BBB Accredited Business since

Honda Auto Center Of Bellevue

Phone: (425) 643-3770 13291 SE 36th St, Bellevue, WA 98006 http://www.bellevuehonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of new and used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda Auto Center Of Bellevue meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda Auto Center Of Bellevue include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Honda Auto Center Of Bellevue
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Lavigne, General Manager Mr. Allen Courter, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Lavigne, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honda Auto Center Of Bellevue has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13291 SE 36th St

    Bellevue, WA 98006 (425) 643-3770

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I had done extended warranty service at Honda of Bellevue. The bill had no payment due from me. I asked billing receiptionist and confirmed I owe nothing. Business was done, paper work was done and I got my car fixed. But after a few weeks later your service manager, Oliver R******, contacted me. He told me they made a mistake. I told him re-issue bill showing the amount I owe. He have been calling me since then for payment. First time, of course, before any paper work. Then finally today he issued a weird bill. All these calls I feel like harassment. He got my cell# does not mean he would call whenever he can. He does have my email. Note that until today he never gave me the revised bill. I did tell him, I would pay if I get bill Today when I got bill, I told him that deductible should be just $100 and it does not have a sales tax. Sales tax is already calculated on the service charge. He was adamant and pushing for payment. He threatened me that he would contact collection agency for payment, if I do not pay by tomorrow. I told him he is welcome to do that but I am not paying unless I understand what and why I am paying. I am pretty sure it is $100 and not $109.50. I am unhappy they way service manager pushing for money weeks later the business is done and even then with incorrect bill. Also unhappy with threat to take this to collection agency to affect my credit history.

Desired Settlement: No payment due

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

this is Mike L******, General Manager of Honda Auto Center. below is our response from our Service Manager, Oliver R*****, who was the person directly communicating with *** ***. Our position is that as described in Oliver's message, this is a simple matter of requesting payment in a reasonable manner. We do not view Oliver's communications as lacking respect or being harassing. We do respect that *** *** has a right to his own interpretation of the events. we continue to await the payment.

i do apologize for missing the notice of this complaint in my email on March 9th. the email resembled solicitations from the BBB i have received in the past and i failed to notice it was a complaint. my mistake for the delay.

Oliver's response;

********

Mike,

I don’t have precise timelines however I give all the info I have.

I contacted initially *** *** with his 2010 Odyssey (47100 miles est.) on Feb.2 2016. The service was complete on Jan. 22nd . At that time he insisted that we send him information that stated he has a deductible we sent him the needed information.

The phone records show that I called him again on the 3/3/16 and once more on the 3/9/16.

3/9/16 This is the point where he request a repair order that reflected that he owed a deductible… I generated one and sent it to him.

Last night when we spoke I called him from my cell- The purpose of the call was to get an update on payment.

The basics of the conversation was that he didn’t think that he should pay tax on the deductible and I explained that he does. Then he said that he wanted time to investigate if that was true…..

Please let me know if you need any more info. I have copies of the contract etc.

I verified with Deborah that there was not suppose to be tax on the deductible. Spoke with him about not having to pay tax on the deductible, explained to him that the cashiers would remove the tax and all he would have to do is call in take care of payment over the phone. He requested a updated repair order that did not show tax. I sent it and since then, I have not reached out to contact him awaiting payment. Reading over his complaint it seems his understanding is that there were steps made to send him to collections… that was not the case or the conversation.




Oliver R******
Service Manager
Honda Auto Center of Bellevue
************
*******@bellevuehonda.com

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

Sorry for late reply as I was extremely busy. Actually, I am not  happy with their responses as Mr. GM does not find anything wrong on asking money without paper work and denying the threat about collection agency.

At this point I want BBB to communicate to them followings and then ok to close this:

1.       They made mistake first time on bill when worked on extended warranty. So, they should have not asked for money once transaction is closed and service done.

2.       When they made mistake they should have not called me for money without any paper work. Note first time they called me about their mistake, they just asked me to pay without a bill

3.       They took weeks to give me a bill and it was wrong. They did not apologize for multiple mistakes. But instead threatened me that they would report to collection agency, if I do not pay the wrong amount in 24 hr. This is when I contacted BBB.

4.       Finally service manager should have not called me so many times for payment when he did not provide a correct bill. It was very unprofessional and harassing to ask for money without paperwork

I do not know what they expect me to do at this point. But since I got corrected bill, I will just pay it. I did try to pay last week but no one responded. I will try again.

Thanks

*****

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received the worst customer services at this dealership. I was looking into trading in my 2013 accord and they tried to rip me off. They also ran my credit through different banks without telling me. I was under the impression that it would be through ***** ********* only and couple of weeks later I get letters from ***** ***** and ******* ***. The salesman talked about the whole process and how my car accident lowers the actual value of my car. He talked about it in front of other customers and did not consider my privacy. He was not genuine at all either; he was trying to tell me that I had to make a 1k payment a Month on the new vehicle (also in front of everyone) because of my credit and negative equity on the car. The thing that bothered me was that he made it seem like it was a good deal to get the car for a lower payment after his efforts with management to lower my payments from 1k to $700. I know for a fact that I was being tricked, as I got approved for the same car at ***** ****** ***** for $550 and they were paying off my current loan. This was a couple of months before going to this dealership looking for a lower rate. Finally, as a Licensed professional I called couple of weeks ago trying to address my privacy/unauthorized credit check concerns, and reported my concerns and was told I was going to receive a call back and never did, therefore, I decided to post this review. I will definitely drive down to South Tacoma from Bellevue if I want better service, competitive price, and privacy. This is the review I posted about this matter. I feel like I was discriminated for being Hispanic and was treated differently. There is not excuse to publicly talk about my financial matters, etc. in front of other customers. They called everyone else and spoke with them in private, while I was in the waiting area talking to the representative. I know for a fact that I received a better service at ***** ****** ***** as they are in a more diverse area with military members, etc.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a written apology about this matter and that the staff that spoke to me is retrained regarding customer service and procedures.

Business Response: The following is our response to the complaint from Mr. *******. Note that his visit to our dealership was on January 4th and his complaint was not made until early February.

There are two parts to Mr. *******'s complaint. (1) various issues related to his visit and attempt to purchase, and (2) not responding to his phone call to complain.

On issue #2; our company is guilty as charged, and we most humbly apologize. We searched thru our phone records and found where Mr. ******* did call us on January 20th as his complaint states and speak to one of our finance managers. This manager did tell him that one of our sales managers would investigate his concerns and get back to him. The finance manager did pass on the message and the sales manager did intend to investigate the issues, but for whatever reason that never happened. Mr. ******* is completely justified in being upset with our company in not responding, and as a result of that we also understand why he views the other issues as he does. He gave us the chance to respond and explain, and we did not do that. And as a result of that he not only filed this complaint to the BBB but also placed numerous on-line negative reviews. We have no one but ourselves to blame for this. And we have had numerous internal communications to learn from this situation and make sure our feedback loop for customer complaints is more foolproof.

As to complaint #1, the various issues regarding his purchase that he was concerned about; we believe we acted properly and in good faith with Mr. *******.

Here is the explanation from our salesperson, *****;---

>>>>>>>>On the day in question it was a late afternoon on a Sunday, the gentleman in question came to trade his car in on a specific car, he had driven the car and was ready to purchase it that day if he was able to get the payment he wanted. After a bit of small talk about Puerto Rico where he came from, I told him how I just moved to the United States a year ago, he then told me about his service in the military which I thanked him for, after pleasantry's I told the gentleman in question we would need a credit report to find out what he would qualify for. Whilst that was being done we had his car apprised, the car has been in a T-bone collision, he told me about the accident after the appraisal, he stated he had work performed to fix it in the order of $4,000 plus dollars the customer informed me, I explained this diminishes a vehicles value as it has to be disclosed to any prospective buyer.
In regards to running his credit and speaking in front of customers, whilst our floor plan is open I purposely sat the gentleman down in our service department seating area, with the service department being closed on Sunday there was no one around us at all, during the entire process of running his credit I informed him due to his credit score we would have to look at different lenders for financing options, as this can take some time on Sunday's I kept him informed through the entire process letting him know what was going on and thanking him for his patience. During this entire process he seemed quite disinterested and was busy on his cell phone saying "no problem".
At no time did we make mention of a $1000 dollar payment, we were upfront with our car pricing and showed our invoice on it before being asked, I told him that in the past he may have qualified for a $550 rate but not with his current score, he then became upset with me and proceeded to talk to me as if I was trying to cheat him and that the car was too expensive, I told him that with his current credit score payment's in the low $700's were what he could expect.--*****<<<<<<<<<

Here is the explanation from our sales manager, *****, who was working with the salesperson and dealing with the credit issues;---

>>>>>>>>>>Mr. ******* visited Honda Auto Center of Bellevue on January 4th, 2015. He was interested in trading in his 2013 Honda Accord for a new 2015 Honda Accord EXL V6 w/ Navigation.
Mr. ******* came in with the desire to have a transaction that resulted in a $550 payment. We were up front and transparent about the transaction we could offer. We offered Mr. ******* a selling price of $31000 on the aforementioned vehicle with a trade in value of $19000. Retail pricing on the 2015 Accord is $34665.40. We did communicate with Mr. ******* that we were aware that his vehicle was in a prior accident. Our Used Car Manager noted this on the appraisal form, and that information is recorded in the Carfax Vehicle History of his trade in. Vehicle value is affected by "accident history" and we passed along that information to Mr. *******. Even with the accident on his trade in, we valued his vehicle at $19000. Current NADA trade value for his vehicle in average condition is $18900. We offered Mr. ******* a $3665.40 discount on our vehicle, and average trade in for his vehicle even with the knowledge it had been in an accident resulting in $4000 of repairs.
Mr. ******* still owed (on January 4th) $24465.65 on his 2013 Accord. All factors included, we offered Mr. ******* a payment of $710 over 60 months assuming we could get an approval from ******** ***** ******* for 3.9%. As this monthly payment is higher than Mr. ******* desired, we informed him that we could try to get an approval from other lenders we work with for better terms. With his consent and a properly filled out credit application, we sent his information to ***** ***** and ******* *** to try to get him a lower rate and attempt a loan term of 72 months. This was the only conceivable way to get his payment into the $550 range. ***** ********** kept Mr. ******* informed on the progress and how it takes time to obtain a decision from lenders, especially on a Sunday. Unfortunately, ***** ***** declined the deal, and ******* *** countered with a decision that would require Mr. ******* to come up with a $7444.90 down payment. As Mr. ******* declined ******* ***'s offer for lack of having the required funds for the down payment, the only option we had was the higher payment option through ******* *****, which Mr. ******* had declined prior. At the point where we could not match a proposed deal that Mr. ******* had in place in July 2014 at a competing Dealership, he became frustrated with us.
We have an open Showroom without large walls or offices. Our Salespeople are trained to be discrete in their communication with customers and I apologize if the physical characteristics of our Dealership made Mr. ******* uncomfortable.
At the time when Mr. ******* visited Bellevue Honda and in reviewing the transaction now, it is my belief that at no time did we mislead, try to cheat, or discriminate against Mr. *******. We treated him with the respect that we treat all of our customers and provided him with a fair and transparent transaction that he declined....*****<<<<<<<<<<<

No doubt when Mr. ******* called us he might have been open to our above explanations. After not responding I realize that it's harder for him to give us the benefit of the doubt about our intentions and processes. None the less we acted properly in our dealings with Mr. ******* when he tried to buy a car from us. I do apologize for us not responding to his phone call and sorry to make him feel as if we did not care. That is not the kind of place we are.

If Mr. ******* would like I'm happy to call him and discuss any of these issues in more detail.

Sincerely,

**** *******
General Manager
Honda Auto Center of Bellevue

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted a grey 2014 Honda Civic with a black interior, *** ********* informed me that Honda did not make that color combination. I purchased a 2014 Civic with a grey exterior and grey interior. I noticed a scratch in it. After multiple attempts at fixing it, I noticed that one of the rental cars they gave me was a 2014 Honda Civic with grey exterior and black interior. I notified **** ******** the general manager. He offered no solution to the issue. He instead put his effort in criticizing me for wanting my car to be repaired. When my car was finally fixed, I asked for the car to be washed. **** refused to wash it in fear that the car would be scratched and that I would notice. He then told me that if I wanted it washed I needed to go somewhere else. He proceeded to say that I had "no wisdom" and that I made the process extremely difficult for him. He offered to purchase my vehicle back saying "I'm not doing this for you, I'm doing this for me". I felt uncomfortable proceeding with my relationship with **** ******* and his staff.

Desired Settlement: Refund of car insurance purchased for vehicle, compensation for time and effort trying to solve the issue with **** ******* and his staff (roughly 7 hours), compensation for time without a vehicle equivalent to rental car (10/10/14 - whenever the loan is no longer in my name so that I can purchase another vehicle).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ Sorry for the delay in my response, i was out of town for the last 2 days and returned this morning. our response to the complaint; The overriding issue in this conflict was that some days after purchasing this car Mr. *** wanted to add another person on the deal to get a better insurance rate. Since the contract had been executed already this was not possible. Mr. *** then proceeded to blow every encounter between our company and himself out of proportions in his efforts to have our dealership take the car back; which he was eventually successful with after much conflict. Mr. ************* >Salesperon *** ********* lied about the color availability of a Honda Civic. I wanted a grey exterior with a black interior. *** told me that Honda doesn't make that combination. I purchased a car with a grey exterior with a grey interior. I found a scratch and after multiple attempts to fix it, I realized that the rental car they gave me was grey with a black interior. The general manager, **** ******** offered no solution to the problem. Honda Auto CenterWhat happened during the conversation between our salesperson and Mr. *** regarding color was this: "He asked about available colors and I went through the list of "IN STOCK" cars. He choose the color of his choice. I brought the car down, he approved and I required that he drive the car before we do paperwork. He was in a hurry and would only drive the car around the parking lot, which we did!" Regarding the scratch: Mr. *** took delivery of the car September 16th and signed a delivery receipt stating that there were no problems. 10 days later he wanted us to fix a scratch on his dashboard that he had found. Even though we had no obligation to assist we did replace the scratched panel with a new panel, and provided him a rental car twice at our expense during that process. Regarding refusing to wash his car: By this point we had replaced the scratched dashboard piece and all was well with the car but there was an extreme level of negativity coming from Mr. *** and our company was concerned that any interaction with his car would result in further complications, we did not want to touch it. A few moments after we refused to wash it at Mr. ***'s insistence I did agree to wash it. and then based on his continued negativity toward our company and my view of the long term issues involved I did agree to take the car back which is what he wanted all along. And he said "thank you, Thank you". Mr. ***->After refusing to wash my car and saying "if you want it washed, go somewhere else", he asked to purchase my car back from me because "he was tired of dealing" with me and that I "had no wisdom". I felt uncomfortable keeping the vehicle, which I purchased an extended service plan on, knowing that I would have to deal with **** and his staff again. I now have to try and recoup the money I spent on purchasing insurance, have no car, and am unable to purchase a new car because the loan is still in my name.< Honda Auto Center-I do apologize for allowing my emotions to get in the way of professionalism and telling Mr *** we did not want to deal with him any futher. No matter how abusive his behavior had been toward our company and our employees I should have just made the best of it and turned the page. And apparently he now feels the need to hurt us any way he can. Based on my dealings with him I suppose I understand it. We did pay off the contract in full including interest on October 14th, 2014. Mr. *** paid nothing to drive this new 2014 Honda Civic 4 door Lx sedan from September 16th thru October 10th except gasoline. He will only pay insurance on the time he used the car. Our company now has to market this car as a used car and suffer the depreciation. Honda Auto Center has been very generous to Mr. ***. We are moving on. We wish Mr. *** well in the future. Sincerely, **** ******* General Manager Honda Auto Center of Bellevue Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The chief complaint was not that I needed to add someone on to the insurance. ** ******* is failing to realize the chief complaint was with the quality of communication at his dealership. My salesperson, ***, never called me back about the issue I had. The sales manager, *****, also never called me back. I had to call multiples times, resulting in directly contacting *** ******* to resolve the problem. The transaction then unraveled from there. ******, another sales manager, tried to get me to take the car after the first attempt at fixing the scratch, which was obvious to both *** and I that it was not fixed. He then told me that Honda of Bellevue does not sell any cars in perfect condition, brand new or not. I also stand by the fact that *** said "Honda does not make the color combination you are looking for, it is black on black or grey on grey" although *** and Mr. ******* continue to deny this. The track record of communication failures between the dealership and I are well documented between Mr. ******* and I. Mr. ******* was also upset with me that I did not tell him that ****** requested that the panel containing the scratch in my car was being replaced. He accused me of purposefully withholding information from him. I don't believe that a customer should be accused or held responsible for the lack of communication within a business. *** ******* thinks that my actions were "abusive" and "hostile. I, however, see it from the lens of the consumer, who was treated poorly, neglected, lied to, and felt cheated. *** ******* hangs his hat on the fact that they are the highest grossing Honda dealership in the state and seem to disregard any type of follow up after the purchase. I felt like I did what was necessary to resolve the problem. My actions were not "abusive" or "hostile" the first few weeks that I continued to call *** and received no reply. Maybe Mr. ******* should try to ensure his staff take care of the customer before they become "abusive" and "hostile". Mr. ******* has yet to address the issue I have with the lack of transportation I had between the date I returned the car, and the date that the loan was cleared. This seems to be a copied and pasted response from the complaint I filed with the Attorney General. Please take the time to read the issue and directly respond to it rather than use a generic blanket statement. This may be another piece of evidence for the lack of communication I have experienced with this dealership. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/11/24) */ By repurchasing the car from *** *** we consider this matter closed and that is our full and complete answer to *** ***'s BBB complaint from Honda Auto Center. We have no further response to *** *** in this matter. Sincerely, **** ******* General Manager Honda Auto Center of Bellevue Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is unfortunate that you feel like the problem is resolved. I'm curious as to why you think simply re-purchasing the vehicle automatically solves the problem. The time and effort involved was unacceptable from a consumer standpoint. The time I was without a vehicle was unacceptable. The fact that your dealership refused to provide any sort of written documentation that the vehicle will be re-purchased was never provided. You and your sales manager even said that documentation was not even possible for this transaction. I was also told by ******, the sales manager, that paperwork would be provided as soon as the transaction was completed and the loan in my name is repaid. As far as I know, I still have a car loan in my name that I am unaware of. The price of a rental car, on average $20/day, from the day I returned the car to the dealership to the day I receive proof that my loan has been forgiven will be acceptable to me. Thank you

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a car at $7,000 above the highest suggested retail price for the car in question on Kelly Bluebook (online). I feel that the salesman took advantage of me, a stupid little old lady. He also led me into buying a redundant extended warrantee that I did not need because I was buying a certified vehicle - this cost me another $2,000. Despite "caveat emptor" I feel that I was taken advantage of in a greedy way - that this is not good business and should be apprehended for what it is - predatory practice. Salesman was *** ********** He argues that price is subjective and that the car I bought - Honda Element 2011 - is a popular brand. The subjectivity argument is disproportionate when you consider how far above Blue Book the sale price was and my discussions with other used car dealers suggest that the model I bought - the EX - is not at all popular. In fact, this type of car is difficult for car sellers to unload. Furthermore, I have been unsuccessful in getting the salesman or the company manager to return my phone calls. I would be all too happy to supply you with paperwork. Just ask.

Desired Settlement: I want the $7,000 back that I paid too much.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ Case# ******** ****** '****' ******** Dear Better Business Bureau, First; we apologize for not knowing about this BBB complaint until Monday, February 24th when we received this complaint in the mail. When the BBB sent the email notice to us on February 6th it was caught in our spam filter due to the ongoing BBB spam problem ( http://www.detroit.bbb.org/article/bbb-spam-warning--alert-XXXXX ). Also; we also are sorry that *** ********'s communications of her concerns were not responded to in a more timely manner. She did speak to ****** ****** one of our sales managers, over the phone on February 6th (after this complaint was filed) who did respond that market conditions along with our acquisition costs determine selling price, not any arbitrary book value. Selling price is never an exact science in any market place. Prices for used cars vary from dealer to dealer and market to market. And in this particular case, the Honda Element has been discontinued as a new car and it's unique features combined with supply and demand have pushed the values to very high levels, particularly for the clean low mileage ones. Then add in an all wheel drive vehicle that is seasonal in demand and then offer it for sale in mid-December (she purchased it on December 14th, 2013) and the retail asking price does get quite high. In the case of the particular 2011 Honda Element that *** ******** purchased from our dealership; we had to pay quite a premium over book to acquire the car. then we paid over $1200 to ship from Texas to our dealership, another $1161 in service reconditioning, and another $550 to certify it with American Honda. In the Seattle market, that particular car, at that particular time, was worth what we asked for it based on the combination of the very hot model, very low miles, and condition. This Element arrived at our dealership on December 1st, so we only had it for a couple of weeks. Our profit was between 10% and 11% of the selling price after our costs of sale. And that is not considering any overhead. That is slightly below our average profit margin on used cars. We do not apologize for our selling price. We sell 70-90 used Hondas a month, and have to be 'on the market' to keep our inventory turning. Our inventory is not priced according to any book; they are individually priced based on the particular car and it's unique qualities and the marketplace as we perceive it. The supply and demand affects every car's value up or down. Book values are averages of auction prices over wide areas or even nationally. They rarely reflect how unique cars are marketed. We were not 'greedy' in the sense of taking advantage of anyone. We owe it to our company to sell our cars for their value. If someone buys a car and they do not really appreciate the market value of that particular car then it can cause bad feelings.......'buyer's remorse' is a fact of life that exists. There are not many Elements in the market to compare because they are so scarce. However; for comparison purposes there is a somewhat similar one for sale at Lynnwood Honda right now. They are asking $22,741 for it. but it has 29,467 miles instead of the 17,343 miles our Element had on it. This mileage difference makes a large difference in the market value for any premium car. Then add in the value difference for an all wheel drive vehicle from Mid-December compared to that same value on March 1st and our two Elements are priced similarly. And we don't know if their Element is as clean as ours, or what their acquisition costs were. In any case their Element is priced far above any book value....just like ours. That is the market for that car. Regarding the service contract; *** ******** is always able to cancel that if she decides it's not in her best interests to keep it. just come by and fill out some paperwork and we can get the refund process moving. We appreciate *** ******** purchasing her car from us and are here to help should she need us. She purchased a fine 'unique' car. Let us know if you have any further questions. Sincerely, **** ******* General Manager Honda Auto Center of Bellevue XXX-XXX-XXXX

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Honda Pilot on 07/01/2012 from Bellevue Honda, and I paid $750.00 toward GAP. Later I decided not to continue with GAP, so I contacted "*** *****" <****@bellevuehonda.com> and canceled the GAP on 04/02/2013. I followed up several times with *** and there was no positive response. I visited Bellevue Honda on 11/24/2013 and explained the situation to ****** ******* <*******@bellevuehonda.com>. ****** promised that this will be taken care of soon. I contacted ****** several times on email and there was no response. My GAP refund was not made till date.

Desired Settlement: I request Bellevue Honda to forward the refunded GAP amount of "$637.50" to the Lienholder (***) or to me directly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/07) */ hello *******, We apologize for not responding in a more timely matter on your refund request. My finance director ******* ***** called you on Wednesday to tell you that the refund was paid to ******** ***** toward your finance balance in November, so we have already done what you are requesting. i want you to know that your problem and how we miss-handled it has caused us to re-examine our communications process on this issue and improve it so we don't have this issue again with other customers. again, i apologize that you had to go to so much trouble about this. We did do the refund prior to your complaint thru the BBB but how could you know that? in any case, thank you for your business and we wish you the best with your Honda going forward. Sincerely, **** ******* General Manager Honda Auto Center of Bellevue Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Hi ****, Thanks for responding to my case immediately. Thanks to ******* for calling me and updating me on my refund status. I've always received the highest customer service from Bellevue Honda, and this little lapse in communication shouldn't change my perception on your service. Thanks again for taking care of me! *******

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB,The story:Due to my 2007 Honda Pilot cylinder #5 spark plug misfire issue, I sent the car to Bellevue Honda. They said it needs to open cylinder header to view the situation with a cost greater than $1600+tax. On 5/21/2013, my wife talked to service manager **** and requested to open a case before proceeding this job. We waited for 4 days and finally received a complete NO answer from **** Scurlock on 5/24/2013. We had to pay whatever cost it resulted. Due to the car was not drivable, my wife agreed to open the cylinder header. On 5/25/2013, the service manager **** told me that the engine had to be replaced. A junk yard engine and service cost more than $5000 or a new one cost more than $9000. I'm so desperate due to such high repair cost and car's future value being dramatically degraded, I put the car on garage sale via craigslist. We sold the car to Seattle Finest Motors for very low price.Now, you can see this car on craigslist again:http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/ctd/XXXXXXXXXX.html(2007 Honda Pilot 4WD **Fully Serviced!!! - $11999 (Kirkland))Of course, it belongs to the new owner - Seattle Finest Motors.Highlight of the description:2007 Honda Pilot 4WD V6-3.5L with 116K miles Fully Serviced and ready to go. Here is a list of what would of cost you about $2000 already done with Invoice please call us if you need any more info thanks. ***** cell # XXX-XXX-XXXX X-Timing Belt kit (belt and Tensioners)2-Water Pump3- Front Crankshaft Seal4-Rear Crankshaft Bearing Seal5-Spark Plugs6-Engine Oil and Filter There is no need to change the engine!!!What a joke - we lost more than $7000 on this car just because the wrong diagnose done by Honda Auto Center of Bellevue!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) 1. Honda to open a case and study why such mistake could occur.2. Reimburse the money back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/18) */ Yesterday at 12:12pm our company received this BBB Complaint regarding the 2007 Honda Pilot which we worked on for it's then owner, ******* ***. In this complaint, Mr. *** accuses our company of improperly diagnosing a serious engine problem, causing him to sell this 2007 Honda Pilot at a very cheap price. Mr. *** saw an advertisement in Craig's List for this Honda Pilot with no mention of any engine problem. He then assumed that the used car dealer which purchased the Pilot from him had been able to repair the engine very inexpensively and then offer it for sale at more than double what that dealer had paid him for it. He claims he has been wronged by our company, that his Pilot was not in need of such major repairs as we had told him, and demands our company compensate him for his loss. Our company completely denies any wrongdoing on the diagnosis and rejects his claim of compensation. As soon as I received this complaint, I contacted my Service Manager to get a complete explanation of what happened, an hour or so later he came back to me. Here is what happened according to my Service Manager, **** ********* ****** "On May 17th 2013 ******* *** and or his wife presented a 2007 Honda Pilot (VIN#2HKYFXXXXXHXXXXXX) with a check engine light on. It was determined that there was a code P0305, misfire # 5 cylinder. Initial inspection found that the #5 spark plug had backed out causing the coil to melt. We could not get the coil out of the spark plug tube and recommended removing the cylinder head for repairs. The customer declined repairs and took vehicle to another repair facility. Do not know the name of the facility. Would have to ask the customer. On May 21st the customers brought the vehicle back in saying that the repair facility replaced the plug and coil but the engine was low on compression and the repairs would be too expensive. The customer told me that they contacted American Honda for possible goodwill assistance. It was determined that since the customer had not been maintaining their vehicle and only been doing oil changes at ********* that assistance would be denied. The vehicle was due for a timing belt replacement and spark plugs around 110,000 miles. I gave the customer a copy of the data pulled from their vehicle showing when this service was to be done. In order to give the customer a more accurate estimate of charges to repair the engine, it was recommended that we remove the cylinder head. The customer agreed to this and that we would only charge 200.00 dollars to do so. And, that if the customer did not want the repairs completed after the initial inspection, they would be responsible to have the car removed from our facility. It was determined after the cylinder head was removed that there was damage to the piston and cylinder wall and that an engine replacement either new or used would be the best method of repair. The customer declined repairs and sold the car to Seattle's Finest Motors. I spoke to ***** *** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) who purchased the vehicle from the customer. He stated that they had to replace the engine due to damage and that when he purchased the vehicle from the ***'s, he had told them based on the damage he could see, that it would need an engine." Yesterday afternoon after I got the above explanation from my service manager, I called the complainant, ******* ***, and spoke to him about this issue. I told him that we had called the seller, ***** *** of Seattle's Finest Motors, who had told us that the engine had been replaced. I gave him the name and phone number to call and confirm it. I also asked Mr. *** to call me back to let me know he had confirmed it. As of noon today I had not heard back from Mr. ***. So I called him again. He told me he had not yet been able to call. I again confirmed the phone number with him and asked him to call. And then call me back. A few minutes later he did call back and confirmed that Mr. *** had told him that he did change the motor on the 2007 Pilot. However; Mr. *** would not allow Mr. *** to come over and confirm that a different engine was in the 2007 Pilot. Mr. *** and I then discussed what we knew and what we did not know. we had a good respectful discussion. He wants confirmation that the engine has been changed, and yet he also understands that our company is not responsible for that problem. It is up to Mr. *** to prove that there is a problem, and right now the only information we have is that there is no problem. We are both being told that the engine has been replaced. Mr. *** respects how our company has responded to his concerns and as far as I can tell no longer thinks we owe him any compensation. I invited him to consider replacing his Pilot with another car from our dealership, and he was interested in doing that possibly although he said his wife now wants a ******* We will see how that turns out. We are confident that our original diagnosis was correct and that we acted in good faith in this matter. In a perfect world Mr. *** would have first investigated the facts better before he filed the BBB Complaint; however it is not a perfect world. People do things out of anger and frustration without full investigation and businesses spend hours and hours responding and investigating. Businesses have a much higher level of responsibility to proper procedure than customers. We take any feedback from any customer very seriously, and especially respect and support the efforts of the Better Business Bureau. Thanks, **** ******* General Manager Honda Auto Center of Bellevue Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Honda Auto Center Of Bellevue
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart