BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2006

Thoroughbred Collision Center

Find a Location

Phone: (253) 887-8800Fax: (253) 939-8486View Additional Phone Numbers4227 A St SE, AuburnWA 98002-8674View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers collision repair services including refinishing, frame straightening, alignment, and suspension repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/2006

BBB has determined that Thoroughbred Collision Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Thoroughbred Collision Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Thoroughbred Collision Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i went with this shop as it was a preferred shop they have had my car for 2 weeks now and now it's becoming an issue of me getting to and from work because of my car being there. first they say there waiting on parts then they say they received broken or damaged parts and waiting on new ones. it shouldn't take 2 weeks to repair the rear passenger strut and control arm assembly and my wheels had to be repainted and have been sitting at there wheel shop for two weeks. they are seriously dragging the ball on repairing my vehiche. also not once have they contacted me with updates on my vehicle i've had to call them every time. poor customer service. i will never return to them for work ever again.

Desired Settlement
Reinbursement for $50 deposit for rental car.

Business Response
We can appreciate that the repair process can sometimes be a complicated one. One area that is often problematic is diagnosis and repair of suspension damage. When suspension components are impacted the damage is not always visible to the naked eye. Quite frequently identifiable damaged parts need to be replaced to further diagnose whether additional, non visible damage is present. Location manager has been in contact and vehicle is scheduled to be completed by 5/9/2014. Location manager will also work with rental car company to expedite refund of $50 rental deposit,.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
the shop manager has been in contact with me and offered to float $50 of my $500 deductible till i get it back from the rental car company.

04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Good Morning,

I am writing you about the inexcusable unreliability of the Kirmac Newcastle Team. I have unfortunately been the victim of two distracted drivers over the past 9 month and both instances brought me to Kirmac Newcastle and the follow will describe the situation in detail and my losses associated.

In mid June last year, I was rear ended on I-90 east bound. My agent recommended that I take my car to Kirmac Newcastle. Once the adjusted had viewed the vehicle I took it in to Kirmac. I advised both ***** and ****** manager and assistant manager respectively that I wanted 100% new parts and that the adjuster as well noted that part should be new and the parts on the car were to no way be refinished or repaired. I was given a date to pick up the car and went on my way, when I came back for the car initially, I was told that they needed another day to complete the work. I was unhappy, but advised if the rental car company questions my bill, they need to cover any gap, ***** agreed, I came back the next day for pickup and reading he invoice I notice that they put the same parts back on the car. At that point, I asked how this happened after I had specifically advised them of the repair and that the adjuster did the same. They claimed the work was guaranteed and that they missed the adjusters notes. I questioned how my face to face conversation with them was overlooked and why they did not confirm with me and no answer was given. They needed to order part and to order parts and do the work again, it would require 3 more days. I told him to mark the calendar and just pay the rental car bill from that day forward.

I came back in 3 days, picked up the car and manager ***** apologized for the issues and promised me if I ever needed future service, he would hand walk my car through the shop ensuring only the best possible service.

6 months later, I was rear ended again. Unfortunately this became problematic from an insurance perspective. My agent advised this incident would require more investigation, so if I wanted me car fixed sooner than 2-4 weeks, I would need to pay my deductible. After 25 days, I was told they were still investigating, so I decided to pay the deductible and have the car fixed.

After speaking ***** at Kirmac, he advised that he would put his senior tech on he job and walk my car through the ship like I was family. I dropped the car off on the 15th of Jan and he advised that it would be ready on the 21st. I advised I was leaving town for business, but I would return for the vehicle on the 23rd. On the 23rd I arrived at the shop and the 1st think I noticed was my freshly painted bumper had deep scratches in it. ***** advised that he noticed one of the newer people pushing my pumper across the floor with his foot! I reasoned by saying new person, I thought you put your senior on the job. ***** advised that it just got to busy and his senior was needed on other repairs. Doing awalk around, we found at least 6 issues that stood out that were either not done, or not done correctly. ***** asked if he could keep the car. I said no, I want to get rid of this rental. ***** told me if I drove my car home, he would pick it up the next day and do the repairs. ***** called me later that day to tell me the shop is too busy to work me in Friday, so he would get the car from me Monday.

That weekend, I drove out to North Bend, on the way there I noticed the car was on empty, when I got there, the car was below empty. I pulled into the station, but the electronic gas level would not release. I'm now 35 miles from home on a Saturday evening with no way to gas up. I called *****, because he had promised to be available if I had any car related issues. , he not only did not answer, he didn't return my call. Pretty much reciting the Lord's Prayer, I started home. My prayers were answered and I'll tell you why. A mile from home, the car started to chug and as I pulled into the driveway, the car gave out! I mailed ***** Monday morning to tell him I did not leave the car out because it was empty, and he couldn't drive it. ***** said, "Empty, we filled your car up when we got it because you were at a quarter tank". That cause me to go back to the intake paperwork. After checking the mileage, I could see between when I left the car and that day, 500 miles had been added to the odometer. When I subtracted the mileage I drove over 2 days, that still left 400 miles and the only mileage ***** advised was 3 miles each way to **** ******* This clearly not only accounted for the car being on empty, but the multiple claims from staff about how fun my car is to drive. ***** arranged to get the car Tuesday; he planned to have it back same day, but no later than Wednesday. ***** showed up Thursday with my car, not only were the repairs not complete, he advised that an engine light had illuminated while in his shop, not to mention he never called Wednesday to request the car for an additional day. At that time, he shared that he had been demoted and moved to a new location. He said he would get the repairs completed the next week and that he would be in touch. I sent multiple mail to *****, requesting his plan to either complete these repairs or transition the responsibility to his replacement. My mail went unanswered.
I decided to buy the parts required for the engine repair, have the work done and bill Kirmac back. I also called my insurance company to let them know I am not happy with their preferred shop and that they should be the ones doing all of this additional work since I pay for insurance and don't appear to be getting anything in return. They told me to call ***** the new manager of Kirmac Newcastle.

**** decide to have the car towed to the dealer. The deal completed most of the repairs, at least the ones that Kirmac was not comfortable with doing themselves. It appears the major electrical issue was a pair of aftermarket bulbs that I requested that Kirmac install in the rear turn signals. When I gave the bulbs to ***** on Martin Luther King Day. He advised he would put the bulbs on *****'s desk. I told him to put a note on the bulbs to make sure the install in done right. When the car was turned with the engine light on, ***** commented that the bulbs were problematic, but he got them in. I told him that they would only be problematic if installed incorrectly. The next day I checked the install to find he had not installed them in the turn signals, but the brake lights. Forcing the bulbs into the wrong socket caused the electrical issue, ruined the lighting harness. ******* position is my bulbs caused the issue, but Brian forced a circle into a square and the reason the bulbs cause the issue was because Kirmac used them for the wrong application, after I specifically advised them to be careful.
This 5 day repair took more than 5 weeks. Ruined the finish on my secondary vehicle as it had been detailed in late November and I had not planned to drive it until the weather was more reliable in the spring. Kirmac did not offer or pay for a rental during the long process to restore my car to working condition, and I gave up a 52mpg fuel efficiency for the 22mpg of my secondary vehicle.

Desired Settlement
The resolution is this, an apology in writing. This was poor management, poor communication or poor resolution. I understand ******* displeasure as he did not put me or Kirmac in this situation, but he inherited it and honestly, I told *****, when he advised his demotion, that his district, regional manager should take over as this was a situation that requires consistence and anyone else coming into the Fray may not understand the gravity and complexity of what's transpired.
I want to be compensated for the parts purchased, they would not have been require if #1 Kirmac responded in a timely manner to take over the repairs. #2 installed the bulbs in the right fixture as they turn signal bulbs are not the same size as the brake bulbs.

I want my secondary car to be detailed, not washed to return it to its original luster before I had to drive it through snow and rain unexpectedly. I want to be compensated at the state rate of mileage not only for the 400 mile Kirmac joyride, but for the 1000 mile put on my secondary vehicle over the 5 weeks I had to drive it back and forth to a house of medical appointments throughout the county.

This issue has not been brought to court, however I am represented by council on the accident and I will be adding this issue to a future suit should it not be handled to my satisfaction now. I have been beyond patient and understanding, but it's time for Kirmac to be ethical, responsible people and do everything possible to restore me. It's not possible as days of personal time have been lost, but the above will recover all actual expenses occurred.

Business Response
We believe that all service and quality issues expressed by our customer have now been rectified. We have initiated financial restitution for our customer to defray his out of pocket expense and the customer is aware that we have ordered a check to be delivered via mail to his address in approximately 2 weeks. The customer has indicated that he is willing to utilize our Company for collision services again in the future if the need arises and has been instructed to contact regional manager any time it is needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I don't believe that this resolution makes me whole, but this was never about money. I don't see this as a happy ending as much as I do an ending. I'm not one to hold a grudge and if Kirmac is truly committed to their word and service, I can only expect to be blown away should I call upon them again. Thanks to all for their time and efforts.

03/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told that my car was repaired and that I should come pick up the car. I went to pick-up the car and drove off, only to have issues with the car on my way home. The steering wheel was bent acutely to the left while driving straight, there was a grinding sound and the "slippery road" light was flashing on/off. I turned around and took the car back to Kirmac. I asked the manager to take the car for a test drive with me to show him what was going on and he said "I'm not driving the car if it is unsafe." Is it OK for me to drive it but not safe enough for him?

Desired Settlement
I want my car fixed to the condition it was in before my accident. I am worried about their ability/compitency to fix my car. I would like them to pay for another shop to inspect my car before I take possession. I want better customer service from Kirmac. At this point, I am scared to drive my car home from the shop. I think I have a good chance of being in another accident because of improper repairs.

Business Response
We have completed all repairs to this vehicle since this complaint. The customer has picked up their vehicle and taken it home. To our knowledge, our customer is now satisfied with the vehicle repairs and our resolution to this issue.

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my car in to have some body work repairs made. Was told it would take about a week and a half to be complete. Now three weeks later I'm told they will not get a needed part till November 11th. I asked if I could get my vehicle back till work can continue on it. I was told "no". Because they had already started working on it, it would be a liability. I'm a single mom, I can't afford to rent a vehicle for all this time, now I can't get my son to school, or get to work. I feel helpless.

Desired Settlement
I'd like a vehicle to drive while I wait for mine to be fixed.

Business Response
This issue was resolved to the owners satifaction 11/1

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had to put my car in twice for a simple bumper replacement. Kirmac knew that I had to pay for the rental car out of my own pocket. The first time I put my car in Kirmac had ordered in the wrong part (so they said) and did not tell me until two days after I had deposited my car with them. Kirmac did not return four phone calls regarding the status of my car, and when I finally reached them they declined to reimburse me the expense for the rental needlessly incurred. Further, there was a persistent rattle in the front of the car that they said that they had dealt with, and that they had test driven my car and it was gone. They said that the noise was due to broken parts that they had removed. It was not.
I dropped my car in a second time. Again, Kirmac did not return my phone calls. When I went to pick up my car, and after having incurred a second cost for rental car, they said it was done. I asked about the rattle and was told that it had been dealt with. I was told that the rattle had to do with the loose bumper and now that the bumper was repaired, it was fine. I immediately noticed the bumper and called Kirmac. They said that they would get back to me but never did.
I complained to my insurance company. Kirmac now said that the noise was due to a problem with the suspension system that had nothing to do with the accident and that they, in any case, could not repair.
At the same time I noticed damage to my passenger side rear which was not there upon check in. I sent a photo of the damage to my insurance agent.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for the extra days of car rental, or $80.
Repair of body damage to my car.
Repair of the noise coming from the front of my car.

Business Response
Customer will be contacted and be paid for rental.

Page 1 of 2
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my 2006 Range Rover to Thoroughbred as they were referred to me by my insurance ***** , My Range Rover was involved in a hit and run and the drivers side damaged.
When i brought it in they were good and gave me an estimate that sounded like they knew what they were doing , so I gave them the go ahead to do the repairs.
It went all down hill from there , They called me a week later and said my vehicle was ready for pick up , When I arrived my to my surprise and looked at the vehicle was covered in white detailing **** on the passenger side , They appoligized and said they would have someone wash it real quick , 45 min later I was on my way. I made it a wopping 2 miles down the road and thats when the first of many problems were detected.
#1 The Air Ride Inactive light came on , So I turned aropund to bring it back to the shop ,
#2 I went to turn on my Radio on my way back to the shop...and discovered it did not work.
#3 Once back at there shop i went and looked closer at the vehicle and discovered they had put the Wrong letters on the front of my vehicle.
#4 When looking at the letters I could see they just painted over the chips in the paint and attempted to cover the chips up with the wrong letters !
#5 As walking around the vehicle more there was a big noticable gap where the new door was installed.
#6 When I was looking at the front of the vehicle I noticed the front headlamp was awkward and checked that , to find it wasnt tightened down properly.
So another 10 days later I get a call saying I can pick up my Vehicle , They are just waiting on the Chrome lettering , and they can come meet me when they get them and do that part at my house.
#7 They also inform me that my insurance is not going to pay to fix my stereo , I say to them why would they , Thoroughbred broke it fried it or what ever , It worked fine When I origanaly dropped it off.
They tell me , well those amps go out all the time and its not our fault it went bad while it was in our possession ? Really ?

Desired Settlement
Fix My Vehicle the way it was , and was supposed to be . Act like a business that stands by there business !

Business Response
everything has been repaired to the owners satifaction

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not true , I stil had to take my Range Rover somewhere else to get the air ride fixed when Thoroughbred Collision Center of Mill Creek failed to return my call when I contacted them. Also the front end of my Range Rover stil wobbles when driving below 30mph , and the headlamp is stil loose in the grill.
Poorest customer service and repair on the planet.

Final Business Response
******* ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX: Spoke with Location Manager **** ****** and **** states that all concerns were adressed including stereo amp that was replaced and ride system inspected by dealership. As for the woobling below 30 MPH we would be glad to check brake rotor wear and wheel balancing as a customer goodwill as there was a wheel involved in the claim. Also we will check the headlamp for it's fit and tightness. Have left message with customer with my name and phone number to contact.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I ve already bought new wheels and tires , as there has been little to no communication from the shop as they did not return my phone calls.
When i brought my vehicle to a different shop they informed me that the wheel was bent , thats when i decided to purchase new wheels and tires , didnt see any point in waiting til Christmas to get my vehicle fixed , if ever by thoroughbred.
As for the loose headlight assembly i will pay someone else to fix that as well....as thorougfhbred collision isnt capable of this in a reasonable amount of time without me spending more money on yet another rental car....which would be the fourth !
In all I think Thoroughbred should reimburse me for the bent wheel , My time , and my expense.
They seem to think there time and labor is worth a lot , and my my time and money means nothing... I am one completely un satisfied customer.

04/26/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Brake Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/04/1991Business started: 01/01/1984New Owner Date: 04/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1999, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Ken McIntosh (Vice President of Operati)Mr Dennis Daily (General Manager)Mr Leonard Lassak
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Brake Service

Alternate Business Names
Kirmac Collision Services, Kirmac Collision Services Redmond, Kirmac Collision Services Renton, Thoroughbred Collision Center of Mill Creek, Kirmac Automotive Collision Systems US Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Thoroughbred Collision Center

4227 A St SE

Auburn, WA 98002-8674

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Thoroughbred Collision Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (253) 833-4633
  • (425) 277-0845
  • (253) 520-9777
  • (253) 833-4633
  • (425) 885-0661

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (425) 482-1971
  • (425) 774-2050
  • (253) 833-9658
  • (206) 935-2185
  • (253) 520-9788
  • (206) 723-6138
  • (253) 473-2932
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.