This business is not BBB accredited.

Ford of Kirkland

Phone: (425) 821-6611 Fax: (425) 820-5509 11800 124th Ave NE, Kirkland, WA 98034 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fordofkirkland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ford of Kirkland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Ford of Kirkland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2004 Business started locally: 12/01/2004 Business incorporated 12/02/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Walen, President Ms. Amy Walen, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Walen, Manager
Principal: Mr. Jim Walen, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 9am - 9pm
Sunday 10am - 7pm
Alternate Business Names
D.O.C.K. Management Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ford of Kirkland has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11800 124th Ave NE

    Kirkland, WA 98034 (425) 821-6611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle in the dealer to have the tachometer repaired. When I picked up the vehicle after the repairs the lights on the dash around the heater controls were not working. I called the representative immediately and told him about the problem and he said that he would take care of it right away. I never heard back from him after numerous tries and eventually found out that he was not at work due to an injury. He provided an alternate contact for me to get the matter resolved. This person does not return my phone calls or answer his phone messages. I spoke to him once and he said he was going to look into the matter further and call me back. That was nearly two weeks ago and I have not heard from him and he will not respond to my messages. In addition, during the first repair the service men put over 100 miles on my vehicle and burned up almost a half a tank of gas. The original repair representative said he would take care of this but I have also not been compensated for that.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to repair my dash lights back to working order in the same condition they were before I had them service it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/14) */ We have been in contact with the shop that did the repair on the tachometer and the mechanics involved in that repair informed us that working on the tachometer would not involve work near the dash lights. Our used vehicles are sold as-is, and if these lights failed after purchase, that would be the responsibility of the owner to repair. The best contact for *** ***** is **** ****** our Used Car Manager. He can be reached at ************ to discuss any further repairs, should *** ***** wish to bring his vehicle back into our shop. Please contact **** to work out the details. We definitely would like to resolve this matter in a way that is fair to everyone involved. Thank you, Ford of Kirkland Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Here's the bottom line - The lights were operable when I dropped the car off for service and not operable when I picked it up - pretty safe to deduce it was due to the work that was conducted and happened while the dealer had the vehicle. To suggest otherwise is saying I must be a liar and have nothing better to do than make false claims of damage & poor repair. I notified *** ****** who is apparently no longer with the dealership, immediately before I left the lot at time of pickup. He agreed it must have been due to the work that was conducted and told me "he will take of it". (in addition to replacing the gas that was burned up, approx 1/4 tank in the 100+ mi round trip the dealer put on the vehicle.) So that is two things I was told would be rectified that the dealership has not kept their word on. The gas I don't really care about anymore, however I feel that is very poor service given the cost of gas, at the time I had just filled the tank before I dropped off the truck and 1/4 tank was over $20 of gas. Sure $20 is not a lot but I wouldn't expect many people would be happy about that. Also, as I have explained numerous times to *** ****** the dash bezel where the lights are located MUST BE REMOVED IN ORDER TO ACCESS & REMOVE THE TACH. If you research tach repair/replacement on this model 2006 Dodge Ram 1500, you will see that it is required. So regardless what the repair shop told you, that assertion is INCORRECT. In addition, *** ***** did finally call me back after several attempts to reach him, and instructed me to call the mechanic shop that did the work and they would look at it. I have called them several times during regular business hours and no one answers, I have left messages on at least 2 separate occasions and none of them have been returned. In closing not only is this very frustrating, it is very disappointing. I fully understand the car was sold "as-is" with no warranty - but I am 100% certain and adamant that this issue, however small, was caused by the work that was conducted on the dealers behalf - which, let me add, I am very grateful that they agreed to do in fixing the tach in the first place. And maybe $12k is not a lot of money in the dealer's eyes since they do so much in business every year - ** ***** told me he spends millions a year in repairs of their used cars, but it is a significant amount to me. And the fact that time & cost of this repair PALES in comparison to the others they regularly conduct, speaks volumes to me at how petty this dispute is on their behalf, as well as the level of customer service they are willing to provide. They lay at your feet to get a sale, yet wont cross the street to give you assistance or hardly return calls afterwards? Trust me, I have much better ways to spend my time that to submit a false claim or fighting with a car dealer to fix something they are not responsible for, or even are for that matter. The cost of this repair has already been far outweighed by the time to pursue it let alone the headache as well. And I'm sure the same for the dealer as well, compared to the volume of work, inventory, and money they deal with on a daily basis, this issue is hardly a drop in the bucket for them to resolve. I would be happy to repair it myself - if I knew how - but I also feel its a matter of principle, the damage was clearly caused by the work and an honorable business would work to ensure a customer is satisfied vs battling with them, especially over something this small. Again, to me this speaks VOLUMES about the honor of Kirkland Ford and will absolutely be a factor on my next vehicle purchase or recommendations to others. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/04) */ We would be happy to inspect the vehicle at our shop and see if we can do the repairs in house. Mr. ***** should contact **** ***** at ************ or ************************* to set up a time with our service department. Mr. ***** is researching who did the original safety and is getting in touch with the mechanical shop who did the tachometer work. He is available Tuesday through Saturday at the dealership. We hope to come to resolution that works for everyone involved, and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to Mr. *****. Please contact **** at your convenience, Mr. *****. He will be expecting your call or email. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes this proposal is fine. Honestly, I am tired of even thinking about this & having to deal with it anymore but I cannot see the dials at night so it has to be fixed one way or another. So I do sincerely appreciate their offer to look at it and especially at the dealership, that is much better than having to drive to Auburn, although I couldnt even get a hold of that shop. I did try to fix it myself to avoid anymore hassle and just get it done but I cant figure out how to get the bezel off and I dont want to ruin anything. So again, if the dealer is willing to try & fix it without charging me for the labor or having me drive it to Auburn or where ever, it is greatly appreciated. Thank you to Kirkland Ford for your patience & offer to repair and thanks to the BBB for your assistance.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a used 2010 Ford F150 on December 5th, 2014. Shortly after driving away from the dealership, the vehicle broke down during rush hour traffic on the 405 freeway in Bellevue, Washington. After getting the vehicle to start again, we drove to a gas station to fuel up. I was able to get the vehicle to start after numerous tries. I called the dealership, and was advised to bring it in for maintenance. I was not able to get the vehicle back to ford until the following Monday due to military training that weekend. The diagnosis for the vehicle was bad vapor management system which was not covered under the extended maintenance warranty I purchased. So I ended up with a bill for $384, and a day missed from work. After visiting Ford of Kirklands ******** page, I discovered numberous customers who posted complaints about their newly purchaded vehicles breaking down shortly after leaving the dealership. It seems that there is a major issue with this company saling cars that have maintence issues, and the unsuspected buyers having to foot the bill. I would normally not complain about a situation like this, but there are many other customers out there that have gone through the same thing.

Desired Settlement: Remburstment for repair cost. $385.00 and time lost from work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ We have been in contact with Mr. ****** regarding this matter and he is happy with the resolution. We consider the matter closed. Please feel free to contact us with any questions from the BBB or Mr. ******. Thank you, *** ***** President Ford Hyundai of Kirkland Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Ford of Kirkland responded to my complaint in a timely and professional manner. I consider this issue resolved. Thank you for BBB for taking my case and helping me to get this resolved.

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just recently graduated high school this past spring, and was excited to finally have saved up enough for a down payment for a used car. I went to Ford of Kirkland (after hearing that they are very respectable) to look at used cars on April 25th 2014. I spoke to a sales person by the name of ***** ******* He proceeded to show me a "great" used 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt. I told him that I would have to finance the car, and needed to keep my monthly payment affordable as I am a part time student. He proceeded to work with me to sell me the car for $7950.00 with $500.00 down. Belatedly I looked the car up on Kelly Blue Book and the is only worth $6000.00, unfortunately it was too late. My mother arrived shortly after we agreed on a price. She seemed to think it was high and tried to renegotiate, but ***** would not allow it, the negotiations were finished. On April 28th, ***** reached out to my mother and assured her that he believed the car was in "good condition". I then got my loan approved through BECU to purchase the car. On April 30th, after my mother had concerns with the tires and wanted it addressed before we purchased the car. We called ***** ****** and he proceeded to take the car to ******** **** in Kirkland to have them checked out. ***** said ******** **** told him that the tires were at 6/32 inch. My mother called ***** at ******** **** to double check. They just recommended 2 new tires. To try to "make up" for the situation ***** at Ford offered that the dealership would pay for new tabs as they were expired, but indicated the tires were well within safety guidelines. When my mother was hesitant, ***** continued to pressure her. He stated, "We need to get this wrapped up, this is your son's first car". He also continued to tell her the car was in good condition. He then said if we did not sign, someone else was interested and we would lose a good opportunity. My mother and I both felt pressured we were losing out on an affordable opportunity, so we signed the paperwork on May 1st and I picked up my car. A friend of mine followed me home from the dealership and brought it to my attention that the left break light and turn signal were out, which is definitely a safety issue the dealership should have checked before letting the car even leave the lot. On May 3rd I had a 3rd party Pre-Buyers inspection done to the car due to growing concerns. The mechanic found the following problems: * The front struts were leaking badly (Ford of Kirkland's inspection # 160 showed the struts passed inspection) * Both front tires were bad and deemed dangerous to drive they were measured at Left 3/32 and Right 3/32 (Ford of Kirkland's inspection # 150 passed the tires at Left 5/32 and Right 5/32) If you see above, ***** ****** was dishonest and said the tires were at 6/32, which was not correct. * The brake fluid was contaminated (Ford of Kirkland's inspection # 10, passed the brake system) * Clean lube and a break adjustment were badly needed. * Left brake and turn signal were needed, yet at the dealership the car passed safety inspection # 36. * The rear door lock rod was broken (Ford of Kirkland's inspection # 86 showed the car passed) Several items were missed by Ford of Kirkland's supposed "inspections". We also found out there were several recalls on the car. (Recall number 10023 loss of power steering assist motor, Recall number 13454 ignition switch, Recall number 14113 ignition lock, key cylinder, and keys) We followed up with Ford of Kirkland about all of the issues above. On May 16 they agreed to fix the left door lock rod and the left turn signal light bulb. On May 24th Chevrolet of kirkland ordered parts for the 3 safety recalls and replaced the parts on 7/26/14. My mother also called the service manager to follow up on the other issues such as the leaking struts. He replied to her, "I give you a 10 out of 10 for your research. I don't know how you got that information, if you think you are going to use it a leverage, you are wrong. We are NOT fixing the struts". On July 16th I took my car to a 3rd party mechanic again, they stated that they found a milky substance on my dipstick, (it is suspected to be a shady practice of adding a substance to the oil to eliminate engine noise) and had to add 4 quarts of oil. They also informed me that my serpentine belt was cracking. I proceeded to take it to the 3rd party mechanic to have the engine oil monitored over a month and a half due to engine knocking and low oil. Each time the car was at least 2 quarts low on oil. On 9/5/14 I went back to ***** at Ford and talked to him about the knocking engine and the struts. He had the car appraised and deemed it a "piece of junk". (Note that 3 months ago he told us it was a great car in good condition) I told him that I wanted a refund. He then proceeded to offer me a trade in for a new $22,000.00 car. I then told him there was no way I could afford this "compromise". On 9/7, I dropped the car off at Ford of Kirkland to have the engine diagnosed. I then did not hear back from them for 3 days. My mom followed up and called the service manager on 9/9 and he proceeded to tell her the engine was shot and the car needed a new one (which they would NOT pay for). After meeting with the Used Car Manager **** ****** they still were not willing to rectify the situation and make it right, instead they just wanted to sell me another used car I could not afford. I told them they could keep my down payment of $500.00, and just give me my money owed back on the car. They refused. On 9/18/14 we met with the General Manager and *****. They still were trying to sell me a different used car I still could not afford. I ended up leaving with a car that was deemed unsafe to drive, and not really even running. In the 3 months of dealing with them, even talking to the manager of the dealership ***** ****** they all refused any type of refund, or assistance in fixing the known problems with the car. I find it truly disturbing that a dealership that was supposed to be known for being honest and highly respected, is just the opposite. They sold a car to a young person that was unsafe, lied about all of the passed inspections, and then would not honor their reputation. I would like to find a way to shed a light on their unethical business practices before someone else becomes a victim and loses their hard earned money, or worse, becomes involved in an accident driving an unsafe used vehicle. I am now not only without transportation, but in debt for a car I cannot even utilize. I would truly appreciate any advice or assistance bringing these people to justice. I have kept all receipts, invoices and dates of all interactions with both the 3rd party mechanic, as well as the dealership. I am not in a financial position to hire an attorney, especially being in debt for the car. Respectively - **** ******

Desired Settlement: Full refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ Before Mr. ****** purchased the Chevrolet from us he took the vehicle to a 3rd party mechanic for an inspection and was happy with the results. Once the car had been inspected we moved forward with the transaction. During this transaction he (and his mother, who he also mentions in his complaint) were offered a warranty and signed against it no less than 3 times. We then found a way to offer Mr. ****** an even better rate plan than the original deal, so we asked him to come in and resign the deal (after he had been driving the car- without issue- for weeks. Even though he declined the warranty during the first signing, we again strongly advised Mr. ****** and Ms. ******* (his mother) to purchase extended protection. Due to situations like this, and on older vehicles especially, we are very insistent about our customers purchasing this protection. Mr. ****** unfortunately declined to do so, as these repairs would have been covered by a fully protected plan. Our sales person- ***** ******* additionally had a third party tire inspector verify that the tires were safe before completing the sale. When Mr. ****** informed us that he did not feel the tires were safe, we went ahead and replaced them, even though we were under no obligation to do so. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we did so in trying to please our customer, not to undermine the original deal which had been completed "As-Is." When this was not enough, we also met with Mr. ****** and his Mother on multiple occasions to offer to trade him out of the Cobalt and into a car he would be happy with. Unfortunately none of these offers were suitable to him. This issue has gone through every step of our customer process- including being reviewed by our Sales Managers, General Sales Managers, Customer Service, and General Manger. It is unfortunate that we were not able to come to an agreement to get Mr. ****** into a vehicle he likes more than the original one he chose, however, he has owned the vehicle for months and he declined a warranty multiple times. We would still be happy to work with Mr. ****** should he want to trade his vehicle. We have also offered to work with him on any repair costs. None of our offers were suitable to Mr. ******. The only resolution he is comfortable with is a full refund on a car that he has owned and driven for months. While we do our best to ensure our customers satisfaction every time, our business cannot be responsible for 100% of the costs for repairs on a vehicle that is not under warranty and that Mr. ****** owns.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 99 Honda Civic from this dealership as we are loyal customers and we trusted that we would get a good, safe and reliable vehicle for our daughter. The sticker in the vehicle stated the vehicle had been safety inspected. This was the 2nd vehicle we purchased from the delearship. 13 days after purchasing the vehicle the car stalled on a busy highway while driving. I contacted ***** as we have always done business with him and was referred to ***** the salesman. He basically said there was nothing we could do. I later spoke to ***** who referred me to ***** ******** ***** advised us to Tow the vehicle more than 50 miles for the mechanics to take a look at the vehicle with no promise to fix anything. we decided we did not want to tow the vehicle that far with no promise to pay and took the vehicle near our home for repairs. The repairs cost is over 600 so I contacted ***** to ask for help from the delearship. ***** responded in a very condescending tone and said he planed to pay for the repairs had we towed it to the delearship. After about 15 minutes of being talked to in a demeaning manner ***** told me to fax the proof we had the vehicle repaired. I faxed the documents to fax and called for confirmation the receipts were received. I called 3 more times and still have not heard from ***** nor anyone at the delearship.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the cost of the repairs we made to the vehicle or the additional 500 down payment that was taken from my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/25) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern about our business. All of our used vehicles undergo a careful multi point inspection before sale. When after sale repairs are required, we perform them ourselves, so that we can improve our processes, and so that our labor and parts are at cost. We do not pay other repair facilities to repair our customer's vehicles. We did, in fact request that the vehicle be brought to us, so that our technicians could actually diagnose the problem and we could decide what sort of help we could offer. We explained this to **** ******* in detail. **** ******* did in fact take the Honda to another shop, ****** **** ****** in Tacoma, an overall well reviewed shop. Her explanation for taking it elsewhere was that, she ,''didn't trust us'' and that we had not promised to fix it. We could not promise to fix the vehicle until we diagnosed the problem - at that point, all options are on the table, including trading into a difference vehicle. In our view, the result was $278 in parts and $300 in labor for what amounted to a basic tune up and topping off of some fluids. The only two parts that actually could have caused a car to die and not restart may have been the coil or possibly the fuel filter. Unfortunately, no explanation is given in the paperwork as to whether the fuel filter was clogged, or if the resistance in the coil was tested before it was replaced. We estimate that our cost on the replacement of these two unrelated parts at approximately $157.24 in parts and one hour to replace both, for a total of around $250 in parts and labor. We do sell our used vehicles as is, but because we value customers, and want to provide an outstanding experience, we frequently resolve after sale repair issues. This repair was one that could not have been predicted by our technicians. However, we are willing to offer $250 (our cost on the repair) if it will ensure **** *******'s complete satisfaction with our business. Sincerely *** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/11/01) */ Hello, I responded to the dealerships response letting all involved parties know that I am satisfied with their offer. To date, I have yet to receive the check they promised in their offer. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/11/04) */ I did not receive notice in any form. As I was the one making the offer, I would expect the customer to contact me. I will issue a check. *** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX

9/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 Ford Escape at this dealership in September 2008. In April 2009, I decided that I wanted the Northwest Protection package added which I had declined at the time of purchase. I drove 3 hours from my residence to have this service preformed on April 30th, 2009. The Northwest Protection Package was to apply a paint protectant to the outer vehicle, and fabric protector to the seats and carpets inside. After my vehicle service was complete, I signed a paper in the service office. I then asked the technician, who I believe was ***** where I should pay for the service or if they would bill me. He said he thought I had purchased the service with my vehicle and I said I had not. The technician then said that it had already gone through the system incorrectly and that I would not have to pay for it. With the service, I received a ResistAll brand kit with cleaners to maintain the protectant application. I later had some issues with my seats staining and was not able to get the marks off. I went to the Cal-tex website http://www.resistall.org to file my claim with their ResistAll product on 7/1/11 and 9/12/11. However, I was contacted and told that I did not have a warranty and Ford of Kirkland claimed they had never preformed this service for me and there were no records. I thought I was out of options, but my seats are completely ruined after trying numerous products and methods to get them clean. So I contacted Ford of Kirkland to get a copy of my paperwork for the service they said had not occurred. I contacted ********* in Customer Service on 08/08/13, who said she would email me a copy of the paperwork right away. I also contacted Ford Customer Service (at the national level) to open a case, CAS-XXXXXXX. I never received an email, so I called back the next day and spoke to ***** in Finance, who said he would look into my case. After not hearing from anyone, I called back again on Monday (08/12/13) and spoke to ***** again. He was extremely rude and unprofessional, saying there was no point in pursuing the issue and was wasting my time. He said I had not right to complain about something that I was not charged for and that they don't even carry the product anymore. ***** also stated "no good deed goes unpunished", which I found very insulting. At this point, I had still not received the paperwork and left 2 messages with ********* on the same day. I also called Ford Customer Service to follow up on my case and spoke to *****. He told me that ***** the regional manager would be calling in the next 2 business days (08/13-08/14). I never got a phone call back from anyone at Ford of Kirkland of Ford Customer Service. I finally called Ford Customer service back on 08/16/13 to find out why no one had contacted me and was told my case had been transferred to April instead of ***** They tried to transfer me to another department, but it did not work. I called back again and was told I actually needed to talk to **** at Korum Ford where I currently take my vehicle for service. I called Todd at Korum, who said he couldn't help me and to contact the service manager at Ford of Kirkland. On 08/16/13 I also called ********* again and finally received the paperwork in my email. I called *** ****** the Service Department Manager at Ford of Kirkland, on 08/21/13 and left a message. He called me back and after explaining my whole issue to him, he said we would look into it. He called me back later that day to say there was nothing he could do and that I needed to talk to the sales manager because it was an error with my paperwork and billing. Mr. ***** informed me that they had made a mistake and never submitted my warranty. I called the Sales Manager on 08/23/13 and left a message. At this point, I have become very frustrated because everyone just passed me off to someone else and have had no help or suggestions, and been treated quite rudely at times.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the warranty paperwork that was not submitted at the time of service sent into the company so that I may claim the damage to my seats. Otherwise, I expect Ford of Kirkland to honor the product they sold by having my seats professionally cleaned or replaced, as the service did not work. They have no legal right to wave the warranty because they made an error in billing when charging me for the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/16) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern about our business. We have done extensive research about this issue. Unfortunately, we have no record of our customer purchasing a protection policy, at any time from our business. Our Service Advisor, Mr. **** ******* has no record or recollection of our customer purchasing, or being issued for free, a protection policy. Perhaps our customer can provide us with a copy of the policy, we can research further. We have interviewed all of our staff involved, and many have interacted with Ms. ********, and they have all tried to help. Both of us, as owners of the dealership, would be happy to be the only point of contact, as Ms. ********' has had issues with our staff's responses. Mr. ***** can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We work very hard to resolve our customer's concerns. Notwithstanding, we are prepared to have the seats professionally cleaned, either to Ms. ********' satisfaction, or even to replace the seats at our cost. Sincerely, *** and *** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was never given any paperwork to complete the warranty and assumed that you had registered it on my behalf since I was not given any further instructions. There is paperwork showing the service was preformed in your records and I was given a ResistAll care package. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/09/18) */ Please send an executed copy of the warranty. Thank you.

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with ****** from Internet sales after contacting them online regarding the purchase of a Fusion Hybrid model. The next day I contacted him again indicating that my wife had seen a similarly appointed vehicle (not in the same color we had been discussing) for significantly less. After a few emails back and forth, we struck a deal at which time I asked him to have the papers written us and let me know when to stop by so we could expedite the process. He indicated that he had the key in hand but was not able to complete the contract unless we were on site as he needed our drivers licenses, insurance cards, etc. I responded that we would be there shortly. When we arrived, ****** was no where in site. We waited for about a half hour and were finally assisted by a young salesman. He checked on the vehicle we wanted only to return with the news that it was sold! When I asked to talk to a Manager, it took a while before anybody would talk to us and when they did, we were treated like we were idiots. The manager did look for a comparable vehicle and found one that was exactly the same, except in a different color. The MSRP was the same as it had all the same features. He offered this vehicle to us for $1000.00 more than the vehicle that we had an agreed on price for!

Desired Settlement: While I am unsure at this time if I even want to deal with this dealership, I feel that they should honor the agreement they had with us!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/07) */ Dear *** *** - we regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience with our dealership. I have met with some of our team who were present on the day you visited us, but I have yet to meet with ******. I have also read the email conversation between yourself and ******. We sell over 400 vehicles per month, and that makes us a very busy store, but this does not excuse the fact that ****** was on a test drive with another customer when you arrived. I apologzie. Our staff follow our policy not to hold cars. It sounds as if ****** was not clear with you about that, and the vehicle that you were interested in, did indeed sell before you came in. ****** is a good person with a good heart, and if he has a weakness, it is that he wants to please, and that delivering bad news is difficult for him. We certainly do not "bait and switch". We are proud of our excellent reputation and our top flight customer service scores. We would not jeopardize either. We try to "under promise and over deliver", and in this case, we failed. We would be happy to deliver any Fusion to you at our advertised price, and we would be glad to deliver it to your home, or work. I would also offer a credit for future maintenance. Again, our sincere apologies. *** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/08/07) */ The general Manager has contacted me after I attempted to resolve this with the salesman and a lower level manager. As of last night the issue was resolved as they did honor the agreement I had with the salesman on another vehicle with the same features.

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a used ****** for my youngest daughter, the dealership having claimed that everything was in good working order with the car... a few weeks later while we were moving from Washington to California, her car broke down and we called a tow truck and paid a ridiculous fee to have it towed to Redding. The repair shop took a look at it and diagnosed the timing belt as broken. They took a look and the little pieces from the belt had gone into the engine, thus destroying the engine. The verdict was either pay over $4000 or sign the car over to the repair shop to be deemed totaled. Needless to say, we were rather angry at that point and just chose to sign it over and buy her a new car.

Desired Settlement: Just any type of recognition that they messed up and wasted our money that we paid for a car that ran a total of 3-4 weeks while in our possession.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@fordofkirkand.com Ladies and Gentlemen: Thank you for your letter of May 17, 2013. We have reviewed our transaction file for *** ****** and our safety check of the vehicle. *** ****** purchased this vehicle in July of 2012. It was a 2002 ********** ******* with 132218 miles on it at the time of delivery. Our team recalls that *** ****** had a very limited amount to spend on a vehicle. She purchased the vehicle "as is" and without any extended service protection. We always recommend that our customers invest in extended service protection for pre-owned vehicles. This would be especially true of a 11 year old European car with over 130000 miles on it. Our safety check is a multi point inspection that ensures that the vehicle is safe to drive, but cannot predict upcoming needed maintenance items such as a timing belt doing such damage. We have confirmed with our team that we have not received a call from *** ****** at any time since her purchase last year, about any problems with the vehicle. If we had, we would have offered to trade her out of the car, or to participate in the repair. We sincerely regret the inconvenience to *** ******'s family. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can provide further information or assist the ****** family. *** and *** *****

6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sir, On February 8th, 2013 I financed a car from Ford of Kirkland. I financed a 2000 Jaguar S-Type due to my limiting credit ability. The cash price of the car was 6242.80. I made a down payment of 1200 dollars and financed the car from ***** ********* as the financer for a payment of 298 dollars a month. The car was As Is and I was made to sign papers where I was told the dealer is not liable for anything. The car was AS IS. On 4/7/2013 while returning from ****** on the freeway the front passenger side tire blew off. I replaced it with the spare. My first life threatening experience with the car. On 4/20/2013 I almost had another major accident when the car broke down on me in the middle of the road. On 4/22/2013 I had the car towed to ****** **** in *** ******* I called the dealer and told them about the problem and they told me they cannot do anything to help as it was as is. ****** told me it was carfamissing a major bolt that made the tire came off. **** also told me about some hoses leaking and how dangerous it was to be driving that car. ****** **** gave me a memo with the diagnosed problem and the missing bolt. On 5/8/2013 ****** **** took the car to *** ****** for alignment and *** ****** couldnot align my car saying it cannot be aligned within specs and they cannot get it within specs and raised the question if the car has been in an accident. On 5/9/2013, I took the car from ****** **** and paid 1407 dollars in repairs. I pulled the******* on 5/9/2013 and found out the car has been in an accident with front hitting a concrete barrier in 2011 which I was not told about by the dealer. So now I have a car that is unsafe to drive because it could not be aligned, I have already had to pay 1400 in repairs within 85 days, and within less than 3000 miles driven , a car that has been in an accident and I was not told about and a car that I am afraid of driving because of safety reasons. I feel unsafe driving the car. I am seeking help because I can feel problems in the front driver wheel now and I do not have any more money to spend on the car. I think I have a legitimate complain, please assist if you may. I want the dealer to refund me all my money for my down payment and my repairs that I have spent so that I can put it down towards another car and buy it, or upgrade me to a better car with some warranty on it and a clean******** report, or just refund me my down payment and void the contract so that I can buy a reliable car. Sincerely, ****** ** ***** (XXX) XXX XXXX

Desired Settlement: Refund me my downpayment and my cost of repair, or Give me another reliable car, or take the car back, void the contract and refund me my down payment.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/23) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@fordofkirkland.com RE: ****** ***** ***** Ladies and Gentlemen: Thank you for your letter of May 22, 2013. We have reviewed our transaction file on this matter, and have interviewed our staff, and respond as follows. � *** ***** claims that he was "made to sign papers". This is absolutely not the case. We do not force our customers to sign the documents that go with a purchase transaction. *** ***** had credit issues, and came to our Special Finance department for help. He insisted on purchasing this specific vehicle - it was the only vehicle that he wanted. � Many used vehicles have been involved in minor collisions. We have a multi point safety check that every pre-owned vehicle we sell goes through. Our technicians are certified, and the one that inspected this vehicle was master certified. The vehicle passed our safety inspection, and we mounted and balanced 4 tires during our safety check process. We did not misrepresent the condition of this vehicle. *** ******* sales representative presents each and every one of his customers with an "Autocheck" (our service that equates to ******* on the vehicle that they are purchasing. � *** ***** contacted us about the alignment concern. We discussed what his repair shop had found, and we explained to him that since it had been some time since he purchased the vehicle (in February), it seemed very unlikely that the loose suspension would have taken so long to show itself. We offered to provide an alternative quote on the parts at a discounted rate, and to contribute to the cost of the repair. He was going to fax us a quote from his repair shop so that we would know what parts were needed, and he agreed. � At that point, or any other, we would be happy to trade *** ***** into another vehicle, or repair the vehicle in our own service department. We do not believe that it is reasonable to ask us to pay for repairs in another service shop, without the opportunity to have our own team inspect the vehicle, and to perform any needed repairs at our cost for parts and labor. � *** ***** purchased a 2000 Jaguar with nearly 90,000 miles on it, as-is, without warranty and declined Mechanical Breakdown Insurance offered to him with his purchase. We are committed to providing an outstanding experience. Our team worked very hard to secure financing for *** *****, and his claim for a refund of his down payment and repairs performed by a third party that we have no knowledge of, is not reasonable. However, if he will provide us with a receipt for his expenses, we are prepared to offer $500, representing our estimate of our cost of performing this repair, if this will fully satisfy his claim against us. We would be happy to provide any of the documents from *** ******* file that might assist you in reviewing this matter. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, *** ***** Controller

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues