BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chaplins Bellevue Subaru Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chaplins Bellevue Subaru Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chaplins Bellevue Subaru Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1971 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 01/01/1975 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kent P Chaplin, President Mr. Kent Chaplin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent P Chaplin, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Chaplins North Bend Chev/Olds Subaru & VW Kent Chaplin Enterprises Inc North Bend Chevrolet

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chaplins Bellevue Subaru Volkswagen has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 106 Main Ave N

    North Bend, WA 98045 (425) 641-2002

  • 15000 SE Eastgate Way

    Bellevue, WA 98007 (877) 641-2002

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in to get a price on a used car, I was told it was $27,288. Later on in the day I saw it listed on their own site for the same price. So when I went into the dealership to test drive it, and fell in love with it, I was very surprised to have the manager tell me the very best deal they could give me was $29,899. Absolute best deal, he said. As a customer, when I am told that I am dealing with a manager and that they have reviewed and have put together the best price they could, I should have the ability to trust that statement. However my exchange at Chaplin was so far from anything that I would consider a reputable business. What if I had not done my own research, would your company have stolen an extra $2,000 from me on the purchase of the car? This is a horrible experience to have a customer go through. I would like to understand what steps your dealership will take to ensure that it does not take advantage of females shopping for cars. This is outrageous that companies like yours still do business by trying to steal from their customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like to understand from upper management of both the Sales team and the Human Resources department, what types of training or policies will be discussed with your employees to ensure that discrimination stops and the culture of having sales people try to steal money from your customers is no longer acceptable.

Business Response:

 

Nick C****** called Ms. ***** after receiving her complaint about her experience with us.  They had a good conversation and he apologized for her poor experience.  Nick then met with the manager involved to discuss his part in Ms. ******* experience and how it could have been handled differently so as to never happen again.

 

 

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early Summer 2015 I brought my 2000 TDI Beetle in for service. Throttle had been sluggish and non-responsive. During my 1st call, the service adviser was short and rude and excused himself by saying an admin should have resolved my request without transferring my call to the floor. He advised that it was 4th of July weekend, and they were extremely busy and if I needed service, call back after the Holiday. I called back and was given an appointment between 4-5 weeks from the time of my call. I was told that old hoses were the problem and that they had all been replaced. I was also told the battery appeared weak despite being months old. I informed the advisor that I would have had the battery drain looked at had I known prior to pick up, but I needed to move on as the near hour long pickup process had me behind schedule. 3-4 weeks later, the throttle issue returned. I called Chaplin’s and explained what had transpired and asked if they could get the car in for emergency service. The admin advised that they were 4-6 weeks out, but she could put me on a standby list. I reiterated that after paying for service, my car still had issues and that a greater effort should be made to resolve my request as the car was undrivable. She declined. A couple weeks later, I had to have the car fixed, so I went to a shop near work. They charged me $75 for a part and $100 in labor and also took care of another issue that they found. When my appointment came up, I went in and informed them of my disgust and provided the bill I had to pay to get my car back on the road. I requested they resolved the battery drain issue, and look at why the courtesy light doesn’t engage when the passenger side door is opened. The adviser informed me that he would have a check was cut to compensate me for outside repairs. He also agreed to address the battery and courtesy light issues. At weeks end I was advised that a new lock would be required for the passenger side and that I was being charged

Desired Settlement: the base labor fee of $75. I was frustrated that they had not applied the amount due from my outside invoice, but no check was waiting for me either. I declined the new locks paid the bill and left. What I found after I left was the following. 1) The battery drain and courtesy light issues had not been resolved and the car had not been washed or vacuumed as advised. 2) All lighting related to all doors no longer function although working at time of drop off. Needless to say months after all this started, I thought I would wait for a call or check in the mail, I got neither. Chaplin’s personified the greasy, slick persona of used car sales and failed me at every front. I would not only like my money back for all services, I want my car fixed as requested. There is no excuse to request and authorize service and not have it completed. Their reputation is at stake and this will be my only attempt to resolve this matter without media involvement.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ********* letter, we cannot accurately speak as to what transpired during phone calls while trying to book his appointment.  Generally our wait time is 2 weeks or under unless a loaner car is required and that at times can extend the wait time depending upon availability of a loaner.

All of the diagnosis and repairs were performed by one of our VW master technicians and there is supporting documentation to justify the repairs made or quoted.  Our paperwork indicated that Mr. ******* declined repair of the door lock issue.  This was the suspected cause of the door lighting issue and it would also explain why the battery was failing.  As far as the repairs are concerned, we feel they were justified.  We definitely dropped the ball in refunding Mr. ******* the $175 from the outside repair he had performed.  No excuses, just a lack of communication on our part.

We have issued the refund check this morning and it will be in today's mail.  Mr. ******* should have it by Wednesday the 27th if not sooner.  We offer our sincerest apologies for the miscommunication, it was not our intention to be difficult or to caused Mr. ******* any duress. We would welcome the opportunity to redeem ourselves, so as a gesture of goodwill, we have noted Mr. ********* file with a $100 credit to be used towards any future repairs or parts purchases here at Chaplin's.

 

Sincerely,

Gale C*****

Controller

Consumer Response:

I don't feel that the dealership has done enough. The $175 was due to me based previous promise and the lack of urgency applied to my follow up appointment. The additional $100 pretty much refunds the price I paid for the follow up visit when some of the services promised were not rendered.

I was also advised that the original Tech was at a master level, but he left the dealership for new opportunity, so the person who did the follow up work, had no special qualification.

In addition, the dealer has not addressed the additional issues that were noted about additional light failures that were found the day of pick up.In short, the resolution is just as sloppy as the repair and standing behind a failure doesn't change it's status and had they got the car in right away, they would have been in a better position to dispute the fault and failure that the original "Master Mechanic" failed to detect.

 

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

**** *******

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took my 2014 Forester in for a 15000 mile service which included an oil change. When I picked up my car I noticed that the oil change sticker prompted me to bring my car back in after only 3750 miles rather than the 7500 miles prescribed by Subaru for vehicles using full synthetic oil. The issue I see is that either the dealer isn't using full synthetic oil despite what Subaru recommends for certain models or they're engaging in an deceptive business practice telling people that they need to come in for an oil change earlier than they need to. Customers who aren't aware that their car may only need an oil change every 7500 miles rather than 3750 miles are being taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: Chaplain's needs to either fix their oil change stickers or start using the correct oil as prescribed by Subaru.

Business Response:

We reviewed Mr. ********** complaint regarding the Oil change sticker.  The incorrect mileage was simply an oversight on our part.  We have one machine that prints the stickers and it requires the technician to change the format for different mileage intervals.  We service various makes of vehicles outside of Volkswagen and Subaru and the intervals between oil changes varies with the make/model of the vehicles.  In the case of Mr. ********, yes he is schedule for 7500 miles between oil changes.  The car that was in prior to Mr. ******** required oil changes every 3750 miles and the technician failed to change the printer to 7500 before printing the sticker for Mr. ********** car. 

In no way were we trying to be deceptive, it was an honest mistake.  It is important to us that Mr. ******** knows that we use only the oils required by Subaru in his vehicle to make sure that his car is maintained per Subaru's specifications.

 

 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, however I feel that it is extremely important that service technicians take extra care to apply the correct oil change stickers. 

Sincerely,

******* ********

4/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reference order *******. ******* ****** ***** is a subsidiary of this auto dealer. I ordered a power steering hose. It was shipped to the wrong address and left by *** at an address that does not exist. I have been in constant communication with the Internet Parts Manager and *** to no avail. I received a subsequent notification from *** that stated the shipment was coming and then it apparently was lost a second time. The Internet parts manager now alleges that I listed my address as being on Subaru Road and has produced an undated invoice. This is false. My vehicle is currently inoperable. The part was allegedly delivered 3/13/15. I have been advised to await the results of a *** investigation. I did not hire *** and any shipment is the responsibility of Genuine Parts. *** alleges they left the package at a ** ******** ****, an address that does not exist. No effort is being made to locate the shipment.

Desired Settlement: Immediate replacement of item.

Business Response: There has been quite a bit of communication with Mr. ******* regarding this lost order.  When he initiated his order online, he inadvertently entered his street address as ** ****** ** so the package was sent to that address.  We have been working with *** trying to track down the package.  In the meantime, we offered to refund Mr. ******* his money.  We issued a credit memo this morning and his *** *** credit will be processed at the end of the day today.  I not certain how long it takes for the credit to hit his *** *** account.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a part from their online parts catalog. I looked up the item by item number and ordered the correct one. Sometime during the process things got mixed up and I received a slightly different part for a different vehicle. When I contacted them about this they said there was no way this happened and it was my mistake. I demanded a refund, they gave me a set of instructions to return it. I followed the set of instructions and returned it for $40 return shipping at my expense. I boxed it up exactly as I received it, minus the fact that the bag for the hardware was opened. I received a poorly packaged item and returned it in the exact same package with everything that came with it, exactly as it was sent to me. They claim it arrived damaged and are now refusing my refund based on the fact that it is "used" and they can't give reefunds on opened items.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/02/10) */ Our records indicate that a refund in the amount of $158.60 was issued to Mr. ******'s ******* account on 2/03/15. If he has not rec'd the credit, please have him contact ***** ****** through our website at ******************.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I recieved the refund at the same time that I issued the complaint. I consider the matter settled.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2005 Volkswagen jetta gli to chaplains Volkswagen on 11/25/13 for a heater core flush only $ 200.00 since i had very minimal heat. I was called by the service adviser and told i needed a thermostat also. now its $ 400.00 with the flush and new thermostat and my heater would get hot. 2 days later i picked up my car and the service adviser tells me i still have minimal heat and i now need a new radiator $ 800.00 + tax more. i paid my bill of 438.00 and left...and i still have only minimal heat and want a full refund and this shop should be investigated.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund full refund of 438.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/06) */ We have contacted the customer directly to resolve. We issued a check today in the amount of $438.00 for a full refund for the work performed. *** ******** was satisfied with this resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a VW GTI brand new and was told that I would be able to get a loaner car whenever I need service on the car. I was contacted by VW Headquarters in June to set up a service appointment for 10,000 mile service. I specifically told the representative at that time that I would need a loaner car because I do not want to sit around in the dealership for hours. I was reassured that it is possible. When it was close to the date of the appointment, I contacted Chaplins customer service to confirm the appointment and was told that there is no loaner car available. I had to cancel the appointment because of that. I went on line to reschedule the service appointment date and specifically requested a loaner car with the appointment. I got the confirmation with the note specifically indicating the need for a loaner car. I showed up for the appointment today and was told that there is no loaner car. What a disappointment. I could have been told that ahead of time. When I requested a shuttle service, I asked for the car to be done by noon, which gives the service department 1.5 hours to get this service done. I was told that it takes 45 minutes to get the job done. I was told that the shuttle won't be able to pick me up by noon. So, basically I was given no option but to sit around waiting for the car to be serviced. The only reason I brought it to this place is because I was told that a loaner car will be available to me for any service. That was the sales pitch before I signed the paper. I guess I was wrong about this. The next time I need service, I will go to a dealership closer to my house because I will have to wait for the car anyway.

Desired Settlement: Chaplins should honor their promise and live up to their sales pitch.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/24) */ We totally dropped the ball by not having a loaner available to *** ****. It was an oversight on our part but unfortunately all the loaners were booked out the day he was in for service. We certainly should have handled the situation differently and put out more effort to accomodate him by renting a car or something. We hope he will give us another opportunity to regain his trust and faith in our dealership. We have flagged his file to make sure he gets a loaner every time he is in for service. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/10/09) */ From: **** **** Sent: Thursday, September 26, 2013 10:49 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case*********(Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX) Importance: Low I am glad that they admitted dropping the ball. I hope they will provide much better service next time. Thanks


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Chaplins Bellevue Subaru Volkswagen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart