BBB Accredited Business since

Davis West Painting, LLC

Phone: (540) 293-6356 92 Lees Gap Road, Fincastle, VA 24090 http://www.gottrust.org/Davis_West_Painting



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers painting, staining, and pressure washing as well as home repairs and remodeling services. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Davis West Painting, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Davis West Painting, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Davis West Painting, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 26, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2001 in VA Business incorporated 02/26/2007 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

Roanoke County Business Lic.

Phone Number: (540) 772-7587

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Sears, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Sears, President
Business Category

PAINTING CONTRACTORS HOME IMPROVEMENTS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES CONTRACTORS - GENERAL PRESSURE WASHING

Method(s) of Payment
Visa and Mastercard, Checks and Cash
Service Area
Serving the Roanoke Valley and surrounding areas.
Industry Tips
3-Day Cooling Off Rule BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 92 Lees Gap Road

    Fincastle, VA 24090 (540) 293-6356

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the last week of August, 2014, my husband and I me with a painting contractor, **** *****. We found his company in the listing of Better Business Bureau A+ accredited painting contractors. I had made a list of repairs we needed, for myself, so that I wouldn't forget anything when Dave came to look at the work and give us an estimate. Dave brought a painter, named "*****". The most significant repair was in the family room ceiling. Our heat pump had leaked and there were stains on the ceiling. They decided that the drywall in the ceiling did not need to be replaced -- just Kilz and paint would suffice. He agreed to do the job for $1400 (including $200 for pressure washing our house). We had no written contract. ***** began the work, so I assumed Dave had given ***** a detailed list of the work that needed to be done. ***** continued to work for a couple of days. I thought that Dave would be back daily to see how things were going and I could point things out to him. That never happened. Dave dropped ***** off in the am and picked him up in the pm. As it turns out, things were painted that didn't need to be painted (and in the wrong color) and paint was slopped all over the place. The biggest thing is that the family room ceiling is "swollen", wrinkled and discolored now. When I asked ***** why he was painting things that didn't need to be painted, he crooked his finger and asked me to follow him. He showed me my own original list in the dining room (not for him or Dave). I asked why he hadn't asked ME, since I was present the entire time. He said he was an "introvert". There was little sanding or prep; paint slopped on glass of two outside doors; the pressure washer died and the employee had no ladder OR brush (we supplied) with which to wash the house, AND we have a distended, wrinkled, discolored ceiling NOW, plus undone work. We also supplied half the paint. Dave has not responded to our requests to come and see this job. I insisted they leave, so work was not completed.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of $800, due to this miserable job and lack of follow-up. This is more than fair, as Davis West Painting did NOT do the job properly and we must now pay ANOTHER painting contractor to do what Davis West did not/could not do. We believe that Dave ***** doesn't care a bit about how we feel about the job done here, as his workers told us that Dave was interested only in the check I had written, not how the job was done. Never again. We have yet to see Dave ***** after the job.

Business Response: November 16, 2014 Davis West Painting LLC*** *** **** Reference.. Complaint letter to Better Business Bureau,  from ********* ****** dated  November 11, 2014. Our  response. Davis West Painting LLc has been a member of the Better Business Bureau for over 5 years. Davis West Painting LLc advertises integrity and request  review of our business history and references.  We highly value the  Better Business Bureau and express our thanks for the opportunity to respond to any concern.Regarding Mrs. ******, In order of events,  On the first day of job review and estimates for work ,we felt their would not be  satisfaction and I turned the job down.  Some what emotional  plea I accepted the job.  Their was a list written by Mrs. ******, and the list was updated and changed with plus and minus duties to equal the financial estimate, not to add on to dollars .  Yes ***** was assigned for the job and I feel that I followed up daily thru the day and at days end with Mr. and Mrs. ******.  Never did they say anything but good work and happy daliy review.  Each and every day.  Respectfully, That is done with all jobs to ensure all things are well.  The one difference, The last day of the job Mrs ****** was ill and her husband wrote us a check, thanked us and we left.The ceiling did have a serious water problem from the attic air conditioning.  We gave a professional option, cut out and replace which would require far more work and painting, with more dollars, or wait longer continue to let ceiling dry and maybe a slight compound with primers and paint would suffice.  We always point out water and moisture as a potential for problems.  They made the decision ( less dollars ), not us and we worked above and beyond on this project.  Apparently the moisture  is causing discoloration as it often does.  Cutting out the area would have been better and painting the ceiling.Mr. and Mrs. ****** called us approximately three months after job finished to speak of concern and return.  I advised them I would be at there residence on that Friday with no time specified.  I came and they were not home.  I left a business card in two doors.  Mr. ****** called two days later  finding the cards and said he needed a specific time , which I understand.  At the time our company is working from ******* to ******** and time limited for a soon to be appointment .  They did not give us even a week more to respond,  their complaint letter is what surfaced.I am sure Mr. and Mrs. ****** need some work done.  Moisture can do things.  Their may be some confusion to their lists of work, but we checked daily, they did pay us, and they waited almost tree months to contact us.  I see no reason to refund any money, but we do admire and respect the Better Business Bureau and will listen to their advice and suggestions.   Thank youDavis West Painting LLCDave  *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Dave ***** offered nothing to resolve our complaint. My husband, ***** *****, and I were surprised and disappointed in the response from Dave, owner of Davis West Painting.  There were several statements in it that simply are not true. Yes, Dave and ***** went to the truck to discuss the job. Upon their return to the house, Dave stated they didn’t think they could do the job well.  Having found his company to be A+ accredited by the BBB, I couldn’t understand why he would doubt the capabilities of his staff or himself. I encouraged him to reconsider. He did and accepted the job. Neither ***** nor I made the decision about how to best fix the family room ceiling. We’re not painters and defer to experts in these matters. Dave ***** said he thought the ceiling should be cut, dry-walled and painted. *****, the painter, strongly disagreed after feeling the ceiling and saying it was dry. ***** went on to say that Kilz and paint were sufficient for the job. Dave said that was fine with him, and we said it was fine with us, too. The advice ***** gave was good enough for Dave ***** and it was good enough for us, as well. Money was never mentioned in this discussion. Because ***** had admitted to having problems communicating with people (an "introvert" he said), I tried not to intervene, knowing his level of discomfort. At times, I had to intervene. The reason we did not inform Dave of the sloppy job ***** did here is because I was afraid ***** would lose his job. The family room ceiling was the most important repair. We made the decision, since the repair was good in that room, to just let the rest of the bad work go. ***** told us the amount of money Dave was charging us was ridiculous. We really had no way of knowing, and went along with it. The reason it took so long to call Dave ***** to complain about the job (NOT “approximately three months” as stated by Dave ***** in his response) is because the changes did not occur in the family room ceiling until several weeks after it was painted. The ceiling began to swell, wrinkle and discolor. That is when we knew we had to complain. Since we were calling about the ceiling problem, we took the opportunity to tell him that there were other problems, as well and asked him by phone, early in the week of 11/3/14 to come and see all of the work ***** had done. Dave said he’d be by to check it out on Thursday or Friday of that week (11/6/14 or 11/7/14) but gave us no specific time. He dropped his business card(s) by the house asking us to call him with our phone number. ***** called him the very next day (NOT two days later, as Dave ***** states in his response), and left his cell phone number and a message saying that we are not always at home, and we’d need to set up a specific appointment time for Dave to come.  When no call was forthcoming from Dave, we saw no reason to wait to submit the complaint, and we did so on 11/11/14. We believe from November 3rd to November 11th was a sufficient length of time to have heard from Dave. He never called. We would like to amend the figure we are requesting as a refund. Our request should have read $700, not $800. Our reasoning was that half of the $1400 paid to Dave ***** should be refunded to us. The “8” was a typographical error, for which I apologize. We are still asking for half of the payment in the form of a refund ($700).Attached, please find ten photographs of examples of the painting done by the Davis West painter. The worst mistake, of course, is the buckling ceiling in the family room. Unfortunately, it is the worst photograph, showing little of the buckling, wrinkling and swelling of the damage area.#114     Paint slopped on back door windows; no painter's tape used;#116     No paint or holes filled between lock and knob;#117     No tape used on door edge;#119     Paint slopped on storm door frame, cylinder rod and rod-holder;#120     Storm door frame (paint slopped);#121     Different place, same door as #120#125     Ceiling stain in family room (lighting in room does not allow buckling/wrinkling to be visible in photograph;#124     Master bathroom door rolled with too much paint and a coarse roller instead of a brush;#126     This is how all of our doors in the house are painted; we expected this door to match the others;#127     This was to have been a four-inch repair of chipping paint on the INSIDE of the frame; instead, painter used non-matching paint and painted             the entire OUTSIDE of the door frame, instead of checking with customer to clarify;There is nothing personal about our complaint. We just feel that we have been treated shabbily and unfairly by this company. Regards,********* ****** and ***** *****                   

Business Response: Nov. 20,  2014Davis West Painting LLCSecond response to complaint letter recieved  Nov. 19, 2014.Davis West Painting LLC has been in business 12 or so years.  Of the 3000 plus jobs we may have received, maybe 3 complaints, this be one of them.  We be dedicated and work hard work to achieve and maintain a long standing A+ ratingwith the Better Business Bureau,  and employee ***** has been with the company over 8 years, one of the reasons for our A+ BBB rating. He is a family man and a professional.I as an owner and we as a company work though out our  neighbors and community,  not to be greedy or cheap, we value integrity. nor are we perfect, but  to try for  excellent workmanship and professional results with a daily positive no problem atittude.  Our history and many of our referrals state how we always do the above and beyond with the no charges extras we are known for,  supporting our appreciation and good faith.  We always follow up daily and review workmanship daily and at end of job before paymentis made.  We asked for no deposit as well.  We stated payment due when job concludes satisfactory.  The $1400.00 dollar charge for almost a full week of work interior and exterior including materials was with integrity and fair, and we were among  three or four estimates.And when called after any job for any concerns we always return,  100%.  Even though this customer  waited almost 3 months  we returned to your residence,  and would continue to do so until we met all  total concerns best possible way.  Not allowing us a bit more time, another day or so to respond for a second visit review after waiting three months is challenging for us and complicates managing this through the Better Business Bureau.    As toward this complaint, we are not comfortable returning.  We are surprised that, as you reported ,the Air Conditioning company is the direct cause for this problem. Why are they not taking responsibilty for the ceiling costs.  Maybe the unit in the attic leaked again or still is.     As a committed professional company with community values and Better Business Bureau appreciation .  We will offer a $200.00 refund. Davis West Painting LLCMember: Better  Business Bureau   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Mr. *****, my husband and I are not interested in how many jobs your company has received or how many complaints. We are interested only in our own complaint and the bad experience we had with your company. I’m sure you can understand that. It was your A+ accredited BBB rating that led us to call you in the first place. We naturally assumed that the job would be one with which we would be pleased. It just wasn’t the case. We also were under the impression that anyone with that high a BBB rating would be eager to assure that a customer is happy. While we noticed in your response that your company is not willing to come back to our home, please understand that not once have we asked you to do that. We do not want your company in our home, which was made clear in the original complaint. That is why we arrived at what we believe is a fair resolution for both parties – to refund half of the money back and each of us walks away intact, with equal resolution. We are disappointed that you had no response to the photographs of your painter’s work here. All but one of them showed obvious and significant problems. No holes were filled. No sanding was done. Your pressure washer was broken and your worker who operated it brought no brush or ladder. Paint was slopped on walls, doors, windows and floors, as I have stated previously. You had no response to this. Since I filed our original complaint to the Better Business Bureau, two of the nail-pops (one in the master bathroom and one in the hall bathroom) have reappeared! How is it our responsibility that you asked for no deposit? If you had, you would have received one. We cannot blame the HVAC folks (as you suggested in your response) for what happened in the attic, as two workers from another company had also been up there blowing insulation into the attic. It would have been impossible to determine who stepped on the tray of the heat pump that allowed water to spill, damaging the family room ceiling. We were not in a position to accuse anyone, of course, much less to require payment for repair. Things happen and they simply must be fixed. Your painter was in our home for three days, not the “full week” that you describe in your response. We did not wait “three months” to complain. The ceiling buckled approximately two months after your man had worked on it. Clearly, you were correct when you said that the ceiling should be cut out, dry-walled and painted. Unfortunately, you deferred to your painter, who said that was not necessary. You responded, “Maybe the unit in the attic leaked again or still is”. No, it has not leaked again. It has been fixed. We hired another A+ accredited BBB painting contractor whose crew has done a professional job of cutting out a large piece of drywall to replace the one that had been compromised by so much moisture, and it has been repainted. We are confident that the job was good. The men were respectful, able to communicate with us, polite and they left our home in clean order each day. They have completed that job to our satisfaction and beyond. Next, they will have to redo every single job your painter did in the house. All of them! That will have to wait, as we are retired and not able to pay two painting companies for doing the same work. Your refund of $700 from the $1400 paid will go a long way toward getting the sloppy work done nicely and correctly.  You stated in your response that we didn’t allow you a bit more time to return our call when I told you that we were very unhappy and needed for you to see the work. How much time would you have needed? If I had an unhappy customer, I believe I would do anything I could to set up a firm appointment with the customer to see what steps could be taken to improve the situation. But you just stopped by the house, unannounced, and stuck a card in the door asking for our phone number. We provided our number the very next day but nothing happened. You didn’t call. “Excellent workmanship”, “Professional results”, “Integrity”, “above and beyond” are all phrases you used in your response to describe your company values. If, indeed, you believe these things to be true, then please refund us half of the money ($700) so that we can get the problems so clearly photographed and sent to you by the BBB, done correctly. We are fair people, Mr. *****, not difficult people who enjoy filing illegitimate complaints against companies for no reason.  We are respectfully asking you to do the right thing to resolve this matter and please refund us the $700.Regards,********* ****** and ***** *****    

Business Response: Reading your correspondence, I am shocked, stunned, and be humbled .   We have replied with honesty and in a timely manner.  For me their are no more  words.  Have a pleasant day. Dave *****Davis West Painting LLC

Business Response: Regarding the photographs.1.   Review with staff.2.   Respectfully,  A+ Rating for years with BBB3.   Platinum Award, Roanoker Magazine 2014     Not the kind of work,  WE EVER DO. *   Can we say that something needs to be looked at, or checked. Yes, the  touch     up possibility exists but not to their degree. No one or company is perfect. *   Notifying us almost THREE months later, can we remember all details ??*   They could have given us a little more time, especially after waiting 3 months.     We always return.   ..This is one of the central points..*   Do we and did we check each and every day to ensure NONE  of any poor quality      Yes we did and do at every job.*   We reviewed the work with the owner each and every day.*   We asked for ZERO dollars up front.  Money only after daily review and final      review*   It was one week with ***** full time and *** helped half of the week.The photos should probably be followed up with a house visit for further review and action as needed.   Respectfully, not  us, thank you.The photos...were they all on the list she gave us, or the modified list she was doing as the job moved forward.I offered $200.00 dollar refund for professional consideration, even though if you read the above, WHY.  They turned it down, wanting $700.00. We believe in the BBB, and our community.  References mean everything.  We regret to the Better Business Bureau  this incident. This be our first.Dave  *****Davis West Painting LLC

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.   The response from Davis West Painting is not acceptable to us. Moreover, we are having trouble imagining a business owner addressing even former customers in the tone that this company is using with us in his Better Business Bureau responses. It is the worst possible approach if he wishes to protect the valuable reputation he claims that he currently enjoys.  The owner did not reference the photographs, other than to say “Review with staff” and “Were they all on the list she gave us?” There was no list. Nothing was in writing, except for my own notes. The owner did not put anything in writing, nor did the painter. The painter took it upon himself to take my list from the dining room table, and use it as if it were his. It wasn’t.    We’d be interested in what happened when the photographs were “reviewed with staff”?   It is curious that the “two months later” that has been referenced in previous responses as the length of time that it took us to call the company back, has grown now to “three months”. In fact, we called back when the cosmetic approach the company decided upon, did not work and the ceiling buckled. We were not about to throw good money after bad by getting this same company to come back but the ceiling needed immediate attention. We had it structurally repaired by another A+ accredited BBB company but this time, we got a word-of-mouth recommendation. We obviously should have done that with Davis West Painting, as well. As the owner says, “References mean everything.” They certainly do. When we are asked for painting company references, Davis West Painting will not be one we will recommend, for certain – especially after the shabby customer treatment when we encountered a problem with the miserable job that was done. This back-and-forth carping is ineffective and far too time-consuming. It has produced no positive result that we can see.   The painter was not here for one week.  He was here for three days. The worker who pressure- washed (or attempted to) was not here for half a week. He wasn’t even here for a full day. The pressure washer broke, and he had no cleaning materials (we provided them for him). At one point when the pressure washer worker walked off the job because the machine broke, my husband offered to continue to wash the house with it, but was told by the painter that he wouldn’t wish that machine on anyone because it had so many mechanical problems every time it was used.   I used to work with people who had life skill problems. When the painter was painting things that did not need to be painted, and using the wrong color to boot, I asked him why he didn’t ask me for direction on what needed to be done. When he said that he was an incurable introvert, I should have called the owner immediately to say that we needed a painter with whom we could communicate. Instead of putting our own family’s needs first, I put the painter’s problems first and was afraid that he would lose his job if I called the owner. I deeply regret that decision.   When Dave ***** of Davis West Painting first came to look at this job, along with his painter, he saw what needed to be done and said he didn’t think his painter could do the job. The painter disagreed, saying he thought he could do the job. I should have believed the owner. He was correct. I should have thanked them for their time, shown them the door and gone to another company that could assure me that the job could be done well, such as the company we hired to re-do the structural damage to the family room ceiling. We have shown that company all of the work that needs to be redone, and while none of it has been done yet, we have confidence in the new company. Incidentally, the company that repaired the ceiling provided everything that was to be done, in writing. So, in addition to the $1400 we paid Davis West for virtually nothing, we paid the second company $418 to do the ceiling job correctly.   I have one last photograph of the electrical box on the outside of the house. It was painted by the Davis West painter. It is clear that he simply painted over the existing leftover paint. Sandpaper is not included in the Davis West Painting bag of tools. Neither is blue painter’s tape. We believe much of the sloppy work could have been avoided had these two key elements been a part of the work ethic. The photograph is attached.   We are clearly at an impasse. If the Better Business Bureau believes the job Davis West Painting provided is A+ accredited work, then we will assume that our respective definitions of the criteria are different. We have truthfully provided our account of this job, including photographs and we are respectfully requesting $700 as a refund for the dreadful job that was done by Davis West Painting.   Sincerely,********* ****** and ***** *****    

Business Response: We regret that Ms. ****** is not satisfied with our work.  Although we feel no responsibility, due to the fact that the customer did not mention any issues with our work until three months after the work was completed, we will still offer the goodwill gesture of a $200 refund.We did not require a down payment and only asked for payment after work had been approved by the customer.  I was there daily and no issues were brought to my attention. Before accepting payment on the last day, Mr. ***** thanked us but made no mention of any problems.  There was a discussion regarding the best way to repair the ceiling and the cost involved.  We originally suggested cutting out the spot, repairing and then painting the entire ceiling.  The cost was prohibitive to you.  In fact, in your rebuttal, you stated ***** (my painter) and I discussed it and decided on repainting only that portion of the ceiling and your response was “we said it was fine with us, too”.  We are sorry you are still having continued issues with the ceiling, but it was your decision due to cost issues.  However, we are still willing to refund $200 on that portion of the job as a good will gesture.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. The decision as to whether the ceiling part would be replaced or merely painted over was made by *****, the painter. We agreed, as we considered him to be the expert. Mr. ***** was correct, as it turned out, when he originally said that the ceiling needed to be cut and the drywall replaced. When ***** said that wasn't necessary, both Mr. *****, my husband and I went along with the "expert", as he seemed to be the one who knew best. Obviously, he didn't know best, as the ceiling buckled several weeks later and has since been properly repaired. We have no further ceiling issues, as the new painting contractor did the job correctly. We considered calling Dave ***** after examining each job that ***** had done. But Mr. ***** had already told us that he believed that ***** was an excellent painter, as he has alluded to in his response to this complaint. The idea of Mr. ***** sending anyone else to our home to correct the many, many issues that ***** had left to be corrected, was unthinkable to us. We simply could not risk having another incompetent painter from this company do more damage than had already been done, as the photographs have clearly detailed. Had the ceiling not buckled two months after Davis West's departure, we probably would have done nothing except to make sure when we selected another company, that we get a reference from people we know. It is a sad statement that we were more willing, as retirees, to kiss $1400 good-bye, than to allow any representatives of Davis West Painting into our home again. But, then the ceiling buckled and we knew we'd be paying money to a reputable contractor to have it repaired.  In resignation, we filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Though we still have many repairs that Davis West Painting did not do correctly, we thought $700 to Davis West and a refund of $700 to us was fair. Mr. ***** has offered a refund in the amount of $200. In the interest of resolution and in the spirit of fairness, we would like to meet Dave ***** halfway -- splitting the difference between our requested $700 and his offer of $200, settling on a refund of $450. Regards, ********* ****** and ***** *****

Business Response: January 14, 2015Reviewed complaint,  recent written letter.   Thank you for sending it to me.  At this time and date, our feed back and responses  stay the same . Respectfully,  Dave  *****Davis West Painting LLC

Consumer Response: My husband, ***** *****, and I will accept the offer of $200.00 from Davis West Painting, in the form of a refund.  Our decision was not based on what we believe to be fair, honest and in the spirit of compromise. However, we have other things going on in our lives that require our attention and the stress of dealing with this unfortunate experience is not worth our continuing any further. We do appreciate the time and efforts of the Better Business Bureau. Sincerely, ********* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Davis West Painting, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart