BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales, parts, service, and body shop.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bowen Scarff Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bowen Scarff Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bowen Scarff Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1958 Business started: 05/01/1958 Business started locally: 05/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Scarff, President Mr. Bowen Scarff, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Scarff, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bowen Scarff Ford Sales Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1157 Central Ave N

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 859-3646 (253) 852-1480

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle in their service shop for a sizable repair ($12,000). It required that the cab be removed. We asked them to look everything over thoroughly so that anything looking questionable could be fixed. They found a few things in addition to the original reason that the truck was there. One being that the tensioner needed replaced as well as the belt. We agreed to fix everything that they had recommended. Just a few weeks after getting the truck back it broke down. Had it towed to the nearest Ford dealership. It cost us $1,300 to have them figure out what was wrong. Turns out that the seal on the crankshaft was bad and it seized the engine. The repairs done at Bowen Scarff with the tensioner and belt were in the same area as the crankshaft, yet they failed to notice the condition of the seal on the crankshaft. The dealership that has the truck now said that if they were repairing/replacing the tensioner and the belt on a vehicle that it would just be common practice to check the condition of the seal on the crankshaft. However, when speaking with Bowen Scarff, they claim that this is not a part on their "visual inspection" list. We now have a truck that is inoperable and needs a new motor ($19,000) due to the fact that Bowen Scarff was negligent. We have the original part with the bad seal in our possession.

Desired Settlement: We'd like them to assume responsibility for their error and replace the engine. We will gladly pay what it would have cost us to replace the seal on the crankshaft which is what originally should have happened and we wouldn't be in this mess.

Business Response: 8/31/2015

Dear Mrs. ********,

Thank you for notifying us of Mr. ********* complaint, and
upon reading the concern, I find some clarification of some points is needed which
I hope will improve your understanding of the situation. I try to be fair and
open-minded in the decisions I make on behalf of Bowen Scaff Ford.  At times it is a fine line between doing the
right thing and doing what the customer wants.

 I base my decisions
upon the results of the research I conduct when a customer contacts me with a
concern.  While in many cases we are able
to resolve the customer’s concern, there are sometimes circumstances are beyond
our control.

 After careful review
of the repair order (******) from Bowen Scarff Ford-Lincoln, I spoke personally
with Mr. Bryan A****, our shop foreman, and the technician that performed the
professional repair. It appears that the vehicle came in with an aftermarket
vehicle engine performance tuner that deletes some, or maybe all of the factory
emissions warranty, and I can only assume that the reason this vehicle has this
engine performance enhancer is to give the vehicle more power by spraying extra
fuel in the engine combustion chamber. 

While replacing the drive belt, the technician found no
visual signs of concern to the engine harmonic balancer, so no repair
recommendations were made.  After looking
at how the harmonic balancer is assembled on with 4 bolts and a pin, I don’t
believe anyone with any degree of certainty can tell what failed first, the
engine crankshaft, or the harmonic balancer, and neither of these parts were
removed or repaired by Bowen Scarff Ford.  I am confident that based on my review it
appears that my Service department followed proper procedures.

 In the matter of Mr. *********
request for reimbursement of expenses related to his highway breakdown, we
decline to accept any responsibility. I understand Mr. ********* frustration and
the inconvenience he has suffered but there were no malicious acts by my staff
and the costs he incurred were not a result of any repairs done at my
dealership.

Sincerely,

 

 

Ivin T*****

Service Manager

Bowen Scarff Ford-Lincoln

************

**********@bowenscarff.com

11/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made my purchase from ***** ****** Ford of a beautiful Crossfire on July 24, 2013. Going on three months ago my sports car had to go into the repair shop. I take particular car of my cars and don't run them rough or abuse them. When I purchased the car it only had 36,554 miles, and one owner before me. The first thing that went wrong with the car was the break system. It was a rainy day when I was on SW Orchard Street heading for the intersection at Delridge Way SW. The light turned yellow about five yards before I got to the traffic light. I depressed the break pedal to stop but the car sped up and I slid across the intersection sideways. Luck was with me that no one went flying through the intersection besides me. I discounted the incident thinking that it happened because the disk brakes were wet from the rain. Not so. The problems with the breaks happened two more times in dry weather. Knowing from the service dept. of where my car will hopefully be fixed I was told that the transmission cable was all corroded and had spewed transmission fluid throughout the engine block and down into the breaks. So far the cost of the repair is close to $10,000. Thank goodness that I purchased the extended service plan with **** ***** ******* at the time I bought the Crossfire. What bothers me most about this whole situation, and the reason I'm filing complaint with BBB is because I feel that their Service Dept. did not do a fair job of inspecting the car before putting it on the car lot to sell. Being pretty annoyed with this entire situation I gave ***** ****** a call to tell them that I wanted them to buy the car back from me. I was told in no uncertain terms to, "Sell it to the car dealership that is working on it". How's that for cold? It's business as usual, business without accountability, business without a conscience, it's a punch in the old gut, a slap across the face as a reminder that business can do as much harm and damage in the name of Profit. I think back to sliding across the busy intersection - what if another car hit me and killed me? It would have been as a result of someone at ***** ****** Ford Service Dept. not doing their job of looking under the hood of the car to discover the corroded transmission cable. This is the first and the last used car that I ever buy.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the car to Bowen Scarff for a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ Yes, Mr. ***** purchased this 2005 Crossfire from our dealership in July of 2013. Apparently he had some mechanical issues with the car some eight months after his purchase. We pulled the documentation regarding the inspection of this vehicle that was done prior to its sale, and found that the car checked out well, and only needed some minor routine maintenance done which included a new air filter, wiper blades, an oil change and 2 tires. Other than these items, there was no major or minor mechanical issues with the car at that time. Mr. ***** has stated that the car sat in the shop at a Chrysler dealer for some ten weeks with no official diagnosis of what may be wrong with it. Please keep in mind, this is a Chrysler dealer that could not figure out what was wrong with their very own product. Eventually, they found that the transmission cable was corroded and had apparently leaked transmission fluid onto the engine and brakes which was found to be the cause of Mr. *****'s misfortunes while driving. Upon our inspection of the vehicle (some eight months prior) the transmission and transmission cable showed no apparent signs of wear or corrosion. So my question to Mr. ***** would be, how can we repair something that was not broken, malfunctioning or showing any signs of wear at the time of the inspection? Nobody wishes more than a used vehicle dealership, that we had a crystal ball for every single used vehicle we buy and sell. The very fact of the matter is, is that Mr. ***** bought a used vehicle that well after his purchase of that vehicle, had some mechanical issues. Unfortunately, this happens. In fact, this even happens to new cars now and then. Which is the very reason that dealerships offer extended service plans (warranties) that can be purchased and added to new and used vehicles so that if there are issues that arise down the road, the vehicle is covered. Just as Mr. *****'s vehicle is covered by his extended service plan. While we are compassionate *** Mr. *****'s situation and unfortunate turn of events, there is no way that we can provide what he is asking which is for us to let him return the car to us for a full refund over a year after his purchase. Furthermore, I don't know of a dealership out there, or any other business for that matter, that would offer this as a resolution after a year has gone by. It's just not feasible. As we've told Mr. ***** previously, we would be more than happy to take the car back in on trade or purchase it from him outright for the cars current fair market value. We are even willing to reimburse him for any out of pocket deductible that he may be responsible for with regards to his extended service plan. Unfortunately, cars break. Fortunately for Mr. *****, he protected himself by taking advantage of the extended service plan. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dated: Wed., Aug. 27, 2014 You should be aware of the fact that you sold me a 2006 Chrysler Crossfire and not a 2005. That little mistake speaks volumes in support of why I'm very disappointed with ***** ******. Your response is riddled with error as I will point out. I have kept all the original paperwork which ***** ****** handed to me enclosed within one of their very own envelopes with their return address stamped on the outside of said envelope. When I called ***** ****** eight months into my ownership of the car to ask questions about the quality work of their service department, (and not a year as ***** Scraff erroneously claims), I asked the representative if they used a check sheet that they worked from in the Service Dept.. as they checked the car out. "Yes" I was told by the representative and, "We gave that paperwork to you with all the other paperwork". This person's response was so very assuring. and again not an accurate comment as that check sheet is not in the ***** ****** envelope that was handed to me at the time of purchase. I believe and feel that not having that check sheet goes to the fact that the dealership did not toughly check the car out as they claim. I would think that it is only common sense to understand that it takes time for a transmission cable to breakdown and become corroded. If they had thoroughly checked the car out they would have seen the corroded transmission cable. I have stated this before and will say it once again - After eight months of ownership of the 2006 (not 2005) Crossfire, I spoke with the representative from ***** ****** about the check sheet and wanting them to buy the car back from me I was told in no uncertain terms, "Sell the car to the dealership where it is" and then that person hung up. How's that for poor public relations? Your offer to buy the car back from me at market value, is new information to me, and is not acceptable. You sold me a defective product that had to be garaged for repair EIGHT MONTHS into my ownership. It was garaged for repair for almost three and a half months - one day shy of 3 1/2 months. Your attempt to slam the dealership where the car was repaired is a cheap shot and only makes you guys look even worse in my eyes. Not that, that matters to you based on the poor public relations that I've received in the past over the telephone with said person already mentioned above. This car, the 2006 Crossfire was a retirement gift to myself for working 36/37 years as a teacher with the public educational system. The whole of this experience, buying a used car for the first time, has been an education (no pun intended) for me. I'm sad to say that the stereotype of the slick used car sales lot has become very real for me. Bottom Line - I still hold onto the requirement of wanting a full refund for a defective product that ***** ****** sold to me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/09/12) */ We always try to provide the best in customer service, but unfortunately we are unable to meet *** ****** current expectations. As an offer of good faith we are willing to cover the deductible paid on his Extended Service Plan, as well as offer him current fair market trade in value if he wishes to sell his Crossfire back to us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I sold the Crossfire at a loss of about $7,000.00. (I think it might be used for parts, but don't know for sure.) This was a dramatic adventure I could have done without. I do think of how lucky I am that I didn't get killed driving the Crossfire in the very dangerous condition it was in at the time of purchase and during my ownership of the car. As I shared before the break system failed and the car would accelerate when I depressed the break peddle. More than once I skidded across busy intersections while depressing the break peddle. I don't practice any of the Far Eastern religious belief systems but I do hope that there is an ounce of credence to the idea of Karma when it comes to retribution toward ***** ******. During this whole adventure I found myself thinking often about ******* ****** withholding information per the deadly cars driven by people who paid the ultimate price of sacrificing their life because the manufacture was more concerned about profit than knowing how to be honest and responsible. ** is accessory to at least thirteen counts of murder. As ***** Scarf would have been accessory to my murder because of the faulty break system of the Crossfire. ***** ****** my last name is *****, not ******* BBB, below your logo you have what I consider to be pretty hopeful but disingenuous words, "Start with trust". A business has to earn my trust. I don't blindly give my trust to anyone or anything. In light of deviant business practices that we either may experience personally, or read about, it would be very wise to come up with some different words that truly reflects the total lack of respect of the American consumer in lieu of the worship of the Almighty Profit. BBB, thanks much for your effort to try to resolve this very ugly mess.

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in because it was over heating and all the other shops said they couldn't fix the problem. So, I took it to the dealership to have them fix it. They first told me that it was the Hydraulic cooling fan and it would cost 1500 to fix the problem. I went ahead and asked them to do the repair with the hopes that this would fix the car. I got the car back and drove for about 40 miles before it started to overheat again. I called them back they had my car towed to the shop at no charge to me. After they looked at it once again they said there was stop leak in my car and my thermostat was turned around and had melted in the housing. This would cost me a other 1200 to fix I again went ahead and had them fix it thinking this would fix my car. After they were done I picked up my car and drove for a couple days before it once again started to overheat. At this point I called them again and told them it want fixed. They towed it in and I told them I was upset because I have spent over 2500 dollars with them to fix my car and it still isn't fixed. They had there parts manager call me and tell me be was going to fix my car for free of charge. I agreed hoping that this would be the final time I would need them to look and fix my car. They had my car in the shop for almost two weeks before they called me claiming that it was fixed. I picked it up and drove for about 2-3 days before my car once again started to overheat. At this point I am so upset and don't even want to deal with this company any longer regarding this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car fixed completely so I can drive it without having to look at my heat thermostat. If I could be anyway compensated finically for the back and forth with the company that would be good.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/14) */ I did not know that the customer was still having a concern. I was personally involved in what we felt was the final resolution of the customer's concern. We provided the customer with a rental vehicle at our expense during the entire time that we had her vehicle and performed the repairs beyond the first two repairs at no charge to the customer. I did tell her that we stood behind our work and we still do. We would be happy to recheck her vehicle if is still overheating. I have called *** ******* and left two messages and not received a return call.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 14th day of August 2013, my wife (*******) and I took her 2001 Ford Windstar Van Silver in color to the ***** ****** Ford Lincoln Dealership in Kent WA for repairs, as we were having all kinds of strange things going on with the Van, the doors would not unlock by remote control, the gas gauge showed that we did not have any gas, even though our gas tank was full, the turn signals would not work, the break lights would not work, the door ad jar light was on, the check engine light was on, the warning light indicator was on indicating a light was out or not working, and several other electoral problems was going on. When we reached the dealership, our service advisor ****** ***** checked the vehicle in and informed us that it would not be able to look at our Van until the 16th of August 2013, and that was ok with us, so we left our Van there and left. On the 19th day of August 2013, we received a call from ***** ****** Ford Lincoln Dealership that our Van was repaired and ready for pick-up, so we went there to pick-up the Van. They brought the Van over to us and gave us they keys to it after we paid for the cost of repairs. For some strange reason, I felt as though I should check out the Van before leaving their lot, and it is a very good thing that I did because we had the same issues that we had when we brought the Van into the dealership and it seemed that the dealership had not made any repairs. We informed ****** ***** of the same problems and she once again checked our Van in for further repair. On the 23rd day of August 2013, we once again were informed that our Van had been repaired, was in good working order and ready for pick-up. We arrived at the dealership and once again made a quick check of the Van and it seemed to be in order. We have now came to conclude that this is not correct. We still can not use our remote switch to open the Van doors, and our Rear Window Vents do not operate as they did prior to our Van being repaired, and this item is noted on the Invoice Number XXXXXX Duplicate 1 Page 2 3/4 of the way to the bottom of the invoice. These items need to be corrected and fixed without cost to us. They seem to give very good lip service but not mechanical service.

Desired Settlement: MY wife (*******) and I, want the dealership to fix or repair the two (2) Rear Window Vents on her Van so they will work the way they were meant to work, and further they should also repair or replace the Two (2) Van Remote Control Devices to enable us to unlock or lock the Vans door by use of the Remote Control Device. All of these repairs should be made without cost to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/12) */ I spoke to Mr. ******* on 9/9/13. We discussed his concerns and agreed that he would bring his vehicle back into our shop on 9/10/13 for us to recheck his concerns at no charge. Mr. ******* brought his vehicle in on 9/10/13 as agreed and we opened repair order # XXXXXX. We diagnosed his rear vent window concerns as two burnt out window motors and not related to the original repair. I spoke with Mr. ******* and we agreed that he would pay for the cost of parts minus a 10% military discount and the dealership would pay for the labor for diagnosis and replacement of the motors. We completed the repair and returned the vehicle to Mr. ******* on 9/11/13-***** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It is better to agree than to disagree. When a dealership is willing to extend to you a hand and not a hand out, you have left the door open for both parties to be winners and not loser's. No one can ever be satisfied one hundred percent of the time however the can always be willing a thousand times over. I did not get what I had asked for, however in some ways, I got more that what the dealership thought that they gave me, because they listened to you and they heard from me, and that makes us both winners.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bowen Scarff Ford Lincoln
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)