BBB Accredited Business since

Burien Toyota Scion

Phone: (206) 243-0700 View Additional Phone Numbers 15025 1st Ave S, Burien, WA 98148 http://www.burientoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burien Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Burien Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Burien Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1984 Business started: 10/01/1983 Business started locally: 10/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Anderson, President Mr. Dean Anderson, Vice President Mr. Pat Dillon, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Anderson, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Pat Dillon, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 15025 1st Ave S

    Burien, WA 98148 (206) 431-2935 (888) 329-7597 (206) 243-0700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a bad experience ! I saw a van posted (Thursday) on their web site for $24,784. (2012 Toyota Sienna AWD, XLE, VIN 5TDDK3DC3CSXXXXXX, Stock #XXXXXX) Called and confirmed that it was there (via phone). Went to buy it the same day (for the internet sale price), first they told me that they didn't have the car etc. Next I was told it was sold. Later I was told that the car is on a truck ( per carfax the car was from Marysville, WA, so hard to understand why would it be on a truck) in the mean time they kept trying to sell other vans to me. They kept trying to push other cars, but were preventing me to buy the car, claiming it wasn't there ( other dealers let you put a deposit). I was told I will be the first one to know when the car comes, they took my contacts but no call the next day. In the mean time the same car, is listed as a certified used car. (If they sold the car, then wouldn't the update say that it is sold instead of certified update). Called again (Saturday) they person wanted to sell me another car, I informed him about the one I was interested. Well per the person the car is sold, on Friday as soon as it got off the truck. Monday, the car is on their web site the price is changed to XXXXX.

Desired Settlement: Honor the advertised price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/05/01) */ At Burien Toyota we care about each and every customer experience and always want it to be pleasant. In this case it was not and I apologize that we handled it so poorly. I spoke at length with the customer explaining exactly what happened in this situation. In this case the Sienna van in question was actually a customer refinance of their leased vehicle and was never a vehicle for sale. When a customer has completed their lease they have the option to purchase it for the residual amount, which is the remaining balance owed to the bank after making all of their lease payments. When a customer chooses this option as they did in this case, they come into the dealership to complete the paperwork necessary to complete the purchase and then own their vehicle. When this is done the dealership technically purchases the vehicle from the bank and sells it to the individual who leased it. This is all completed in a couple of hours. The paperwork is then processed by our office staff including the license and titling. In this case our lease customer needed to provide additional paperwork that was delayed and our office staff delayed processing the final paperwork. In doing so the vehicle information stayed in our system and was then automatically sent electronically to our vendor and placed on the internet as a vehicle for sale. This was a mistake. Once in the system the price was automatically adjusted to retail pricing. Our staff should have sold the vehicle in our system and waited for the paperwork which would have prevented this situation. The sales staff also saw the Sienna van as any other vehicle for sale and when this customer called for information and they could not find the vehicle began to hypothesize as to its location. Many vehicles are purchased outside the state and take one or two weeks to arrive. Our sales staff should have taken the additional time necessary and asked management for the details and informed this customer properly. I have personally spoken to each individual involved with this and provided training and guidance to insure this doesn't happen again. I have also made procedural changes for handling lease refinances on our computer system to additionally insure it is not repeated. I have provided this customer with the details as we should have done in the beginning. This is not the way we do business and I believe we have made the necessary changes to insure this type of human error does not occur in the future. I will take this opportunity to again send my sincere apology to our customer. *** ****** General Manager Burien Toyota Scion

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service