Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honda of Seattle

Phone: (206) 382-8800 Fax: (206) 654-8299 PO BOX 84808, Seattle, WA 98124 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sales and service of new and used cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda of Seattle meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honda of Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1937 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1937
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brad Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Miller, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Patti Willie-Turpen, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Used New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
Sales: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Parts: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Service: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
M N Service Corporation Wa MN One Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honda of Seattle has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO BOX 84808

    Seattle, WA 98124


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought in a 2004 Honda Civic Hybrid w/91,000 miles. IMA and engine light were on. Explained to Randy that I thought my car was having transmission issues and that the other lights were on in the vehicle and described the issues with the transmission not engaging or shifting correctly. Said that the transmission was my main concern in bringing the vehicle, as I was pretty sure that the IMA battery needed to be replaced. Randy offered the DTS inspection as it would give me a clear picture of everything that is malfunctioning in the vehicle including the battery and transmission. Was assured that if Honda missed a diagnosis and I drove off with the vehicle, I could bring it back and have it fixed at no cost. Inspection result came back, via phone call, that I would indeed need a new IMA battery, but that the transmission fluid was dirty and just needed to be flushed and replaced. I agree to the service for approx. $3000. Drove it and saw the airbag light was on and that the car was still not shifting gears properly. Called and they said I could bring it back when I could. I did so and they performed another inspection (for free) and found the transmission needs to be replaced for $2500-5000. After many e-mails, calls, and even a meeting with Randy, Jennifer, and Clayton, they will not take responsibility for their mistake in misdiagnosing the vehicle. Clayton explained that they routinely do not tell customers who have the problems I had, that they do not know why the transmission is not working and will charge them for a new battery anyway. At no point was it discussed that they could not diagnose the transmission w/o first fixing the battery or that this could be an eventuality b/c how the vehicle is built. Honda refunded the money for the transmission flush, would not charge labor, and found reconstructed transmission. While that is nice, it is not what I was assured or what I will settle for. There is a disconnect of what Honda views as their fault, and mine.

Desired Settlement: I want the agreement that Honda would fix the problem at no cost to be honored. Three thousand dollars is a very different number from potentially $8,000.00 in repairs. After a heated discussion with Randy, I agreed that I would accept a full refund and they could take the new battery back and I go back to square one with my bad battery. Clayton said that my old battery was no longer available and that it was not even a possibility due to safety and Honda protocol. While I do believe they are trying to make this right, I also recognize that their attempts do not fulfill their end of the agreement and that purposefully withholding information from a client in order to make a profit is not something I am willing to let go. I hope to resolve this amicably.

Business Response:


Please find attached our response to Ms. ******.


Please let me know if there is anything else needed from Honda of Seattle to close this claim.


Thank You




Thank you for taking time to contact Honda of Seattle to explain the issues ******* ****** has encountered recently. We regret any inconvenience ******* has experienced, and would like to take this opportunity to respond to *******’s complaint.

*******, came to Honda of Seattle for service on June 15, 2016 – Repair Order ******, with a complaint of her vehicle’s check engine light being on and requesting to diagnose why. The diagnostic charge includes pulling the data list with a Honda scanner and up to one hour of diagnosis. More time may be required to adequately diagnose the concern. Customer also stated that the IMA battery light is on as well.

During inspection of this vehicle our Honda Technician verified that the compliance bushing were excessively worn/loose and that the engine oil level was excessively low. These items were marked as failing. At this appointment, our Honda Technician also verified the customers concern. He retrieved DTC P1433 IMA battery deterioration was present. Technician erased code and test drove the vehicle. Technician found DTC light reappeared on test drive and that the IMA battery was faulty and also was in failed status. Technician recommended replacing IMA battery, replace both front lower compliance bushings, and to change engine oil and filter.

*******, approved the replacement of the IMA battery, performing an oil and filter change and replacing the transmission fluid which was an item listed in the caution area of the vehicle’s inspection.

On July 1, 2016 – Repair Order 286296, ******* ******, returned to our dealership to have the driver and passenger airbag safety recall performed and stated that the transmission seems to not be engaging properly and that the vehicle’s airbag light is on.

During the inspection, our Honda Technician test drove the vehicle, and experience a whining noise coming from the drive train and the vehicle jerking while cruising. Technician, did not feel any shudder from the start clutch. Scanned for IMA and A/T transmission diagnostic trouble codes, but did not find any stored at this time. Using stethoscope, our Technician found that the noise was most apparent at the transmission end cover and pan areas. Technician, then inspected transmission fluid and found the fluid to be clean, but having a non-Honda ATF odor. Technician verified proper CVT fluid was replaced at last visit and level is at the top mark. Technician was also informed that these symptoms were present prior to last transmission service, indication the problem did not improve with a CVT fluid replacement. Technician also diagnosed that the airbag light that was on was due to a faulty seatbelt buckle. (Service Advisor, ordered seatbelt buckle) Technician recommends complete transmission replacement.

On July 20, 2016 – Repair order 286599, ******* returned to have her vehicle’s driver side seatbelt buckle replaced through warranty. ******* also requested that she would like options for her transmission repair besides a complete replacement. *******, also stated that she would like to talk with Randy F*** (Service Manager) about the repair costs. Technician recommended to replace transmission with a remanufactured part as the first option and possible LKQ (used transmission/junk yard) as second option.

*******, spoke with Randy and I during this visit shared her frustration with the event of not knowing she may still need a transmission replacement at the time of her IMA battery replacement, which she incurred a cost $3317.50. (RO # ******) *******, stated - had she known that she may still need to replace the transmission for and additional $4000.00, she would have chosen a different option. Randy, explained that when a vehicle comes in for these type of complaints, it is a two part process, and that we would not be able to diagnose the transmission complaint without replacing the failed IMA battery. *******, was not happy with this response and asked to speak with, Clayton B****** –Service Director. Clayton, spoke with ******* and stated that he would see how we could assist in the cost of replacing the transmission on her vehicle.

To resolve this issue, on August 8, 2016, I personally spoke with *******, and offered to replace her vehicle’s transmission at no cost to her. I will call her with updated information as soon as a part has been located and is on transit to our dealership.




Jennifer L***

Customer Relations Manager



Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

To whom it may concern,


I am now answering the message from Honda of Seattle as I received my car back from them hours ago. 


I thank the team for agreeing to replace the transmission with a remanufactured option and getting it completed in two days. I also opted to pay for the new compliance bushings as recommended. When I was waiting to fill in paperwork, I saw a service technician kicking my back tire and then he said a nail had punctured the side. Honda put on two new tires in the same appointment. The bushings and tire replacement amounted to a little over $700 after tax. The engine light is still on and I don't know it was ever addressed from the initial service except to perform the oil and filter change. I am hoping the engine light goes off within three days of driving the car normally and not because of any issues involving the transmission that needed to be replaced but wasn't until one month after filing this complaint. After reading Honda's response, I also want to address that no one explained it was a two step process to see to the battery then the transmission before service was performed. I also don't think the Honda service technicians are trained well enough to know when a car is not driving normally and they rely solely on the computers. I knew there was a problem with the transmission even after the service technicians said there were no issues with it twice. The car is driving without any bumps or hesitations in accelerating or braking as there had been before replacing the transmission. I want to thank the team again for replacing the transmission, but I will probably not return for any future service and will return to my regular mechanic.


******* ******

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct 2015, I brought my 2012 Honda Civic to Honda of Seattle to fix a low tire pressure indicator on my dashboard that keeps turning on every 3-4 weeks, even after I've repeatedly filled the tire(s) with air to its recommended pressure. Service Rep Elizabeth told me a wheel alignment will correct the problem. In order to fix the problem once and for all, I agreed to pay more than a $100 for a wheel alignment. A few weeks later, the indicator light turned on again. (To date, the problem has not been fixed.) On Dec 2015, I contacted Service Manager Clayton to explain the problem. Additionally, I asked for a refund on the wheel alignment charge. Per Clayton's request, I scheduled a 2nd appointment for the same problem on Jan 9, 2016. I spoke to Servce Rep Elizabeth who, this time, said she did not say a wheel alignment will solve the problem. There were no other problems with my car that would justify my paying that significant amount of money for a wheel alignment. I was there to get the low tire pressure indicator light to work properly. I trusted what the Service Rep that I, even paid the money in order to fix the problem. It's apparent, she was wrong in diagnosing the problem. The low tire pressure indicator light problem is still not resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the cost of the wheel alignment PLUS reimbursement of the gas and time I spent on those two appointments.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** had her 2012 Honda Civic in for service on 9/19/15.  Her concerns were that her tire light was on.  At that time we advised “all four tires were the same at about 24 PSI.  There’s no visible punctures in any of them.  Set tire pressures to a little above recommended pressure, which is 30psi.  This should correct the problem, probably caused by low overnight temperatures and higher humidity.”  We completed this adjustment at no cost.  We also recommended wiper inserts and an alignment due to front and rear tow being out of specification (see attached).  Ms. ***** authorized these two recommendations, which we performed.  See documentation of alignment, before and after specifications.

On January 9, 2016 Ms ***** brought her vehicle in for a tire light concern.  We recalibrated the tire pressure monitoring system with the on board tire computer.  Ms. ***** feels she should be reimbursed for the alignment.  We have advised Ms. ***** the alignment was not related to the tire light, and per the alignment print out, her vehicle required an alignment to prevent tire wear etc., which she authorized last visit.   Like the first visit, Ms. ***** incurred no cost for us to perform this recalibration of the tire pressure system.

If Ms. ***** is still experiencing tire light concerns, we welcome her to contact us for further assistance with that matter.  As of this date, we have had no contact with Ms. ***** regarding her tire light concern.


Clayton B******

Service Director

Honda of Seattle

Store: 206.382.8828

Cell: ************


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

When I brought my car in to Honda of Seattle, I was hoping to get the low tire pressure light resolved in one visit.  I trusted that what the service rep (Elizabeth) said - that the wheel alignment will take care of the low tire pressure light turning on.  That's the reason why I agreed to pay for the wheel alignment.  I wanted the problem resolved even if it meant paying for it.  I bought a new 2012 Civic and have no wheel alignment issues. When Elizabeth said wheel alignment will resolve it, I believed her.  It was apparent that she was wrong because the low tire pressure light turned on, as usual, in 3-4 weeks.  My car was still under warranty so Honda of Seattle is obligated to fix this problem at no cost. I have made 2 visits and phone conversations and messages for the Service Manager.  I hold them accountable for what they say.  This is a reasonable compensation for the hassle, time and trouble I've been through with the dealer.


******* *****

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 01 Honda Accord from Honda of Seattle with recent service record from dealership. When i returned to the dealership months later for break repair i was told i would need a new timing belt and water pump, even though those services were reported to be done before purchase. Was offered discounted service before argument with the dealership resulted in them accepting fault and preforming required service without charge. At that time they were asked to also service the transmission that has been promised at purchase as well. the service was not perfumed at that time and the car was returned after belt service. 1 Week later the transmission they had not serviced started to have issues. After another long battle with the dealership my car was towed from my home for service at the dealership. After they had the car for almost 3 weeks with no communication on what the status was, i called and waited for 45 mins to be told they had sent my car to another shop without informing me. After over a month my car was finally returned to me with all the contents of the glovebox thrown all over the car and a broken center console. i was told they would get me the replacement part. After less than 1 week the transmission started to have the same issue as before. After calling to complain again the dealership again accepted fault and took my car and sent it out for service. After another two weeks the car was returned and when i sat in it at the dealership and tried to put it in gear i already knew it was messed up and has the sevicer manger Clayton come to check it out and he said it was normal. Meanwhile the break are still squeaking which was the original problem still not fixed on top of all the others they had created. i demanded that they fix my car properly and was told by Clayton that they would no longer help me and he proceeded to call the police when i tried to ask him more questions. This is only a brief description. Please contact me by phone for full details.

Desired Settlement: (At the cost of Honda of Seattle) i desire to have Honda of Seattle preform a full inspection & diagnostic on the vehicle to determine the cause of the repeated issue with the transmission that started after the timing belt work they did. I desire Honda of Seattle to fully fix all existing problems with the transmission, engine and breaks (that were all caused by their neglect or fraudulent practices), within their shop (no outsource or 3rd party), as well as all other damages associated with this time period (door dents & interior damage). i desire Honda of Seattle to provide a loner vehicle for the time of service. And I desire a reinstatement of the warranty from Honda of Seattle that came with the car at the time I purchased it from the dealership, with all the work that was fraudulently reported to be done, freshly completed.

Business Response:

Please see attached response.
Please let me know if you have any questions.
Thank You


Dear ******** ****,


Thank you for taking time to contact Honda of Seattle to explain the issues ****** ******** has encountered recently. We regret any inconvenience Mr. ******** has experienced, and would like to take this opportunity to respond to Mr. ********** complaint.


Mr. ******** purchased a 2001 Honda Accord on 6.15.14 with 122,284 miles. Mr. ******** also purchased a Century extended warranty with the purchase of his 2001 Honda Accord.


On 9.27.14, Mr. ******** brought his vehicle in for “we-owes” that were promised at time of purchase, which include: Fix-Driver door handle is loose, inside driver door panel is hanging loose, and rock chip.


On 10.23.14, Mr. ******** returned to have one of his tires patched.


On 11.3.14, Mr. ******** brought his vehicle in for a regular scheduled maintenance. “A” service which is an oil with filter change. Mr. ******** was charged $53.69


On 11.12.14, Mr. ******** brought his vechicle in to have recommended transmission fluid exchange performed and to replace two tires. Mr. ******** was charged $347.67.


On 2.16.15, Mr. ******** returned to have his driver’s side airbag recall campaign resolved and with a request to diagnose why the check engine light is on. At this time the codes were cleared and light was reset to recreate problem. Problem could not be recreated and car was running properly at this time. Mr. ********, was not charged for diagnoses.


On 3.26.15, Mr. ********, came back to our service department with the complaint that the check engine light had come back on. Found that cylinders 1, 2, 4, and 5 were misfiring. No charge for diagnoses.


On 4.8.15, Mr. ******** returned to Honda of Seattle’s service department to have front brake pads replaced and rotors machined. Rear brake calipers replaced and motor mount replaced. Honda of Seattle absorbed the cost for the diagnosis of brake noise concern and the replacement of rotors and brake pads.


On 4.24.15, Mr. ********, brought his car in for timing belt, water pump and drive belts replacement, front brake rotor replacement. Mr. ******** was not charged for this service. This service was not charged to Mr. ********. Honda of Seattle absorbed the cost of this repair internally.


On 6.27.15, Mr. ********** vehicle was towed to Honda of Seattle and request diagnosis on check engine light. Technician found 3rd pressure switch failure, shift malfunction and A/T system failure. Vehicle is in need of automatic transmission replacement. Honda of Seattle absorbed the amount not covered by his contract due to be being maxed out.  Century paid for the transmission 3/36 warranty reman.  We paid the $700 for the rental and for the remainder of the transmission cost as his contact would only cover $2675. Approximately one month after Mr. ******** took possession of his vehicle, he started to experience the same issues prior to the transmission replacement. Honda of Seattle took possession of the said vehicle once again and had to have it transported to ************ *************** *** *** due to warranty stipulations. Once again, Mr. ******** was given a rental vehicle at Honda of Seattle’s expense to ensure excellent customer service


When Mr. ******** came to pick up his vehicle, he was shown to my (Jennifer L***, Customer Relations Manager) office to go over any and all concerns. I went through and gathered all warranty information for Mr. ******** and then walked him to his vehicle. Once at his vehicle, he thanked me for my time and got into his car. Once I was walking away he came to me and told me that his center console was missing. Without even a question, Clayton, Honda of Seattle’s Service Director asked me to please have one ordered and installed at no cost to Mr. ********.


Clayton B****** states:

“On August 18th Mr. ******** again complained about transmission concerns with the vehicle.  We sent the vehicle out to the remanufacturing repair facility, at their direction.  They repaired the vehicle.  During this time Mr. ******** was in a Honda of Seattle loaner vehicle at no charge to him.  When Mr. ******** returned for pick up, he refused to take the car indicating that the shift from park to drive seemed too rough.  We tested the shift and felt nothing abnormal for this vehicle.  We advised that we were done with the repair and that he needed to take the vehicle.  At this point Mr. ******** started to film the conversation and starting acting out of control.  We then called the Seattle Police Department to have him removed from the facility.  

Mr. ******** has a great warranty on the transmission.  Mr. ******** has been provided the warranty telephone number of the remanufacturing facility if he is still having concerns with the transmission.  As far as Honda of Seattle is concerned, Mr. ******** is no longer welcome at our facility.”

Honda of Seattle has gone above expectations on appeasing Mr. ******** and repairing a used vehicle bought “As Is”. His vehicles mileage for his last service was 141,974. Honda of Seattle has absorbed cost exceeding $6,000.00.  Please feel free to contact me for any additional information concerning Mr. ********** case.


Jennifer L***

******** ********* ******* ************




Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Honda of Seattle sold this vehicle to me "as is" with a report of a freshly serviced transmission, timing belt and water pump package, oil change etc (among other recently performed maintenance services). It was discovered by Honda of Seattle technician Jason H***** at the dealership that these services were in fact recorded in their computer system but had no parts or job numbers associated with the work order. His visual inspection confirmed the work had never been done. At this point Honda of Seattle accepted personal responsibility for their lies and damages caused by their negligence and fraudulent claims at time of sale. Honda of Seattle took the vehicle under their care with the agreement they would fix the outstanding issues and service the car to the standards it was sold under. Only a timing belt and water pump package was competed at that time and the transmission issues stared after this visit. Honda of Seattle again agreed that they were liable. This is why they took my car again with the understanding they were again personally responsible. They then sent my vehicle off to a third party for a month without my knowledge or consent. They do not get to pass the car issues they've created off to another shop of their choosing and try to force me to do business with someone I would have never taken my car to. The service manager Clayton has lied to me repeatedly throughout this entire process and when he was faced with undeniable proof and I attempted to question him while video recording, so he would be held responsible for his words, he proceeded to tell me he was done with me and he was calling the police before he went back to his office room to shut the door. I stayed at the dealership and happily spoke with the police officers that arrived in the front parking lot, since I was in no rush to take my obviously broken car out on the roads. I don't have all the time in the world to waste trying to explain basic accountability... The simple facts are : It doesn't matter if Honda of Seattle spent a million dollars to try to fix thing if the car is still experiencing the same problems. No dealership just "absorbs" thousands of dollars worth of cost like they're claiming unless they are liable. The car is still not functioning properly, experiencing the same repeated transmission issues. I've only experienced more problems and damages to my car since this started. This situation has greatly effected my entire life with massive stress, causing loss of sleep and appetite, further causing interruptions to my work patterns resulting in detriment to my income. All previously stated desires are to be met by Honda of Seattle immediately.


****** ********

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came in to Honda of Seattle's new location (On airport way in SODO) on Saturday 4/11/2015 to do the 100K service to my Civic. I called the day before and scheduled an appointment at 9 AM. I arrived at exactly 9 AM that day. and it took a total of 7 hours to service my car! I remember leaving the service center at around 4 PM. I wasn't planning on spending my entire Saturday in the dealership. Also, I'm wondering what's the point of scheduling appointments if I'm going to end up staying for 7 hours. I don't think it saved anytime at all. Second thing is, during my wait, I took the shuttle to downtown Seattle to waste a couple of hours. My pickup window time was between 2 PM and 3 PM, I was at the pickup location at exactly 2 PM. The driver arrived at 3:15 PM. When I asked him why he was late, he said that he was just told to come pick me up. Lastly, the next day after my service, the "Check engine" light started lighting up in the car. Now the reason that I get the car serviced at the dealership is to ensure that I get best quality service with no room for mistakes. I hope nothing got messed up as part of the service. If that light does not go away in a couple of days, I intend to take it back to them. But I am reluctant to do so as I do not want to spend another 7 hours there. Overall, I am very dissatisfied with the experience. And I was expecting more from the official Honda service center.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to investigate and fix the new "Check engine" light issue. and I am not willing to pay for that as that issue resulted from their incomplete service. I also do not expect to wait another 7 hours while they do that.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau,
I would like to apologize for the significant amount of time it has taken me to respond to your request regarding **** ********, case # ********.
Since our recent move to our new facility and the significant expansion of American Honda’s airbag safety recall campaign we have come across many difficulties in addressing additional issues. I am truly grateful for you bringing this case to our attention.
As Mr. **** ******** explained in his letter, his vehicles service took 7 hours. This is due to the services that needed to be done to Mr. **** ********’s vehicle. Mr. ********, had his transmission serviced, oil change, rear brake pads replaced and machined the rotors, rear brake pads resurfaced and lube caliper pins, rotation of tires, spark plugs replaced, engine valve clearance inspection, and head gasket cover checked.  After Mr. **** ********’s service he noticed that his check engine light came on. On 6.25.15 Honda of Seattle performed a complimentary diagnostics to address the issue regarding the check engine light, one of Honda of Seattle’s technician’s found the EGR wire to be unplugged. The wire was then plugged back in as of today we have had no complaints from Mr. ******** regarding this issue.
Again, we would like to apologize for the length of time we have taken to get back to you regarding **** ********’s case.

Jennifer L***
Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ********

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went in for an oil change and tire rotation. They added a bunch of other jobs that they said I need and then replaced my all terrain tires with bald ones. Then told me I needed new tires. When my car had less than 30,000 miles on it and most big SUV tires are good for 60,000 miles. They quoted me a price of $550+ to replace my tires I knew it was just because I was a woman and they thought I wouldn't notice or something? When my tire light came on I checked my tires that's when I noticed they were NOT the same tires as when I had purchased my car back in 2012. I asked they manager if there was anything they could to do; investigate, etc. but they told nothing and they had no cameras int he workshop. The burden of proof was on my me so I tried to contact the dealer be they never found the original pictures. So that is why I want to make a formal complaint with the BBB. I would also like the owners name so I can write to them personally. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like my old beefy tires back. But instead of fighting with them or going to court, etc. I just decided to replace the tires at Les Schwab who will guarantee my tires for another 60,000 miles and they are known for their great customer service! I believe I mention this earlier but I would my formal complaint to go to the owners of this company and in the future have cameras installed in their workshops so this does NOT happen to anyone else.

Business Response: October 16, 2014 - Ms. **** brought her 2010 Honda CRV in for the first time to our Service Department for a B1 Service. During the Vehicle Inspection, the technician measured the front tires tread depth at 3/32 and the rear tires at 2/32 and marked them as Red (failed). The Service Advisor gave Ms. **** an estimate to replace all four tires as well as other additional service recommendations and Ms. **** declined all of them. There was no discussion about the condition of the tires at that time.
November 15, 2014 - Ms. **** called and asked to speak to a manager. She indicated that she believed we had replaced her "expensive tires with bad tires" when she was here for her service in October. We told her that we would do a complete investigation. Ms. **** indicated that she had recent photos of her "expensive new tires" and that she would email them to us.
November 18, 2014 - Ms. **** sent an email saying she could not find the photos. She also disputed the fact that we had no previous history records of her vehicle to compare the tire tread depth to. We requested that she provide any copies of her service statements that she might have so that we could further investigate.
November 19, 2014 - Ms. **** e-mailed us photos of tires on her vehicle. She said that she could not find any records of service having been done here prior to the October, 2014 visit. Ms. **** indicated she wanted to research her past records to verify that she had serviced her vehicle with us and that it might take a while to find them.
November 25, 2014, 3:58 p.m. - Ms. **** emailed asking if we had received the photos and why we had not responded to her last email. She escalated her threat to include social media, the better business bureau and the State attorney's office.
November 25, 2014, 4:03 p.m. - We responded to Ms. **** immediately, apologizing and letting her know she had asked for additional time to find her records and we had just been waiting to hear from her, as she requested, so we could complete our investigation.
It has been our desire as an automotive customer service business to always provide the best in customer service since our beginning in 1986. Our business is built on a relationship of trust with our customers. It would not make any sense for us to remove Ms. ****'s tires from the wheels and remount other used tires in their place. This would be immoral, unethical and illegal for us to do. Furthermore, since we recycle all old tires and don't stock used tires in the technician stalls, it would be exceptionally difficult for one of our technicians to perform this task as well.
We understand Ms. ****'s concern that her tires that she previously thought were in excellent condition, are actually due for replacement. Since we have had no previous service history with Ms. ****, we cannot comment regarding what condition her tires were in prior to this service.
Thank you for the opportunity to present this information to the Better Business Bureau. If there is anything more that we can do, we would be happy to help.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have no record of my past oil change I couldn't find it in my bank records but I'm sure I was there for one and could have paid cash. I really don't see how that affects this outcome. And they mention receiving my tire photos but have no response to what they saw - they are not the same tires that I had in the first place prior to going into their shop for service. My tires may have been stolen but I don't see thieves replacing all 4 of them either. I know it's my word against theirs and there's nothing really left to do about this situation since I've already replaced my tires thru les schwab. I advise they put cameras in the shop from now on so this doesn't happen again. That is my wish; it's so inexpensive nowadays to have them installed. Plus, I wanted my complaint to be known by the owner of Honda of Seattle. I'm sure they'd liked to know about my concerns and complaint. And finally, agree with their statement. This incident regarding my tires. was immoral, unethical and illegal. All for an lousy extra $500+ dollars. Thank you.

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: //Email transcript available as required// //Signed menu agreement available as required// We were searching for a Honda Fit 2015 EX. After contacting many dealers we found there were not many competitive deals on this car due to supply and demand (demand higher than supply). However, we were quoted a great price from Honda of Seattle, which they ultimately reneged on saying they made an error. Below is the sequence of events: 10/14 - My wife ******** ******) got a price quote in email from a salesperson named ***. The price was $18,125 for a total of 20,223.50 with fees. 10/15 - We had not seen a price that low, and asked *** to confirm the price was for the EX model as an automatic (not manual). She confirmed this was true on the same day. 10/20 - ******* sent this email: "You sent a quote of $18,125 for 2015 Honda Fit EX Automatic. Is this still valid this weekend? I am looking for one of the silver colors, but could be flexible on this for the right price. I need to walk out including ALL taxes and fees, for less than $20,000" 10/20 - *** responded: "For the EX automatic, the price is definitely $18,125. With taxes at 9.8%, the licensing fee to the state of Washington, and the $150 documentation fee, the total cost to you would be just over $20K at $20,223.50." 10/20 - We agreed to the price, ******* signed a menu for the $20,223.50 quoted price. *** ordered the car in the color we were seeking and let us know she would contact us when to pick it up. 10/30 - *** calls ******* letting us know the car is instock and we need to pick up in 24 hours or they would put the car on the lot for sale to anyone. We had to re-arrange work schedules and confirmed we would pick car up same day at the price of $20,223.50. *** confirmed the price. ******* asked if a cashiers check would work for payment in the amount of $20,223.50. *** confirmed this would be "perfect" method of payment. 10/30 @ 4pm - We arrive at dealer and meet with ***. She seats us and there are many delays to "print up the paperwork" and deliver to us. Eventually 20-30min later *** arrives with the paperwork and reluctantly says the price she quoted was wrong and the new price should be $21,101.90 (a difference of $878.40, which is significant). She blamed the error on a new sales manager ********* who was not present at the day/time we were at the sales office. We let her know she needed to honor the price regardless of mistake because we signed a "menu" agreement. She said they would not honor the price, nor would they make any concessions to acknowledge their error. I let her know we likely would not have gone with her dealership if we knew the car was the same price. She then said I should go to another dealership to buy the car if I felt that way. I then escalated to see her sales manager. 10/30 @ 5pm - A sales manager by the name of **** came to confirm they had made a mistake which was someone elses fault. They would not honor the original quote and would not make any concessions to correct the error. I told them they put me in a very compromising situation holding a cashiers check over $20k and no options for recourse. They had no response, and mentioned they need to honor their 1-time price commitment. I pointed out the 1 price they gave me was wrong, and they again said this was a mistake they could not/would not correct at this time. They let me know they would easily be able to sell the car to someone else at full price if we walked off the lot (per ***). 10/30 @ 5:30pm - I discussed with my wife, and while we felt extremely wronged, we did not feel it was a good option to carry a large cashiers check and we should buy the auto having no other options. Also, this was a gift for my wife's birthday, and personally I wanted to avoid the disappointment of waiting several more weeks without a car to transport her to/from work. 10/30 @ 5:45pm - We bought the car reluctantly at the 21,101.90 price and paid the difference on debit card.

Desired Settlement: I want the business to honor the price they quoted per multiple email confirmations and menu agreement. They had multiple opportunities to double check and made an error that they need to own. We want to be reimbursed $878.40.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/14) */ To whom it may concern; Thank you for bringing *** ******'s complaint to our attention. It is Honda of Seattle's goal to provide our guests excellent customer service in all aspects of the services we offer. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. Please see below for detailed information pertaining to our correspondence with *** and **** ******. On 9/12/2014 ******* ****** contacted Honda of Seattle via the company website to request a pricing information on a 2015 Honda Fit EX-L with Navigation. Honda of Seattle has recently changed our overall philosophy and business model to create a transparent and customer centric approach to servicing our guests. *** ****** was provided pricing information with a $100 savings from MSRP on a specific in stock vehicle. Upon receiving the pricing information *** ****** responded asking if there was an additional discount if he paid cash for the vehicle. At that time the Sales Associate ******* ******* advised the customer there are no additional discounts. The customer stated he had received lower prices from other dealers on September 15th and would be moving forward with a purchase elsewhere. On 10/14/2014 ******* ****** contacted Honda of Seattle again to request pricing information on the 2015 Honda Fit EX. The pricing information was again provided with a $100 savings from MSRP. *** ****** was informed the Honda Fit was not an in stock vehicle as it was currently in transit. The MSRP for the afore mentioned Honda Fit was obtained from the ******** ***** website which is not VIN / Stock number specific. On 10/20/2014 the sales consultant (*** ******** responded informing *** ****** there was a $100 savings from MSRP and this was subject to review of destination charges. *** and **** ****** were advised we would contact them as soon as the vehicle arrived at Honda of Seattle to allow them the opportunity to see the vehicle and be presented the available purchase options. All Honda of Seattle customers are provided pricing information and as disclosed at the bottom of all emails it is subject to in stock vehicles and is not an obligation to purchase. ******* ***** displays all vehicle MSRP's without destination fees as it varies based on the location of the individual dealership and is subsequently annotated on the window label and factory invoice. In this particular instance the MSRP was quoted without the necessary destination fee as the vehicle was in transit. On 10/30/2014 *** and **** ****** were contacted and informed the vehicle has arrived at Honda of Seattle. Upon arrival ******* ****** was upset with the difference in pricing from the previous conversation. ******* ****** (the on shift manager) apologized to *** and **** ****** for the misunderstanding and explained the breakdown of the destination charges and the difference of in stock vehicles and the pricing as outlined on the ******** ***** Website. ******* explained to Mr. and **** ****** there was no obligation to move forward with the purchase of the vehicle. Our goal at Honda of Seattle is to provide all of our guests a transparent purchase process. Honda of Seattle provides pricing information for informational purposes for our guests with no obligation of purchase. ******* thanked *** and **** ****** for the opportunity to earn their business and explained he understood if they chose not to move forward. ******* ****** requested free floor mats at which time ******* again apologized for the pricing miscommunication and explained it would be a violation of the Transparency Business Model. ******* ****** requested a few moments alone to speak with his wife. After a short while *** and **** ****** agreed to move forward with the purchase. Again we thank you for the opportunity to respond to *** ******'s complaint and will continue to strive to provide a transparent automotive shopping experience to our guests. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The narrative provided by the business for 10/14 and 10/20 are incorrect. They did not provide a price $100 off MSRP. The price was $878.40 lower than MSRP. We have all email correspondence to verify the same. Per my original complaint the sequence: 10/14 - My wife ******** ******) got a price quote in email from a salesperson named ***. The price was $18,125 for a total of 20,223.50 with fees. 10/15 - We had not seen a price that low, and asked *** to confirm the price was for the EX model as an automatic (not manual). She confirmed this was true on the same day. 10/20 - ******* sent this email: "You sent a quote of $18,125 for 2015 Honda Fit EX Automatic. Is this still valid this weekend? I am looking for one of the silver colors, but could be flexible on this for the right price. I need to walk out including ALL taxes and fees, for less than $20,000" 10/20 - *** responded: "For the EX automatic, the price is definitely $18,125. With taxes at 9.8%, the licensing fee to the state of Washington, and the $150 documentation fee, the total cost to you would be just over $20K at $20,223.50." The business mentions a statement at the bottom of their emails which provides the business protection from price shifts such as these. The language is (in very small font and italics): "*All quotes are subject vehicle availability on an in stock model and exclude tax, title, and licensing fees unless otherwise stated. Financing is subject to credit approval and at the discretion of the bank." I would've assumed we were paying the grand total inclusive of all fees per the language in ***'s email on 10/20: "Hi ******** Attached is a menu for stock #XXXXXX a 2015 Honda Fit EX CVT in Modern Steel Metallic. If this is the right car, please sign the bottom, scan it, and email to me to reserve this vehicle. Ignore the fact that there are financing terms, you would just pay the "grand total" with a personal check, cashiers check, or wire transfer. May all your travels be safe, *** ******* Consultant with Honda of Seattle " The statement regarding ******* ********* explanation of destination charges is inaccurate. I pointed out this difference in charge and there was no info given on the price difference other than it was a "mistake made be new sales manager, Mario". We requested they make an effort to correct their mistake by honoring the price and/or consider any concessions as there was no contention they made a mistake in pricing leaving me holding a cashiers check addressed to Honda of Seattle. While waiting for ******* I mentioned to *** we would've gone to another dealer if we knew this was the correct price. At that point, *** encouraged us to walk off the lot a buy from another dealer. I felt this was an inappropriate challenge to a customer where the business made a large pricing mistake. Also concerning, *** mentioned she likely sent the same incorrect pricing to several customers in email and considered this comical. Finally, the business already violated their transparency business model by quoting a price lower than what was presented in person. We agreed to move forward with the purchase because we did not feel we had any better options. We did not feel comfortable walking off the lot with over $20,000 in cash and also were depending on the vehicle to transport my wife to work. Despite the inaccuracies of the business' account above, they make no mention of how they will correct these actions nor provide a good customer experience moving forward. I feel the business must honor the original price quoted to maintain their transparency business model. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/29) */ November 29, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive St 222 DuPont, WA XXXXX Re: Mr. ****** ****** Case#: XXXXXXXX We have read Mr. ******'s complaint to your office, and we agree with his concern that our team could had done a much better job in their communications regarding the MSRP of the inbound Honda Fit. We sincerely apologized to Mr. ****** regarding our miss-communication. Mr. ****** was aware that he was under no obligation to purchase from Honda of Seattle. Mr. ****** was given the same opportunity as any other Guest to purchase the vehicle for $100 off MSRP, and was made fully aware he was under no obligation to purchase from us. Mr. ****** had done his research on-line and is an informed shopper, and after consulting with Mrs. ******, they made the decision that Honda of Seattle had the best overall price, and moved forward with the purchase of the vehicle. Customer service is our number one priority here at Honda of Seattle and we thank you for providing us an opportunity to respond. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In order to resolve I wish to know what processes or protocol the business will change to ensure this scenario does not happen to another customer. While the business has admitted the issue, there has been no solution proposed to fix moving forward.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honda of Seattle
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart