BBB Accredited Business since

Lawrence Companies, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (540) 966-4000 View Additional Phone Numbers 872 Lee Highway, Roanoke, VA 24019 http://www.lawrencecompanies.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services, trailer repairs, and vault record storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lawrence Companies, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lawrence Companies, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Lawrence Companies, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 1968 Business started: 01/15/1932 in VA Business incorporated 01/15/1932 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

U.S. Department of Transportation
400 7th Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Fax Number: 617-494-2783

Botetourt Business License
P.O. Box 128, Fincastle VA 24090
Phone Number: (540) 473-8270

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Weldon "Chip" S. Lawrence, C.E.O. Ms. Jenna Lawrence, Marketing Administration Ms. Linda Lucas, Customer Service Manager Ms. Martha Richards, Supervisor/Household Goods Div/Billing Mr. Ron Spangler, President Mr. Bill Wills, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jenna Lawrence, Marketing Administration
Principal: Mr. Weldon "Chip" S. Lawrence, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Lawrence Companies, Inc. Lawrence Container, Inc. Lawrence Equipment
Business Category

MOVERS TRUCKING TRANSPORTATION SERVICES TRUCK REPAIR & SERVICE

Industry Tips
BBB TIP Movers

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was contracted to move us from ** to **. We hired Laurence Transportation to move our house hold goods because it was company used by our employers. It took them about a week to get the survey done. We had some items in our garage which were included in the survey. The driver refused to to drive the truck and pick up what was in the garage. Some of the items that were packed never made it. They sent out a claim form and refused to pay it. They delivered the goods COD we had a money order for the pick up they claim it never made it to the office. They are now taking to to collections. My question is how does a driver drop goods off and not collect payment. Also send a claim form and not pay on it.

Desired Settlement: They failed to pick up everything and deliver all items packed

Business Response: In May 2015 Lawrence Transportation Systems was hired by Mrs. ****** ******** to relocate her household goods from ***** to ***** ******** as Lawrence is the preferred mover for **** ****** ********** ******* ******* ****** (Mrs. ********’s new employer). The ********’s household goods were picked up by a qualified Lawrence Transportation Systems van operator on May 13, 2015. All items from the apartment were loaded at that time and the driver confirmed that all items had been loaded when having the shipper sign the origin paperwork. This paperwork includes a bill of lading for the shipment, an inventory of all items loaded, a high value inventory (if applicable) and a “Most Important” document, copies of all of these documents have been provided. The “Most Important” document states that the movers are not responsible for any items left at the residence after loading and that the shipper (person being moved) is responsible for checking to make sure no items are left behind. The driver was not informed at any time that he needed to load items from another location. The ********’s household goods were then transported to ***** ******** and placed into storage in our *********** ** warehouse. On 5/15/15, ***** from our ********** office called Mrs. ******** to see how the move went, she stated that everything went well and she would notify us once they found a residence and we could deliver their items out of storage. Mr. ******** confirmed that they would like to take delivery of their household goods on 6/15 and they were delivered on that date. At delivery the shipper checked off the “Bingo Sheet” showing that all items had been delivered into their home and signed all delivery paperwork. The ********’s were supposed to pay for the remaining balance on their shipment (**** ****** ******* ******* ****** paid for $2500.00 of the relocation cost, leaving Mrs. ******** with a balance of $881.44 that she was responsible for at delivery). No check was presented to the Lawrence staff that was present at delivery. When the move paperwork was processed in our office, the move coordinator realized that the customer still owed a balance and called the shipper to see how they would be paying the balance, the shipper stated that they had a money order at the time of delivery, but it had disappeared. They also stated that they could not cancel the money order until it had been outstanding for 90 days. Our office agreed to check in with them at the conclusion of 90 days to rectify their account at that time. On June 30th, our office received a damage claim form from Mrs. ******** claiming 10 items that had been “lost” during her move. This claim was denied as none of the items on the claim form were listed on the move inventory. Once the 90 days had elapsed, we have tried to contact the ********’s multiple times to collect their remaining balance but have been unable to contact them beyond leaving messages on their voicemail. At this time, Lawrence Transportation Systems is owed $881.44 from Mrs. ********. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. First of all Laurence transport was made aware that the driver refused to pick up goods stored in the garage conversation went back and forth finally Laurence agreed to send out a claim form for goods not picked up. Laurence Transport would not have have items listed. We had the apartment surveyed which included what was in the garage we also told Laurence Transport we would pack as much as we could. The driver was under the impression that it was a pick up only. There were 3 people originally doing the load one person left leaving two to load.Originally we were told that 427.01 was due at pickup  yet on based on the survey yet on 5/25 only 149.36 was collected which indicated that not all the goods surveyed was picked up. Also The following email was was sent Hi Mr. & Mrs. ********, After speaking to you this morning I wanted to let you know that we have worked on your storage charges and my Manager has agreed to reduce your storage to $881.44 which is about a 50% savings. I’m sorry for any confusion or problems you may have incurred. As far as your survey being performed 5 days after you made contact with us is actually very fast. I know you were very anxious to get the process started but this is considered quick from the start date of contact with you. I’ve requested a claim form be sent to you and you can call me if you need assistance. You could list what’s on your inventory list that the surveyor saw in your garage at origin. You can only file one claim in 9 months from the day of delivery. After it’s sent to claims it’s in their hands to handle for you. Please contact me if you have any further questions or concerns and I’ll be glad to assist you. ***** will work with you on getting your items delivered out of storage. Best Regards,   ******** ****** National Account Manager Regarding the boxes checked off of delivered goods there where four boxes without numbers and four boxes not checked off.  The delivery guy said they must be four missing boxes. It was not until the goods were unpacked that it was noticed that kitchen items that where packed by Laurence did not arrive.Regarding the money order Laurence was informed and shown that a Money Order was purchased. The driver left after dropping of goods, and I received a call a couple of days later. saying payment was not received. Laurence Transport was told that a money order was purchased and was on the counter top where the driver paper work was and  assumed he picked it up. As the money order had the receipt part attached to it one is unable to obtain a refund.Over the years we have moved I never had a mover refuse to pick up part of the goods surveyed, nor for one of the packers walk off half way through packing. Any time there was a balance due it was collected by the driver.Laurence claim that The driver was not informed at any time that he needed to load items from another location. is false my husband asked the the driver to drive to the garage unit prior to packaging the apartment. The driver point blank refused using the excuse that his truck would not fit around to the pick up location. Also the goods where included in the survey.Laurence claims I owe them $881.44 I have shown them that a money order was purchased Their drivers failure to turn in payment is not my concern or my responsibility. Laurence Transport is the preferred movers for my employer. They knew that I was under a time constraint and if they could not met the dead line and move everything they should have declined.  Regards, ****** ********

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from CA to TX this year, and had a number of issues. Only one of them we weren't able to resolve on our own, and I have been extremely dissatisfied with the quality of the resolution provided by the carrier. First, let me begin by telling you that when the movers show up to your house make sure you are both present and watching them as they pack your stuff. Half of our kitchen wasn't packed, as they placed boxes in front of the cupboards before they bothered emptying them. They forgot, altogether, to pack our coat closet (that they'd walked past hundreds of times in the two days they were packing our house), and they threw our 3 computers in the most random of places. I, contrary to the advice I offer, was watching our three children and two dogs while our packers managed to box up the contents of our house in the most unorthodox of fashion. Upon letting Lawrence transportation know of the poor job their contract packers did, I did not receive the slightest inclination that anything was being done, or even that they cared, about the issue. I advised them that I was reticent about anything that may end up being broken in transport, and was advised (erroneously) that I didn't have to worry about any such occurrence. Upon arriving in TX, 2 of our 3 computers had hard drive failures (all three of them were placed, unmarked, in boxes containing other miscellaneous items). One complete, and one partial. Given that both of these computers were used for work, I contacted Lawrence Transportation regarding the issue and let them know, and was quite explicit that the computer with the hard drive failure would be a bit pricey to restore, as it had the complete ***** *****, and ********* Professional installed (about $2,000 worth of software). After filling out the claim form, I was informed two weeks later that "I haven’t received anything back from ****** *** ***** on it yet. I sent a request in to the supervisor just now to take a look. She will be back in the office tomorrow from vacation. I will let you know as soon as I can." A few days later I was told that, "I will need an inspection report from them indicating the computers are not functioning due to damage caused directly by the move. The report will need to contain photos of the computers, age of the computers, approximate replacement cost and depreciation value due to age. Also, we do not have an account with **** **** Would you be comfortable with having this inspection done and having us send you a check reimbursing you for that expense?" In other words, **** was asking from me something very specific. While I don't know anyone who can look at a defective hard drive and say where the damage came from, I do know quite a number of people that will tell you that repeatedly jostling a hard drive (for say 2k miles) will cause it to fail. Long story short, **** found a place to "assess" my computers (and in the process completely destroyed the hard drive on my second computer), and in the end I was told "With this information, it appears it would cost approximately $385.00 to have both computers repaired by ******* ******** ****. Mechanical malfunction or failure that occurs when items are shipped is not necessarily the fault of the carrier. In most instances, claims for such damage generally would be denied in the absence of special circumstances. Mechanical malfunction may be denied even if the claimed damage occurred while the goods were in the care, custody, and control of the carrier. If something vibrates loose or damage occurs during normal handling because of the nature of the item (inherent vice), the carrier may not be responsible for such damage. For example, in the case of some home appliances or electronic equipment, particularly TVs, stereos, and computers, the vibration during transit could be such that an article that was working perfectly before the move no longer functions properly. Such jostling due to the usual transit vibration or other causes is beyond the carrier’s control, making a complete denial of liability proper. However, in light of the above claims language from ******, I am prepared to offer you a $250.00 settlement towards those repairs. Please advise me of your acceptance and I will issue a check to you in the next few days and you can proceed with the repairs accordingly." So, in addition to losing two thousand dollars worth of software, I was being told that "yeah, we'll pay $250 of the $385 it will take to get your computers running again." In the end they bumped it up to $300 dollars, which still left me out in the cold for the $85 to get both computers up and running and upwards of $2000 for the software I no longer have.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to cough up the extra $85 it took to repair my computers, and either provide me with the ***** *************** professional or give me the money to buy it.

Business Response: This communication is to address Mr. *********** complaint to the BBB. Although Lawrence Transportation appreciates Mr. *********** comments, we must take this opportunity to correct some inaccuracies in the complaint. Mr. *********** employer contracted with ****** Van Lines/********* to perform a household goods move from California to Texas. The move originated on August 7, 2014 in California and delivered to Mr. *********’s Texas residence on August 13, 2014. ****** Van Lines/********* is a major national corporation with many independently owned agents throughout the Unitel States. Lawrence Transportation is an independent ****** Van Lines agent and is located in ******** ********, with satellite locations in *********** ** and *********** *** Mr. *********** move was assigned to an independent ****** Van Lines/********* agency in ********** where the move originated. Lawrence Transportation served only as the booking agency and did not pack, load, haul, deliver, or unload any of Mr. *********** belongings. However, as the booking agent, the damage claim was filed with our agency. It is worth noting at this point that during the move process, Mr. ********* was contacted by telephone by Lawrence Transportation’s Quality Control Department to inquire as to how the California agency movers were doing during the packing, loading, and again during the delivery in Texas. On August 7, 2014 (during the loading process in CA), Mr. ********* documented via telephone that “the moving crew was doing a great job and he had no complaints.” Given these comments during the packing process, it is odd Mr. ********* is now complaining that the packers did a poor job and “threw our 3 computers in the most random of places.” On August 13, 2014 (during the delivery process in TX), Mr. ********* was again telephoned to inquire about the delivery process. Mr. ********* could not be reached by telephone and a message was left for him on his voicemail. In addition, Mr. ********* was also sent an email on that same day. Mr. ********* neither returned the QC phone call nor did he respond to the QC email regarding delivery. On August 18th, 2014, Mr. ********* was again telephoned by Move Coordinator Supervisor Tenika Hawley and again was left a message via voicemail. It was not until August 21, 2014 (2 weeks after loading and over 1 week after delivery) that Mr. ********* returned the call to Supervisor Hawley. Supervisor Hawley noted that “it’s odd that he waited that long to report the computer damages especially since he advised he used them for work.” Mr. *********’s official claim for loss or damage was received at Lawrence Transportation’s Virginia office on August 25, 2014. The claim included 2 computers and totaled $1000.00. Mr. *********’s claim went under review and the Transportation Services Agreement (Contract) with Mr. *********’s employer was reviewed. The contract was found not to contain provisions for items that incur mechanical failure. It is worth noting at this point that Mr. *********’s computers were loaded as “mechanical condition unknown” in California. Simply put, it is unknown to ****** Van Lines if the computers were in working order when loaded. Lawrence Transportation continued its review of the claim and contacted ****** Van Lines corporate headquarters on August 25, 2014 and again on September 9, 2014 regarding their position on this claim. A Cargo Claims Manager from ****** responded on September 9, 2014 and indicated a 3rd party inspection of the computers would need to be done before a position could be established. Arrangements were made to have both computers inspected by ****** ******** **** in ***** ** and the results of the inspections were returned to Lawrence Transportation on September 15, 2014. On computer 1 (Dell Laptop) the inspecting technician indicated the hard drive was bad and was missing “quite a few Windows updates”. The technician was telephoned on September 15, 2014 by **** ****** and the technician indicated there was “absolutely no physical damage” to the laptop and the hard drive failure could have been caused by any number of reasons, including transit vibration. On computer 2 (All in One computer), the inspecting technician indicated the memory was fine but the hard drive was bad and the back panel of the computer “looks almost melted by the exhaust ports.” The technician was telephoned and indicated the melting damage was pre-existing damage caused by years of use. The technician also indicated there were no signs of physical damage to the computer and the hard drive failure could have been caused by any number of reasons. The technician provided an estimate to replace the hard drives on both computers, hardware installs, operating system installs, etc. would be a total of approximately $385 Lawrence Transportation then began adjudicating the claim. Although this claim warranted a complete denial due to the lack of mechanical failure provisions in the contract and also the lack of evidence of carrier mishandling, as a gesture of customer satisfaction, we offered Mr. ********* a settlement of $250 on his claim, to which he refused. A final settlement offer of $300 was offered on September 18, 2014 and was accepted via email that same day by Mr. *********. A check was then cut and mailed to Mr. ********* on September 23, 2014. In closing, we feel this BBB complaint against Lawrence Transportation is without merit as Mr. *********’s claim was adjudicated in a more than fair fashion given the facts and the lack of any evidence indicating carrier mishandling on the part of the ****** Van Lines agencies in California. Respectfully submitted, Lawrence Transportation, Inc.

Consumer Response: I would like to take a moment and thank Lawrence transportation for pointing out the crux of my complaint, mainly that they seem to be hiding behind an attitude of "we're just the agent."    I particularly like the fact that they note that my computers 1 - took a week to locate (while intentionally ignoring the fact that I'd said that they were put in the "most random of places." My desktop, and laptop, were not only not listed as having been packed, but were loaded with art supplies in stead of the other electronics they were adjacent to prior to packing).  2 - that it would take me a week to find a work computer (anyone with rudimentary knowledge of licensing protocol would know that if I had used this computer for a current job I'd merely be able to transfer rights onto a new computer.  This was a computer that I'd used for side jobs, and a previous employer had given me the software.  Ergo my problem to begin with).  Another favorite of mine was the "missing substantial updates" when, again, anyone with rudimentary knowledge of computers knows, when you have a bad hard drive and you reset your computer to a previous backup you happen to be missing a good number of updates (and updating your computer can, and did, brick your hard drive).     I also like the part where they point out there was no physical damage, as it points out that they don't seem to have bothered reading my first complaint.  I don't know a single computer repair person that can tell you why a hard drive goes bad.  I know many that will tell you jostling a computer for two thousand miles will cause a hard drive to go bad though.     My favorite part, however, is that Lawrence claims that this issue has been adjudicated.  I've never heard of "yeah, your stuff is broken, we may have done it but don't know, here's a percentage of what it costs to 'fix' your computer.  if you don't take it that's fine with us too." as being a form of adjudication.     I took what was given, as I need a computer. This doesn't negate the following issues   1 - Lawrence transportation was MY agent.  In charge of getting MY goods from point A to point B.  NOWHERE in this response do we find any sort of remorse for such blatant mis-steps in protocol (the placement, treatment, and lack of cataloging, of my computers).  If a travel agent knows that a cruise ship isn't going to provide a good service, they don't offer the services of that cruise ship.  Yet I'm sure that Lawrence continues to use whomever gives them the cheapest price regardless of the actual outcome of the service.    2 - Lawrence transportation, as MY agent, did a piss poor job of "adjudicating" anything.  I was given an offer, of which I'd voiced concerns over, and was told "take it or leave it."      Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** *********

7/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were in correspondence with Lawrence Transportation over a period of a month (April through May 2014) negotiating shipment arrangements of our belongings from Charlotte, NC to our new home in Costa Rica. **** *** (our sales agent) gave me a quote for $7,013.50 for door to door delivery. She quoted the estimate for charges from Lawrence Transportation for their services as well as an affiliate company (********* ***) to pick up or belongings and deliver to Costa Rica. Once Our belongings were picked up in Charlotte, NC, we were given the final charge quote of $7,013.50. Once our belongings were received in Costa Rica, we received an e-mail from one of Lawrence Transportation's Costa Rican affiliate companies claiming we owed them another $3,150.00. I forwarded the e-mail we received stating we owed another $3,150.00 to **** *** with Lawrence Transportation and explained we believed the Costa Rican contact was confused and must have sent the bill for their charges to us instead of Lawrence Transportation as we had already paid Lawrence Transportation in full for the "final charges" invoice. **** replied to my e-mail and agreed there must have been some confusion as she did give us a "final charges" invoice which did not include the additional $3,150.00 charge. We later received an e-mail from **** *** and also e-mails from her husband, ***** *** (who claims to be a manager with the company) stating their estimate was accurate and they are not responisble for the additional charges. I explained to **** and ***** *** (via e-mail as they would not call me) that they picked up our belongings from Charlotte (some irreplaceable) under a false quote of said charges and then sent them to Costa Rica where they were held at randsom/hostage for almost 2 weeks. Our belongings sat in a warehouse in a FOREIGN COUNTRY with no *** for us to regain possession unless we paid the $3,150.00 being asked by Lawrence Transportation's affiliate company until we were able to come up with enough money. The actual additional charges were $3,250.00 as we had to pay additional days of storage while we desperately attempted to come up with the money. All of our belongings were literally being held hostage and the only *** we could get them back was to pay the $3,250.00. I explained to **** and ***** *** that we used credit cardes to pay for the original "final charge" estimate and believed in **** when she assured us her quote was accurate. When we begged for their help, **** and ***** would not even talk to us over the phone. **** turned everything over to ***** and he would only communicate through e-mail and he was very slow to reply which cost us even more money that we did not have. ***** *** claimed our shipment was "pulled and inspected" in one of his e-mail responses and insinuated that was the reason for the additional charges. We sent an e-mail to Lawrence Transportation's affiliate in Costa Rica (**** ******* with *********) and asked her if our shipment was "pulled and inspected"? We have an e-mail from **** stating NO that our shipment went through "standard procedure". So, if our shipment went through standard procedure and was not "pulled and inspected" as ***** *** with Lawrence Transportation insuated, why was there an additional $3,150 charge that appeared that was NOT stated in our "final charge" estimate from **** *** with Lawrence Transportation? Our ONLY contact on this entire transaction for total charge quoting was **** ***. **** was our one and only contact. She obtained estimates from ALL of their affiliates including their Costa Rican affiliate. On the day our belongings were picked up, we requested a "final charge quote" as we added another 500lbs. of cargo? **** explained she sent a quote request to her Costa Rican affiliate and could not give me a final charge quote until she heard back from them. She called me that same day and said she received the quote from her Costa Rican affiliate and gave us the "final charge" quote of $7,013.50 which included the Costa Rica charges . Why did she not include the $3,150.00 additional charges in her "final charge quote" as she received a "final quote" charge from her Costa Rican affiliate? We would have denied their services had we known the HIDDEN charges. I explained to **** *** prior to them picking up our belongings that we could only afford the amount she quoted. I asked her specifically if there would be any additional charges as we would not be able to afford any additional charges as we had to place our order on 4 seperate credit cards and we were at our limit. She assured me there would be no additional charges and her quote was accurate. I believed her and moved foreward with the transaction. I wish I could have foressen the future. I am filing a complaint with the BetterBusinessBureau.com against **** *** and Lawrence Transportation for false advertisement, false quoting and holding thousands of dollars of belongings in a foreign country for hostage/randsom until HIDDEN charges were paid. I am also charging ***** *** with Lawrence Transportation and his legal department with misleading information ("shipment pulled and inspected") in order to mislead and misrepresent the truth.

Desired Settlement: We feel a full refund is warranted as well as a personal apology via e-mail from **** and ***** *** for all of the mental stress and severe pain and suffering they caused us by putting us in this financial crisis due to their dishonesty and negligence.

Business Response: Reference:  BBB customer complaint filed by ***** ******** ID ******** From:  ***** ****** Vice President of Sales and Marketing Lawrence Transportation Systems Roanoke VA Customers ***** and ****** ******** utilized the services of ******** ********* and Lawrence Transportation for an international move to Costa Rica May of 2014.  Customer complaint states that they were charged $3,150 more than the original estimate and that these were “hidden charges.”  The shipment of household goods was shipped to Costa Rica where it was placed in a bonded warehouse.  The government of Costa Rica imposed duties and taxes of $3,150 on this shipment.  Please see attached documentation.  The International Order of Service from ******** ********* was signed by Mrs. ******** on 5-6-14.  Above her signature, paragraph 4, clearly states that “The estimate is not a warranty or representation that the actual charges will not exceed the amount of the estimate.”  “Unless otherwise specified herein the estimated charges exclude duties, taxes, demurrage, storage, warehouse handling, customs fees, or any related services…”  *** ********, Registered International Move Manager with ********, sent Mrs. ******** an email on 4-18-14 (attached) with information on how to reference “customs regulations” for their shipment.  **** *** with Lawrence Transportation in Greensboro dealt with the ********’s on a customer service basis only and all the international shipping documentation and information was sent from ******** *********.  **** and the Greensboro office of Lawrence handled the loading of their shipment in Charlotte.  Both **** and *** verbally told the ********’s that additional taxes and duties were a possibility.  On the same email dated 4-18 from *** ******** to Mrs. ******** it asks her a series of questions and states that “******** Relocation will need for you to complete and provide documentation for export of your shipment.”  There were 6 attachments.  All these attachments contained important information and links to Costa Rican import/export websites that clearly stated that additional duties and taxes were a possibility. Quite simply, the customer was given specific information up front to research importing household goods to Costa Rica.  They were verbally told this was a possibility.  They signed a contract that clearly stated the same.  These charges were added not by Lawrence or ******** Worldwide, but by the Costa Rican government and we cannot control that cost.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ******** Lawrence Trasportation is not being truthful.  We dealt with **** *** solely and she verbally assured me there would be no additional charges.  We choose to proceed with complaint and dispute the hidden charges under unfair and dishonest business practices and would like the opportunity to present our case and the truth.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our interstate move resulted in a number of damaged items. While agent and movers were courteous at both ends, I was not told that our pickup would be by a shuttle truck. Thus, our stuff was again unloaded and reloaded before arrival at the destination. When I discovered the damaged items, I filled out a claims form as soon as possible. I understood that an agent would come out to inspect the items from my claim. This did not occur, but instead the company sent me a check to cover my estimated amounts on the claim. I assumed this meant that they tacitly acknowledged wrongdoing. When I discovered several other functional problems with our damaged bureau, I wrote to our claims representative. He acted as though I might have been making up the entire scenario of damage, and said that since I had cashed the check, that removed the company from all further involvement. At that point, I went on and enlisted Maine Furniture Repair Services to view and give an estimate for repairs on the busted dovetail joint on my drawer (functional damage), loosened left leg, and the gouge to the same (left) side of the bureau. The estimate was for $185. I sent the estimate to the claims rep at Lawrence and stated that I would like to receive the $85 dollars to cover this repair. Lawrence had allowed $100 for surface damage, but this was not evaluated in person, and did not cover the repairs to restore functionality to the furniture piece. $85 would make this even. I have not heard back from the representative. The furniture repairmen believed the piece had taken a very hard hit on that front left side to cause such damage. If items were not actually dropped by movers, they were inadequately packed on the trucks during shipment. Many things must have shifted. In addition to furniture damage, I had closed-top file boxes that had been tipped over and dumped out. Items were incorrectly stashed back in the boxes along with leaves and other debris. While less costly to repair, it was annoying and certainly suggested some mishandling of items.

Desired Settlement: I would like a check for the $85 to cover the actual cost of repair. I already had the $100 toward the total of $185.

Business Response: This matter was  turned over to our Claims department for investigation on 1/9/14.     **** ****** has informed me that he would have an answer to send to the BBB by today or tomorrow.   Thank you,   ****** ******** Lawrence Transportation Systems Inc.  

Business Response: Response to complaint: Ms. ******* filed a household goods damage claim with Lawrence Transportation on October 8,2013 In the amount of $95,00 for damaged Items, On October 9, 2013 Lawrence acknowledged receipt of Ms. *******'s claim and advised her we would review her claim and resolve It as soon as possible. Upon reviewing Ms. *******'s claim, we found It fell Into the "no-fault" category of claim, meaning an inspection from a third party furniture repair appraiser did not need to occur; Lawrence Transportation could cash out the claim based upon It's experience and pay the claim as submitted ($95.00). Lawrence Transportation, in an attempt to be as fair as possible to Ms. *******'s claim, concluded the submitted claim of $95.00 was too low. Lawrence Transportation decided to pay an additional $100.00 towards Ms. *******'s claim of $95.00 and sent Ms. ******* a check for $195.00 to conclude her claim. Ms. ******* was sent a concluding letter along with the settlement check of $195,00,  Ms. *******'s settlement letter stated her claim had been finalized, In addition, each claim settlement check Is stamped with a release indicating "endorsement of this check constitutes a full release of any and all claims against United Van Lines, Inc. and its agents…" Our research indicates Ms. ******* endorsed and cashed her settlement check from Lawrence Transportation. Ms. ******* continued to contact Lawrence Transportation after cashing her settlement check with threatening and profanity-laced email attempting to collect for damages in excess of what was originally claimed. As a goodwill gesture, Lawrence Transportation will send a check for an additional $85.00 to Ms. *******. Regards, **** ****** Lawrence Transportation  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:The only profanity I used in my original email to the company was to ask them, "what the hell did you all do to my stuff!?!"  My "threats" were to report the situation to the Better Business Bureau or the state Attorney General's office.   The payment of the $85.00 was what I had requested of the company in my last email.  Thus, their response to complaint ID ******* would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,******** *******