BBB Accredited Business since

Vintage Cellar, Inc.

Phone: (540) 953-2675 1338 South Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060 http://www.vintagecellar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells an extensive selection of wine and beer, holds in-store tastings, offers beverage consulting and fundraising opportunities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vintage Cellar, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vintage Cellar, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vintage Cellar, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1979 in VA Business incorporated 03/04/1976 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

http://www.abc.state.va.us
Phone Number: (804) 213-4400

Blacksburg Business License

Phone Number: (540) 961-1100

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Keith Roberts, President Mr. Randall Horst, Vice President Shelor Roberts, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Roberts, President
Business Category

WINES-RETAIL BEVERAGES BEER & ALE-RETAIL

Industry Tips
BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 1338 South Main Street

    Blacksburg, VA 24060 (540) 953-2675

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the week of 03/30 I purchased about $40 worth the merchandise from Vintage Cellar in Blacksburg, VA. I purchased a $24 bottle of wine, too. On 04/08 I opened the bottle of wine. The wine cork was very dried out and as soon as I opened it with the corkscrew, the cork crumbled and cork remnants fell into the wine- making it not suitable for consumption (ex. choking hazard). Because it was an expensive bottle I thought I could get in touch to see if I could get a replacement or refund. I called the Vintage Cellar and spoke to ****. I asked if I could perhaps get a replacement or a refund of some sort. He said yes. I then went to the store with a friend and spoke with the store proprietor, *****. ***** lectured me about the wine industry and how cork always does that. He questioned the number of years I had been drinking wine, my knowledge of the wine industry, etc. He told me I needed to buy a screen to filter the cork out. I said the wine should have come with a screen to filter out the cork. After his wine lecture, I was under the impression that I could go and get different merchandize to make up some of the difference instead of getting the full refund. I selected about $11.60 worth the merchandise. When I went to the register, ***** was very defiant in giving me back my refund. He said that I was going to miss out on a lot of wines if I didn't drink corked wines. I didn't mind cork- I just have a problem with cork disintegrating while I'm opening up a bottle of wine to enjoy with dinner. He then accused me of drinking a majority of the bottle. I told him that at the time when I opened the bottle, I only had one glass (exactly one standard glass was missing from the bottle). He started raising his voice and getting infuriated with me because I asked for a refund. He said he just lost a $25. I told him that he was just at a deficit of $12 and I had brought a friend with me also who bought merchandise. Because I called in advance, I thought my concerns were legitimate.

Desired Settlement: Not only did one of the store clerks, *****, give me a hard time about giving my money back, but he short changed me (just gave me the whole dollar amt). He raised his voice at me and accused me of not knowing anything about the wine industry, etc. Though I appreciated his passion for the wine industry, he embarrassed me in front of all of the wine patrons and employees in the store. I apologized that he was upset but for a $25 for a bottle of wine, the cork should at least be of decent quality.

Business Response: Find attached a letter in response to customer and the refund receipt. I gave her a full refund on a perfectly good bottle of wine, she could not accept that the wine was just fine so I took a long time to explain. I told her to stick with screw caps if she does not like corks, she also used a power cork puller that destroys cork instead of pulls them.***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I appreciate his civil response. Thank you for addressing the matter. Regards, ***** *******