This business is not BBB accredited.

People Helping People Adult Family Home

Phone: (253) 813-0866 Fax: (253) 854-5977 View Additional Phone Numbers 1107 E Maclyn St, Kent, WA 98030


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for People Helping People Adult Family Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on People Helping People Adult Family Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2006 Business started locally: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Social & Health Services
1115 Washington St SE, Olympia WA 98501
http://www.dshs.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 737-0617

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Joan Alvarado, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Joan Alvarado, Owner
Business Category

Assisted Living Centers & Adult Family Homes


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1107 E Maclyn St

    Kent, WA 98030 (253) 218-8751 (253) 813-0866

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 11, 2013, we were at the airport picking up relatives when a woman seated at a long table called to me repeatedly to come over. There were one or two other women with her. She began by wishing me a Merry Christmas and exchanging pleasantries. She quickly moved to the real purpose which was to ask for a donation to her foundation called The People Helping People Foundation which she represented as a tax exempt charity that provided services for the homeless. This was alo represented on paper, which I retained. She indicated also in writing and verbally that they were registered with the Secretary of State as a charity so anything donated would absolutely be tax deductible. For added emphasis, she said that the airport is very strict about who they allow to solicit donations and if the airport hadn't verified her status, she would not be allowed to ask for donations and represent herself as a charity. I had only a $20 in my purse and foolishly gave it to her, and she gave me a signed receipt (*******). The handout she gave me lists ****** ****** as the Director (XXX) XXX-XXXX. They also helpfully listed their ** **** account number #XXXXXXXXXXXX in case I wanted to deposit funds directly into their account. When I got home, I realized that the Secretary of State number is actually a UBI number, which means it is a business license. They are not a charity, but in fact, a for-profit group home for the elderly. I am first mad at myself for falling for this scam, but equally angry at the Port of Seattle which allowed this scam artist to set up a table on their property and misrepresent themselves as a charity. I am also filing a complaint with the Attorney General of Washington as well as sending a letter of complaint to the business office of the Port/SeaTac airport, and a letter to ** **** in Kent. Product_Or_Service: n/a Order_Number: n/a Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $20 and any legal penalties for misrepresentation to the public.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/28) */ First of all, I was absolutely astonished in receiving this complaint against our business. I believe that someone may be using the name "People Helping People" to carry out their scams. But I can reassure you that we do not send people to ask for charity or donations for our business. We do not know who ****** ****** is and why they would be asking for donations in the first place. Second of all, People Helping People Adult Family Home, located in Kent Washington, is NOT a foundation but a LICENSED adult family home by the State of Washington Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS). We provide non-medical in home health care in a social setting to the elderly who have dementia and/or mental health issues who come from home or nursing homes. We are not a foundation that asks for charity to provide services for the homeless. Our adult family home has been in business for over 8 years and the structure of the business has not changed. Under the BBB website, if you type in "People Helping People Foundation", no results appear. But if you type in "People Helping People", there are 15 exact matches that include businesses and charity organizations. All from different states. To find out who may be behind this, perhaps find out about the US Bank account number and which state it is located in. If you want to check with DSHS to confirm the type of business we have, please don't hesitate to call me and I can provide my license number. Thank you. **** ******** LPN Owner and Provider XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I, like you, are very dismayed that someone is using your good name to misrepresent themselves as a charity. I am so very sorry. It is also very alarming that they are using your state UBI number to solicit funds. It seems that maybe it could be a former employee doing this. Who else would have access to your UBI number? I apologize for any difficulties my complaint may cause you. It seems we are both victims in this scam. Since I have also sent complaints to the attorney general and to the port of seattle/seatac airport, you may recieve additional followup on my complaint. I may not be the only person who decided to investigate this scam, though a month has passed and probably anyone who was going to write letters would have done so by now. I would be happy to send you a copy of the "receipt" they gave me that contains your business name, a PO box, a signature, etc. I did send a letter to the bank where the account is located and perhaps they can get to the bottom of this. Again, I am sorry for your trouble and hope someone catches up with this person before they do any further harm to you or prey on other victims like myself.