BBB Accredited Business since

Krantz

Phone: (434) 525-9334 View Additional Phone Numbers 41 Wood Duck Court, Evington, VA 24550 http://www.khcontractinggroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers residential and commercial roofing, siding, windows, and gutters.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Krantz


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Krantz meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Krantz include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Krantz
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 1999 Business started: 08/03/1994 in VA Business under new ownership as of: 12/31/2009 Business incorporated 10/21/2009 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Lynchburg Business License

Phone Number: (434) 455-3880

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blake Hudson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blake Hudson, President
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE WINDOWS SIDING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
K & H Contracting Group, LLC
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 41 Wood Duck Court

    Evington, VA 24550 (434) 329-2184 (434) 525-9334

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with K & H to have my roof repaired (slate). There is daylight showing through the peak of the roof inside my attic. I was told that roofers would come on July 25. No one showed. I called the company twice trying to schedule repair. No new date was set. I have not received any calls. While out of town, the roofers came October 3. I had not been called. An attempt was made, so the bill indicates, to fix my roof. I received a bill on Oct. 7. I called the company. I still see daylight through the roof. I called October 24 to say I would not pay the bill.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my roof to be repaired so that I am not seeing light showing through and I do not have any leaks.

Business Response: The claimant was informed that we had an extensive wait during the original site visit.  I am unable to respond as to why the customer was never informed about the schedule change for July 25 and moved into October as that is an exorbitant about of time difference that is outside our normal wait time for that time period and we have made staffing changes since that time period as well. I will confirm that attempts we¡e made to contact the customer to schedule the repair pr¡or to Oct 3, however, without contact we went forward with the repair knowing the customer along with other individuals had been waiting a long time for repairs (we found out that he was out of town when he returned and contacted us on Tuesday, October 7, 2014.  We heard no further information about any issues with the repair until the customers contact with us on October 24th, 2014; the customer noted still being able to see daylight in one small section between two dormers.  At that point the customer was told not to pay the invoice until after we returned to again determine the origin of the daylight. On October 28th, 2014, we repaired the additional noted section and the customer paid the invoice prior to this claim being received by BBB. On this particular repair the sealant used did not fully adhere in a 6" section of the roofing allowing some light to still penetrate the roofing area, however, no leaking was ever reported or noted. Had the customer been present we still may not have been able to determine that the sealant had not set up properly in that small area as it wasn't noted 3 days after the repair when the customer contacted us originally. We do find that filing a BBB complaint on a matter such as this is unnecessary as it has been taken care of prior to the complaint being filed and the noted exaggerated inaccuracies in the customer's description of what took place makes it appear as if we refused to repair the issue the customer found, when in fact we made legitimate efforts to contact the customer to to schedule and we took care of the issue upon it being brought to our attention.  We find it further appalling that the customer failed to note in his complaint that we performed extra slate repairs without charging the customer additional for those repairs.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *********

4/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov. 12, 2013 I made the final payment on a Certainteed Landmark architectural roof - Total $5,263. It was installed a few days later. I am pleased with the roof but I am still waiting for the WARRANTY. My husband and I have called approximately once a month. We talked to **** *********, Salesman and to ****** *******, Office Manager. They have given us several reasons/excuses. On the quote it says, "This system qualifies for a 50 yr Non-prorated warranty." We believe that we have been patient for 4 or 5 months. Now our fear is that their paperwork has been misplaced. Can you help us?

Desired Settlement: A copy of our warranty and assurance that our roof is protected.

Business Response: Please see the attached correspondence from CertainTeed in reference to the Warranty requested by the complainant. We have spoken with the customer as well and cleared up the confusion. Although it was not our intent to not have a warranty issued properly, poor training and position transition did play a role. The individual responsible has been re-trained by the manufacturer on how to submit warranties and we have established a redundant system to ensure no future customers have the same issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have received the warranty for my roof.  This is the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I consider this complaint resolved.  I can never thank you enough for helping me out in this stressful situation! Regards, ***** ******