This business is not BBB accredited.

Hyundai of Kirkland

Phone: (425) 821-6611 Fax: (425) 820-5509 11706 124th Ave NE, Kirkland, WA 98034 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hyundaiofkirkland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hyundai of Kirkland include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Hyundai of Kirkland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hyundai of Kirkland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 2009 Business started: 12/01/2004 Business started locally: 12/01/2004 Business incorporated 12/02/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Walen, President Ms. Amy Walen, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Walen, Manager
Principal: Mr. Jim Walen, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 9am - 9pm
Sunday 10am - 7pm
Alternate Business Names
D.O.C.K Management Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hyundai of Kirkland has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11706 124th Ave NE

    Kirkland, WA 98034 (425) 821-6611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently got a notice from this dealership for a routine 30k maintenance for my vehicle which needs to be done to insure the warranty. I went to the dealership and was told that the job would be $470. I told them I replaced my own wipers a month earlier and which brought the price down to $450 which I felt was still too high but went ahead and did it. I observed the mechanic checking his phone and doing personal things while I waited. The job took about an hour and 40 minutes even with the said above actions. When I got my bill I was shocked that the invoice was $546.73. The parts came out to $121.41 but the labor was $333.54! When I asked the person checking me out what they charged for labor I was informed that it was $130 an hour. When I told them about the discrepancy I was then told it was a flat rate that he paid his mechanics. HUH?!? I was perplexed. When I went home I found reputable garages that charge $161 - $254 for parts and labor. When I tried to clear this up and filed a complaint with the dealership I was told that they would try and work out the cost and credit my card. I gave them the middle of the road quote of $216. Its been over a week and I've sent a couple of emails to the person who said they would work with me and others of this company to no response and no avail.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my card credited the difference or they can take all the parts out and credit me full so I can go the another garage and not get ripped off.

Business Response:

The automotive business is a bit different than others. We charge labor based on a flat rate system, if we charged straight time for all jobs the result would be that every job would take more time and be more expensive, resulting from the lack of motivation to get the job done quickly.

We quote the cost prior to doing the job. We know the customer goes in “eyes wide open”.

It is true that independent auto repair shops charge less but also use aftermarket parts, and employee non factory trained techs.

In this case we attempted to take as little of the customers time as possible, only to have a less than positive outcome.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was offered a credit from your a representative from your company. And have yet to receive it. $333 for labor is ridiculous. All that was done was a systems check and a few filters replaced.

Sincerely,

***** *********

3/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2014, I leased a new 2013 from this company to replace my old 2011 one, based on an ad from Hyundai Finance promising that Hyundai, for the Early Lease Program, will waive: - Up to 6 months of final payments - All the disposition costs I had one month payment left for my old car. The dealer said it would take care my old car's loan payment with the new lease according to the terms of the Early Lease Program. In 2015, one year after the lease, when checking my credit score, I was surprised to find out that my loan account was still open with the last month due of $209, even I didn't get any bill from Hyundai Financial since the day of the lease. I contacted the dealership, and they said that they will take of the problem. All follow up email afterwards resulted with replies that they were working on it. I thought the issue was resolved. In 2016, 2 years after the lease, I got a collection notice from Hyundai Financial about the due payment. I contacted the sale manager of the firm, and he said he will take care of the issue. Again, follow up calls got no return answers. I contacted Hyundai Financial again, and they told me they could not close my account because the dealer didn't file the correct form, and now the deadline has expired and the dealership did not pay that bill. I felt so frustrated: - The dealership did not fulfill the promise to close my old account - It did not do its job by not submitting the right from in due time to Hyundai Financial Now because of their false promise and inaptitude, I am stuck with a bill and a collection which would affect my credit score.

Desired Settlement: The dealership should: - Pay the bill if it can not settle with Hyundai Financial - With the help of Hyundai Financial, clear up the collection - With the help of Hyundai Financial, clear up my affected credit score because of the collection with different credit companies - Write me a apology letter describing the cause/resolution of the issue to make sure that it is closed.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.  The finance manager from this deal has been in contact with Hyundai Motor Finance (HMF) and

we were informed that this account is being corrected and collection agency efforts will stop. Per my internal team, the balance will be zero.  HMF is

under the impression this will not show on Mr. ******'s credit, so we consider the matter resolved.  HMF should be contacted with any further

questions.

Thank you,

Kristen H*****

Business Development Manager

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if my credit is not affected by the collection.

Sincerely,

**** ******

11/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new Hyundai from dealer. Finance department described several add-ons that were available, including extended warranty, tire care services, and pre-paid maintenance contract. This complaint involves the pre-paid maintenance contract. The contract cost approximately $1000 and contained a 60,000 mile coverage period. I was later informed that it also contained a 60 month coverage period. I do not drive many miles per year (approx. 7500 at most) and made the salesperson well aware of this because I wanted to make sure that even if it took me longer than average, I would be able to obtain the benefit of the entire set of maintenance services. Although I mentioned this more than once and he said it would not be a problem, it did become one. In fact, he only emphasized the 60,000 mile coverage and never discussed the implications of my driving so much less than the average amount per year. My car was totaled by a drunk driver after it had about 34,000 miles, and I had used less than half of the services under the contract. When I tried to obtain a refund for the unused portion, I was sent less than $200, which was based solely on a pro-rating of the time remaining on the contract and not the unused services. I contacted Hyundai of Kirkland multiple times to try and obtain a fairer refund of the unused services, and was given an incorrect number to call at the contract provider, followed by many promises of assistance, all of which led to absolutely no action or help. I have tried for 3 months to obtain a fairer refund for the unused portion of what they sold me, but nothing has happened. Therefore, I am forced to file this complaint in order to help others avoid this problem.

Desired Settlement: check for $500 from dealer and they can handle any dispute with the contract provider instead of pushing it onto me, since their employee should not have sold me the contract given my low-mileage use of my car.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.  We certainly empathized with Mr. ******s situation following his accident and after he spoke to our General Manager, Finance Director, and Owner it was agreed that we would refund the portion that was due under the terms of his maintenance contract.  We would have been happy to provide serves up to the full 60,000 miles on the contract, had the vehicle not been totaled.  The refund calculation in this case comes from the company that provides the service, not Ford of Kirkland.  We did request more than the contracted amount for a refund and were declined.  We are sorry we could not extend a full refund.  Any further complaint from Mr. ***** should be directed to the contract writers at **** *** *************

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The dealership is again refusing to take any responsibility for the actions of its employee.  Whether by mistake, through negligence, or by intention, the dealership's employee made a mistake when discussing the service contract.  The information I provided should have been sufficient to cause the employee to reconsider his advice.  Further, the dealership has refused to simply do the right thing and take proper care of a customer.  By passing responsibility to the contract provider, I am ultimately left with no solution to my problem.  So in the end Hyundai, the dealership, and the service contract provider all came out ahead and I was taken advantage of.

Unfortunately, the dealership response does not address my concerns or help me to resolve my problem.  For example, as I noted in my email, I have contacted the dealership numerous times to request some sort of compensation or assistance - they have been very polite, but have ultimately done little more than pass the responsibility to the contract provider.   They have steadfastly refused to accept any responsibility for their employee and the way that the employee represented the agreement and provided his advice during our discussions.  Therefore, continuing to contact the dealership is nothing more than a further waste of my time.

I have now contacted Hyundai and the dealership; neither party seems interested in maintaining good will with a consumer who is actively looking to purchase a new car.  Further, they continue to avoid taking any responsibility for a service they provided and encouraged me to purchase.  In addition, by continuing to avoid taking any responsibility, they have effectively prevented me from obtaining a satisfactory conclusion to this problem.  The dealership has passed all responsibility to the company that provided the service contract - this does me no good because the service contract provider has already issued a partial refund and I am seeking a fairer one.  So the end result is that I paid a large amount of money for services I will never be able to use, and the dealership and Hyundai don't really care to do anything about it.  I now regret purchasing my car from the dealer, and have strong concerns about Hyundai dealers in general.


Sincerely,

**** *****

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2006 Toyota Prius from Hyundai of Kirkland about six months ago. When we purchased the car, we were told that it had been given a full work up and that the battery had already been checked and it was fine. At the time, the tire pressure light was on and we mentioned that we needed it to be checked. We were told that the service area was closed for the day and that if we came in the next day, the tire would be fixed. When I brought the car in to have the tire checked, we were informed that the tire was irreparable as a nail had punctured it. We attempted to have the dealership absorb the cost of the tire since it should have been caught before the sale and they told us that they couldn't replace it since nothing was in writing. We let it go. Now, about a week ago, all the warning lights appeared on the dash of the car and I discovered that the battery was corroded. After consulting with several technicians, we were informed that it is unlikely that the battery was in sound condition at the time of the sale. Before we purchased the car, we were informed in good faith that the battery was sound. Now, before even a year is up, we will have to pay around $3k to replace the battery, which is half of the value of the car. Conveniently enough, neither of the salespeople we worked with are working for the business.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that Hyundai of Kirkland absorb the cost of replacing the battery and the tire or provides us a car of the same value since we believe they violated a good faith purchase. The battery issue has created safety concerns as the engine could have caught fire and caused injury or death to all passengers. We prefer to settle this privately, but will consider small claims court if it can't be settled in a timely and satisfactory matter.

Business Response: Mrs. ***** purchased her Prius in February of 2015 with 149,299 miles on the vehicle and filed her complaint in November of 2015, nine months later, with unknown additional miles.  At the time of sale, Mrs. ***** was encouraged to purchase an extended warranty at time of sale, which she declined.  We also offer the opportunity for any used car buyer to take their car to a third party mechanic, including the manufacturer of the vehicle if it is not a make we represent, before purchase.  Our used vehicles go through a multipoint inspection before they are sold and the vehicle’s battery was in sound condition at the time of purchase, given the high mileage.  Since the warranty was declined, in writing, and the vehicle was purchased as-is, we can offer a replacement battery at our cost, which would be several hundred less than the $3,000.

If this solution is satisfactory, please contact our Business Development Manager Kristen H***** at************ ** make these arrangements.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we have already received a quote for a battery from Hyundai of Kirkland and it is the same cost as anywhere else. Unless they can offer us something less expensive than $2400 before taxes, there is no point.

They should also check their facts before replying. We were discouraged from purchasing a warranty. We were also never informed that we could take the car for a third party inspection. If the dealership can provide us with the reading from the battery from the inspection, we may reevaluate our claim. I find it hard to believe that the battery was in "good" condition, considering the issues we had immediately after purchasing, if they missed something as simple as a nail in a tire. The battery was still under warranty when we purchased the vehicle -- a replacement would have come at no cost to the dealership.

Sincerely,

******** ***** *****

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hyundai is no longer honoring my service maintenance benefits I'm paying for. Dealership is also trying to repossess my vehicle while I'm two years into payments and currently paying on loan. Unethical business practices is my complaint.

Desired Settlement: Stop harassing me while I'm paying off car loan, and take my appointment requests for oil changes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/22) */ *** *****, Your vehicle is financed through ******* ***** ******** Hyundai of Kirkland has no part in repossessing vehicles once they are sold. If someone is attempting repossession it is *** and you should contact them directly to work out any payment issues that have transpired. As for the oil change, I would be more than happy to set up an appointment for you. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will make sure we get you into our service department as soon as possible. We always honor our service contracts, and I apologize for any miscommunication that may have taken place on this issue. Feel free to contact me with any questions and to set up an appointment for your oil change. Thank you, ******* ****** Business Development Manager Ford Hyundai of Kirkland *******@fordofkirkland.com

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was advised what the price of the vehicle would be by **** *** in writing on August 17th. . When I went to negotiate the final $300.00 off, the manager, ***** **** told me that the numbers **** *** gave me were incorrect and it would be an additional $2,000.00. I showed ***** *** the final total agreed upon price **** *** had given me in writing and he would not honor it.

Desired Settlement: I want to purchase the car for the price **** *** gave me in writing, less the 300.00 I was going to negotiate off. That would mean I would purchase the 2013 Elantra for exactly 17,000 cash and my trade in vehicle. This would include licensing and taxes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/09/16) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern about our business. We have reviewed the emails exchanged between our******* and his Supervisor, *** ***** **** As *** *** has explained, the base price for the vehicle quoted by *** *** did not include sales tax. We typically quote our base price, and state that sales tax and license are in addition. License fees vary greatly, and we also charge a documentation fee. Then, our customer may elect to purchase after market items, or extended service protection, all of which would affect the amount of sales tax due to the State of Washington. In any event, we believe that our sales representative should have been more clear. His email did not spell this out. *** ****** email to *** *****, extracted below, we believe, should have clarified matters. It appears that it did not. We apologize for the misunderstanding. Sincerely, *** and *** ***** when we calculate 9.8% Sales Tax and fees the total vehicle cost is A) Without trade-in : OTD $18,900.61 B) With trade-in USD 750 : OTD $18,150.61 ; if trade-in value USD 1,000 is given new OTD USD 17,900.61

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a new car through Hyundai of Kirkland in June 2013. I traded my current vehicle that I had purchased through Hyundai of Kirkland in towards the new lease. At the signing I was told that the payment I had made the day before towards my loan was not showing in my payoff quote and that I could expect to receive the $286 back in a check in 4 weeks. When 4 weeks rolled around I did receive a check, however it was for $4.00 which was far less than the agreed upon amount. I then emailed my salesman and asked for a resolution as I felt lied to. He emailed back saying that he would notify his manager. I requested that his manager email me and not call me as my work schedule is erratic. Well the manager called and left a voicemail. I emailed him directly twice...he has not yet responded. I email my salesman and asked that he get back to me with an answer again. He told me that he would attend a meeting the next morning and email me by noon. He did not. When I emailed him again he said the same thing about the next day. I still have yet to hear from him. The last email he sent me was on Aug 4th. I have sent him 3 emails since then with no reply. I have also sent contact request through Hyundai's online system twice, with no response. At this point I don't feel like I can trust the company and would only like correspondence in writing, but they don't call me either. I am very frustrated and would like the money that was promised to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the $286 that I was told I would get back because it was not showing in the payoff overage. I have been fighting them about this for 2 months. However it has been a one sided fight for the last month as no one will reply to me. I feel very disappointed and disrespected. I feel cheated and lied to and will never do business with them again. I just want my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ We apologize for the delay in our response. Please add the email ******@fordofkirkland.com to the Hyundai of Kirkland contact information. Typically if a payment is not posted to a customer account before the payoff, the bank that the original loan would refund the customer. In other words, once our check paying off the trade-in was received, and then the customer's final payment was received, there would be an overage, and that would be refunded by the bank, to our mutual customer. Some banks will take longer to post and pay this refund than others. We will contact our customer's original funding bank to enquire about this refund. Our customer could also make this enquiry of their bank. *** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can forward all of the emails that I have sent to and received from your company to you. The emails also show that **** ***** responded to me and acknowledged the conversation we had about the payoff amount not reflecting the payment I had made the day before. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/09/10) */ I would be happy to review these emails. Our customer should request a reconciliation from their bank, showing all payments on the account, including the payoff check we issued. This will enable her to determine if her final payment was credited, and if her bank owes her funds. Unfortunately, we are not able to request this detail on behalf of our customers, due to banking and privacy laws. Sincerely *** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hyundai of Kirkland
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart