This business is not BBB accredited.

Heartland Toyota

Phone: (360) 377-1200 Fax: (360) 479-6984 View Additional Phone Numbers 901 W Hills Boulevard, Bremerton, WA 98312 http://www.heartlandtoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heartland Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Heartland Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 01/20/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Wiler, President Mr. Wayne Davis, CFO Mr. Tom Diefendorf, General Manager Ms. Joanne Haselwood, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Wayne Davis, CFO
Principal: Mr. Rick Wiler, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Heartland Motor Company Heartland Toyota Scion

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Heartland Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    901 W Hills Boulevard

    Bremerton, WA 98312 (360) 377-1200 (866) 760-1463 (866) 468-7251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 29, 2014 To Whom This May Concern On July 16th, 2014, I went into Heartland Toyota to purchase an automobile. I selected a Prius C and negotiated a satisfactory deal with the salesperson. The agreed on amounts were $21214 purchase price plus sales tax and licensing which came to a total of $23174. 0% financing for 60 months was also part of the deal. From the salesman's desk I was taken to the Finance office. The finance person sold me an extended warranty and then gave me a "deal" on a "Northwest Package". We talked about several things that were offered as a package. When I asked about the prices, I was only given a total monthly payment amount, and was told that lots of extras were included in this package. The extras included windshield and tire protection, glass etching and "over $1600 in value" in extras. I was also told that GAP insurance was included in the monthly payment. I was told that the "Northwest Package" and the other items such as windshield sealer, glass etching, etc would be installed later and that I was to call, make an appointment and return to the dealership to do so. Just before leaving the dealership I noticed a small cardboard box in the back of the car. I asked the salesman what it was, and was told that it was the "Northwest Package", and that it was already installed. I asked the salesman why I had to pay for the Northwest Package if it was already installed. He referred me to the finance person. The Finance person had included the Northwest Package in the charges for the extras in the negotiated price for the car. We went back to the finance person and asked why we had been charged for the Northwest Package when it was already installed and sitting on the show room floor with a price already assigned to it. The finance person told me that it was only right that I pay for it. On the way home I did the math in my head and realized that the monthly payment of $473 for 60 months did not add up to what we had agreed to. The car was $23,000 including tax, and with the extended warranty it would be around $25000, but the total of payments came to over $28000! When I got home I reviewed the paperwork and discovered that on the finance contract the vehicle cash price was $23174, not the agreed on price of $21214, and that the total amount financed was $28381.16, which included a charge of $595 for GAP insurance. Then I reviewed the Vehicle Buyers Order, which showed the base price as $21214, but that I was charged $298 for a tire plan, $268 for etch, $448 for Crystal Fusion, the Northwest Package for $648 and key guard for $298. This totaled to the $23174 vehicle price on the finance contract. In addition to the warranty and GAP charges, I was also charged $150 for a "negotiable" documentary fee which I was neither told of nor negotiated. The sales tax I was charged was $2259.66, which is a rate of 10.25%, not the 9 percent I was told was the sales tax rate for this dealership. This is an overcharge of $289.68. Further review of the documents revealed that the specific paperwork for the Crystal fusion, safe key and tire and wheel protection showed either $0 price or the charge amount was left blank. The next morning I called both the finance person and the General Sales Manager. I was told I could not cancel any of these charges that I was not told about when completing the paperwork. Initially I was willing to keep the extended warranty, but after many unreturned calls I became very discouraged and decided to cancel everything. When I finally did reach the finance person the following week, he told me that he could cancel everything but the Northwest Package and the Etch. He said that those were uncancelable. Later in the conversation I told him I had no intention of returning to have the Northwest Package and the Etch installed. He then told me that the Northwest Package was installed prior to my purchasing the vehicle. I told him that if this was true then it was supposed to be included in the negotiated sales price and I should not have been charged for them again. He told me that the sale price should have been changed. I pointed out that what he says should have been the sale price is not what the advertised price was and what we agreed to with the salesperson. I also made clear during every contact with the dealership that I wanted all charges removed, and to have the finance contract rewritten to reflect only the agreed on purchase price, sales tax and license. He told me that since it was already sent to the finance company he could not redo it. I have learned since that the dealership can do this. The procedure is done by printing and completing a new contract and sending it in to Toyota along with a check to pay off the original finance contract. An important part of the transaction was 60 month financing for 0% interest, and that just sending in a check to TFS for the cancelations would deprive me of this benefit. I asked him to send me an email detailing what he was going to do. To date the only communication has been a brief email to tell me that the dealership cannot do any refunds until they receive an account number. I feel outraged. I feel that I was taken advantage of as a woman. I feel that there are potentially many legal issues in my transaction, and very likely other customers have been taken advantage of in the same way. Attempting to charge me for items already installed is probably a violation of bushing and consumer protection laws. Failing to disclose the components and the total charges of a finance contract is definitely a violation of consumer protection laws. Refusing to take my calls is unprofessional, and surprising for a Toyota dealership. Telling me that I could not cancel items that I was not told about in the finance office yet added to the finance contract is simply unconscionable. I feel that based on my experience that I am not alone and that others either may have knowingly or unknowingly been victim of undisclosed charges added in the finance office. Installing items like the Northwest Package and the Etch prior to sale, then charging the customer extra for them after the sale is fraudulent and deceptive. I sent the attached letter to the finance person, the General Sales Manager, the General Manager, and to **** *****, who I was told was the dealer. The only communications I have received was from the finance person telling me he was not going to do any new paperwork and that he was going to send in a refund. I requested again that he remove the charges for the window Etch as I would not be bringing the car back to have it installed. He told me he could not cancel the Etch because it was installed prior to purchase. At that time I also pointed out that this should not have been charged as it was also part of the original sale price. I requested him to send me an email explaining what he was refunding. I then received an email later telling me that he needed an account number before doing any refunds. I replied to his email requesting a more specific list of what he was refunding and at what dollar amounts. He did not answer my request. I have not heard from the General Sales Manager, the General Manager or **** *****. I love my car, but am horrified at what I have gone through and must continue to endure to prevent being cheated. Respectfully submitted, ****** *****

Desired Settlement: SAle Price $21214.0 Plus sales tax and licensing fees are the only amounts financed as per our agreement with the Sales Person. All extra charges be refunded to the Toyota Financial Services. Sales tax amount be changed to the correct %.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ July 31, 2014 Better Business Bureau BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX The Finance Manager, ***** ******* who handled the paperwork for *** ***** has cancelled all of the items *** ***** requested to be to be cancelled. *** ****** has made sure that a check to the lender has been mailed, and this check included the applicable tax on the products she purchased and then asked to be cancelled. *** ****** has apologized for the lack of communication and in no way did he intent to mislead *** ***** in this transaction. To create an unhappy customer is the last thing we will ever try to do. We will try to make this up to *** ***** over the lifetime that she owns her Toyota. Sincerely, *** ********** General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I asked for a new contract. ***** ****** refused to write a new contract. I then asked for a detailed list of what he did refunds for and how much was refunded to each and he said I should contact BBB that BBB has all the information I am asking for. I received a payment statement from Toyota and it still shows the $28000 + balance. I would like to get a detailed list of what refunds were made to whom and for how much. I don't think that is to much to ask for considering what a **** ***** is being. Thank you for any help you can give me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/13) */ The Finance Manager, ***** ******* who handled the paperwork for *** ***** has cancelled all of the items *** ***** requested to be to be cancelled. *** ****** has made sure that a check to the lender has been mailed, and this check included the applicable tax on the products she purchased and then asked to be cancelled. A breakdown on what *** ***** purchased, then cancelled are as follows: Extended Service contract price - $2000.00 Tax - $174.00 Customer refund - $2174.00 Safe-Gap contract price - $595.00 Tax - $0.00 (Gap is a non-taxable product) Customer refund - $595.00 Crystal Fusion contract price - $448.00 Tax - $40.32 Customer refund - $488.32 Anti-Theft Etch contract price - $268.00 Tax - $24.12 Customer refund - $292.12 North West Protection Package contract price - $648.00 Tax - $58.32 Customer refund - $706.32 Tire & Wheel contract price - $298.00 Tax - $26.82 Customer refund - $324.82 Key Guard contract price - $298.00 Tax - $26.82 Customer refund - $324.82 Total refund including tax - $4905.40 *** ****** has apologized for the lack of communication and in no way did he intent to mislead *** ***** in this transaction. To create an unhappy customer is the last thing we will ever try to do. We will try to make this up to *** ***** over the lifetime that she owns her Toyota. Sincerely *** ********** General Manager Heartland Toyota-Scion

4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is against Toyota OEM Part World, http://www.oempartworld.com/land-cruiser/land-cruiser-exterior/659_PTXXX-XXXXX. Apparently, this is the Parts Department of Heartland Toyota because my package's return address is the same as Heartland Toyota. If you will copy and paste the URL above, it will take you directly to the page from which I ordered. If you will read the the description of the product in large red letters, "REAR WIND DEFLECTORS INSTALLATION KIT 98-03 LAND CRUISER" I think you will assume as I did that this is a kit of nuts, bolts, etc. to attach the wind deflector to the car. That was my assumption and I clicked the big red oblong that states "click to order" and then completed the order. Well you can imagine my surprise when I opened the box and all it contained was a template and installation instruction. I emailed the company back and told them I got the wrong thing. They said I did not and told me to scroll to the bottom of the page where I found in small print "Installation Kit (Template/Instructions)". I sent a copy of this URL to a number of family and asked them what they thought I was buying just to see if I was crazy or not. They all replied basically, "you are getting something to attach the wind deflector to you car, nuts, bolts, etc." Not one of them scrolled down to search the whole page looking for the fine print. The way the page opens to the top half of the page and the big red description I think it is human nature to order right there as I did. I do not believe but maybe a very few would scroll the whole page looking at the fine print. I think they should have have included in the big red description the word "Template". Then I and everyone else would know that they are ordering the wrong thing if they are looking for nuts, bolts,etc. kit. I just don't think it would be human nature to scroll the whole page. They said they would take the Template back and refund what they charged me $13.62 but refund none of the $16.00 shipping charges and I would have to pay for the shipping charges back. I basically told them that is ridiculous because they are at fault for the way they presented the item on their order form and thought it was only fair as you will see described below.

Desired Settlement: During our debate of going back and forth in our emails I told that that I thought it only fair that I do not lose any money on this transaction. I felt they should refund the cost of the product $13.62, freight $16.00, and trying to be nice at the time before they got so hard headed, $5.00+ for the shipping back. I told them I thought I could find an cheaper way then their $16.00, so I would settle for $35.00 even. Now that they have been so hard headed and causing me to spend hours upon hours of my time I think I should be compensated for my time as well. Is this possible? Is $100.00 fair?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ April 3, 2014 ****** ******** BBB Resolutions Consultant *** ******** *** ****** purchased a "Rear Wind Deflectors Installation Kit 98-07 Land Cruiser" in which has a description of the part as, "Includes marking template and instruction sheet only". The actual "Rear Wind Deflector" part is just to the left of the part *** ****** purchased on our website. *** ****** emailed us after receiving the "Rear Wind Deflectors Installation Kit 98-07 Land Cruiser" part and explained that he did not need the template; he needed the actual mounting hardware for the "Rear Wind Deflector" because he had backed into his garage and had broken the supports that hold his wind deflector onto his vehicle. At this time we explained to *** ****** that we will refund him his monies per our refund policy which is explained on the website. Our refund policy is also printed on a bright orange piece of paper enclosed in every part we ship. *** ****** received this bright orange piece of paper explaining our return policy with his part. Out of customer satisfaction, we offered to send *** ****** a ***** Call Tag" which he would not have to pay for the return shipping. We have addressed *** ******'s concerns about the return of the part that he incorrectly ordered. As long as *** ****** follows our return policy, and receives the ***** Call Tag" and returns the part he incorrectly ordered, everything should be resolved. Sincerely, *** ********** General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from the business per my response 04/06/2014 as follows: 04/06/2014 BBB MORE INFO RECEIVED FROM THE CONSUMER : ***********, If you will copy and paste the following URL, you will find the two selections ************** is referring to on the second page: http://www.oempartworld.com/land-cruiser/land-cruiser-exterior I did not want the one on the left ************** refers to because it is the wind deflector itself. My Wind Deflector is not damaged. All I needed was the one on the right that appears to be the installation kit. Two choices "DEFLECTOR" or "INSTALLATION KIT". As I pointed out in my original complaint, I do not see anything stating that either one is a template. ************** is now trying to put a halo over his head by stating that they have great customer service and offered to pay the shipping charges back. Sure, after I filed the complaint. Prior to that in our email communications they state' "so we would not be able to refund any shipping. *** is in charge of the shipping, so unfortunately it is 16 dollars for that little box. We apologize for that inconvenience to you." In no place is it stated in our email chain that I can find they will pay shipping charges back. As I see it ************** has basically repeated what I already stated. They are simply hard headed and too embarrassed to admit they made a mistake on the way they described the product on their order form. My desired settlement is still the same. Thank You, ************ Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/09) */ April 9, 2014 ********************************************************* At this time we explained to ********** that we will refund him his monies per our refund policy which is explained on the website. Our refund policy is also printed on a bright orange piece of paper enclosed in every part we ship. ********** received this bright orange piece of paper explaining our return policy with his part. Our return policy states: Toyota OEM Part World does not charge a restocking fee, however it is your responsibility to get the item(s) back to us in new, unused, and perfect condition. Please follow all of the instructions on this page to insure a prompt full refund. Please call for a RA number Item(s) must be in brand new condition, uninstalled with all attaching hardware and original packaging. If any packaging is missing or replaced, the item may be damaged in transit to Toyota OEM Part World and Toyota OEM Part World will not offer a refund. All returned item(s) must be spotlessly clean. Please make sure all protective wrapping is in place on the item(s) and item(s) are properly secured inside the box to prevent cardboard and other materials from scratching the finish on the accessories. Toyota OEM Part World will credit the amount of the items to your card that was used to make the purchase (shipping is not refundable). Returned item(s) must be received by Toyota Part World within 14 days of the original purchase. Once any item(s) is installed, it is yours. Installed item(s) will not be accepted for return. Item(s) that have gone through a "test installation" will not be accepted for return. If an accessory or part has been bolted on, attached, plugged in or installed in any other way, it is not returnable. No return on electrical products. Installed items are still covered by warranty against manufacturing defects (see your local dealer). All returns are inspected prior to processing the refund. If item(s) are missing or are not in returnable condition you will be notified via email. The item(s) that we are unable to refund can either be disposed of or returned to you, at your expense. Please allow 1-2 days for return to be inspected and processed after it is received. Refunds can take up to 7-10 days for your credit card company to show them after we submit the refund. Insure the package for the full value of the enclosed item(s). Inspect all items before shipping and notify us of any damaged or missing items. It may be necessary to package the item(s) inside another box for shipping to avoid damage during the return trip. Many time(s) the packing is sufficient for the item(s) to arrive undamaged after being shipped once, however, it won't hold up to being shipped a second time. Out of customer satisfaction, we have sent ********** a ***** Call Tag" which he can use for the return shipping, so he does not incur an expense. We have addressed **********'s concerns about the return of the part that he incorrectly ordered. As long as ********** follows our return policy, and receives the ***** Call Tag" and returns the part he incorrectly ordered, everything should be resolved. Sincerely, ************** General Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ************ You, I, and Mr.*********** by now well know Heartland's return policy. And we all know it is printed on a bright orange sheet that goes into every order which I did receive with the order I was misled to buy. I do not believe Heartland wanted to deceive me. Heartland simply made a mistake and now as a good business they need to step up to the plate and take care of their error. I ran a great business for 46 years. Believe me I know well what it is to make a mistake. But, when we did, we took care of the problem as fast as humanly possible. Customers, like friends, are too hard to get and very easy to lose. We all know this is not about Heartland's return policy. The problem is the fact that they led me to believe I was ordering something else. It is very simple, if Heartland would have titled the part correctly such as "TEMPLATE FOR REAR WIND DEFLECTORS INSTALLATION KIT 98-03 LAND CRUISER" AND NOT "REAR WIND DEFLECTORS INSTALLATION KIT 98-03 LAND CRUISER", I would have never ordered and none of this would be going on. And that is the short and long of it, sweet and simple.

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aggressive marketing even after repeated attempts to be removed from their mailing list.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from their mailing list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ This is the first I have heard of *** ****** complaint. I will contact our internal marketing departmnet and have see if *** ****** name and address are in our own system. If they are, his name and address will be removed. If we have any of his telephone numbers, he will be placed on our "do not call" list. Heartland Toyota-Scion uses mailing lists provided to us by sublet vendors whose businesses are in other states. Heartland Toyota-Scion does not use agressive marketing tools in any fashion. We will inform request that *** ****** name be removed from any direct mail advertising we may use in the future. We hope this will relieve this situation. Sincerely, *** ********** General Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This may be the first *** ********** has heard of my complaint, but that simply means that his marketing department doesn't talk to him. The marketing department's response to my complaint was that they use third party mailing lists. Disingenuous at best, because the mailings include the make and model of the Toyota I drive. How does a third party get the make and model of the Toyota I drive, if not from Heartland Toyota? Shortly after I bought the car in 2009, I was inundated with marketing emails and surveys. The emails did stop, but it took two tries over the period of a year. Since then, I get a mailer about once a month trying to get me to trade in my RAV4. Two calls to the marketing department and a message in the marketing director's voice mail still haven't stopped the mailers. This is aggressive by any measure. The only company that has been more aggressive was ******* ******* and they have a BBB "D" rating. I'll believe *** ********** if I don't hear from Heartland Toyota for the next year. By the way, I'll be replacing my 2001 Chevy S-10 in the next few months. Heartland Toyota's marketing practices have dropped Toyota from first to fourth in the makes of cars I will be looking at.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Heartland Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart