BBB Accredited Business since

Southern Trust Home Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 343-4348 View Additional Phone Numbers 5205 Starkey Road Unit B, Roanoke, VA 24018 http://www.southerntrusthomeservices.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential electrical contracting, plumbing and drain cleaning services as well as heating and air conditioning services, and water treatment systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Southern Trust Home Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southern Trust Home Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

31 Customer Reviews on Southern Trust Home Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 30
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 31

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 2005 Business started: 06/01/1995 in VA Business incorporated 04/23/1997 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DPOR - VIRGINIA
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230-4917
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: (804) 367-8500
Fax Number: 804-367-2475

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ted Puzio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ted Puzio, President
Business Category

ELECTRICIANS CONTRACTOR - ELECTRICAL HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS WATER TREATMENT EQUIPMENT, SERVICE & SUPPLIES PLUMBERS GENERATORS-ELECTRIC

Hours of Operation
Open 24 hours
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Money Orders, Cashier's Checks, Personal Checks, Credit Cards, Financing
Alternate Business Names
Southern State Electric, Plumbing, Heating & Air
Industry Tips
BBB TIP Tips for Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 5205 Starkey Road Unit B

    Roanoke, VA 24018 (540) 721-4348 (540) 685-0106 (540) 343-4348

  • P. O. Box 938

    Hardy, VA 24101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was a couple of week ago. I had a drain pipe stopped up and ***** ran a 75foot snake through it. It did not unstop the drain. I was charged $355.00. I complained about the cost and was told they would apply this to connecting the line to the sewage drain. I told them I could not afford this that I am on a fixed income plus I was helping my son with his divorce. This was too , money for what was done

Desired Settlement: Give me a brake on charges

Business Response: Ms. ******, I am sorry our expert couldn’t fix your problem and we let you down. He ran his snake thru from the house out with no luck and he tried to find the other end of your clogged floor drain pipe that is in the woods but had no luck. (It does not go into your septic like the code requires) Our expert provided an exact price to repair and bring your piping to current code, which would eliminate any future problems, PLUS he gave you a full credit back of any money you paid for the initial charge towards that work. If you would like to find the end that is in the woods **** will return FREE OF ANY CHARGES and run the snake from that end back into your home. Hopefully this would free up any roots or pests that made a home in your drain line.  *** *

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards,  I was never given a quote on any additional work ******* ******

Business Response: Ms ******--Our tech returned back out to your home on September 17 to review the extent of what needed to be completed and to give you an Upfront guaranteed price for repairs. But when he returned to your home you would not let him in. Without access to your home during daylight hours to access the problem he would not be able to give you a price on repairing your system.  I'm sorry but it would be extremely hard for us to fixing your system without seeing it during the daytime.   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ******* ****** ***** came back on the 17th to get my signature on the credit agreement which he did not have the day of service.  And by the way I did open the door and invited him in.  I had told him and your secretary that I had a doctor appointment but I would have time to sign the contract.  I also told him I couldn't afford to have the suggested work done and the work would have to be done too close to the room my disabled husband was in.  My major complaint is being charged too much.  If the line had been unstopped I would have been happy.  ***** told me about a product that could be put in the drain that might get it unstopped but said it was 99.00

10/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a complete home generator back in 2012 installed by this company and on 10/24/2014, I had this same company to perform a general maintenance of the generator and I was charge extremely a lot $233.55 I paid so I went until August 10 2015 to come and fix the generator as the unit requested a battery low I replaced and then the warning asked for replacing the 7.5 fuse I di as well so I made a call to the calling after hours number ********** I was advised the call will be sent to the company to call me back and schedule a time and date to come and repair the generator all I got was a advertisement of seasonal charges September 15 at $79 then by Sept. 30 cost $99.00 then by October 15 2015 $119.00 I call after 5 times requesting to speak to the manager I called ********** I was directed to someone whom claimed to be manage and after I asked for a scheduled time and date to perform a general seasonal heat pump and repair the generator I was advised my history with this company was unpleased due to I asked why the high cost of the last updated service of only replacing 2 spark plugs and adding only 1 quart of Mobile 1 oil and performed a cycle test and left in a 30 minute time frame I was charged $233.55 the manager advised me it be best that I find another company to do these repairs and services but at the sales I was told and the salesperson ****** was so eagerly to sale the unit and I felt I needed a back up electric system and I was told the company backs up servicing the unit but now when it came to do the work the company will not back up their sales pitch so I feel this should be added to the complaint against this company for other consumers see the real actions of this company. I am forced to have this work done by another company and can provide the receipts of services and dates.

Desired Settlement: Place on line the facts of the poor service practices and lies from this company

Business Response: After reviewing your concerns I want to apologize to you for letting you down. But after reviewing your file notes it was determined that, yes, we did install your generator, and yes we did do the initial service. But after we completed that service on your system, which you agreed to, you began on October 10, 2014, to post some very unpleasant online posts about us. Our price of $233.55 is the price of the Mobile One oil, the spark plugs, the oil filter and the air filter. It also factors in all the operating costs of running a very successful well staffed and highly skilled team of professional. It is our company policy to not provide the exact same service to someone who was not 100% satisfied the first time we provided the same service. So again, with that being said, I am very sorry we let you down in October of 2014 and thank you for expressing your concerns on the BBB site. Please feel free to call me any time, Ted Puzio (owner)

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ******* ********* B.B.B. may accept your poor excuse but too Southern Electric was so eager to install the unit of course a $10,000.00 unit and then this annual cost of servicing and I have, as of your forcing the conclusion to find someone else. Now I see why you changed your name of your company I am sure I am not the only account you have scammed into buying your product and not following up on services and or repairs. So therefor I am not taking this lightly and you were reported and you perform poor service to your customers and give poor excuse for not completing your service obligations, you are a lot on the HOT side of this matter due to I did not purchase your highly cost of 3 to 5 year plan of service and I did the warranty it just barely got past the warranty and now as I said you don't want to service your obligations to your customers and yes I found a reputable company well happy to take over your poor service. I will never recommend you to any one and as a matter of fact I am not done with this complaint but as for B.B.B. they have seen how your action and excuses and may close this matter at this time this to me is just step one I have other areas to let people know the facts of your poor service.I would not have said what you got if I wasn't truthful.PERIOD!

8/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At or about 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, July 11, 2015 - the owner of the residence located at *** ********** ****** *********** ** ***** found herself in need of emergency plumbing repair services in order to restore whole house water service. Influenced by an advertisement in the "New River Valley Yellowbook," which promised "Same Day Service," and "24/7 Emergency Service, Saturday and Sunday Service No Extra Charge," I called the telephone number listed in the advertisement. My call was promptly answered. After explaining the problem, I was informed that there would be a fixed fee of $189.00 for dispatching a service technician. I agreed to the fee, led to believe that it would include time, travel, and routine labor charges.The technician was unable to attend to the problem until the following morning (hence, no same day service). The technician fixed the problem to our satisfaction - a task that required approximately 1.5 hours of his time, and the replacement of an emergency shut off valve and inlet fill line, both associated with the master bathroom commode. Upon completion of his work, the technician generated an invoice which was paid on the spot by credit card. The invoice was for the sum of $381.27 - on top of the $189.00 dispatch charge. It was not broken down into parts and labor. Estimating that the parts cost no more and probably much less than $50.00, I consider the charge to be excessive - by at least $300.00.

Desired Settlement: I would suggest that the issue might be fairly resolved by refunding the sum of $300.00 to the customer. I also suggest that this company is in gross violation of fair advertising practices, policies, and rules of law. It was bad advertising, if not a scam. I suggest that the company mend its ways.

Business Response: Mr. ********, I am so sorry we let you down and you feel that our advertising is "bad", that is not our intentions. We do offer same day 24/7 service in all three of our trade lines, with one emergency expert available in each trade for after hours, and up front pricing that stays the same---we do not charge any over time. When Ms. ******** called in, our plumbing expert was out on a prior emergency call, he informed her that he would come when he finishes his current emergency call and that it would be later Saturday night. At that point Ms. ******** said she could wait until Sunday morning to have him help her with her problem, which he did. When our expert arrived and reviewed the work needed to be done, he showed Ms. ******** all the fees associated with the repairs up front, before any repair was made and he received the ok to begin work at the pricing Ms. ******** agreed to. When he completed, she also signed that she was happy with the work at that time. I am not sure what changed and why almost a month later you are  unhappy, and feel our advertising is “bad” and a “scam”—again, I am sorry, that is not our intentions. We have been in business for over 20 years and our thousands of satisfied customers prove to me that we are doing something correct. If you still feel we are not being fair, please call me on my cell at *************---Ted Puzio, owner/president.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.As mentioned in my original complaint, the homeowner was presented with an invoice by the technician upon completion of his work.  The invoice totaled $381.27, on top of the $189.00 dispatch fee.  Estimating that parts cost, at most, $50.00, and knowing that time required to complete the job was 1.5 hours, at most - then I calculate that labor charges were billed at $381.27 less $50.00 divided by 1.5 hours = $221.00/hour.  I cannot believe that this is a standard rate, or a fair market rate.  At the very least, I would like to see a detailed line item breakdown of invoice components, and reiterate that a refund of $300.00 would be accepted as a fair settlement of the matter under dispute.  I would also reiterate that "same day" service was NOT provided. Regards,***** ********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ******** 

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Southern State for an emergency water line clogged. They told us the price to come out on Saturday evening June 20th would be $189 for the service call and that they would price the job once they evaluated the situation. We agreed to this price based on previous call to another company for the same job on a weekend which was $265 in December 2014. The service man arrived looked at the situation and went out to his truck and stayed for a long time and came back to us with a price quote of $838 total. This included the $189 service fee and $649 to clean the line. This is the same job another company did for $265 total. We were dumbfounded, we explained our concerns on the high price and asked for a more reasonable price. The man called his boss who stated they would take off 10%. This was not suitable as we were still being overcharged by $500. The only choice we had was to pay the $189 service fee and send the man on his way. I feel that is EXTREMELY EXCESSIVE and I would like my $189 refunded. Especially considering I was able to get a competitor to my home on the same weekend and get the entire job completed for $265.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund because their business practices are totally unreasonable.

Business Response:  Ms. ****, I am sorry that we let you down and that you had a bad experience with our award winning team, but that is not our company’s purpose. Our core purpose is: "To Help All People Live in Safety and comfort".  We do this by providing outstanding on time service, great warranties and 100% customer satisfaction. Your case would be an excellent example of the benefits you would have received with our 1 year flow warranty. You have already paid someone else $530.00 to come out twice in less than a year’s time and not solve the problem, but only get your water flowing. This is not how we develop long term lasting friendships and relationships with our customers. We value each and every one of our customers time, home and friendship. This is why we do such an extensive job clearing/solving and remedying the problem for the long haul—we just do not  get your water following and then come back with in a six month period and charge for the next problem. Like I said earlier, I am sorry that we let you down, Ted Puzio  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I would like a refund of the $189 paid for the unreasonable estimate fee which was not addressed in his answer.    Regards, ******* ****

Business Response: We did provide a service and the emergency Saturday night dispatch fee was explained to you ahead of time, which you agreed to pay.  So I am sorry to say we cannot be refunding the money you agreed to.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Had the fee been reasonable I would have accepted the offer to make the repair.  Not only was the fee unreasonable it was completely out of line for the type of repair needed.  This business has a history of overcharging customers as seen on this website.  Regards, ******* ****

6/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a service contract with the company and part of the service was a free yearly inspection. Tech came and asked if we had any plumbing problems . My wife was home and told him the outside spicket was leaking. He said he would take a look and dissembled it greased the diverter and reassembled it , 15 minutes. He gave her a bill for a diagnostic charge which was excessive. I called the company and the receptionist went from nice to impolite once I told her I was complaining. She said she would have to wait till tech came back with ticket and would address it then. I have emailed the company to explain why this was a diagnostic fee instead of a repair. I spoke to a tech and he said his manager would call . 6 weeks later no contact from them. The diagnostic fee is way higher than a repair cost so I believe the tech took advantage of my wife by charging her this fee and now the company will not contact me as they know this was excessive . I have asked other companies about this set fee diagnostic charge and all other companies state its a repair with no parts so should be a labor charge which is far less than the diagnostic fee.

Desired Settlement: They advertise 100% customer satisfaction yet they have made no attempt to resolve our dispute. The owner or manager needs to contact us to discuss an adjustment.

Business Response: Hello Mr. ******, While reading over your concerns, what is most upsetting to me is that you stated: "I believe the tech took advantage of my wife by charging her this fee and now the company will not contact me as they know this was excessive".  This statement is very upsetting to me because I would never want anyone to take advantage of my wife or my mom. This is why I developed our Up Front pricing system, where the price of the job is given to the homeowner ( wife or husband) BEFORE any work begins, and they have the opportunity to sign and accept the work allowing us to get started or not. Then when the work is completed the homeowner has another opportunity to sign that they are happy with the work, the clean up and the pricing. If you notice on the attached document your wife signed in all these places. I also checked what you were charged and I found that on April 24th, when our tech was out, your credit card was charged $156.65. We do have a 100% satisfaction guarantee and you do not sound satisfied and it sounds to me like we let you down. Please feel free to call me on my personal cell phone at ************* to see what I can do to make you happy---Ted Puzio PS--One of our Core Values that we hire and fire by is: “We demonstrate the highest level of integrity by doing the right thing even when no one is looking”  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, *** ******

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Southern States Electrical because my heat pump was not working properly. The outside unit one of the lines was freezing up this was the first time I had used it this season so I called to get it checked out other than that the unit was working fine it was cooling. The service person came on 5-27-15 to work on it. I was told they needed to charge to specs and that a value was loose. The service tech went over some things that he suggested I needed to have done and he explained about The Total Care Club that would cover things for a year.. I told him I was not interested in the club that all I wanted was to get the problem I had fixed.. He still tried to push the plan. Finally he gave me a price of what the repairs would cost and I agreed. He did the repairs and was paid in full and left. Later in the evening I was outside and the outside unit turned off and then it stared acting like it was trying to turn back on but would not catch it did this four or five times before it finally came on.. I called and explained to them what it was doing and was told it was just working out the kinks that if it was still doing it the next morning to call them back. First thing this morning the girl in the office called and ask if it was still doing that I told her it had not come on yet and would call her if it did the same thing again.. When it did come on it was doing the same thing so I called and told her she talked to someone I think she said her office manager and he said that was normal so I told her I didn't think it was so she said she would send a tech out again today 5-28-15 he did come late this afternoon and seemed a little confused as to what it could be.. He checks the unit out and comes back in and ask where the breaker box was I showed him and he says the breaker was thrown and there is no electric going to the outside unit (the inside unit had been running all day) So he checks it out and tells me that it not getting the proper amount of electricity that it needs a Compressor Saver Stater Kit something he had recommended yesterday at a cost of $341.96 (the total care club price would have been $270.32) this after paying the $303.14 yesterday. Then he started pushing the total care club again after me telling him no yesterday. I told him I did not want to purchase it again. I really feel like he was taking advantage of me I told him I was not going to pay anymore for his services I ask if I was going to have to pay another $69.00 service fee he said "No my boss said not to charge you again I myself feel like there should be a charge." Now I don't know if the unit is going to work or not... I feel like he made things worse instead of better

Desired Settlement: I just want people to be aware of what they may be getting into.. Wish I had checked the out more

Business Response: Ms. ******—Our Core Purpose is: To Help People Live in Greater Safety and Comfort and I am sorry, I feel we let you down during your experience with us.  I believe we didn’t communicate the urgency of the repairs needed and this will be addressed in next weeks training meeting—I take issues like this personally and it WILL be corrected. After I personally reviewed our experts paperwork and seeing his recommendations on his first visit, May 27, it is clear that he recommended for us to replace the contact, charge the system, and install a hard start kit because of the condition of the compressor  and VERY high amperage draw on start up. ( 79 amps Noted on inspection sheet) You called yesterday at 3:11 pm and when our expert arrived at your home at 6:36 pm he again did a system inspection and diagnosis (at no charge to you) and determined that the breaker tripped and the system failed again due to one of the recommendations he made on the first visit---the compressor drawing too many amps, and a “hard start kit” was recommended, which you chose not to do on the first visit and again last night. Your system is drawing too much amperage (79 amps on a 30 amp breaker) and with our knowledge of that particular system we have determined that it needs a hard start kit to prevent complete compressor failure in the near future. Again, I am sorry we let you down please call me to help resolve any future problems, Ted Puzio (owner)

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ***** ****** I do not accept this response because I have had this unit for six years now and have never had any problem with the electrical and it seems really strange that since the service tech came back after the unit completely stopped working and did something that the unit has been working fine.   Without him installing a compressor starter kit...

5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company and asked for a quote over the phone to install 3 ceiling fans. They would not give me a quote over the phone and said that they could send someone out with a service call of $49.00. I didn't figure that the cost of installing 3 fans would be terrible so I said please send someone by. on 3/19/15 they sent a rep from the company. He came in and I showed him where the 3 fans were to be installed in the place of the lights in the bedrooms. He goes out to the truck and writes a bill and then brings in a book to explain about the company. After the explanation he tells me that just to install the fans for the standard plan would be $820.53. I just about shot out of my chair. The price is rediculous, but that wasnt all. He also included the approved fan boxes for $599.88 for TOTAL cost of $1469.41 to install 3 ceilings fans in place of the lights. I was very upset and basically told the gentleman that if I knew it would cost me $1500 to install these fans I would never had agreed to have that company come out. I of course still had to pay the $49.00 service call because they would not give me a quote over the phone. I feel the company is wripping their clients off by the charge of a service call to get an estimate and I think it is very DISGRACEFUL@! I called the company and complained and was told the manager would call me back last friday. Of course, no one ever called. I also was told to sign the paperwork, and of course I did so the Gentleman could get out of my house.

Desired Settlement: I believe this company should give FREE inhome EVALUATIONS and QUOTES to their potential customers. And I feel I deserve a refund of my $49.00 for them to come out and give me a quote of almost $1500. I have another company coming to install my fans at $175 per fan including the Approved fan boxes. I believe this company is ripping its customers off and I will not EVER refer anyone to this electric, plumbing, heating and Air company.

Business Response: Ms. ********, I am sorry that you did not have our typical top of the line AWESOME experience. I know how you must have felt when the other company came in with such a low price, but we need to compare "apples to Apples".We run a top notch service company that includes standard: a three year bumper to bumper warranty on all work, 24 hour 7 day a week drug and back ground technicians on call, full stocked service vehicles, and unlike most a 100% satisfaction guarantee. With that being said, it sounds like you are  not 100% satisfied so please call ****** in our office and she will refund 100% of any money you gave to us!

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I called ****** in the office like was suggested to get my refund of $49.  I was told that in order to get my check, they would mail a letter to me and I would have to sign this letter and return it before I would receive my check.  I asked what was in the letter and they responded that I would either have to drop the complaint with BBB or write a positive comment. I was shocked.  I told both ****** and the other Gentleman who spoke with me that I would NOT sign any letter that forces me into doing something I don't want to do in order to get a refund. He persistantly asked me if I wanted my money back, and of course, I told him I did However, I would not sign this letter.  If I decided to write a positive comment or take it off of the BBB website then it would be MY CHOICE.  The gentleman offered to come to my house with the check and I told him I would be home anytime after 2:30PM but I WOULD NOT sign this letter.  He told me it was company policy.  This is how the phone call ended.  I have NOT heard anything from anyone at the company and I feel this is so wrong on so many levels... Regards, ****** ********

Business Response: I am sorry we let you down, but when you said you were not going to be home yesterday evening I didn't want to leave it at your home, so I mailed your $49.00 check (#*****)  out today.Please call our office if you do not see it in two days. AGAIN, sorry we let you down. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I want to thank the gentleman who sent my refund check to me and the flowers were very nice. Thanks again for doing right by me! Regards, ****** ********

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My pilot light went out on foor furnace. I called Southern State. All he wanted to do was sell me a plan. Instead of fixing the problem he (**** ******) light the problem. He knew it was burntout. It ran for 1 1/2 days and out again. He made all kind of excuses and didn't offer to come out and fix it. I had to hire another company. He took out the thermal generator coupling. Now it is running fine. I paid $99.00 for nothing.

Desired Settlement: I talked to the manager and **** ******. No one said I'm sorry. I feel like I have been had. $99.00 for no service. It left me freezing for two days.

Business Response: Ms. *******, After speaking with our general manager and our service tech I determined that the option sheet with the repair lis*** was not explained clearly to you. I am very sorry for this miscommunication. As you are aware, we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee and I feel that we did not meet up to your satisfaction, and I will be returning 100% of any money you paid us. Again, I am very sorry. Also,  I am in the process of reviewing this will all of our employees at our weekly meeting to confirm that this will never happen again---Thank you for bringing this to my attention, *** ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ***** *******

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service Member (****** T.) came out in December of 2013 and un-froze a well pipe. At that time we asked for a quote to replace the well pump. He quoted us a figure of about $1,800. He also talked us into signing up for a 3 Year Home Protection plan at a cost of about $129. Based on what he told us that day and the companies printed advertisements in the Lynchburg area, we assumed we were in the companies service area. Customer Service Manager (***** ******) came out on 4/8/2014 and told us that ****** was no longer working for the company, and the we were actually not in their service area. He said it was too much of a drive to work for us, but he would honor what ****** told us... Then he told us he would have to install a different pump than what ****** had quoted us. He told us the price now was going to be $3,065, and that he was giving us a discount. We opted to go with another company and had the same work done at a cost of $1,250. Since, as ***** states that we are not in his service area. We are requesting the the 3 Year Home Protection Plan be refunded. I emailed the company through their website, and have received no response.

Desired Settlement: We would like the 3 year home protection plan money refunded.

Business Response: We want all of our customers to be 100% satisfied and it sounds to me that Mr. **** is not.  With that being said, SSE&P will gladly refund Mr. **** the $129 family plan agreement price, but we need to look at invoice number *****, dated 1/4/13. As a plan member, Mr. **** was given our 15% discounted price off of our standard price for his service of $367.30.  Mr. **** agreed to, and was given, the Family Plan price of $312.20, which is a difference of $55.10. Southern State Electric and Plumbing will gladly refund 100% of the $129.00 minus the plan savings for that day of $55.10 for a total refunded price of $73.90.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** ****

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company to address an immediate problem with a water softener system drain stoppage because of a stopped up pipe on 12/31/12. The call was at 430 am EST in the morning. The technician arrived at 650 am EST. I was sold into a bill of goods that cost well over $400.00 and all the technician did was in less than 5 minutes unstop a frozen up outside drain that I could have done myself. He spent more time selling me service contracts and billing me overtime charges than doing any work. I was promised a complete inspection of my plumbing and electrical systems for free according to the service contract that they talked me into, which was an additional $129.00 and reduced service charges for any additional plumbing issues I may encounter during the next year. It sounded like a good deal at the time. This was the biggest waste of money I have ever spent in my entire life. I was told by this technician that I would be contacted on 1/2/13 to schedule the inspection and install a drain of the water softener system into the sewer line. I never received any call from anyone. I finally sent the company an email requesting the service. They contacted me one time to request the date I wanted service. I suggested a date and waited for them on that date. There was never any call, absolutely nothing from this company following that date. They have yet to contact me over two months since the original service call to follow up on anything promised. I am still waiting! Outrageous prices for nothing. Never follow up on anything. I would not recommend this company to anyone and I will never use them again for anything.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum I would like a refund of the service contract fees since nothing promised was ever delivered. I understand that I agreed to the overtime charges on the date of the service and the immediate problem was rectified. However, subsequent promised services were never provided. I should be due a refund of the service contract fee of $129.00.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *******’s concerns;Southern State Electric, Plumbing, and Heating/Air had a technician dispatched on December 31 at 4:30am for a water leak in the basement. Due to the late hours of his dispatch, and Mr. ******* not being a Family Plan member,  our emergency dispatch fee was in place (we do not charge any overtime fees for work)  While our technician was on site and before any work started, our technician gave Mr. ******* an Up Front price and did a complete plumbing diagnosis of the owners problem. Our technician then determined that the floor drain went out thru a separate 2” PVC pipe and that the pipe was frozen where it came in contact with the freezing cold air outside. Our technician thawed the pipe out and gave Mr. ******* an Up Front price to correct his problem and to repipe the entire water treatment system into the main septic pipe.Mr. ******* was given an Up Front price, and he chose to purchase our Family Plan which gives him our free yearly safety inspections on his plumbing and electrical systems and waives any dispatch fees, even after hours emergency dispatches.Our technician also informed Mr. ******* that our office will be contacting him to set up a time to complete the work requested and to complete his free Family Plan plumbing and electrical inspections. Our office manger tried to call Mr. ******* several times by phone could not reach him. She then sent him an email on January 9th to which Mr. ****** responded that he then contacted another provider to complete the work that we diagnosed and he contracted with us to perform.Our office manager tried to contact Mr. ****** on January 17, January 18 and then again on January 22 to complete his inspection, without any luck. At this point in time, even though,1-We made numerous attempts to contact Mr. ******* by phone, 2-We received a call at 4:30am and responded to his location in a two hour timeframe, 3-Diagnosed his problem, restored water flow and corrected his water backup problem, 4-Offered and contracted for a solution to his problemSouthern State Electric, Plumbing and Heating/Air does advertise a  100% satisfaction guarantee and will refund Mr. ******* his $129.00 in full. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused him.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  However, the refund check they mailed was unsigned and the bank will not accept.  As ususal calls to the company are not returned and always require followup calls.  This is very poor customer service and my biggest conplaint with this company.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. Regards, ****** *******  

Business Response: Ted Puzio states he forgot to sign the check. Called consumer – asked him to return it in the mail. He will sign it and mail back to customer as soon as possible.

Consumer Response: I spoke with Ted Puzio of Southern State Electric and Plumbing today. He was very apoloagetic concerning the lack of response I had received from them back in January following the initial emergency visit on December 31st and the fact that several of my calls and emails went unanswered in the two weeks that followed. He noted that the person that he had at that time handling calls and customer service no longer worked for them because of this very type of service. He also apologized for not having signed the refund check he sent me and indicated he was putting another in the mail to me today and asked that I return the one I had received that was not signed. I have done so as requested and he should have it by Wednesday of this week. I was impressed with his sincerity and the improvements he is trying to make at their company. I may consider using them in the future if the need should arise, but I do feel that their rates are somewhat higher than other companies closer to me in the Blacksburg/Christiansburg area. Once I have received the signed check back from the company, I will respond in a favorable manner.