This business is not BBB accredited.

Car Pros Burien Nissan

Phone: (206) 242-7070 16042 1st Ave S, Burien, WA 98148

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new car sales.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Car Pros Burien Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Car Pros Burien Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2009 Business started locally: 08/01/2009 Business incorporated 08/20/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
Phone Number: 800-451-7985

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ken Phillips, President Mr. Nick Phillips, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Phillips, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Phillips, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Car Pros Burien Inc

Additional Locations


    16042 1st Ave S

    Burien, WA 98148 (206) 242-7070


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were presented by email an offer for a particular model of car (Nissan Leaf S) with terms specific to price and availability. Upon arrival at the dealership, we were told that they could in fact not commit to that price and that availability was in fact limited with the model initially confirmed not in fact available. We lost over two hours at the dealership as well as additional time due to travel to and from the dealership. Additionally they did no have available a gift certificate that they had offered in the their initial email for taking a test drive.

Desired Settlement: A commitment that the dealership will not use bait and switch tactics in the future and will honor offers made whether by email, phone, or in person.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/22) */ I spoke to Mr ****. The employee who quoted the availability was new to the internet department and is actually no longer with the company. I apologised for the misunderstanding and also sent him the $25 AMEX gift card as soon as the next batch arrived. I believe the issue occured when Mr. **** was told that we had multiple colors of this model and they drove here from Vashon Island when in fact we only had one available color in stock.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed the appropriate paper work, waited the appropriate time after selling my car. The dealership did nothing whatsoever toward processing my refund, nearly $3000 from the gap insurance, 100,000 mile warranty and the service contract. After two months when I called to find out where my refund was, they claimed they had lost my paperwork, and even questioned that I was who I said I was. Every stall tactic in the book. Tried to say I had to get them the "lost" paperwork, etc. Wh

Desired Settlement: My check today, as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/25) */ this cancelation has been processed and the customer is scheduled to pick up her check on the 30th of this month.

11/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom This May Concern, I ******* ****** would like to make a formal complaint against Car Pros Burien Nissan. On February 27, 2013 I purchase a 2006 Nissan Maxima from Car Pros Burien Nissan. Prior to purchasing the vehicle, I was able to test drive it and drove about 1 mile and at the time had not noticed any abnormalities. After purchasing the vehicle and having driven for a few days, I began to notice some "unusual" car behavior such as the car seeming as if it did not want to accelerate and sometimes seeming as if it needed to catch up once the pedal had been pushed. I called to make an appointment with the service department to bring my vehicle in to be inspected on the date of March 23, 2013 and I also contacted *** the finance officer via fax on March 21, 2013 with a letter explaining the condition of the car and asked that he or Shanti contact me at their earliest convenience. I spoke with *** on March 22, 2013 confirming receipt of my fax and he assured me that the service department would take care of me. I told him that I had already made an appointment to have the car inspected. Due to a respiratory infection that I came down with, I cancelled my appointment for fear of spreading my illness to others; I then rescheduled my appointment to March 30, 2013. In lieu of my upcoming appointment, my cars power steering went out and the car was immobile. I called the service department and they made arrangements to have a tow bed haul my car to the dealership for repair. I also mentioned to ***** at the time that I had a standing appointment already for that date for what I suspected to be the transmission (after speaking with a few people I know, that know about cars). I was given a vehicle to drive home with while mine was being repaired. Upon pick up, I was told by ***** that they couldn't find anything wrong with my vehicle and that the issues that I was experiencing with the car was "probably" due to the steering hose gasping for air. I went home still experiencing the same issues but it was intermittently. On May 18th 2013, I brought my vehicle in again because the issues had not been resolved and I wanted to make sure things would have been taken care of before I got stuck with a non-working vehicle. I first took it to AAMCO Transmission to have it inspected, because I did not trust taking back to the same service department at Car Pros Burien Nissan (I felt that I would be told more of what it could be than them actually inspecting the vehicle). AAMCO verified there to be an internal transmission issue by placing my vehicle to a machine. I took this information to Car Pros Burien Nissan and as I suspected, ***** kept providing excuses saying it could be this or that rather than just taking the car in to be inspected. Reluctantly, ***** called **** to do a test drive with me. Initially the car drove perfectly and would not reproduce its usual symptoms. After driving 15-20 minutes, **** was able to confirm the symptoms that I was experiencing with the car. Relieved, we drove back to the service department. **** provided his assessment and confirmation to ***** who again did not want to take his word and kept making excuses saying that the issues could be because the car is not warmed up and so on but that wasn't true and I told her I had been driving all day so the car was plenty warm. ********* whom I originally made the appointment with told me to hang tight for about an hour or so while the car was inspected ( I don't know why my car was not inspected in this manner the very first time I brought the car in regarding the issues it was having). After an hour and 30 minutes ******** confirmed that a new transmission was needed. I was asked to pay 109.00 for the deductible which I did and that I would be called by mid-week the following week to bring my vehicle back in to be repaired. On May 22, 2013, I received a call from ******** stating that no 90 day warranty was found and therefore I would need to pay out of pocket. When I mentioned that I had a 90 day warranty per my paperwork, ******** told me he would pull my file and contact me back (this was May 23, 2013). I hadn't heard back by the evening so I called ******** back and was then told that he hadn't got around to pulling my file and that administration was too busy to "physically go upstairs and grab your file" he said. ******** said that it would be possibly Thursday or Friday of the following week before he could get back to me. My argument is this: * I contacted the dealership March 21, 2013 and I brought my car in for inspection under the 3 month, 3000 miles (on March, XX XXXX) at which I had driven 1,345 miles since purchase. * The service department FAILED to thoroughly inspect my vehicle in regards to my initial concerns. * The service department FAILED to effectively communicate to me prior to my picking up the vehicle the measure in which they took to "inspect" my vehicle. They did not call me and tell me that they had not experienced what I had concerns about. I could have made arrangements to get off work early and done a test drive with them. * I was led to believe that they had no other means of inspecting my vehicle after the fact. * I feel that Car Pros Burien Nissan did not want to fix my vehicle and that's why my concerns were not seriously addressed. Under the implied warranties law RCW 62A.2-314, I believe Car Pros Burien Nissan sold a vehicle to me that is not reasonably fit for ordinary driving for a reasonable amount of time as I have only had the vehicle for 90 days. I have encountered major problems with the vehicle (i.e. the transmission) and minor (i.e. the power steering).

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the dealer fix the problem at no additional cost to me and provide me with a free loaner car during time of repair or refund the purchase price of the vehicle.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/08) */ I have reached out to the consumer and ******* ****** and I have agreed to revisit the complaint next week after I have reviewed the documents of sale and how her complaint can be remedied. ***** *** ************ GM Car Pros Nissan Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First I was told that I would be given a reliable vehicle in place of the vehicle in question. Now I am told that I basically will have to pay a portion to Car Pros to have the vehicle repaired. I have already paid $109 dollars for this issuse the last time I brought it in for the bad transmission. Now I am told I have to wait until the cars transmission gets worse or goes completely bad before the company will fix it. The resolution that has been supplied to me does not work for me since A) It's the only vehicle that I have for transportation B) With the symptoms that the vehicle displays proves it increase my chances of an accident. C)I transport my most precious cargo in this vehicle on a daily basis and that in itself is nerve wrecking enough. D) I do NOT have any EXTRA cash to spend on this vehicle which was supposed to be reliable in the 1st place. I am getting ready to move, I have childcare, summer camp, football, school and all sorts of other things that my money is going towards...there is no more room in my budget for this vehicle other that minor repairs E) The vehicle that I traded in for the vehicle in question I now wish I would have gave me no problems other than a small oil leak. I was told that I would receive a call back 2 days ago and have not received on yet. If I do not hear back from Car Pros by Friday, I will begin legal actions. It is not fair to me to have to drive around in this symptomatic vehicle waiting until it gives out before it will be fixed. I do not really want to risk driving around with my kids in it and then we end up getting in a wreck or stranded because the transmission goes out! I don't know what the car will behave like when it does go out, but I don't want to be put in a predicament where my family will be injured or inconvenienced any further. Thank you. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/07/03) */ *** ****** and I have communicated and resolved the issue. She is satisfied with the solution and will respond here as well shortly

11/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues