BBB Accredited Business since

Kia Of Puyallup

Phone: (253) 286-8000 Fax: (253) 286-8001 111 Valley Ave NE, Puyallup, WA 98372 http://www.kiaofpuyallup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kia Of Puyallup meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kia Of Puyallup include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kia Of Puyallup
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1997 Business started: 06/01/1995 Business started locally: 06/01/1995 Business incorporated 04/12/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Motor Vehicles
2424 Bristol Ct SW, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.bls.dor.wa.gov/vehiclevesseldealer
Phone Number: (360) 664-6475
intdlrnw@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Sawyer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Sawyer, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 111 Valley Ave NE

    Puyallup, WA 98372 (253) 286-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had gotten into an accident a few months ago, and I started the paperwork needed for the Kia Optima we had purchased. We submitted the form in person for the extended warranty cancellation because we can never get a hold of anyone over the phone only to find out a week and a half later that it had not been turned in. I was always the one to follow up with the GAP insurance company, the lender for the loan, and the dealership to see what is being done. No one ever called me to let me know what was going on. So after I had complained to them about the extended warranty to be cancelled, I spoke to Jessica from Toyota of Puyallup about expediting the refund and she had sent us the check. After waiting a long time AGAIN, I come to find out the GAP insurance was not going to cover the remainder of our loan and we were pretty much stuck with the rest when I know that's what the insurance is for. Jessica had told me that she received a document from the GAP stating the car loan was paid off that's why she sent us the money instead of the lender. I was not aware I wasn't supposed to use the money. So after speaking with two different finance managers at Kia, which of course no one called me back, I speak to Claire who called me telling me that there's nothing they can do and Jessica must have "ASSUMED" the document she received was the payoff, when it wasn't. I feel so betrayed and lied to and think this is not my fault they had sent us the money instead of the lender. It was not my fault she "assumed" when she shouldn't have. I will never buy another car from KIA and ******** ******** ***** GAP Insurance.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to pay the remainder of this car loan because it was not my fault that they sent us the check instead of the lender. This was our first car accident so we were not given the proper information about what to do. It was their mistake and all the time I spoke to someone over the phone I always got shoved off without thoroughly explaining the outcome. They make so much money and I happen to be one out of thousands of customers who end up in an "unfortunate" situation (because they keep telling me UNFORTUNATELY there isn't anything they can do.) That's something they should never tell a customer, and they should never assume anything. I would really like someone to tell me that this issue will be resolved. I've never had this bad of an experience with a company in my life.

Business Response:

My name is Ryan S***** and I am President of Kia of Puyallup.  We received a BBB complaint via email on Friday July 24th, 2015.

In the complaint ****** ******* claims it is Kia of Puyallup's responsibility to pay the remainder of their car loan.

The customer came into Kia of Puyallup and filled out cancelation paperwork for their vehicle that was a total loss.  At the time they only marked having a extended warranty on the cancelation form therefore that is what we cancelled.  A few days after filling out the cancelation form customer requested that the cancelation be expedited rather than waiting the 4-6 weeks it can normally take and clearly states on our cancelation form.  Because we had the cancelation form + total loss statement from the insurance company we refunded the money.  The refund went to the customer for a total amount of approx. $1,061.  At this point we assumed the customer had been taken care of.  Around the time the customer asked us to expedite the refund their GAP company (was not marked on the cancelation form) said they were not going to do a claim and that the cancelation of both products (GAP + extended warranty) would cover the remainder of the loan.  At this point we had spoken to the customer and refunded the GAP amount to the lender.  This left a loan balance of approx. $1,061 which was the amount we had already sent to the customer.  The customer says because we did not tell them that was supposed to pay off their loan, they spent the money on personal items, and therefore we somehow are now responsible for their remaining car loan.

 
It is entirely the customers obligation to pay off the loan.  We have done what we are obligated to do, which is process the cancelation and refund the money.  The customer, in turn, is obligated to pay off the loan.  At no point does the customers payoff become our responsibility.  Our Accounting Department has told the customer this.  In addition we explained to them that they may be able to work out a payment plan with the lender or pay it back as a personal loan.  We think there are options out there, but just because we sent the customer the money and they spent it on personal items does not now make it our responsibility.  It's the customers responsibility work with their lender to know the status of their loan.

Thank you for allowing us to explain our side in this matter. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I will accept this explanation, only because I am done with having to worry about this. Please ensure your accounting department that they shouldn't tell people they "assume" what is going on with peoples money. Because if it weren't for someone to tell me they had received the document stating the loan was paid off, and that's why she sent us the check instead, it wouldn't have been used for anything other than the loan. After all this, I am still hoping that no one has to go through what I had been through with you people. Mistakes can be made, but not something that customers will have to suffer fixing themselves. I learned my lesson and will avoid it in the future. Thank you

****** *******

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ******** *******, recently took my Kia minivan to the Kia of Puyallup, on February 6th, 2015. I stated that the vehicle had a new fuel pump put in, but that the vehicle would randomly stop running with gas in the tank. In accordance with their estimates, I waited for further repairs until I had the amount of cash thought needed (estimates attached). The vehicle was turned in for service at 155,352. I received more than four calls from ***** at the service desk, regarding: (1) looking at the vehicle (2) they found the problem (3) they needed a week for parts to arrive (4) another problem was discovered in the gas tank line (5) they found an issue with the computer assembly. On February 18th, I was told that the vehicle was up and running, on Thursday the van was parked. On February 21st, the vehicle would not start when I readied for work. On Monday, February 23rd, I spoke again with *****. The next day, I towed the vehicle back to Kia of Puyallup.Finally, on March 10th, I was told that the vehicle was not repairable, due to intermittently shorting out in the harness. They had now serviced my vehicle for well over a month,I had made payment for an issue in the harness that should have been discovered in the first 12 days of repair possession. I was told that, even though no repair could be made or justified, that the bill I payed was $2554.92 for service on a vehicle I can not use, though no resolution was found. I use this vehicle to get solely to and from work, two days a week, Saturday and Sunday. I now have no vehicle to get to work. I pleaded with Kia of Puyallup for a trade, in the amount of around $1000, just so that I could have a vehicle, and they stated that there was nothing further that they could do. ************* *******

Desired Settlement: Thy did the work knowing the vehicle would not be useable I am willing to give them the van and thy can give me one of there small cars that runs thy get on trade in or thy can take all the parts out and refund my cash so I can get a car.

Business Response:

Mr. *******'s 2004 Kia Sedona minivan with 155,352 miles on it was towed into Kia of Puyallup on February 6th, 2015.  Kia of Puyallup did not sell this vehicle and this was the first time Mr. ******* had brought his Sedona into Kia of Puyallup for any service whatsoever.  It was towed into us not running.  It was diagnosed and found there was power to the fuel pump, but it would not activate.  Also recommended fuel lines because they were cracked.  We replaced fuel pump and lines.  Pump now activated, but the vehicle would not start.  Further diagnosis indicated that the PCM (program control module) was grounding out the fuel pump relay.  Recommended and replaced the PCM.  The vehicle now started and runs as long as it was hooked up to a battery charger.  Battery was dead and in need of replacement.  We replaced the battery.  The vehicle started and ran fine with the exception of the bad ticking noise in the engine.  Customer picked up the vehicle.  Kia of Puyallup spent a total of 6.4 hours on Mr. *******'s Sedona, but only charged him for 6.1 hours.  In addition Kia of Puyallup gave him a $198.80 labor discount (approx. 30%).  The total was $491.50 in labor, $1,838.89 in parts for a total of $2,335.39 plus sales tax. 

On February 24th Mr. *******'s 2004 Kia Sedona was towed into Kia of Puyallup again.  The customer stated the vehicle cranks, but will not start.  Kia of Puyallup technician went to the vehicle and it started and ran.  Technician had to let the vehicle run for a couple of hours, starting and stopping the vehicle on occasion.  The vehicle eventually failed.  Technician found the ground circuit from the PCM to the fuel pump relay was not receiving ground.  As a test the technician installed a relay that already was grounded (faulty relay) and the vehicle started.  Technician contacted Kia Motors America TechLine and was advised to replace the engine harness.  The approximate cost for the engine harness is $360.97 plus $540.00 in labor.  Mr. ******* declined to have that done.  We gave Mr. ******* the faulty relay the technician used as a test in order to get the Sedona onto the tow truck, but this has not been returned to the technician.  Mr. ******* was not charged for the 2nd tow bill or the additional 1.0 hour of diagnosis.  Kia of Puyallup paid for both of those.

Mr. ******* states "I pleaded with Kia of Puyallup for a trade, in the amount of around $1,000, just so that I could have a vehicle, and they stated that there was nothing further that they could do".  Kia of Puyallup does not have any record of appraising Mr. *******'s Kia Sedona or speaking with the Sales Department.  The first we heard of Mr. *******'s complaint was when he left a review on a review website this past weekend followed by the BBB email.  He did not speak with the Service Manager after his last service or prior to leaving that review.  We are in the business of selling and servicing vehicles.  There is no reason at all why anyone at Kia of Puyallup would ever decline the opportunity to appraise a vehicle for trade-in purposes on a new or pre-owned vehicle.  If Mr. ******* was looking for a replacement vehicle that only cost $1,000 that would be a bit of a problem as all of our pre-owned vehicles typically cost well above $1,000 and we don't normally sell and retail vehicles in that price range.  In addition Mr. *******'s 2004 Kia Sedona with 155,352 miles on it was original brought into us not running, we had we ever serviced his vehicle before and did not have any record of what, if any, previous maintenance/services had been done to the vehicle.    

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The short according to KIA of Puyallup is in the harness, thy had the vehicle for well in to a month the first time preformed work of over $2553.00 (the discounts thy taunt was from a coupon I used) was unable to find the cause of the problem with all the equipment at there disposable.I depended on this vehicle for work I spent every bit of cash (***** was told that I was very limited on cash) to get this vehicle up and running had I knowing that there was a problem (harness) that was $1000.00 above the cash I had Id gotten a used vehicle for work other then drop all the cash I had in to repairs on a vehicle that was going to stop running the day I picked it up parked it at my home. I due understand that thy are a very large company I will lose this, so I can only due what I can. I will let people know what I can of my problem with KIA of Puyallup. I also will never due any type of transaction with KIA of Puyallup I will advise any one not to as well. you win KIA of Puyallup you needed the cash worst then a working person who need the vehicle for 2 days of driving to work..

Sincerely,

******** *******

Business Response:

As previously stated Mr. *******'s 2004 Kia Sedona with 155,352 miles on it was original brought into us not running.  Mr. ******* had never serviced his vehicle at Kia of Puyallup before.  Kia of Puyallup did not/does not have any record of what, if any, previous maintenance/services had been done to the vehicle prior to us working on it. 

As stated before it was diagnosed and found there was power to the fuel pump, but it would not activate.  Also recommended fuel lines because they were cracked.  We replaced fuel pump and lines.  Pump now activated, but the vehicle would not start.  Further diagnosis indicated that the PCM (program control module) was grounding out the fuel pump relay.  Recommended and replaced the PCM.  The vehicle now started and runs as long as it was hooked up to a battery charger.  Battery was dead and in need of replacement.  We replaced the battery.  The vehicle started and ran fine with the exception of the bad ticking noise in the engine.  Customer picked up the vehicle and drove home. 

Also as previously stated on February 24th Mr. *******'s 2004 Kia Sedona was towed into Kia of Puyallup again.  The customer stated the vehicle cranks, but will not start.  Kia of Puyallup’s technician went to the vehicle and it started and ran.  Technician had to let the vehicle run for a couple of hours, starting and stopping the vehicle on occasion.  The vehicle eventually failed.  Technician found the ground circuit from the PCM to the fuel pump relay was not receiving ground.  As a test the technician installed a relay that already was grounded (faulty relay) and the vehicle started.  Technician contacted Kia Motors America TechLine and was advised to replace the engine harness.  The approximate cost for the engine harness is $360.97 plus $540.00 in labor.  Mr. ******* declined to have that done.  Kia of Puyallup’s Service Department gave Mr. ******* the faulty relay the technician used as a test in order to get the Sedona onto the tow truck, but this has not been returned to our technician.  Mr. ******* was not charged for the 2nd tow bill or the additional 1.0 hour of diagnosis.  Kia of Puyallup paid for both of those.

If Mr. ******* is interested in replacing the engine harness he is aware of the cost and we would be happy to do that work for him and give him a loaner vehicle to use assuming we have one of ours available.  If Mr. ******* is interested in trading in his 2004 Sedona on a new or pre-owned vehicle that we have in stock we would be happy to help facilitate that as well.
 
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain our position in this matter.  If you have any questions or if we can provide you with any additional details please do not hesitate to contact me.

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This letter that I sent to the owner yesterday sums up all the issues we have had with this dealership: July 22, 2014 Dear Mr. ******, As you might already know, we have had some conflict with the repairs on my Kia. But in the event that you don't know the whole story, I felt compelled to let you know what has been happening at your dealership. My Kia Optima stopped working several months ago, I was on the freeway and without any warning or strange noise it just simply quit. (Prior to this break down, this car ran very well, and had given me no problems at all). I was able to pull over and we called a tow company to pick it up. After speaking to your mechanics, they said it needed a new tensioner and some other parts and gave me a ballpark estimate. Because I am on disability, it took me several months to save up the money to buy those parts, but when I did, my husband decided to do the work to save us some money. He replaced all of the following but the car still would not work: * Timing belts * Tensioner * All pulleys * Water pump * Crank positioning sensor * Cam sensor After all of that, we had it towed down to your dealership at our expense to find out what was wrong. The mechanic said the timing was 180 out (which it was not). And according to invoice #XXXXXX, they later admitted that the original diagnosis of the timing being off, may not have been the case at all. Then we were told the new tensioner that we had installed was bad, so we gave the ok for him to replace it with one from Kia. Then they told us that the valves were bent, and that my husband must have done the damage when he worked on the car prior to having it towed down to you. We were quoted $1,800 for the valve job Kia said we needed. We live on a very small income and could not afford that so we had it towed back home to us, again at our expense. A short while later, my husband removed the cylinder head and took it to a local machine shop to have the valves checked. They determined that there was absolutely no damage to the valves but we decided to have them do a valve job on them since they had the head disassembled anyway. We got a receipt from them showing no damage was found, which we provided to Kia. Based on that, we asked Kia once again to fix the car, and asked that they pay the tow charges this time around since they had been proven wrong. The car was towed into your shop once again, and this time they said the lower engine was shot and it needed to be rebuilt or replaced. They based this diagnosis on a compression check that showed cylinder # 1 and 3 were very low.....at 80 psi and 92 psi and #4 at 140 psi. No estimate for that was given, but we knew it was going to be a very expensive endeavor that we could never afford so we asked them to just tow the car back to us. It came back to us without the water pump pulley, the radiator had been drained dry (why?)....the exhaust manifold bolts were loose (again, why?). The service manager had no explanation for this. We had to purchase another pulley and fill the radiator back up. By this time, we were both at our wits end and decided to just try and sell it as is. We placed an ad on Craig's list and a gentleman responded to the ad. His plan was to buy it and replace the engine, as that is what he does for a living. While here, we told him the story of this car and he asked my husband to try and turn the engine over. ***** complied and based on listening to the engines noise for a few seconds he turned and said to my husband "it sounds to me like the cam sensor might be faulty". In any case, he declined on buying it when he found out what a new engine would cost, and he also had thought this optima was the higher end model...... but advised us to check on the cam sensor regardless. After he left, my husband dug out the old cam sensor, popped it in and low and behold the car started right up! So, all this time, all that was wrong with this car after the timing was repaired was a lousy $30.00 cam sensor. But your shop had us getting valve jobs and then wanted us to allow them to rebuild or replace the engine, when all it needed was that small part. Then, just to do some checking, my husband bought a compression gauge and ran a compression check on all 4 cylinders both when the engine was cold and again when it was hot. Both times, the psi checked out between 190 and 210 on ALL 4 CYLINDERS. We took pictures of both tests showing the read outs and the cylinder being tested for our files. Now, tell me how on earth your so called "trained and qualified" mechanics could not figure that out, but some guy we had never met before who listened to the engine for a few seconds knew right away what the problem was likely to be? We might have paid Kia $1,800 for a valve job but guess what? It still would not have run. Then we might have paid thousands more for a rebuilt engine and guess what again? It still would not have run. And as it turned out, the car didn't need either one of those things done. The stress of dealing with this, the countless days my husband spent trying to figure out what was wrong with this, the hardship of my not having my car, and the constant bad news from your dealership telling us we needed to have very expensive repairs done. You cannot convince me that fraud is not involved here, and the stress you have put us under has been tremendous. We almost sold this car for a couple hundred dollars............and would have if he had not changed his mind and told us what to try. What Kia has done is unconscionable. Yes, you refunded for the repairs the first time around, but that does not negate or excuse the events that happened after that. We have called and left messages for you and so far, none of them have been returned. We already filed a complaint with the Kia's national customer service (case #KXXXXXXX). We will be filing a complaint with the Attorney General and the BBB, in addition to that, we have spoken to an attorney and were advised to go through those motions first and if we cannot get satisfaction there, to take this to court. We have already found an attorney willing to take this case. This all may seem inconsequential to you in the grand scheme of things, but it certainly is not to me. Not having a car has been extremely difficult on me. I have many health issues and could not drive my husband's truck because of it. It has manual steering and is extremely difficult for me to turn the wheel and it's also a stick shift, so I have been left having to depend on him or whoever I can get to take me where I need to go. Since he has to be gone quite often, that has not made my life an easy one. All I wanted was my car back. Our plan was to get the car running and use it as a trade in on a SUV because of my health problems, it is difficult for me to get in and out of such a low to the ground vehicle. At that point I didn't think we'd even have a car let alone money to buy anything else. If you want to try and resolve this with us, please call my husband at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Otherwise, we will have no choice but to take this further. Sincerely, ***** and ***** ******

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a fair monetary settlement for everything this dealership has put us through and for what we consider, its fraudulent practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/29) */ Customers vehicle was brought into Kia of Puyallup not running. Original diagnosis on 4/23/14 repair order #XXXXXX. Technician stated the timing was off (this may not have been the case since it did not start after he reset timing). Technician then stated the vehicle had bent valves. Customer towed vehicle out of Kia of Puyallup and removed head himself to have it checked. According to machine shop, there were no bent valves, but performed a valve job regardless. Kia of Puyallup Service Manager agreed to reinstalled head and all associated parts at no cost to customer because of the inconvenience of removing the cylinder head based on our diagnosis. Kia of Puyallup also paid for the machine shop bill and having the vehicle towed to the shop. Customer was informed on 6/13/14 vehicle still will not start. Suspect lower end engine concern causing vehicle not to start. Compression measured at #1 80, #2 210, #3 92 and #4 140. Technician's notes state the following: "Reassembled engine, still no start. Found fuel bad. Tried on alternative fuel source, with starting fluid, no start. Check for spark. Has good spark. Swapped coils, new plugs, cam sensor. No change. Checked compression. Found load cylinder reading on left compression is going past the rings. Needs engine replaced". Kia of Puyallup returned vehicle to customer as he chose to perform his own diagnostics. Kia of Puyallup cannot take any responsibility for any further repairs or diagnostics done by a 2nd or 3rd party. If repairs are performed by Kia of Puyallup and are incorrect, at that time, Kia of Puyallup will take responsibility. The vehicle was not in running condition when it came in for the original diagnosis and is still not in running condition after reinstalling the cylinder and making sure everything is done and set correctly. The vehicle tabs expired 06/2013. Vehicle was towed back to the customer at his request on 7/7/14. Kia of Puyallup reimbursed all $664.60 that customer spent for the original diagnosis and repair on first visit. In addition to paying for the machine bill for cylinder head at ********'s in the amount of $244.80 Kia of Puyallup also towed vehicle back to Kia of Puyallup and reassembled the engine that the customer took apart, both at no cost to the customer. Once the reassembly was completed and we still could not get vehicle to start we towed the vehicle back to customer at their request, again at no cost to customer. The customer has been reimbursed for all money spent at Kia of Puyallup. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While it is true that Kia reimbursed us, the fact still remains that if we would of had the money, we'd of paid appx $1,200 for a valve job they said we needed. We were told the valves were bent, and they blamed my husband for causing that damage. When we refused to have this done based on the cost, we took the head over to a machine shop and it was found that NO valves were bent and it was in perfectly good shape. Then when we had the car towed back down to Kia again (at their expense this time) they said we needed a new or re-built engine.....that the engine was shot. They backed up this diagnosis by stating that 2 of the cylinders were showing very low psi readings, indicating that the engine was in bad shape and need of replacing. Mind you, this car has only 83,000 miles on it and was running smoothly up until it died on me. If the engine was in bad shape, there would have been some forewarning but that is neither here no there at this point. Since we could not afford a new engine or even a re-built engine from Kia, we asked them to tow it back to us. By this point, I was devastated because I didn't know what we were going to do next and I desperately needed my car back on the road. My husband drives a truck that is manual steering and a stick shift, which I cannot drive due to my health/physical limitations. We reluctantly put the car on Craig's list under "best offer". Had it not been for the kind man who was interested in this car, we would never have known that Kia had duped us once again. He decided not to buy our car because it was not the model of optima he had thought it was and because of the cost of a new engine. But he did ask my husband to try and start the car and in a matter of a few seconds he said it sounded like it might be the cam sensor. Sure enough, the cam sensor Kia had installed was no good, but when my husband put the old one back in, the car started right up! Once again, "if" we had of had the money to replace the engine, as Kia told us we needed to do, we would have paid thousands......and all that was needed was an inexpensive cam sensor. Kia has lied to us from the beginning, even prior to the valve job issue. It started out with the timing, the mechanic screwed that up as well and then lied to us about it. When my husband recently spoke to the National headquarters for Kia, even that gentleman said it sounded like dealership fraud. How on earth can a dealership get away with things like this?! How can it be "ok" even if they did pay us back for their initial mistakes? If that had been the end of it and the car was running, that would have made it an unfavorable experience, but we probably would not have filed a complaint........but then they dropped the "you need a new engine" bomb on us and that was really the last straw. All this car needed was a $30.00 or so part to make it run........their "specially trained mechanics" could not figure that out? No, this is just plain fraud in my book and they need to be stopped before anyone else gets taken advantage of. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/08/08) */ Please see the attached letter from the law firm that represents us to a recent Attorney General complaint filed by the same customer. We feel between our original response and now this letter we have more than fully responded. Thank you. Dear ** **: This law firm represents Sawyer Corporate Group, Inc., d/b/a Kia of Puyallup. Our client has asked us to respond to your letter of July 28, 2014. ********** had her 2005 Kia Optima towed to Kia of Puyallup on April 23, 2014. At that time the vehicle was not drivable, as it was not in running order and the license tabs had expired the prior year. The service technicians diagnosed the vehicle and determined there were a number of problems with it. The most serious of these problems was that it appeared to have bent valves and needed a valve job before it could be put in running order. Kia of Puyallup charged ******************* the sum of $664.60 for the diagnosis and the parts and labor used in its initial attempt to put the vehicle in running order. ******************* declined to have the valves replaced by Kia of Puyallup, and therefore the vehicle was towed back to the ******** home. ******************* then had some of the repair work recommended by Kia of Puyallup done at a machine shop, ********* in Puyallup. Although apparently ********* found the valves were not bent, we note they were replaced at that time. *********** then complained to Kia of Puyallup, which agreed to reimburse her in full for the money she spent for the original diagnosis and repairs, and also agreed to reassemble the engine, utilizing the repaired cylinder head, at no cost to the *******. In addition, Kia of Puyallup paid the towing bill. When the engine was reassembled it still would not run. The technicians spent a considerable amount of time attempting to get the engine to run without success. However, when the technician performed compression readings on each of the four cylinders, it discovered two of the four cylinders had compression readings far below normal, indicating those cylinders were not holding sufficient compression. Therefore, the engine needed at least a ring job, but based upon the age of the vehicle and the overall compression readings, Kia of Puyallup recommended the customers install a new engine. ******************* declined to have any further work done on the vehicle and, accordingly, Kia of Puyallup had the vehicle towed to their home. After that, Kia of Puyallup did no further work on the vehicle and had nothing further to do with it. Although we are sorry to learn ******************* are unhappy with their experience with Kia of Puyallup, the dealership has been more than fair to ******************* in attempting to resolve their complaints. ******************* were fully reimbursed for all amounts they expended on these repairs at Kia of Puyallup, Kia of Puyallup reinstalled the cylinder head at no charge to them, and reimbursed them for all towing charges. Accordingly, whether or not they are satisfied with the repair work done by Kia of Puyallup, all of it has been done at no cost to them. Since ******************* ultimately decided to have their repair work done elsewhere, Kia of Puyallup has no further obligations to them, and wishes them well in the future. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain our clients position in this matter. If you have any questions or you would like us to provide you with any documentation of the matters contained in this letter, please feel free to contact me. Yours very truly, **************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My husband and I received the latest response through you from Kia, and I am sorry to say that we are still not satisfied with their response. We are not disputing the fact Kia refunded monies for the services they performed. In my opinion, they had little choice in the matter when we discovered that their diagnosis of what was wrong with our car had been repeatedly incorrect. If this had been a matter of just 1 mistake that they had rectified we'd of never taken any action, but they were wrong.....repeatedly.......wrong. And to make matters worse, after they were found and proven to be wrong more then once, they turned around and then said we needed a whole new engine, which again was wrong. Their "highly" trained mechanics (their term, not ours) could not figure out that all that was standing between a car that would not run and a car that would was a simple $30.00-$40.00 part. It never needed a valve job (which they tried to charge us $1,800 for had we allowed them to do it), and it surely didn't need a new engine. All 4 cylinders showed normal psi read outs when we purchased the equipment to perform the test ourselves, which they maintain were bad on 2 of them when they performed the same test. That test is how they justified saying wee needed a new engine and what prompted us to double check their diagnosis once again. This has been a fiasco from beginning to end, every single time they had the car, they did something wrong, gave us misinformation and tried to sell us very expensive repairs that were never needed. I have never lodged a complaint against another business in all my life, and I certainly didn't lodge this one lightly or without just cause. This is wrong, no matter how you look at it, and if this complaint helps save others from the same thing happening to them, then it has been worth the time and trouble.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought our car a 2005 Kia Amanta in April 2006. The car has been into the dealer so far a total of 27 times. Had to obtain the extended warranty due to the fact of numerous repairs to the car. At one of the several times they had to completely remove the whole computer system and install a new one. The continued poor service is inexcusable.My husband and myself were told the parts had to come from back East, more time involved. The extended warranty inspector had to inspect the car at his convenience.That was just some of the lies we were told over several years of dealing with that company. We are still taking that car, that is still not repaired completely to another Kia Dealer in South Tacoma Way, Tacoma Wa. We will never return to that Kia Dealer again. Something has to be done that the car is repaired in a reasonable amount of time and Correctly done.We are in our 70's and I feel we have been taken advantage of to the MAX. Thank You for being the company you are.

Desired Settlement: Some sort of compensation for the Run-Around we have received for the last 8 years!!!!! But keep in mind nothing that would involve taking our car to them. It won't happen. Thanks again. ****** & *** ****** ********@comcast.net XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ Customer purchased a pre-owned 2005 Kia Amanti from us back in April of 2006. On April 7th, 2014 the customers concern was the vehicle was bouncing up and down and they believed that the front/rear struts and shocks were bad. We verified that the front and rear struts/shocks were bad. In addition we could hear a clunking noise while driving. Found the stabilizer links worn. The customer had a extended service contract with ******. We called ****** and they sent out an adjuster before approving to pay for repairs (as they normally do). Adjuster verified the front struts and stabilizers were bad, but did not condem the rear shocks. ****** called us back and said they would not cover the rears. We replaced front struts and stabilizer links. Customer picked up vehicle and paid $0 since it was covered by extended service contract. Later in April the customer brought vehicle back in with concern of clunking noise in the front end. It had several clunking noises. Found steering gear had internal noise. Replaced steering rack and during replacement the technician accidentially pinched brake line. We contacted the customer, apologized and ordered a new one and replaced it at no charge. Test drove vehicle again. Still hear another clunking noise. Replaced upper and lower strut mount bushings. Extended service contract paid for parts on bushing mounts. Performed alignment after rack replacement repairs. Test drove the vehicle and found with stethoscope that the struts that had been installed were bad parts. Parts were covered under warranty at no cost to customer. Customer test drove vehicle with one of our Service Advisors at pick up. Vehicle was ok with no noise. Approx. 3 months later in mid July the customer called our Service Advisor and said she was upset and felt like her vehicle was not fixed properly. She said it felt like there was 5 people wrestling in her trunk. Our Service Advisor set an appointment for her on or around July 17th for us to look at the vehicle. The customer missed her appointment. All services in our Service Department are warranted for 12 months or 12,000 miles against defects and workmanship. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are stating only the fact on April of 2014. I am stating the run-around we received on the repairing of the car for the LAST 8 YEARS... Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/30) */ Since the customer purchased their pre-owned 2005 Kia Amanti from us in April 2006 we have serviced their vehicle numerous times over those 8 years. Some of the visits were for regularly schedule maintenance such as oil changes, etc. Other visits were for issues such as check engine lights, seat panel, acceleration hesitation, etc. Each time the customers vehicle was at Kia of Puyallup we did our best to service, fix or repair the vehicle to best of our and Kia Motor America's ability. We agree that it is unfortunate the customer has had issues with their vehicle over the past 8 years. Fortunately the overwhelming majority of the issues were covered by either the manufactures warranty or the customers service contract that they purchased. The issues the customer has had with their vehicle over 8 years have not been due to workmanship of the repairs. Kia of Puyallup warrants repairs on workmanship performed by our Service Department for 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company makes it sound like routine maintenance. The total of 27 times in for repairs in 8 years, was not counting routine oil changes etc. I have documentation that there were serious problems with that car. The continued times in for repair is due to the fact the car was never repaired properly the first time.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello my name is ****, my wife and I purchased a 2007 Kia Sedona from a local dealership in 2012 With around 53,000 Miles on it. Starting at 61,355 miles the vehicle began to have some issues and thankfully we purchased an extended warranty on the vehicle because little did we know that we were about to begin a long and arduous process that still continues and doesn't appear to have an end in sight. Our first issue came when we had taken a family vacation to Oregon and half way there the check engine light came on along with the electronic stability control light. The entire drive home was nerve racking as there was no Kia dealership that we could find on our return trip from Oregon, it was after we returned home we were almost rear ended and started getting screamed at by an irate driver because we now had no brake lights what so ever. On Dec. 13th 2013 our vehicle was taken to Kia of Puyallup in Puyallup, WA and the Brake switch was replaced and that problem was solved. At 62,980 miles the vehicle was taken in for its scheduled oil change, it was revealed then that we had a leak within the Engine as well as a loud whining noise when starting the Vehicle that had begun a few days prior. The vehicle was taken to Kia of Puyallup on January 21st 2014, at which time both valve cover gaskets were replaced along with the idler pulley. The vehicle was returned on January 22nd 2014. Please note that while my vehicle was taken over night at no time was a loaner car ever offered to me. On Feb 4th 2014 My family and I were out grocery shopping only to find upon returning to our vehicle that it would not shift into drive whatsoever, I immediately called Kia of Puyallup and luckily for us *** the service manager was still there and just happened to be driving right by us on his way home so he came and got the shifter released and I was able to drive home but the shift lock release was broken so when I arrived home I was never able to get it into park and the vehicle had to sit overnight in neutral. The following day on Feb 5th 2014 at 63,779 the vehicle was once again taken to Kia of Puyallup, they had the vehicle for the better part of a day when I was told that the shifter was broken but they had to order a new one and they had temporarily fixed mine and I could drive it until the part arrived. Upon leaving that day the vehicle went into drive just fine but as soon as I got home I could not get it into park again so yet again it sat overnight in Neutral. When I called Kia of Puyallup the following day I was told I could drop the vehicle off and wait until the part arrived to have it repaired or I could just attempt to drive it until the part arrived because there just wasn't anything they could do for me. I agreed to bring the vehicle in as it barely functional in its current state, when I arrived at Kia of Puyallup I asked for a loaner vehicle because they were going to keep my vehicle for a week and was told sorry there just wasn't anything available for me. Over the next 2 days my wife and I scrambled having to borrow vehicles from friends and family just to make sure we could make it to work and get our children to school. After 2 days of this and no loaner vehicle my wife got upset and took to Facebook and wrote a not so flattering review of Kia of Puyallup, all of a sudden later that day *** the service manager called me and magically had a vehicle for us as a loaner. When I went to pick up our loaner vehicle *** pulled me aside and had a talk with me apologizing for the confusion and let me know that they would not be charging me the standard $109.40 which is my portion after my warranty company covers the initial charges. 5 days later on Feb. 12th 2014 I returned to Kia of Puyallup to pick up my vehicle only to find I was being charged $109.40, when I explained to the guy at the service counter that *** had worked something out with me and I wasn't supposed to pay that amount he just told me that he knew nothing about it and when I asked to speak with *** he was not available as a matter of fact the employee never even got up to go knock on ***'s door he just sat there as if he was ignoring me. I paid the amount and retrieved my vehicle only to find that the new shifter that was put in didn't match my car interior, my interior is black and grey and my new shifter is tan and it sticks out like a sore thumb. I immediately made a call to *** regarding the shifter and my payment that we had previously worked out, as of writing this letter it is now June 12th and in 4 months I have still not received a return phone call from the Service Manager ***. Our next service issue didn't arise for a whopping 3 months. On May 20th 2014 at 68,863 miles the vehicle was once again taken to Kia of Puyallup because there was again a loud whining noise which I assumed was the idler pulley again, but it turns out that it was now the power steering pump. I also had the Air conditioner checked because it had not worked in a couple months. I was then informed that the Freon was low and had been recharged which would cost me an extra $100. The vehicle was returned to me 2 days later on May 22nd 2014 and yet again there was no loaner vehicle available to me, but they did me a huge favor by getting a rental car approved through my warranty company that I had to pay the insurance on for 3 days totaling $35.46 which sure doesn't sound like much except when you add it into my invoice total $218.75 then it begins to add up quickly. Yet again just a short 8 days later on May 30th 2014 at 69,115 miles I was driving along and every light on my dashboard came on and the radio started turning off and on so I pulled into the nearest gas station where the vehicle died and would not restart. Luckily for me I just happened to be directly across the street from Kia of Puyallup so I called them and they came over and jumped the battery which gave me enough juice to get it across the street. This time they actually offered me a loaner vehicle to use for the day. While at Kia of Puyallup I also informed them that after the previous air conditioner service I began to have a loud knocking noise behind the fire wall that sounded like the compressor going out. Later that day I was informed that the alternator and battery along with the serpentine belt all needed to be replaced; they would also take a look at the air conditioner. The vehicle was returned to me on June 5th 2014 and everything seemed to be ok until 2 days later on June 7th 2014 when my wife and I were driving along with the air conditioner on and there was that all too familiar knocking noise, and then the air conditioner just started blowing hot air. I then called *** the service manager again and left him a voicemail explaining my situation and as you could probably guess no phone call back, surprise surprise. As of the Writing of this letter in the past 6 months we have driven a total of 7,760 miles, had my vehicle in for service 5 times for 7 different issues totaling $2059.23 for my Warranty Company and $739.25 out of my pocket, and not only is my air conditioner no longer operational but now there is a whining noise coming from the heater everytime I turn it on. Now while I do understand that vehicles are going to have issues this is starting to get a bit ridiculous. Not to mention the countless amount of failures of the service department to do their job and just provide some simple service. My wife and I have been as patient as possible with our Kia Sedona as well as with Kia of Puyallup and I hope that this letter will outline that so far both have failed us miserably. I would never from this point forward recommend to anyone that they ever buy a Kia of any model period. A copy of this letter is being sent to both the Better Business Bureau and to the Kia Corporation, and while I understand that Kia is a big corporation and my wife and I are just your standard middle class family I would hope that Kia understands that our complaints and issues thus far are valid and need to be addressed, we at least deserve that. If the corporate headquarters choose to ignore our complaints as their Puyallup service department has then I hope you realize that In the day and age of social media it is not difficult to spread the word like wild fire of just how poor a company you are and I will exercise all the means I have available to me to get that message across. To be honest it's not as if I'm asking for a new vehicle to replace this lemon that you created, I really just want the job done the correct way and my needs as a customer to properly be taken care of. P.S. I waited a week upon writing this letter because I once again left *** a voicemail and waited a week with no response.

Desired Settlement: for the repairs to be done correctly and for individuals within this company to uphold their word or just replace the vehicle if it truly is a lemon

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/01) */ Since receiving this BBB complaint I have reviewed all of the information with our Service Manager. The customer did not purchase the 2007 Kia Sedona from us. The first time the customer brought it to our dealership was December 2013 and the vehicle had approx. 61,355 miles on it. Our records show that the vehicle has been to Kia of Puyallup a total of 5 times for different issues (12/13/13, 1/21/14, 2/5/14, 5/20/14 and 5/30/14). All of the issues appear to be unrelated and not due to workmanship. The amount of issues over the short period of time is unfortunate. We did find that we do in fact owe the customer $109.40 for a visit in February. A check not being mailed out for this was an error on our part and we apologize for the delay. Our Service Manager also does recall the voicemail the customer refers to and apologies if we did not call them back. In regards to the loaner vehicles our dealership has a total of 10 loaner cars that we offer as extra value to our customers. The customer was offered a loaner car on 2 of the visits. If the customer was not offered a loaner car on the other visits it was due to us simply not having any available at that time. The customer mentions possibly wanting the vehicle replaced. Our Service Manager has tried to reach out to the customer to discuss this BBB complaint. He left a message for the customer on 6/25/14 and has not received a call back. He tried again on 7/1/14 and was hung up on.

5/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Kia Sedona to this dealership on April 8, 2014 due to it making a loud rattling noise when started. The tech verified the concern and found there was a TSB for this issue. He was not authorized to repair this under the warranty and had to wait for the Service Manager to listen to it. We were leaving on a cross county trip on April 11th and the Service Manager would not be in until April 14. We decided to go ahead with our planned trip but had to take our Mustang on the trip as my Sedona was at approx 95K miles and we did not want to go over 100K miles when the issue would no longer be covered under warranty. At no time while on vacation were we contacted by Kia regarding the issue. When we returned on April 21, 2014 my husband contacted Kia and was told there were not going to fix the issue and we could come pick up the van. I am quoting now from the paperwork I received from Kia... " Tech verfied concern but found that there is a TSB for this concern. Tech started vehicle for 3 consecutive days and timed the noise. All starts lasted under 4 seconds. Waited another week and had service manager and field tech rep listed to the noise but again lasted under 4 seconds." So the agree the noise is there and that there is a TSB for this issue but refuse to repair it because the noise only lasted 2-3 seconds. The TSB states that if timing chain noise lasts longer than the initial 3-4 seconds they should replace both the timing chain tensioners with part number XXXXX XC300. I am filing this complaint as I feel that Kia is not honoring the warranty or the TSB by not replacing the part recommended based on a 1 second difference and that they are doing so because I only have 5K miles left on my warranty. I haven't even discussed the issues regarding driving cross country in a mustang with two young children!!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor their warrany and fix the timing chain per the TSB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ I was first aware of this complaint this morning as ***** ***** left a negative review and comment on our Kia of Puyallup Facebook page. I spoke to my Service Manager, *** ****** about what ***** was talking about. He informed me that when we looked at her Kia Sedona our technician verified the concern, but found there was a TSB for this concern with specific times involved. We started the vehicle up for 3 consecutive days and timed the noise. All starts lasted under 4 seconds. The technician waited a week and started again, this time with the Service Manager and KMA Field Technician present. The noise was timed and again lasted under 4 seconds. After seeing the review and comments on Facebook and discussing the situation with my Service Manager he called and spoke to ***** today (4/28). We explained to her that we are on her side, but to Kia the amount of seconds was important and that even though 1-2 seconds may not seem like much to us, per Kia it was important as the TSB states. She mentioned she likes us as a dealership and was frustrated by Kia Motors, not Kia of Puyallup. She mentioned she spoke to the BBB, but intended it for Kia Motors, not Kia of Puyallup. We did agree to relook at it again and ***** is dropping it off tonight. We will also have our Kia District Parts and Service Manager here as well in hopes of discussing this with him.

9/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues