  We will continue to work with Mr. *********** and American Honda for a resolution.      

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I didn’t get an update from anyone about the status of Honda Representative.  This sounds to me like this is going to take additional weeks to resolve, which I have already spent almost 2 weeks on this matter.  I am busy at work on my deadlines.  Take the car back and return me the money.  You can deal with the Honda Representative on your own time.

I will be coming by tonight to drop the car off.

  


Sincerely,

********* ***********

Business Response:

 

 Klein Honda has given all the information to American Honda and Mr. ***********.  Klein Honda contacted Mr.*********** and American Honda to set up an inspection of Mr. ************* Honda CR-V.  Klein Honda emailed Mr. *********** on January 21st confirming the meeting with American Honda at 7:00 am on the 28th of January to which Mr. *********** sent an e-mail back stating "Great".  Klein Honda will not accommodate Mr. *********** request.  As we have been in contact with American Honda in regards to Mr. *********** they have deemed his concern to be normal operating function and the only reason American Honda is inspecting the vehicle is because Klein Honda is asking them to. 

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2009 Audi A3 from Klein Honda in late June 2015. Part of the contract was a "condition of sale" that Klein Honda would replace the front windshield that showed signs of poor installation. I tried to schedule the service the day I picked up the car and signed the paperwork but the service manager was non-committal in making sure the service got resolved in a timely fashion or resolved at all. I received two telephone calls from the window replacement company that does the windsheild replacements for Klein Honda. The window replacement company told me that they could not find a window "in stock" and would call me when they got the part. Weeks went by without any updates or contact from either Klein Honda or the windsheild company. I began texting and emailing the loan officer and the salesman for assistance. Both of these people replied that they forwarded my requests for updates or resolution to the service or general manager but no reply was received. After a month, I asked Klein Honda to provide me a check or cash in lieu of them replacing this windshield with their window replacement company and use a window replacement company of my choice. I received no reply. I again offered to Klein Honda to provide me a check or cash minus the labor change from the window replacement company of my choice, making Klein Honda only pay for the cost of the windsheild. Again no reply. It has now been 7 weeks. I have not received any information from Klein Honda or their windshild company. I finally went to my window replacement company of my choice, had them order a OEM windshield and replacement it for the faulty windshield. They were able to order and install the windsheild in 3 days time, something Klein Honda or their window replacement company could not perform in 7 weeks. Klein Honda has lost my admiration and respect.

Desired Settlement: Klein Honda should reimburse me for the complete cost of a new OEM windsheild and the labor to install it since it was a "condition of sale" that they did not honor.

Business Response:

I’m very sorry for the delay and I apologize for the
miscommunication in this whole matter.  I
agree and will be happy to reimburse Mrs. ****** for her out of pocket expense
to replace the windshield.  If I could
get a copy of the receipt sent to me directly I will make sure and get a reimbursement
check.

Thank You

Ryan H*****

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Klein in April 2015. It took 6 weeks for delivery and I requested multiple times to cancel the sale due to mechanical issues with the vehicle. The dealership continued to make promises regarding repairs and offered money towards payments to keep me from walking away. Since I had purchased a new vehicle from the dealership 2 years ago, since the car seemed to be fixed according to the dealership, and due to the promises and effort Klein seemed to go to I acquiesced and purchased the vehicle, rewriting the contract and finalizing it in June 2015. The same day warning lights came on the vehicle regarding the emergency brake. Within 2 weeks there was massive electrical failure in the tire monitors, the passenger airbag, the emergency break, and outside lights. The back of the driver's side chair even came apart within the first 2 days. I stopped driving the car and contacted the Audi dealership that Klein used to repair the car. They did a diagnostic and quoted over $6,000 in repairs needed to be done and that most of them existed at the time of sale but that the computer on the vehicle was cleared for delivery. The Emergency brake problem was due to Klein replacing the back brakes without properly releasing the back emergency brake before re-install. The loan due on the car is $14,000 and I've only owned it 2 months and only driven it the equivalent of 2 weeks. Now I'm being told I have to pay 1/2 the amount I owe on the vehicle just to make it safe to drive in. My husband is a veteran and I am pregnant and our "luxury" vehicle with high safety ratings is unusable. I feel that the dealership knew about these problems and had already lost money on the deal and tried to push the car on us knowing there were safety issues.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting that Klein pay for, or help pay for, the repairs to vehicle. The major problems with the emergency break, the airbag system, and the tires are all safety issues that should've been repaired before sale and make the car literally inoperable.

Business Response: Ms. ****** negotiated to purchase the 2007 Audi before the reconditioning was complete.
Klein Honda spent weeks completing the process due to waiting on German parts for the 
Audi.  It was eventually completed at University Audi.  The vehicle was delivered after passing
all safety inspections.  The customer purchased a 9 year old Audi with over 130,000 miles,
as is.  The inspection report, completed more than two months after delivery,
consists of future maintenance needs, non-safety items or conditions that were not present at
the time of delivery.  Klein Honda sells many high mileage, pre-owned vehicles, because
we have customers that request them.  However, being older and with high mileage, there
is no guarantee that future work will not be necessary.  At this time Klein Honda is not 
willing to participate in any service needs.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Klein Honda states that I negotiated purchase before reconditioning but it can also be said that Klein Honda negotiated a deal before realizing the extent of repairs needed on a vehicle they took for trade in.  I can imagine it was just as frustrating for Klein Honda to realize they paid full loan value for a car with multiple problems.  While I was hesitant to finalize the deal after weeks of repairs being made by eventually two separate repair shops, Klein was insistent they had made ALL repairs to the vehicle that were needed.  I could have walked away at any time but took Klein's word they had made the vehicle completely ready.  It's incredibly disappointing they are taking this stance.  I can imagine the loss that Klein took on this vehicle, but that is not the consumer's fault when the auto dealership takes trade ins.  They can make sure the vehicle is road ready at delivery and the AS-IS warranty is not intended to protect the dealership's liability if there is a major safety concern involved.  The AG of WA State has confirmed that.

The rear emergency brake problem was directly related to Klein Honda replacing the rear brake pads last minute before delivery.  The service manager admitted they had just recently changed over to the brake repair system that Audi used and that they were having trouble getting the emergency brake to release using the system required of them.  While they believed it had released, it did not, and within hours of delivery the emergency brake error light came on because the last minute brake pad replacement had damaged the rear emergency brake system.  This needed to be repaired and Klein Honda should reimburse me for that cost.  Also, a safety checklist that may have been filled out by Klein Honda before delivery does not mean that error lights had not been reset, which would explain why the lights came on within a few hours to a few days after delivery once the cars computer caught up with the reset.  An airbag system doesn't just fail by itself within hours of delivery.  If anything, the emergency brake repair and airbag system repair should be reimbursed by the dealership.  This is a safety issue regardless of Klein Honda's insistence that it has to do with my use of the vehicle, which has been sparingly due to the errors.  I made my best effort to figure out these issues myself and I know for a fact, as I have purchased many cars before, that Klein should be responsible for it's product regardless of the loss it incurred by taking a trade and negotiating a deal before knowing how much money they were going to lose on it.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: We do not agree with the description or timing of events in this complaint.

The extent of repairs consisted of waiting on a part, one that eventually came from Germany.

We delivered a safe vehicle.  The concerns described in the complaint came to our attention two
to three months after delivery of the vehicle, which was sold as is.

As a gesture of goodwill, Klein Honda would be willing to pay ********** **** directly for the repair of the emergency brake
and airbag system, as indicated on the invoice dated 8/24/2015.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
**** ******

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2010 Honda Odyssey purchased in May of 2014. Dealership promised to provide middle seat. Contract has not been honored. I made it clear I did not want the car if it did not have a middle seat (making it an 8 passenger vehicle). I need an 8 passenger vehicle immediately, I can no longer wait and four months has been an unreasonable amount of time.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the car immediately so I can purchase an 8 passenger vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** G.S.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@kleinhonda.com **** ****** was promised a seat for her van, one was ordered and it was the wrong type. *** and **** ****** then asked us to address a mechanical problem with the power-steering system, and asked us to buy the van back. We offered to diagnose the power steering problem free of charge, we gave them a range of the estimated values for their van, and offered to give them additional credit towards the buy back in-lieu of providing the seat. We reiterated that we would happily provide the center seat for them.On Oct. 14 she sent me an e-mail stating they wanted to go forward with the seat vs. us buying the vehicle back and getting credit for the seat that was owed. On Oct. 15 we let her know we had a seat here waiting for her. As of today, October 23 she has not come to get it.

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During an online negotiation we were qouted a list price of 39610.00 less 2500.00 dealer cash. Later followed with this specific offer. "Here is the breakdown on the 2014 Touring Pilot. Nothing is set in stone and we will do everything we can to accommodate your budget. Price - 39610 Tax - 3762.95 License & Doc Fee - 410 Total - 43782.95" The next email said: "Hi *****, The otd price I just sent you did not include the dealer cash. Sincerely, ***** ***** Internet Sales Representative Klein Honda in Everett Ph (XXX) XXX-XXXX When we went in Klein refused to honor the 2500.00 off.

Desired Settlement: We would like to purchase the vehicle at the negotiated price of XXXXX.95 minus the dealer cash of 2500.00. Total 41282.95

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/25) */ Thank you for your inquiry on the sale of a new Pilot to *** *****. The internet sales representitive mistakingly advised ** ***** that the vehice had factory incentive monies on 2014 models, but the incentives were on 2013 models. The confusion was that in the communications both model years were discussed. *** ***** ultimately did purchase from Klein as he discovered that after Klein had improved their selling price by increasing its discount substantially on a 2014 model, no other Honda store was willing to meet or beat our deals. We are sorry for the confusion and we felt that after *** ***** left and returned the following day to buy that the issue had been addressed and concluded. Klein Honda feels that this matter is concluded. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/26) */ Thanks for your quick response Kline Honda came back to us with another offer the same day I started this complaint. The did not meet the 2500 off they put in the email, but they did come down a little. So we decided to go ahead and purchase a Pilot even though we were not happy with the process. We had not bought a car in 5 years, so I was dissapointed in the feeling of deception and manipulation we had to go through to get the deal done. New charges kept creeping in, and after we apparentky caught and voided the "extra add ons", the last contract put in front of us had an addition 600.00 on it. After some research as to where it came from, Fat fingers turned out to be the culprit. Really! It was 4 1/2 hours of being worn down, sad as it is that might be the way all dealerships work. Thanks again *****

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is one particular situation that we could use your help with. With my wife pregnant with child number six on the way, on July 10th we traded in our '03 Odyssey that only seats 7 and purchased an '07 Odyssey with a middle seat that the salesperson added to the vehicle so that we could seat 8. After 4 days, we realized that the newly added seat doesn't have a seat belt!! Yikes... So we called the salesperson on Monday the 15th and brought the car in for him to look at. He couldn't figure out how to add the seat belt and before the service department could take a look, they had closed for the night. The salesperson said that he would be gone on Tuesday and would be back at work on Wednesday and in the meantime, he would do some research on the solution. On Wednesday, my wife called the salesperson for an update and was told that it was the salesperson's day off, so his schedule must have changed. On Thursday afternoon, my wife called the salesperson and he said that he had just gotten to work and was going to check with the service department about a solution. He called back later that night to tell us that the service department could not install a seat belt but that the service department recommended that we call Access Mobile and see if they could help. We called Access Mobile and the person that picked up said that the salespeople were gone for the day. On Friday, my wife called Access Mobile and was told that they are unable to perform the service but gave us another contact to try, Rich's upholstery in Seattle. We have called Rich's Upholstery and they need to take a look before confirming whether or not they can help us with adding a seat belt. Unfortunately, that location is 40 minutes away from our home in Snohomish and our first attempt to get there after work in rush hour traffic with 5 kids, before they close at 5pm, proved to be unsuccessful. We would like to ask your help with this particular situation that we believe should also be covered by your warranty and safety requirements on any and every vehicle sold by Klein - that a seat belt be provided for every seat.

Desired Settlement: We would like one of these three solutions to be provided. 1. Add a safe and secure seat belt to the middle seat of this van. 2. Reverse the transaction and give us our old van back. 3. Pay us for both our trade in and the current van at according to the values on the sales agreement so we can explore the auto market and buy a suitable van for our family. Thanks so much for your help! Much appreciated, **** ****

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 16, 2013/08/29) */ ***** Honda'a General Sales Manager was finially able to reach *** **** by phone. In that telephone conversation the GSM, *** ************ offered to *** **** any reimbursement for the cost of a seat belt installation. ** **** advised Mr. Blankenship that he accepted that offer. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/08/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I, *** ****, never agreed that a reimbursement of the cost of the seat belt ($142.35)alone was sufficient for the hassle that my wife has gone through. *** *********** had also offered to fill up our tank with gas when we came in to discuss the matter but nothing was settled or agreed upon during our phone call nor did I feel that the proposal was fair or complete. Since then, my wife has been to the dealership to discuss further and although she was able to pick up our license plates, she was not granted an audience with *** ************ even though he was confirmed present. After a 15 minute wait, she was told she would be called later that day but it did not happen. Still no resolution. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/09/05) */ We are sorry that **** **** to unable to meet with *** *********** on her visit to Klein Honda but he was not available to meet when she was here. *** *********** had requested that he be called ahead and a mutually convenient time could have been arrived at. At this point Klein Honda will offer to send a check in the amount of $300 to *** and **** **** to close this matter. We are hopeful that they will accept.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Klein Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart