BBB Accredited Business since

James G Murphy Company

Phone: (425) 486-1246 18226 68th Ave NE, Kenmore, WA 98028 http://www.murphyauction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and industrial auctioneers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that James G Murphy Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for James G Murphy Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on James G Murphy Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy Murphy, President Mr. Terry Moore, Advertising Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Murphy, President
Business Category

Auctioneers All Other Support Services (NAICS: 561990)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

James G Murphy Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was unable to pay for an item within their posted time frame. Unreasonable penalties were imposed upon me by ***** ***********, including but not limited to loss of the item won but not yet paid for along with two other items that had been paid for but were resold against my wishes. I attempted to pay for the original item on July 27 but said payment was refused by ***** *********** and I was told I would not be allowed to participate in any future auctions. The restrictions and actions on the part of ***** *********** were imposed upon me without prior notice or warning or established in any way as their normal operating procedure, ie this will happen if you don't do this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to pay for and receive my original vehicle won and the return of the previously won and paid for items. I would like to be able to participate in future auctions without any penalties or restrictions not posted in their Terms of Sale or auction announcements.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/05) */ ****** ****** was the successful bidder on a 2006 Dodge Charger and a 2006 Ford Escape at our auction on June 15, 2013. *** ****** bid on those vehicles using our online bidding program (MurphyLive). The online bidding terms are posted on our website and must be agreed to. Those bidding terms state that "Murphy Live bidders are bound by general auction terms and conditions posted on the home page as well as the terms posted for the auction for which the bids are placed". The terms of the June 15th auction, which were posted on our website and on the first page of the PDF auction catalog, stated that "Full payment must be made no later than 4pm, Tuesday following the auction". Those terms also state "No purchases may be removed until ALL purchases are paid for". On Tuesday, June 18th, *** ****** came to our auction facility and informed me that he only had enough money to pay for one of the vehicles he bought. I explained that according to our terms all items had to be paid for before any items could be removed and, by the way, everything should be paid for today (Tuesday following the auction). I agreed to let him pay for and take the 2006 Dodge Charger provided he leaves a $1,000 deposit on the 2006 Ford Escape. He told me that he would be back by Friday, June 21st to pay for the Escape. He didn't show up on June 21st. I emailed him on Monday, June 24th to find out when he was coming back to pay for the Escape. He replied on Thursday, June 27th that he was waiting for a new credit card. I let him know that June 28th was the day I had to pay the sellers for the items sold at the auction (everything sold is on consignment). Even though *** ****** hadn't paid for the Escape, I paid the seller (so James G Murphy Co. is now out of pocket on this). I was out of the office the following week (4th of July week) so I didn't check back with *** ****** until Monday, July 8th. He replied to my email "still don't have the money for the Escape, don't know when I will have it". I replied "I'm sorry you're having trouble coming up with the funds. The advertising deadline for our next auction is July 11th. If you can't pay by 5PM, Thursday, July 11th we will have to sell the Escape and the EZ Wheels items at our next auction on July 27th, also, you will not be allowed to bid at any future auctions". He purchased $250 of auto parts at the EZ Wheels auction in Auburn on April 24th, we had been storing those for him for over 3 months (those we supposed to be removed within a week after the auction, we did him a big favor by bringing them to our warehouse in Kenmore). Since *** ****** didn't pay by July 11th we put the Escape and the auto parts in our July 27th auction. We included the Escape in all of the auction advertising. I didn't hear anything from him until 5:42PM Friday, July 26th. He emailed me that he had the money for the Escape, would pay Saturday and wanted me to pull it and the auto parts from the auction. I immediately emailed him back that "we will not pull those items out of the sale, it's way too late". The auction was Saturday, July 27th. He showed up auction morning anyway and still demanded to pay for the Escape. I told him the same thing "it's way too late". The Escape had already been advertised and was in the auction catalog. I also told him that since he hadn't complied with our auction terms he was no longer allowed to attend or bid at our auctions. Even though our terms don't specifically say that, I believe that we have the right to ban anyone from our auctions who don't comply with the terms. We sold the Escape on July 27th so it's not possible for *** ****** to pay for it now anyway. He is not welcome at our auctions in the future; we certainly have the right to ban anyone who can't comply with our terms. Attached are copies of our terms and emails Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I CAN expect to be allowed pay for my purchase 6 weeks after the payment deadline. I had been a good customer before this occurrence, paying promptly and in full for multiple auction items. Perhaps I could have paid a REASONABLE late fee. As to the $500 storage cost, that is ridiculous. Stored were two boxes and one vehicle. How does that justify a $500 penalty charge? And what of the sale of the seized items that I had already paid for? And what was the cost of trying to collect from me? A couple of emails and a phone call? This entire episode on the part of Murphy Auctions is unreasonable and quite possibly illegal. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/09/06) */ In this case there is no "shifting position" on our side. *** ****** can't possibly expect us to allow him to pay for his car 6 weeks after the payment deadline. We sold the car and the other items for a net of $3,920 (after 15% standard commission and $500 storage cost - we had been storing some of his items for 3 months). The Ford Escape cost us $4,000, as follows: We had to pay the consignor of the Ford Escape $4,750 **** ******'s bid price from the June auction). Plus we were entitled to buyers fees of $242. That totals $4,992, less the $991.90 deposit *** ****** paid. That's a total cost $4,000.60. We did not make any money on this deal. Plus there is also the cost of trying to collect from *** ****** that I haven't even included. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on James G Murphy Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart