This business is not BBB accredited.

AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Seattle

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 365-3530 Fax: (206) 362-8155 View Additional Phone Numbers 13733 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133 http://www.townandcountryjeep.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 03/03/1983 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leith Ledger, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leith Ledger, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 9am - 9pm
Sunday 10am - 8pm
Alternate Business Names
Town & Country Chrysler Jeep

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Seattle has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13733 Aurora Ave N

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 365-3530 (800) 254-5337

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 77430

    Seattle, WA 98177

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C, 1. I called Capital One to file an official complaint about the charges. They are investigating the dispute and will give the Dealership 15 days to resolve the issue. 2. I called the other Jeep Dealership in Bellevue also owned by Auto Nation and was told that they only charge one $125 diagnostic fee for the whole car. 3. I have registered an official complaint with the Better Business Bureau (copied below). 4. I will also send this letter to Corporate offices of Jeep Chrysler. On January 12th, 2016 I brought my 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee to the Auto Nation Jeep Chrysler dealership located at: ***** ****** **** N.Seattle, WA 98133 to have several issues repaired: 1. Rear windshield wiper not working. 2. Seat Heater driver side was not working. 3. Tail light not working. 4. Factory recall. I was charged 2 diagnostic fees of $125 each for the first two items. They did "reduce" the second fee by $25 thus making the total diagnostic fee $225. The actual repair costs were so high that I opted not to fix the first two items; rear wiper and seat heater. My issue is that I was not made aware that the diagnostic fee would be so high and that I would be charged 2 diagnostic fees. I paid $225 in fees to be told that my rear wiper and seat heater were broken. I knew that before I brought the car in to the dealer. I called another Auto Nation Jeep Chrysler dealership in Bellevue, WA to confirm this policy. They told me that only one diagnostic fee should be charged for all diagnostics. There is a conflict in policy from two dealerships both owned by Auto Nation. I feel that it is unreasonable to charge a customer a $125 fee per issue. They have lost my business for life. I will never give this dealership my business in the future and hope that the BBB can help sway Auto Nation Jeep Chrysler Seattle to practice better business policies. Sincerely, ******* *******

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the initial $125 diagnostic fee.

Business Response: we have contacted client and have  to a resolution. Leith L.

9/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: , I am contacting you on behalf of my father-in-law ******* ********** who turns 92 in September. He was hospitalized about three weeks ago at the ******** ************** ********. **** doctors and social worker encouraged us to complain on his behalf to you. He has several medical conditions wrong with him. The one that is really disturbing to us and the VA. Is his dementia and weight loss that so notably that any normal person would have questioned his ability to understand the contact he was signing? He has been a customer of Chrysler Town & Country for twenty years these people took unacceptable advantage of ***. They could see **** physical appearances and mental ability had deteriorated over the last few years rapidly. Because of their inappropriate actions of selling *** a car he could not afford his living standards where deplorable. *** could not afford to eat, pay for his medication (which he stopped taking), paying rent, and not paying other bills as well.If *** did not have dementia, he would of known that Chrysler Town & Country where selling him a basic car at a premium price. His car has manual windows and locks, nothing fancy about this car with a outrages interest rate. Which *** would have negotiated the rate down? *** could not afford insurance on the car as well. So **** is charging him extra for insurance. I would like to know how **** verified **** income and calculated all of his bills and finances so he could afford the car in the first place. I do not want any other family, to have their love ones go through what we have with ***. Car is a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan, 4 doorVan; Exte, he owes over 41,000.00 dollars as of June 2015.We are still trying to piece together what he paid for the car.Thanks ****** **********************,***********@hotmail.com; I gave you my personal info because ***'s phone was turned off and he does not have e-mail.

Desired Settlement: We would like to know why they took advantage of someone who has dementia and we have no idea of what kind of resolution we want.

Business Response: ****** and ********** Family. It is Very sad to hear **** health has diminished. This complaint has cought us all of guard. We can understand the familys  fustrations with **** health and financial situations, yet we are not a place that ever took advantage of ***.  *** has been a great client and friend to the dealership. At no time has  any associate taken advantage of *** due to age, health or any condition. *** has always been a pleasure to talk with and be around. He often stop by just to say hi, have coffee, chat or bring us salmon or crab that his family caught in Alaska. At no time did *** act strange, show signs of dementia or not be in complete control over his car deals.  When **** car needs changed he would come see us and give us a shot to earn his business. Sometimes it would takes weeks to do so because *** was strict with his budget. 
The most current vehicle he purchase was a van. He told us he needed it for his family as they were moving to the country. The size and room of the Avenger no longer suited his needs. *** picked out a Van that was on sale he found on line, *** would look on line for the best deals. **** Interest rate is 4.09 "A" tire thru ****. The Avenger Trade in was purchased then  he had hip surgery and needed power seats. The deal before that on a truck he had to have for a ranch his family had in Oregon. *** was quite clear about the negative equity he was accumulating but was ok with it if the payment was ok and the vehicle served his purpose. He almost always called us when he needed or had to have a different vehicle. *** does have Extended service contracts on his van that can be cancelled to reduce the balance. We are 100% here to Help *** or the Family. Nothing is worse than a loved on with health issues.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I like the anecdote that was told about a 91 year man with dementia. You skittered around all the issues that were raised about ***’s car loans and leases ;  How was ***’s income calculated and verified to see if *** could afford any of the cars that were sold or leased to him. Which bills did you consider; electric bill or any utilities, phone bill, rent, food, car insurance, and gas for car. Did you calculate ***’s fixed income with his bills? You need to answer these questions. There are rules and laws to safe guard against illegal car loans, just like the illegal loans for buying a house.

 You fail to mention all the cars Auto Nation/Town & Country Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge has sold or leased to *** in the last ten years. A  Chrysler 300, A Dodge Charger, two Dodge Ram trucks, A Dodge Dakota truck, An Avenger, and now the Dodge Grand Caravan. These are the cars or truck I can remember!!!!!

In selling or leasing *** these cars over the last ten years, you had to notice his physical appearance and his mental state. Your surveillance cameras would show a 91- 92 year old dementia man who could barely walk in to Auto Nation or ****. ***’s constantly changing his cars should have told Auto Nation and **** that something strange and bizarre happening to ***. Dementia does not happen overnight, it is a slow and painful change. Dementia also changes the brain in common sense for thinking, *** did not understand negative equity being add to his loan.  Auto Nation and **** greed and lack of ethics took advantaged of ***’s dementia.

You fail to mention the repossession of the Dodge Caravan which Auto Nation had to give a key to the company who repossessed the Dodge Grand Caravan. ****, ***’s son called Auto Nation  months ago to  return the Caravan back to them because *** could not afford the Caravan, let alone be driving without insurance. This would have stopped the repossession of the Caravan and any humiliation or embarrassment to ***’s family. **** was also accused of stealing the Caravan so it could not be repossessed and returned to Auto Nation, which was a lie.

You also fail to mention that *** did not meet the conditions of his car loan/contract that he was to provide car insurance for his car/van. In September 2013 for the Dodge Avenger *** had to add **** as a loss payee to his insurances because he was having a hard time paying his insurance. This was to insure **** that *** would keep up with his insurance payments. If *** fell behind on his payments, **** would be notified so they could take action to protect their investment.  In November 2014 **** was notified by ***’s insurance company he did not have insurance for the Dodge Grand Caravan.  **** notified *** they were going to purchases insurance and add it to his loan balance if he did not show proof of insurance. When *** could not obtain insurance, **** purchased insurance for the Dodge Grand Caravan and add bill to car loan. If Auto Nation had done their due diligences in verifying ***’s income and insurance for the Dodge Grand Caravan 08/06/14 this loan could not happen. I would not be complaining about Auto Nation and **** taking advantage of ***’s dementia.

You talk about ***’s hip surgery; he had that about twelve years ago.  You also talk about a ranch in Oregon owned by his daughter which he has not been to in over twenty five years, if he went at all. Auto Nation and **** have an obligation and responsibility to see that the safety of the public is not going to be harmed by a dementia driver. You could have asked *** to have a doctor verity that he was ok to drive like DOL did or even ***’s insurance company asked ***, before they dropped him. You need to be held accountable for actions and hopeful your conscience will help you preceded with the right course of action and admit you mistake.

Thanks ******



Sincerely,

******* **********

Business Response: ******, We are very sorry for **** Health and financial situation. He was a great client and friend of the store.   We continue to be Shocked at your thoughts about us. I hope to clarify and put you at ease with the points below. 1. *** told us he has been retired for 12 years with a retirement  income Of $3500. We do not verify income, it is the clients responsibility to be accurate. We do not ask about bills or personal information on any client. 1. *** has been a client since 2009 and has bought 8 cars. Never did he, or anybody else question his purchases. He bought vehicle that fit his needs and desires like any other client. *** could have and may have done business else ware like every other client. 3. Getting older in no way denotes dementia, *** would talk with us, interact, negotiate, like any other client. *** was completely aware of Negative equity and all the deal details. *** On the Van purchase specifically picked out a unit we had on special so it would help with the negative equity. He saw the vehicle on line and called our sales associate. 4. Repossession is a unfortunate painful experience, when peoples situations change it is a valid option. We had no input on that. I do not know about the details with ****. 5. We verify full coverage insurance on all transactions. We have a copy that was faxed to us from **** insurance company the day he took delivery. It is the responsibility of the client to maintain insurance. This is a process that every client goes thru. 6. When *** talks to us about his family, friends, Hip surgery, Ranch in Oregon we as with every client assume they are telling the truth. We have no way of verifying clients conversations. He was always consistent with the conversations and facts so we would not question him, just as with any other client.  We never saw *** drive in any way other than every other client. Nothing would have made us even think of observing his driving. His test drives and frequent visits were all normal. We Take our reputation and interaction with clients  very seriously. I know that *** would and will agree that we conducted normal business with him on his terms based on the information he gave us since 2009.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have filed a complaint with the Attorney General's Office, with DOL, an a Fraud Unit the VA hospital give me. All three agencies told me to contact *** ****** or the **** * **************. These agencies can do more because their investigations and are not man dated by federal law in how they investigate a complaint. They both will check with all parties involved with this complaint to make sure that everyone follow the law.
Let take out ***'s dementia and his physical condition, you where to verify all information *** gave you. You are responsible to make sure is income will allow for car payments, car insurance, and he has a valid drivers license. These two bills took over half is income and that's not including any other bills *** had to pay. This is the information that The Attorney General's Office, DOL, and the Fraud Unit explained to me explicitly. You did not verify income (his income was not 3500), his drivers license was under review, and his insurance was  also under review and than later canceled.
I am not going to banter back and forth with you any more over this issue. *** has passed away weighting between 90 and 95 pounds because he could not afford food or his medicine because you keep selling him a car to make a profit. ***'s /organs started to shut down because of lack of wood. Once the organs start to shut down you can not correct the damage it starts, plus his cancer ravaged his frail body, and he passed away.
So when you are investigated I know someone in your company will speak the truth and say they had concerns about ***'s dementia and his physical condition. Maybe your parent company will review your actions and change company policy so your bottom line doesn't me more than a persons life.       

Sincerely,

******* **********

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: since the day ive had the vehicle it has leaked water into the cab of the jeep resulting in the whole carpet being covered in black mold. i have repeatedly brought the jeep in for service and still have no resolution of the probelm.

Desired Settlement: i want the problem fixed so there is no water leaks or i want to exchange my car for one that does not leak..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@autonation.com We very much want and can help this client. I know it is very fustrating and I am very sorry. Chrysler knows Wranglers can leak and we have a process to fix them. The client is in contact with us and dropped his Jeep off with us 1/28. We will do all we can to fix the issue and get Chrysler involved if we need to. Again I am verry sorry about the water leak. ***** *

1/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to let you know you have a breach in customer service policy.I purchased car back in April 2013, and instantly had problem with car and burning fuel. I talked to service department and they said talk to sales about problem. I went to sales dept. and they said it is a service dept. issue. Went back to service dept. and they said they cant do anything about this, it is a new car talk to sales again! Finally, I talked to sales after days of back and forth and they told me my trade in was gone and that new cars have a break in period so it will get better besides I was stuck with car anyway. I talked to sales staff on numerous occasions and they even called me back in to look at deal and see if we can trade in and get new car. You took my credit and ran to see what you can do but never got back to me. I had to call you back to find out any kind of response, taking days and sales rep. always said come in to dealership to see what we can do. When I would show up sales reps would run #s on trade and say they could not do deal and take back to where I bought it from, bad car deal, so upside down! I told them it is from your dealership and all of sudden, I was referred to someone else with some other answers. Finally last rep told me that they could not do anything for a while, no purchase or lease would ever work with that car, that way. No other dealer can do anything either, as soon as they see the bad car deal and your credit score, they wont help you.A little while passed and you guys called me back and said maybe we can do something for you now. Come in and lets take a look. Went in, same all over again, ran credit numerous times and different companies and said nope we cant help you, no other dealer will help cause of credit and deal, they cant help you. Your sales rep, said: why dont you go out and buy another car from another dealer and I promise we will buy your car back! Yeah, real good luck on that one and walked away laughing!Guess what, I bought another car with another dealer which uses same credit as you do. Now I am here to take you up on your offer that your sales rep made to buy back the car! I agree to let you buy back car for the balance owed as promised by your rep! Let me know what paperwork we need to sign to release me from title. Product_Or_Service: 2013 dodge Order_Number: dnXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Take car and purchase as promised, I have another car now, as they said I could not do, laughed at me and now done! I have another Co that said they could do deal for me as well! Autonation would not assist me or help me get out of, according to some research I owe over $27,000.00 on a car that is worth $13,000.00 in trade in just 7 months. Something not right here!! Please help me or send me to right people, thank you so much ,*******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/26) */ I am sorry about this complaint. I understand the clients fustration. The client bought a car from us 4/28/2013. at that time he traded in a vehicle that had a lot of neditive equity. the client also did not put any money down on the loan. This results in the new vehicle loan having a lot of negitive equity. It is very very very difficult to trade your new car in after 6 months when you have negitive equity and no money down. This client wanted to lower his payment a $100 and we could not help. This is not a unusual situation an no fault of the dealership. The clients fustration with the gas mileage, his payment, and his negitive equity is unfortunate yet not the dealerships fault. of course we wanted to help yet sometimes the numbers just dont come together. We tried many times per the clients request to trade him to a lower payment. He went to another dealership and bought a car without trading in the car he bought from us. This is well within his right as a consumer and again not our responsability. We never offered to buy his car back and he chose to do a voluntary Repo. Negitive equity and high payments are fustrating, we tried to hellp and he bought a car at another dealership, not unusual. Sorry again for the situation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Seattle
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart