BBB Accredited Business since

Honda of Burien

Phone: (206) 246-9700 Fax: (206) 248-2885 View Additional Phone Numbers 15026 1st Ave S, Burien, WA 98148 http://www.burienhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars, sales, and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda of Burien meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda of Burien include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honda of Burien
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2013 Business started: 11/01/2012 Business started locally: 11/01/2012 Business incorporated 08/29/2012 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Rairdon, President Ms. Josie Martinez, Office Manager Mr. Gregory Rairdon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Rairdon, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Burien Honda HOFB Inc
Additional Information

According to information provided to BBB, this company's assets were purchased in September 2012; therefore, this company is no longer in operation under its previous ownership. For more information regarding this company under its new ownership, contact (206) 246-9700 or refer to its BBB Business Review at www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/auto-dealers-new-cars/rairdons-burien-honda-22781656.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honda of Burien has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15026 1st Ave S

    Burien, WA 98148 (206) 246-9700 (888) 204-8510

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We came in, following numerous emil exchanges about signing a lease for a honda accord. We were told repeatedly and reassured repeatedly that within this contract there would be a $1500 damage waiver at the end of the lease. We noted that we did not see anything for a $1500 waiver at lease end on the actual contract agreement and had a salesman confirm this further. We were once again reassured that this would be in the contract. After 3 hours of this back and forth, we went into the finance office and were ready to sign and saw once again this was not in the agreement. We were reassured again that we would be contacted the next day with documentation from Honda of Burien that we would be compensated for $1500 of damages at lease end. We were not. I have been emailing and calling repeatedly since August to request this documentation. I was finally given a completely not legal or binding email stating honda of buried would provide us with a $1500 damage waiver at lease end. They have refused to respond to any of my emails or calls since then to address this email they sent or to provide me with a legally binding document stating their obligation to provide me with a $1500 damage waiver at lease end.

Desired Settlement: I would like a legally binding document stating they will cover up to $1500 in damages by lease end or a check for $1500. In addition, I would like compensation of two months of the lease agreement for the time and frustration spent on this ordeal.

Business Response: We have offered to simply write a check for $1500 to the customer provided that they sign a release, settling this matter.  If any damage happens prior to their lease return in 3 years, the money may be used for this.  Otherwise, the customer may use the money for whatever they desire.  We will maintain this offer until December 31st.  If this is acceptable, the customer may contact Micah M***** at *******@rairdon.com

12/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had emailed about service I received in November in 2015. I contacted the service and repair manager through the web site about the service. He once replied I received diagnostic service on November 26th 2015 because my engine ramp was on. When I asked the service agent about this problem because I did diagnose in march 2015, I also asked if previous problems they diagnosed before was taken care there. I wanted to know I did repair the problem or not because I did not want to do the same diagnose. The agent said your problems are repaired. so I decided to do the diagnose to see if there are other problems with the engine ramp. The result of the diagnose was the same as the last time. I did not realized that at the moment but when I went home and looked for the history of my car repair, I did not do the repair the problem before. I spend more than one hundred fifty for doing the same diagnose. I asked the service manager there through email but he did not really explain in the first message. I did write email again on 11/26/2015 but he never replied. I wanted to see the explanation from their side at least. Of cause, I want to make sure they know there was a problems.

Desired Settlement: If the service agent is giving correct information when they look customers repair history there. If they can not answer certainly, I want to hear they do not know the matter before they offer the service. I like to hear more explanation do that I can understand. I also like to have the copy of agreement.

Business Response:
Good afternoon ****
I am sorry for the delay in response, I did not understand that you were looking for additional information.
Here is the technical breakdown of what we did in February for your vehicle.
In February there were three codes, P0134 for the heated O2 sensor, P1457 for an EVAP system leakage and P0420 catalyst efficacy. We diagnosed the lowest # code first P0134 because the other codes can be caused by the first code. We determined at that time the O2 sensor failed and replaced the sensor with your authorization. We retested and no codes returned. When an O2 sensor fails it can cause the fuel mixture to go out of specifications and put excessive fuel into the converter and cause damage that may show up at a later time. We did not diagnose the P0420 or the P1457 because they did not reoccur after clearing, and the only charges applied in February were for the diagnosis of the O2 sensor and replacement.
In November, the only codes in the vehicle are P0420 and a new one P0661. The P0420 is relating to the converter and as I explained earlier in this e-mail, the damage could have been done when the O2 sensor failed. P0661 is an intermittent code for the IMRC solenoid sensor which controls camshaft position. I have tried to not be too technical and still give you the information you requested. If you have any further questions please e-mail of call me.
Jay B******
Service Manager
********@rairdon.com

9/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put down a deposit on a Honda SUV. The SUV's arrival was continually delayed, so I cancelled the transaction and was told the deposit would be refunded. I have called 3 times and was told it was refunded. It has now been over a month and no refund has been issued.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $500

Business Response: we apologize for the delay.  A check has been processed and mailed.

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a deposit down to purchase a 2016 Honda HR-V from this dealership. I was aggressively sold on vehicle trade-in, extended servicing, and in-house financing for over 3.5 hours by the sales manager Brian. I was effectively bullied into accepting in-house financing so I could sign paperwork and get out. They assured my the vehicle would arrive in 6-8 weeks. I checked in weekly to see when the vehicle would arrive. I was told a different answer each time. Either 'I don't know', '4-6 weeks', '6-8 weeks', etc. After 3 weeks I called into and spoke to David, the online manager. I asked him if there was an option where we could lease a car until the HR-V arrived. My wife needed to drive around town. I told them I was very flexible. A used car was OK - whatever. I was told by David they did not lease or rent cars short-term and that I should buy a used car from them and then trade it in for the HR-V when it arrived. I called back the next day and was told by another David they do offer rental cars but that I should talk to Jay the GM. So I talked to Jay the GM. He told me I should buy a CR-V from them and they would give a great deal, since they had CR-V's in stock. I told him I just wanted a 'bridge strategy' - lease me a car until the HR-V gets in. He told me he needed to give it some thought and he would call me the next day. I waited two days and he never called. My wife got fed up so she called the ***** ** ****** and was told the HRV EX 2WD wouldn't arrive until spring and that they Honda of Burien was just taking our deposit to secure the business. They stated every order should trigger a VIN number and if they didn't have one, they were lying. So we called Burien back and I spoke to David. He said he would have a higher-up manager call me back. He never did. So I called back and he told me they had no idea when the HR-V would arrive and that I should just buy the CR-V, which I made clear I didn't want. He very willingly refunded my de

Business Response:

Unfortunately, estimates from the factory for build times on the new vehicle our customer requested were not accurate.  We apologize for the experience he had, and, as he has stated, have refunded his deposit in full. 

Consumer Response: I was just contacted by a gentleman calling from the number of ************ who I believe is from the parent group.  He literally hung up on me halfway through the call, offered to apology for the customer service experience and offered no solution for the car I purchased.  

He was extremely rude and I wish I had tape recorded the conversation so BBB could see the blatent abusiveness of this company.  This call made a bad situation even worse.

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle in mid June of 2015. Part of the deal was to have my car shipped from Washington to Ohio where I was moving. I dropped my car off on June 21st to have it shipped. On June 24th, I asked for an estimated arrival date via text. I was given a personal cell number by the gentleman who prepared the finances and suggested they could ship me my new vehicle. I was told shipping hadn't been arranged yet, so they didn't know. I was told I would be contacted when they knew. June 29th,, I called to ask for an estimated arrival date. I was unable to reach anyone and left a message. I was never called back. I called a couple more times and just kept getting a voicemail. June 30th, I text and asked for an ETA. I was told they would look into it and get back to me. I waited 4 hours and didn't hear back so I asked again. I was told the car would ship on July 6th and that I would get confirmation when it shipped. I called again after July 6th and was transferred around never getting an answer. I called again and had to be more assertive and wouldn't get off the phone until I got an answer. I talked to a sales manager (not naming names, but I have them) who couldn't give me an answer while I was on the phone. It took hours for them to tell me my car hadn't shipped and they weren't sure when it would. I still have no confirmation it has shipped and cannot understand why this is not important to a single person there. very poor customer service, finance and sales. It has been almost a month and no one at this company has let me know the status of my vehicle. I have had to waste hours of my time, and still no resolution.

Desired Settlement: At the very least I should not have to pay anything for the month the vehicle has not been in my possession. I also think the shipping costs should be removed from the contract. I think a good company would go further than my requests to make this right.

Business Response: We apologize for they delay in shipping.  The shipping company is scheduled to arrive today to pick up the vehicle for delivery.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I was told the car was shipping on the 6th of July, then told it would ship on the 13th & now this?  Not a single person has called me to talk about any of this.   Nothing has been resolved.  
Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the issue is still not resolved.  I was contacted by a manager and told they will make a monthly payment.  I also don't want to pay for shipping and still had to ask and be put on hold until they could get me an ETA for my vehicle. 

 I got called by the shipping company and they said this is cod and I will need to pa $849+ When they deliver the car tomorrow.  

I called Honda to speak to Jay, again I was pushed aside, my number taken and it's been 2 hours and still no one has called me back.  I also will not say this is resolved until the shipping is paid for,  taken off my contract and I receive the monthly payment for the time I have not had my vehicle.  


Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: We have agreed to reimburse the customer for 1 payment. The shipping costs have been paid to the shipping company, and no further payment for shipping will be required of the customer at the time of delivery.

7/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought a notice I was emailed in to Rairdons's Honda of Burien to get a $25.00 visa card just for looking at their automobiles. I was there about an hour and thought when I get a car next year I really liked the fit. I gave them all the paper work for the visa card and was told I would have it in 7 days. It never came. They wont respond to emails. I went on their web site https://myrewardcard.net/hondaofburien which said to go to and fill out the information that the visa card never came and still have no visa card and no response from them. This is fraud! I was there on the 27th of June. Thank you,****** *****

Desired Settlement: I want the visa card that they advertised and promised. I fulfilled my part and spent an hour looking at cars and they think they can just ignore me since I was not ready to buy because my car is only a 2012 and I keep each car for 5 years before replacing and informed them of that when I was there.

Business Response:

There has been a delay in gift cards being sent to customers as a result of the high response to the program.  We will send a check for $25 to the customer.  Should she receive a gift card in the mail, she may return it or keep it as she sees fit.

5/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased the used vehicle in January 2015, along with an extended warranty. When the car was having trouble starting, the shop failed to find an issue with the car despite my expressed concern, and I continued to drive the car as instructed and thus made the issue worse. The car is currently at another shop, waiting for the $6000 repair to be paid for. This repair is not covered by the extended warranty because it's caused by the thermostat, a part that I have paid for Honda of Burien AND Seattle Mini to replace. Honda of Burien has failed to provide any tangible resolution depsite my efforts to play fair and be reasonable with them. I found out today that they no longer offer that extended warranty, but yet they still won't claim responsibility. I am now without a car, but still making payments and paying for the smaller repairs that have been performed, as well as $600 rental car. I have not driven my car in two months.

Desired Settlement: This needs to be resolved ASAP. I need Honda of Burien to own up to this mess and pay for the repairs that are required on the vehicle, OR refund me for everything I paid for the vehicle.

Business Response: The warranty which was purchased does not cover the part which failed and resulted in the malfunction experienced.  As we do not own the company which made this decision, we cannot force them to authorize a warranty repair.  We would like to help in any way possible, but it is simply out of our control.  The Service Contract purchased is cancelable, and we would be happy to assist in canceling it with any prorated amount due back to the customer's lien holder if this is helpful.  Alternately, we will be glad to assist the customer in finding a different vehicle.

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new honda accord 2014 from burien and the driver seat had a manufacturer issue so they replaced the seat. We noticed a lot of deep scratches on the plastic panels by the driver door and some in the backseat on the driver side after they replaced the seat cushion. We pointed them out to the manager ******* and we have emails from her regarding that. When we brought the car in to have the plastic panels replaced they marked it down as a manufacturer issue when really it was them who caused the damage. We noticed on the back of the driver seat (the same seat they replaced before) that the seat was making a clicking noise when we tried adjusting it (happened right after they replaced the plastic panels) before we left the dealership we pointed that out and showed them the damage to the driver seat and the sales manager took are car back and said they tightened a piece that was sticking out and that they will order the other part to replace it. When we were driving on the freeway with our daughter in the car we heard two loud popping noises and when we tried adjusting the seat it would not work and now it makes a really loud grinding noise. We called to see if we can come right back to have it looked at and the receptionist said to come back they will have someone from service stay to look at are car. When we got there 20 minutes later we were told none one can look at the car and they did not touch the seat. We told them we can not drive are car like this and since they caused the damage they need to fix it. They said they would not give us a loaner car and we need to leave the property. We have been very upset with all the damage they have caused on are new car. Every time they replaced something they caused even more damage and now we have a new car with damage so bad to the driver seat we cannot drive properly. They told us we could take the car to any honda dealership to fix because it will be covered under warranty. I don't think warranty covers damage that they caused.

Desired Settlement: We want the damage they caused to are seat fixed without causing any more damage to the car.

Business Response: We are always open to addressing customer concerns whenever possible. In this case, we would prefer to no longer interact with the ******** as a result of them using inappropriate language and racial slurs while speaking with our management staff. If their concerns are covered by Honda's warranty, they may have the repairs performed at any other dealership. If they are not, they may contact *******@rairdon.com for further discussion.

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my 2014 Honda CRZ's oil changed at facility on 12/13/14. Friday 12/19/14 while driving home my car started smoking and I pulled over off I-90 to discover it was out of oil. Paid for a tow to ********** ***** in Auburn and they found the oil drain plug had come out and was laying on the splash guard. Invoice for repair was $69.53. Towing out of pocket was $30.00 (I pay for towing on my insurance policy). After two weeks of driving my car to determine no further damage is apparent I went to Burien Honda on Saturday 1/17/15 and spoke with *** *** the General Manager about reimbursement. He asked to make copies of my invoices and that I forward the towing receipt to him, which I agreed to, and said he would have his service manager contact me that coming Monday. Since that date I have emailed *** 4 times (I have documentation) and called and spoke with ******** the service manager on or about 1/27/15, and **** the sales manager on 2/7/15, both told me they would be in contact with me that day or the next, neither have.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement of charges I incurred as a result of the neglectful service of Honda of Burien. $69.53 for repair and $150.00 for tow.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ We have authorized a payment of $210 to *** **** as goodwill. We would have liked to see the vehicle to examine what had caused the issue, but feel that this should settle the matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would have been happy to bring my car in for inspection if anyone from the business would have responded to my multiple attempts contacting the business.

1/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 14, 2014 I received an email asking me to test drive a Honda Crosstour. The ad said a $50 Southcenter gift card would be given to the first 10 people. I was in the dealership within 20 minutes after receiving the email. I met with the salesman, ***********, and told him I wanted to test drive the Crosstour, which I did. During the test drive, the General Manager, *** ***, had my CRV inspected. After the test drive I let both of them know that while it is a nice sedan, I was not interested. I then asked for my $50 gift card and *** *** told me that it would be mailed to my house. On November 20th I texted ****** that I had not received the gift card and he replied that he would look into it. I texted again on the 28th and December 2nd. ****** replied "It mus still be in the mail". December 8th, I wrote a letter to Mr. *** reminding him of his promise to send me the gift card. To date I have received no reply from him nor the gift card

Desired Settlement: $50 Southcenter Mall gift card

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/19) */ We apologize for the delay. Unfortunately, the gift cards did not arrive at our dealership in a timely manner. *** ********'s card was mailed to her on Tuesday the 16th. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have still not receieved the card as of December 25th Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/31) */ As the holiday season tends to cause a slowdown in the postal service, we ask that *** ******** understand that we cannot control the mail. If she does not receive the card by January 7th, she may contact ***** ****** @ XXX XXX XXXX EX ***** This will be much more efficient than using the BBB website for communication.

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the message I sent to *******'s customer service manager but with no resolution: *****, I am sending you this message to express my great displeasure with our overall purchase experience of a used vehicle from Burien Honda. Our salesperson was fine but the service department lied and then took even more money from us. We purchased a 2000 Honda Civic for my son to use with the assumption that going through a reputable dealership would give us peace of mind that they would check out the car for any issues and would only sell a good to go car. In fact, we were shown a report that shows the car passing all Honda checks for issues. First, when we asked about the A/C not working, our salesperson told us that it had been recharged according to the inspection report and that he would check on it again. We assumed that it would be working once recharged. Service recharged it again after we had completed the purchase and returned the car to us that same day but it still did not work and we were then told "too bad, you bought it as is." After contacting our salesperson again, he finally got agreement that we could split the cost of the repair which totalled us about $385 and we reluctantly agreed only because we were still in a hot weather spell. Secondly, while looking at the car before buying, we did not notice an oil leak and in fact that was one of the first things we checked out. But after service had tried recharging the A/C and gave it back to us, there was a very heavy oil leak. I spoke with several service people to have them check on a possible leak with the oil filter or oil pan plug but they refused to even look at it for me. I had to then contact our salesperson again to get them to even check it out. After the A/C repair, they did check for the leak and found that there was a crack in the oil pan and offered to fix it for another $750. There was no way I was going to leave it to them to fix it at that point because I believe they are the ones that cracked it in the first place. We did finally have our own mechanic replace the oil pan which cost us another $552. I do have the invoice if you would like to see it. So, after all of this, I am out another near $1,000 on a used car that I had already spent thousands on. I have bought several Hondas over the years and may continue to do so but not with Honda of Burien. I would like a response and some sort of resolution to this issue and will be contacting **** ******* directly as well as the BBB if I do not receive a response by Monday, 9/29/14. I would be happy to discuss this further if you have any questions. I can be reached at (XXX)XXX-XXXX or reply to this email. Thank you, *** ****

Desired Settlement: I am looking for financial compensation ($1,000) for the additional expenses incurred after purchase of the vehicle due to their lack of disclosure of issues.

Business Response: Although the vehicle was sold "As is" with no warranties, we would like to assist Mr. ****. We will agree to pay $276 as a show of goodwill to the customer.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I understand that the vehicle was supposed to be sold "as is", it really was not sold as advertised. We were told that the A/C would be recharged and "should" work once that was completed. Also, there was not a major oil leak when we agreed to purchase the vehicle. The oil pan was damaged after purchase. I would be willing to accept $500 as resolution to the issue which is still far less than what my out of pocket expenses were.

Business Response: Although we understand Mr. ****'s concerns, we do not agree that our shop caused any damage.

We will again offer to pay $276 as a show of goodwill to the customer. This offer will remain on the table until November 5th. After this, we will consider the offer invalid.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While the shop may or may not have done the damage, a vehicle inspection report by their shop clearly showed no such issue as well as the A/C only needing a recharge to fix which did not fix it. I am still out nearly an additional $1,000 due to their misleading information and unfortunately a little trust in them from me and would like fair compensation closer to my total out of pocket expenses. A fair and legitimate business that wants to remain in business for a long time would do the right thing. Obviously their actions will speak louder than their words.

Business Response: Although we understand Mr. ****'s concerns, we do not agree that our shop caused any damage. We attempted to remedy the AC issue with the recharge, but did not guarantee that it would work. The vehicle was very inexpensive, and had high mileage. Some items will not work or may leak on a vehicle such as this, which is the risk a consumer is made aware of when purchasing an "as is" vehicle.

We will again offer to pay $276 as a show of goodwill to the customer. This offer will remain on the table until November 30th. After this, we will consider the offer invalid.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While it is understood that an As-Is purchase is what it is, Rairdon's Honda of Burien lied in their vehicle inspection report by saying that everything checked out up to their standards and they only sell cars that are up to their standards. This is one of the reasons we purchased through a dealership instead of private especially a dealership with the Honda name attached. We thought they could be trusted and would stand behind their words or that their standards would be acceptable. Boy, were we wrong and buyers beware. I'm glad to hear that they don't think $5,000 + that was paid for the vehicle is not a lot of money but for a used vehicle over 10 years old, that is a lot. We were willing to pay a little more by buying through this dealership thinking they could be trusted and that their inspection report would be truthful. This is more about the principle of being honest and a good business as much as the money. I do not accept the offer and see this as another sign of arrogance by Rairdon's Honda of Burien.

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 25, 2014 I purchased a used 2009 Honda Civic from Honda of Burien sales person **** ********** During the test drive and talk about the car I mentioned several times that I would be interested in some sort of warranty due to a previous used car problem and due to the Civic not starting the first time I saw it (due to a dead battery). During the sale, a Rairdon Investment Program was offered to me at a cost of $1,795, with the sales person explaining it included free oil changes, maintenance, free diagnostics, and repairs (except parts). I specifically gave a scenarios of a car repair needed and understood him to say it would be covered except for parts. I also asked if it was like a Limited Warranty and he indicated yes. I asked for a brochure on the Program to confirm it included what he said it did and he said there was no brochure, so I had to rely on his description. I paid $276.70 (incl. sales tax) for this Rairdon Investment Program. I have since found out it is really just free oil changes and not a warranty program. I was misled on this and thought I was paying for a limited type warranty program. I have stopped in the dealership twice to resolve this and have left at least three phone messages and three e-mails that have not been responded to.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is a refund of the $276.70 (incl. sales tax) that I paid for the Rairdon Investment Program.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/21) */ We will gladly refund Ms. ******* $276.70 by mail. Her maintenance package will remain intact should she like to return to our dealership for future services. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Western Washington Honda Dealers were offering a test drive promotion on May 7th through May 11th of 2014. The promotion was that with a test drive of a new Honda, the dealership would provide a $50 Visa gift card, no purchase necessary or strings attached. I saw this commercial and thought I would call my local dealer to find out if this is something they are participating in. I am in the market for a new vehicle and usually would not choose Honda, but with this attractive offer, I thought I would test drive a Honda. I called the Honda of Burien and spoke with a sales manager by the name of ******* ********** he said that their dealership is defiantly participating in the offer and he would like to schedule me to come in for the test drive. I came in for the test drive on May 8, 2014 and after the test drive I inquired about the gift card promotion that we discussed over the phone earlier that day, ******* (sales manager) told me that the card will come in the mail. He took a copy of my drivers license and insurance card, I said ok then if it's in the mail. This sounded very strange because that is not what the commercial stated nor was it what we discussed over the phone. I to this day have not received any gift card in the mail. I feel like this sales manager lied to me over the phone and lied to me to my face after the test drive and I am very upset about this. I feel used and betrayed because he wanted to sell a car so bad that he lied to me. Account_Number: **** Certificate Num

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to receive the $50 Visa gift card I was promised and have a 'promise certificate' for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/03) */ We have received confirmation that the gift card has been sent to the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/06/04) */ gift card received in the mail. Issue resolved. Please close the complaint.

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We leased a new vehicle and traded in our older vehicle. Asked finance manager to remove remaining personal effects from trade and put aside; he agreed, but didn't. Our property was discarded. We were expecting a check for trade residual; didn't deliver when promised; multiple calls got multiple promises of "it's in the mail". Nearly three weeks later postmark verified those statements to be lies. Called Honda financial 30 days in when no payment info arrived; were told paperwork never submitted; recommended we call dealership. Finance manager ***** lied on phone; got aggressive when I called him on the lies. Now with almost six weeks in, still no paperwork, no registration, temporary tabs about to expire and my calls are avoided by all employees, including the GM; can't even get a return call.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for travel to dealership for frivolous trip to pickup trade-in check, reimburse for personal effects disposed of, reimburse for overnight charges incurred due to finance manager lie, expedite paperwork and tabs, personal apology from GM, first months payment paid (promised via phonecall with Honda Financial) and not just delayed or pushed back one month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/08/15) */ The financial aspects of their purchase have been finalized, and our GM has spoken with them personally and apologized. All personal effects were removed from the vehicle and returned to the customer with the exception of a license plate frame which the customer had originally stated that they did not want, but reconsidered after it had already been disposed of. To our knowledge, all concerns have been addressed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honda of Burien
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart