BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/09/2013

Hyundai of Bellingham

Find a Location

Phone: (877) 391-1401Fax: (425) 609-67421801 Iowa St, BellinghamWA 98229-4704

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/09/2013

BBB has determined that Hyundai of Bellingham meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Hyundai of Bellingham's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Hyundai of Bellingham's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hyundai of Bellingham
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2004 Nissan Frontier on 9-18-2013 and was assured by the salesman Shane that all was in perfect working order with the truck. That a complete "safety" and mechanical inspection had been done by "The Grey Team"(the sticker was even in the front window of the truck) and that everything mechanical checked out. I purchased the vehicle, paying with cash in the amount of $13,790, which is no small purchase for me. I came to find out a few days later that the vehicle did not have a limited slip as advertised. I went in on that following Saturday to find out why I paid for something that was advertised but was not equiped on the vehicle. The sales manager ***** told me that all the advertising was done by a "third party" and that the vehicles for sale on the lot were not guaranteed to be the same as what was being advertised. He told me that when I purchased the truck that I had entered into a "Third party agreement" and that it was "buyer beware". And that it was my responsibility to make sure that the vehicle was what was advertised. So in fact Rairdon's can't be held responsible for the vehicles they sell. Does that sound right? A heated dicussion ensued and I was told that if I went to small claims court I would be met with Rairdon's "Team of lawyers" and that I would have no chance of winning. I left the building very angry, and was followed out by ***** who was also very angry and I was repeatedly "bull rushed" in the parking lot in a very menacing way. I was then offered my money back for the vehicle, as ***** said he sells 200 cars a year and this is just one sale. But for me it was not an option or a solution as I had already sold my other vehicle and was needing to get to work. I am self-employed and had been looking for another truck for quite some time. This one was perfect for what I needed. I was just asking about the limited slip and why it was advertised and not on the vehicle, especially when I paid for it. The following Monday I brought the vehicle to my mechanic to have a tune up and a tranny service as it was shifting rough from first to second. It was brought to my attention that several problems existed in the truck. The biggest one was that the knock sensor that governs the Supercharger needed to be replaced. The SuperCharger was in "fail safe" mode and not operating. Driving it for any length of time would damage the engine. So much for the complete mechanical check done by your "Grey Team". A few other expensive items were also discovered. The turbine sensor needed replacing, power steering gear box needed replacing, catalytic converter needed replacing, and the "Check Engine Light" had been mechanically disabled. The wire had been cut to the bulb. The check engine light is one of THE most important safety items on any vehicle. It warns of minor and major engine problems. All told approximately $3500 in repairs needed to be done for the truck to be in the shape that I assumed I had paid for it to be in in the first place. Vehicles sold by a dealership are assumed to be in a safe and sound condition. I called back to tell ***** what all the problems were and he only offered to pay for $ 400.00 for the repair of the knock sensor, after some negotiating of course. He initially wanted to pay only $300.00. I had the knock sensor replaced for $ 668.00 and the engine runs just fine now. But he did tell me that buying a used vehicle was "buyer beware" Third party advertising excuses, misrepresentation of a vehicle, third party agreements, buyer beware comments, being bullied, "bull rushed" and intimidated in the parking lot of the dealership, threatened with a team of lawyers, after being assurred the truck had a full safety and mechanical check and that all was in working order. Any one of these would have been bad enough but put them all together and it is unbelievable! Terrible customer service and public relations. In a perfect world, to be fully reimbursed for the repairs needed to get the vehicle to the running and driving condition is what I would hope for. After all, this is what I had assumed I was purchasing to begin with. This is the is the first, and certainly last, experience I have had with Rairdon's. It was not a pleasant one by any means, but felt I needed to voice my opinion with the unprofessionalism at the way I was treated, and the lack of honesty in regards to my vehicle purchase.
Product_Or_Service: 2004 Nissan Frontier SC

Initial Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to *** ****'s concerns. As he states in his letter, our dealership has made attempts to work with him toward a reasonable resolution, although details of our interactions with him have certainly been exaggerated.
After his purchase, *** **** made us aware of an error caused by a third party software vendor which incorrectly listed the vehicle as having a limited slip differential. As the only way our dealership could have possibly found that the vehicle did not, in fact, have this equipment would have involved a partial tear-down and inspection of the vehicle's powertrain, the mistake was regrettable, but understandable. The issue with the third party software has been corrected, and a similar occurrence should not occur in the future. As a result of the error, we offered to simply unwind the purchase as adding a limited slip differential would be nearly impossible, but *** **** stated that this was not an item of great importance, and, and he states in his letter, "this one was perfect for what I needed."

Vehicles which are nearly ten years of age or over 100,000 miles are not reasonably expected to be in new condition, and we certainly did not represent this vehicle as such. With any used vehicle purchase comes a certain amount of risk. Our shop performed a safety check of *** ****'s vehicle, which ensures that it is safe to drive and reasonably roadworthy. This is not to say that issues will not occur after the purchase, and this risk is certainly assumed by the purchaser. ** **** made us aware of other concerns with his vehicle which he was not completely comfortable with, which he believed were present at the time of purchase, although he had not mentioned this to us at that time after being given ample time to inspect the vehicle. Although he had purchased the vehicle "AS-IS," with no warranties promised in writing or verbally, we certainly understood his concerns. Rather than insisting on a second opinion by a mechanic of our choosing, we offered him monetary compensation in an effort to satisfy him. *** **** accepted this compensation, and we believed that he was now satisfied.



Later, we learned that *** **** was not satisfied, and that he was demanding further compensation. We had yet to verify any of his concerns with the mechanical aspects of his vehicle, and are not sure to this date that any of them do, in fact, exist. Rather than arguing further and believing that simply giving more money to him would end in the same fashion as our previous resolution attempt, we agreed to repair the check engine light and seat belt sensors at our shop at our expense. *** **** refused this.

We apologize to *** **** if the communication between he and any employees of our company was not palatable, and will certainly take his feedback into serious consideration. That being said, we do not see a clear path to a reasonable resolution. It cannot be reasonably expected that the well-aged vehicle *** **** purchased should be returned to a condition expected of a brand new vehicle, and our previous attempts to satisfy him by either unwinding the purchase or monetary compensation and complimentary work at our shop have not been successful. We have repeatedly extend an offer to re-connect the check engine light and seat belt sensors which he claims are disconnected, but do not see that further compensation is necessary. Most recently, we made this offer a result of a complaint *** **** made to the Attorney General's office, which he declined. At this time, we see no reason to continue beating this horse, which is surely deal.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why do people go to a new-car dealership to buy a used car or truck? We expect that a used vehicle being sold by a dealership is much less likely to be defective and that its advertised description and features are accurate. We also assume that dealerships charge the public a higher price because they check the vehicles out carefully and don't or won't sell vehicles with major problems that will come back to haunt the buyer or the seller. As I stated in my original letter, which Rairdon's chose to ignore, this is the main reason I went to this dealership.
As stated in their response letter, Rairdon's uses "reasonably roadworthy" as a measure of suitability for sale. That very broad definition leaves plenty of wiggle room to foist problem-rddled vehicles on an unsuspecting public. If I wanted this kind of risk I would have gone to a private party to buy a vehicle at a much lower price. By Rairdon's own admission, dealing with them is "buyer beware". Indeed, my experience has clearly demonstrated that they do not honor the customer-seller relationship by standing behind a vehicle sold off their lot.
The Supercharger on this vehicle, a major engine component, and an option I considered essential to my purchase (I needed a vehicle capable of hauling heavy loads for my business) wasn't even working at the time of purchase. That defect in an important advertised feature would not be discernible in a typical test drive. Indeed, in such cases the public relies on the dealership to do a proper inspection, which would have disclosed this (and other) defects.
The Rairdon's salesman spoke convincingly of the soundness of the vehicle's mechanical status. The "Grey Team" (Rairdon's vehicle inspection team) gave the thumbs up and the price being charged was commensurate with a well-running vehicle of this make, model, vintage and mileage. I discovered the defect shortly after purchase. This speaks to the incompetence of their vehicle inspection process.
Also outlined in previous communications, I have full documentation of additional major mechanical problems found. This vehicle was not even emissions compliant. When I brought these issues to Rairdon's attention they oddly enough did not offer me a full refund as before. They simply offered a minimal "band aid" fix for the problems that would be the most inexpensive to correct.
Yes I bought the vehicle "as is" but it was under the assurance that all was in good working order. The purchase price was reflected in this assurance. Everything I have since read about buying used cars and trucks from new car dealerships has stated that vehicles on the lot are assumed to be in excellent condition. This seems to be an industry standard.,it was definitley NOT the case with my purchase.
Finally, my interactions with Rairdon's staff both before and after the issues with my truck began to surface were consistently poor. In particular, I was treated unprofessionally, to the point of feeling threatened by the Rairdon's General Manager of Bellingham. Attempting to get my complaints resolved by the corporate customer relations manager in the Kirkland office was an exercise in futility. Clearly, this dealership plays by its own set of rules that benefits only their interests, not the interests of their customers. If my experience is any indication of how this company typically operates, then Rairdon's has a long way to go before it can be considered a reputable dealership by the Better Business Bureau's standards.

Thank you for your time in this matter.

Respectfully yours.

Final Business Response
Our business has worked in good faith to come to a reasonable resolution with *** ****. He has not accepted any of our offers after renegotiating following our initial settlement. Now, it seems that he is only interested in rehashing his complaint in perpetuity. At this point, we see no path to a reasonable resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/04/2013Business started: 08/01/2009
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1
Tumwater, WA98501-6561
(800) 451-7985
http://www.dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2007, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Greg Rairdon (President)Customer Contact: Ms Heather Connolly (Office Manager)Mr Micah Madche (Customer Relations Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
DCOB Inc
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hyundai of Bellingham

1801 Iowa St

Bellingham, WA 98229-4704

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1801 Iowa St 

    Bellingham, WA 98229-4704(877) 391-1401

  • PO Box 30950 

    Bellingham, WA 98228-2950

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hyundai of Bellingham is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.