BBB Accredited Business since

Honda of Fife

Phone: (253) 922-2673 Fax: (253) 922-1754 View Additional Phone Numbers 4301 20th St E, Fife, WA 98424 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hondaoffife.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales as well as service and parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda of Fife meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda of Fife include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Honda of Fife
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1985 Business started locally: 06/01/1985 Business incorporated 11/21/1988 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Lee, President Mrs. Renee Lee, Vice President Mr. Chris Wolfe, GFM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Lee, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Wolfe, GFM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 5pm
Sunday 8am - 4pm

Service
Monday, Wednesday, Friday 7am - 6pm
Tuesday 7:30am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 5pm
Sunday 8am - 4pm

Parts
Monday - Friday 7am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 5pm
Sunday 8am - 4pm
Alternate Business Names
Dean Lee Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honda of Fife has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4301 20th St E

    Fife, WA 98424 (253) 922-2673 (888) 228-9722 (888) 229-2956 (888) 228-9858

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom this may concern, Hello, My name is ****** *. ***** and I am attempting to resolve an issue that I have with Honda of Fife and their financing practices.On Sunday January 3, 2016, I arrived at Honda of Fife to look at an 2005 Honda S2000. I have a conversation with one Lorenzo H**** (salesman) about the vehicle for some time and I eventually decided to take the plunge and purchase the vehicle. I am currently a Boeing Credit Union member and have had auto loans through them in the past. I made the salesman aware that I would only be dealing with BECU directly as I have, meaning that I will apply for an auto loan through my credit union personally and cut them a check for the agreed sales amount. That way, I would only have to deal with BECU after I purchase the vehicle. Lorenzo informed me that Honda of Fife sales department is partnered up with BECU and directly works with them, even on weekends (closed to public on Sundays) for dealer services, eliminating me as a unnecessary middle man. I agreed to proceed with Dexter S******** (finance) and sign documentation for said amount and to be financed through BECU, for 8.99%. I call the next day, Monday to verify all is well. Shanoah, one of the sales representative that originally assisted me over the phone, reassures me that all is well. I get a call on Tuesday from Jim, stating that I have to come in and fill out an application for Sound Credit Union. When I question why, he is unable to give me a direct answer. I get a call from dexter the next day, Wednesday and he tells me that my BECU rate has gone up to 18.99% and I need to sign with Sound Credit Union, after they have collected my down payment of $7000 and signed paperwork. I am now forced to apply with Sound Credit Union, which I did not wish to do. I had a close friend accompany me to bear witness to our conversations at the dealership Sun, Jan 2, 2016. I was promised multiple times by multiple different people that I would only be dealing with BECU

Desired Settlement: It has been extremely difficult trying to reach someone at the dealership for some answers. I leave many messages and call back request with no replies. I wish to purchase the vehicle for what was agreed upon at the time of sale, not renegotiate for the vehicle after I have already took delivery and made a down payment. The dealer has been really getting in the way of my work flow, calling me multiple times a day between 8-5. This has been a huge disruption and affecting my income as I have to leave work, during work hours to visit my bank and speak with a representative about my auto loan. I feel concerned about the empty promises and putting myself into a corner where I have no other option but to agree to sign with whomever finance company they choose. I am a highly dissatisfied customer of Honda of Fife and I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future.

Business Response: There is obviously some confusion between purchasing a car and financing. This customer told us they were pre approved at BECU. For us this would have been great since BECU is one of our largest lenders. When we submitted the application to them they declined the loan. After working with the buyers at the bank we were told they would only finance this loan at a much higher rate than the customer told us. When we let this customer know this we also offered to try to get them approved at another lender and they agreed. The end result was we got them an even better rate than they thought they had originally because their score was higher on another credit bureau. Instead of a thank you this customer is complaining. We do not make the approvals from the banks. We only submit the information for the approvals. This is a case of confusion as to how the process works.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I wish to clarify that there is zero confusion on the terms of my agreement. If I had any doubts as to what I was agreeing to, I would not have made a $21,000 purchase on a vehicle that I had any uncertainties. I am fully aware of my statements made on January 3rd, 2016 and have witness to the accounts of the sales negotiation as stated in my original complaint. I never once stated that I was "pre-approved" for a loan concerning said vehicle. I informed the sales man, that I previously had a loan through BECU for my previous vehicle and only wish to be dealt with by BECU as they are my leander of choice. I had originally wanted to finance through BECU myself but the salesman assured me that the process would be the same if I were to make the deal that Sunday. This was my one and only condition that I had to have in order for me to finalize this deal. When I received a phone call on the Tuesday following the sale, Jim was very confused about my current situation and could not give me a direct answer as to why I was asked to sign with another leander. I have been in both new car as well as used car sales industry for over 4 years, I am very familiar with how the sales process works as I employ a career in the automotive industry. I was made a promise that Honda of Fife could not deliver on, that is the only reason that I was forced to sign with Sound Credit Union. I do not know where the opposing party came under the impression that I was "pre-approved" for a specific interest rate when I clearly wanted to return later during the week to finalize the deal after I talk to my bank. I have yet to discuss the mechanical problems that I have experienced in the time since taking delivery of the vehicle. I have attached a picture of the agreement stating that I signed with BECU at an interest rate not to exceed 9.99%, signed by both myself and a Honda of Fife representative.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: my apologies for the delayed response. I just got back from vacation and this was my 1st opportunity to respond. Since we are now on to a completely different set of issues, I will address this as a separate response. The way these issues are so dramatically described with "loud abnormal rattles" and "uncontrollable veering" I would think this would be noted and addressed at the time of purchase after the test drive. Either way, our policy on after the sale issues is very simple. If customers give us the opportunity to inspect the car and address reasonable issues, we can then make decisions on what we can do to help. When we are not afforded that opportunity and customers take the repairs into their own hands we do not refund for their expenses. The vehicle purchased was 10 years old and sold "as is". We are not offering any compensation to Mr. *****. We try to make our customers satisfied whenever possible. I do not see a resolution in this case.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The issues that I have experienced with the vehicle have all been addressed and are no longer present. Issues of which your technician failed to recognize during the inspection and you as a dealership refuse to take responsibility of. First and foremost, before you criticize my "dramatic descriptions", please know the full extent of what you are talking about. The way that Honda of Fife conducts business is an embarrassment. A couple hundred dollars for repairs is not of significance to me but your refusal to step up and do the right thing is disappointing. From the moment I arrived at your dealership, I could see that it was poorly ran. Technicians "misplacing" components that supposedly got "discarded" and telephone calls, where no one knew what was going on definitely feels unprofessional and subpar to every other buyer experience that I ever had. I sincerely hope that Honda of Fife makes a better, much needed effort for improving customer relations in the future. The best form of advertisement is through word of mouth, a few hundred dollars is not worth losing a customer for life. I appreciate the cooperation but I will be taking my business elsewhere in the future. 

Sincerely,

****** *****

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $235 on 12-12-2015 for a replacement of an oil pan gasket to fix an oil leak, the oil pan was over tightened which caused another oil leak, I had brought in my own high quality oil, and it was all quickly wasted. The technician also did not find that the oil pressure switch was leaking, that problem was discovered when I brought my vehicle back. It was only when I took my vehicle to another dealership that I was shown that the oil pan was over tightened. I was charged $235 for a job done improperly, with an improper inspection that missed other problems. After my second visit to Honda of Fife, I asked for a customer survey, I was told that it would be emailed to me, and I did not want to insist as I had my 21 month old child with me, but I have still not received a survey, I feel the service staff is denying it because they know my review will reflect negatively upon them. The service adviser for my first visit was Dani, who lied and told me there were no other leaks or problems when I asked. When I brought my car back, the woman I dealt with who didn't tell me that the oil pan was over tightened, and refused to give me a customer survey in person, was named Pam, I believe. The technician listed on my invoice was 864.

Desired Settlement: Since the initial job to replace the oil pan gasket was done improperly, and the four quarts of oil that I brought in myself was wasted, I feel that a refund of the $235 that I was charged, and another $40 for oil is more then fair. I would also like to complete a customer survey and file a complaint to the Honda corporation.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** brought his 1999 Honda CR-V in for its first visit in Honda of Fife’s Service Department on 12/12/2015. On the repair order, it clearly states the following on the work order line, job #1: OIL PAN GASKET. CUSTOMER SUPPLIED GASKET 1.8 PER REQUEST. CUSTOMER SUPPLIED OIL AND FILTER AS WELL. REPLACED THE OIL PAN GASKET WITH PROVIDED PART.  Mr. ****** arrived at the dealership requesting to have this work done without any diagnosing of any particular problem with the oil pan gasket. 

Mr. ***** returned the Honda of Fife on 1/13/2016 complaining of oil leaking. The work order clearly states the following on work order line #1: CUSTOMER STATES RECENTLY HAD OIL PAN GASKET REPLACED. SUPECT EITHER WAS NOT CLEANED UP BEFORE OR AFTER. OR STILL LEAKING. We pulled the vehicle into the shop and evaluated the vehicle. We could see that the oil pressure switch was leaking oil. At that time, no leaks found from the oil pan gasket that was requested by the customer to be replaced. The notes on the repair order state that the oil is leaking from the oil pressure switch at a high rate.

Mr. ****** also took his vehicle to Hinshaw’s Acura in Fife. Honda of Fife’s Service Manager spoke to the Service Manager there about Mr. Sierra’s CR-V. He stated that upon the inspection of the vehicle, there was oil all over the oil pan and in that general area. He also stated that the oil pressure switch was leaking. He stated that they could not be 100% sure, but thought that maybe the oil pan was over tightened and causing a leak at the oil pan gasket. He said the reason he could not be 100% is that there was so much oil in that area.

We would gladly welcome Mr. ****** back into Honda of Fife to clean off the area and drive the vehicle, re-inspect the vehicle and verify if oil is leaking from the oil pan gasket. That repair has a warranty of 12,000 miles or 1 year, whichever occurs first. If we clean off the oil residue and find that the oil is leaking from the oil pressure switch only ( that is located above the oil pan gasket), Honda of Fife does not accept any responsibility as the oil pan gasket replacement was requested by the customer himself with no prior diagnoses. The leak from the oil pressure switch was not as easily visible when the oil pan gasket was replaced due to the amount of oil covering the oil pan and general area. Once cleaned off and customer returned, the oil pressure switch was found and recommended to the customer. Work requested and performed could not cause a leak from the oil pressure switch.

So again in closing, we would gladly welcome Mr. ****** back to the dealership so that we can clean the excess residue of the oil leak and see if it is coming from the repair completed at Honda of Fife so that it can be repaired under warranty, or if it is not leaking from the oil pan itself and only from the oil pressure switch located just above the oil pan and gasket.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have already had the repairs completed to my oil pan and oil pressure switch, and even if I had not, I would not trust Honda of Fife to complete these repairs as they missed the oil pressure switch leak and over tightened the oil pan the first time I took my vehicle in. I have still not received the customer survey that I was told would be emailed to me either.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: Unfortunately, since we were not afforded the chance to examine the vehicle we cannot justify a refund for this service. Had this customer brought the vehicle back to us we could have verified any over tightening. When a customer brings in their own parts and asks for a specific job to be performed, that is what we do. Diagnosis of additional problems comes at an additional cost. As for the survey, those are conducted at random by Honda. We do not choose who gets chosen. The customer is more than welcome to contact Honda if he wishes to file a complaint.

Consumer Response:

Unfortunately, since we were not afforded the chance to examine the vehicle we cannot justify a refund for this service. Had this customer brought the vehicle back to us we could have verified any over tightening. When a customer brings in their own parts and asks for a specific job to be performed, that is what we do. Diagnosis of additional problems comes at an additional cost. As for the survey, those are conducted at random by Honda. We do not choose who gets chosen. The customer is more than welcome to contact Honda if he wishes to file a complaint.


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The over tightening of the oil pan was verified by Hinshaws Acura's service manager, Honda of Fife has called them and verified this already. Fixing a job that was done improperly, as well as providing an inspection that was supposed to have been done in the first place, should be covered by any reputable company. As for the survey, the service adviser told me that it would be emailed to me, so I guess she lied to my face.

Sincerely,

***** ******

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern,My name is ********* ******** and I have purchased several of Hondas over the years. Specifically; my newest vehicle, a brand new 2011 Honda Ridgeline RTL. I live in Fife approximately 5 minutes away from Honda of Fife. I typically have my vehicle serviced here, as this location is very convenient to me and my family. However, I am appalled and frustrated with the integrity and quality of the workmanship performed on my vehicle. I have taken my Ridgeline in this specific service department three times in the last year to remedy the driver's side door panel. Thankfully, I am covered under warranty. My recent visit on 07/27/2015, Dani J****** was very helpful and indicated that the door panel was installed incorrectly and the door panel seemed to be "distorted/warped". Dani also stated that the job that was performed was unacceptable and that the door panel was an eyesore. This ordeal has been very agonizing to say the least. I am a valued customer. I have spent several hours trying to get this issue rectified. At one point, I wanted to contact the local media to show them the picture I have taken of my door panel and quality of the service. Dani was able to order the parts and made sure I was taken care of on 08/01/2015. I was inclined in purchasing a 30,000 mile service for my vehicle at this location. I definitely have a integrity issue with this dealership at this point. I do in fact want to continue to do business at this location, especially as a convenience perspective. I am requesting to be compensated for the time and stress that I have encountered with this issue. Please have empathy for my situation and hopefully we can possibly do business again. Thank you for your time.Respectfully Yours********** ** ********

Desired Settlement: I am requesting to be compensated for the entire amount of the 30,000 mile service.(399.00) I feel that this will suffice, gain trust and also keep me as a happy customer, thus allowing this issue to be water under the bridge.

Business Response: I have had time to review this situation with all parties involved. This was an unfortunate case where we repaired a door lock piece under warranty and then had to do it again quite sometime later. Both jobs were with no charge to Mr. ********. Because the door panel had to be removed multiple times it became distorted. Because of this we replace it at no charge. It was recommended that the 30,000 mile maintenance was due. Because of the issues with the door , Mr. ******** was originally offered a 10% discount off of the service. After talking to the service manager, he authorized a 15% discount to keep the customer happy. I feel that this is a fair resolution as I cannot justify a $400 gift because Mr. ******** was inconvenienced but we do value his business and always strive to do the best work we can to service all of our customers.  Unfortunately, in the repair industry, things don't always go perfectly.  When this happens we try to correct the problem the best we can.  Our offer still stands to perform the 30,000 service at the discounted price.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I feel that I have spent a lot time trying to get this issue rectified. Specifically; the poor workmanship/labor that was performed on my vehicle. The offer of 15% is insufficient for the amount of time I have spent on this issue. I was hoping that Honda of Fife can work with me on this issue a little bit more. Apparently not. I am appalled with the response and I do not agree with it. As a result, I will be taking my business elsewhere pending the response from the dealership.
Sincerely,

********* ********

Business Response: I am sorry we cannot come to a resolution. A $400 service "on the house" seems a little excessive for the inconvenience. We apologies for the time spent on the unrelated repair and for that I will extend a final offer of 30% off the service. This is the best I am willing to do. I am glad we got the original work corrected and certainly don't want to lose the business but this offer is where I have to draw the line. Thanks to the BBB for their continued good work. In my experience these matters are best handled with a little give and take from both parties. I hope Mr. ******** decides to take advantage of my offer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

********* ********

6/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/22/2014 while at Honda of Fife my wife ****** ****** and I traded in our 2005 Honda Accord that we were financing through *** ********* ****** ***** and we were put into a 2011 Chevrolet HHR by sales person ******* *****.  Within 24 hours of having the HHR it failed to start and was towed back to Honda of Fife per ******* ***** who was speaking to my wife on the phone.  We were put into a rental vehicle while the HHR was being checked out. The service departments of both Honda of Fife and ******** ********* had the HHR for approximately 2 weeks straight while only cleaning corrosion from around the starter cable and replacing the ECU which was discovered by a Chevy specialist that was brought in to look at it.  Then on the first morning (6/7/2015) that we had it back we went to get into it to go to work and the vehicle experienced the same problem but only took 3 attempts to start as it was doing in both shops plus it also read SERVICE
ESC for about 2 seconds then the light went off.  My wife and I feel that this is a very unsafe vehicle and needs to replaced............it is has been long enough!  We have had to make several phone calls to Honda of Fife's service department manager **** to find out the status of the HHR while it was being repaired!
Sincerely,
****** and **** ******

Business Response: I am aware of this situation and have been in contact with the customer. We are as frustrated as they are in this matter. Unfortunately, because the vehicle is made by Chevrolet and we have been unable to diagnose the starting problem, we have referred the customer to ******* ********* which is the closest dealer to the customer. We have agreed to pay for the repairs which is more than we are obligated to do. For clarification, there is no lemon law issue as that law only applies to new vehicles. This car was sold AS IS but we have decided to do what we feel is the right thing by paying to have the issues fixed by the manufacturer that can best diagnose them. This is the best resolution we can offer. We sincerely hope the issue can be resolved quickly with Chevrolet so these customers can go on enjoying their car.

3/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 19TH 2014 my wife and I decided to purchase a Honda from Honda Of Fife. We had done our homework and went through ****** Auto program to save money off of the MSRP purchase price from Honda Of Fife. (presently being investigated by ****** Auto program for accuracy of discount that Honda of Fife gave us). We test drove several cars and decided on the Honda Accord sedan 4 cylinder. During the negotiating process we spoke to no less than 3 salesman plus ***** the agent from Honda of Fife with the ****** Auto program. Our first salesman was ****** ********* and was helpful up until negotiating price at which time a *** ****** sales manager was brought to the table. I did not want the mud flaps, wheel locks and truck mat @ a cost of $429.00 plus interest over the life of the loan; however, *** and ***** ***** chose not to remove those items because it was a package deal! Myself and *** ****** did agree on a free oil change over 3 years; the first year was au***atically given to all new purchases of a vehicle. Therefore, Honda of Fife would pick up the tab on oil changes on the other two years. (our out the door price was in the low 30,000 dollar range) a negotiating compromise at best for the price tag of this car. Now, enter ***** ***** the lead manager sales rep. who said he was oblivious and irritated to the oil change deal made by his other sales manager ***. ***** ***** did a bait and switch technique by saying he was giving a free oil change package for free when actually he charged my wife and I $385.00 maintenance contract plus tax of $36.19 for a total of $421.19. A total scam job pulled of by ***** *****, manager *** ****** manager and ****** ********* salesman. We do no respect them for this low life style of under handed sale techniques; nor will I tell friends, neighbors, relatives or co-workers to buy from HONDA OF FIFE. Obviously, these so called car salesman need to be reprimanded, retrained or terminated! DO NOT BUY,NEW, USED OR LEASE FROM HONDA OF FIFE!!!!!!!! Product_Or_Service: Honda Accord SDN I4 E 06/19/2014 Order_Number: stock # ****** Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) A full refund of the $421.19 by check or money order etc. sent to my wife and I mailed to our home. A full investigation by the Better Business Bureau Of **** *** (owner) and daughter ****** *** as to the ethics and morale conduct of a business with ill trained sales personal. In addition to, dishonest sales individuals who intentionally exhibited poor sales business practices upon my wife and I while being operated in the state of Washington in a business called HONDA OF Fife.

Business Response: Hello and apologies for the delayed response. As this purchase was made back in June of 2014 it was difficult to gather all of the information and try to recall the memories of the employees involved with this purchase. ****** contacted us and asked to review this purchase paperwork per the customer's request. We provided all of the paperwork and the price was accurate per the ****** guidelines. I have reviewed the documents and found there to be no promise of "free" maintenance even in the preliminary negotiation portion. This product has it's own set of paperwork and pricing. Also, my name is ***** ***** spelled with a "W" just for clarification and I am not the person who contracts the customer. That would be one of our finance managers and they would be the one to discuss the maintenance program. I have tried to contact *** ******* to discuss the events but have not been able to reach him. We try to be fair and resolve issues with customers as is evident with the few number of cases handled by the BBB as well as our success rate in resolving them. Unfortunately, in this case I can't justify refunding any money to this customer unless they wish to cancel the product in which case I would be willing to refund the cost of it less any portion they may have already used. As always, I am happy to discuss this matter further should the customer choose to contact me.



Sincerely,

***** *****
General Sales Manager
************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** **** *******

I just spoke with ***** *****, General Manager of Honda of Fife.  I explained my story how his manger *** ****** and I negotiated   a free oil maintenance change for 3 years to sweeten the deal of the Honda Accord.  However, my wife and I ended paying a total of $421.19 including tax for the free oil change maintenance.  ***** ***** has agreed as of today 3/18/2015 to refund the full amount of $421.19.  He will send my wife and I a copy of the check and deduct it through Honda financing who will deduct the amount from the financing contract.  At this time, we communicated  and I am looking to resolve this situation with ***** ***** and Honda of Fife.

Respectively,

****** *******

************

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Western Washington Honda Dealers were offering a test drive promotion on May 7th through May 11th of 2014. The promotion was that with a test drive of a new Honda, the dealership would provide a $50 Visa gift card, no purchase necessary or strings attached. I saw this commercial and thought I would call my local dealer to find out if this is something they are participating in. I am in the market for a new vehicle and usually would not choose Honda, but with this attractive offer, I thought I would test drive a Honda. I called the Honda of Tacoma and spoke with a sales person by the name of ***** ******** he said that their dealership is defiantly participating in the offer and he would like to schedule me to come in for the test drive. I came in for the test drive on May 7, 2014 and after the test drive I inquired about the gift card promotion that we discussed over the phone earlier that day, ***** (sales guy) told me that the card will come in the mail, because they ran out. I said to him that the promotion was running May 7th - May 11th and I came in on the first day of the promotion and what would they do for people that will be coming in for the rest of the days?. He took a copy of my drivers license and insurance card, I said ok then if it's in the mail. This sounded very strange because that is not what the commercial stated nor was it what we discussed over the phone. I took his word for it because he provided me with his business card and a copy of the Dealers Permit for Demonstration certificate. I called the following week to find out when the Visa card would be in the mail and spoke with the Sales Manager by the name of ***** *****, he apologized and said that he personally called the marketing department to have them send the card in the mail. To this day I have never received anything in the mail. Both the sales guy and manager were lying to me over the phone and to my face. I don't appreciate being treated this way, especially after I spent my time, gas going there for a lie.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to receive the $50 Visa gift card I was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ My name is ***** ***** and I am the general sales manager at Honda of Fife. I am in possession of this customer's gift card. I have made several attempts to contact the customer at the phone number they provided us but the message says "the person you have called is unavailable right now. Please try your call again later." I need to verify their address because the way this card is set up, anyone could get it and activate it. If the customer could call me to verify delivery I would love to get this off my desk. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The sales man and manager both have a copy of the Dealers Permit for Demonstration certificate, which has all of my information on it. There is no reason to question what the address should be. According to the law in Washington State, the address has to be correct on the drivers license. This business is just wanting to ignore doing the right thing by mailing out the gift card. I will not be satisfied, until I receive this gift card in the mail. I have also attached a copy of the Dealers Permit for Demonstration certificate, to this complaint. I am not playing anymore games with this unprofessional business. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ The customer left me a message after my last response giving me permission to mail the card and login information. I did so immediately to the address given. Hopefully this puts an end to the customer's concerns and they can buy something very nice with their $50. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honda of fife said that my trade in would be paid in full with no role over to the next used car I purchased. Honda of fife did not honor this and slipped in a $1700 role over into the used car I picked up from Honda of fife. I was told that the pay off was a little off and needed to pay the difference. I did this with two checks adding to $350.00. When I went to make my first payment is when I realized what had been done. The car that I purchased is now way over priced and a large amount of service needs to be done that should have been given to us if the vehicle had been inspected. I have called and talked to manager and he said nothing could be done.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like to ether have $1700.00 back or have the timing belt and water pump changed with the large dent on the drivers side repaired. I think this is very reasonable and the dent was something that was going to be taken car of by Honda of fife anyways with minimal cost to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/23) */ We are sorry that we are unable to come to a resolution for this customer. We have offered to have work completed on this vehicle for a discounted rate. The vehicle is 11 years old and was sold as is with an over $3,000 discount. Our offer stands to help *** ******** with the repairs to the dent. All of the paperwork signed by *** ******** is very clear in regards to the trade in value and the payoff amount. At no time does any of the paperwork show the trade value being equal to the payoff amount. In fact, that would be quite irregular. We go to great lengths to make sure all customers understand the deal before they sign for the car in the business office. This deal was no exception. *********** was clearly disclosed the trade value and payoff before he purchased the car and he initialed all of those disclosures. This is a step we take on all car deals that most dealers do not. We would like to invite *** ******** in to review these items and extend to him the assistance originally offered to him. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/01/06) */ I would like to extend an invitation to the customer to come in and go over the details of his purchase. We are willing to offer this customer a discount for any repairs or maintenance he wishes to do to the car. In regards to the car not being serviced, we have repair orders for over $1400 of maintenance and repairs done to this vehicle. We do not always remove all of the dings and dents on 11 year old merchandise. Our offer still stands.

1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I came to look at a minivan they has for sale. We negotiated a price where they would come up on my trade in and come down on their price a little. I signed the offer sheet when we finished the negotiation and ****** the sales person took the offer that we agree on to his sales manager. We didn't want to have our credit ran until we came to an agreement. My wife and I thought we had because we ended up sitting around for 3 hours wanting on what we were told was our credit union. It was taking so long that we decided to leave and they told us they would call us once they heard back. They never did. We had to track them down. They sent over to our credit union terms for the purchase of the vehicle that we never agreed to. Our lady at our credit union to us that the sales manager submitted his own deal for us to our credit union. I caught our sales person and the sales manager in lies. We wasted 3 hours sitting there not waiting on our credit union. We were waiting for the sales manager to structure his own deal and send whatever he wanted over to our credit union without us knowing. They were trying to do a bait and switch. I told our credit union that was not the deal the dealership told us they had submitted. Long story short. Honda of fife will never get our business again and anyone thinking of using them should think twice. They tried to go behind our backs and get us approved so that we would think we got the deal we signed for. I hope they go out of business or that someone sues them.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to stick to the original agreement we had with them. But honestly, I will never do business with them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ We are sorry about the miscommunication with this customer. Sometimes it takes a while to get a response from the lenders. This time is escalated when there are credit challenges. The structure of the deal was difficult do to the negative equity position combuned with a less than perfect credit score this customer had. We are unable to make the structure work without some down payment. I would like to invite the customers down to explain better how the process works as I think this was a misunderstanding that could be resolved with a simple conversation. There may also be alternatives for this customer as far as other vehicles or lenders. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm done arguing back and forth. They are still unwilling to except the fact they did not communicate anything with us while we were sitting there for 3 hours. I have worked everything out with my credit union and I have gone and done business elsewhere. Sometimes it would be better to just say, you know, the customer is right and we as a company blew it. Were sorry. He could do it on the phone no problem, but not on the record. That's a shame. I should have looked up on yelp.com and gone over the reviews there first. Plenty of them on there state they got screwed to. 2 out of 5 stars sucks! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/08) */ Unfortunately, the desired resolution from the customer to honor their deal is not possible without additional down payment. I did call the customer and explain this. When we submitted the deal to their lender it was actually submitted for less than what they offered because we knew the bank would not buy the deal with that structure. Even with the lower price we submitted the lender is unwilling to give this customer a loan without additional down payment. We are in the business of selling cars. We do everything possible to get deals financed. There would be no reason for us to try to structure a deal that is unfinanceable to the bank. Again, we apologies for any misunderstanding about the deal structure. At this time, unfortunately, I cannot get the deal financed without some help from the customer. If they can come up with some more down payment or if they have alternative financing of their own we would be happy to accept the offer I have on the table from the customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Honda of Fife
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart